• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Take a Break : Memorable Quotes from Spore Politicians Over the Years

Yes, he is the one. I was however not however aware that he replaced the ISD director over the Nayang Affair. ISD directors are generally reticient. The last person that they will confide in is Seow as his habit of grandstanding on the social front is well known. Seow and Yoong however share a common issue and Yoong's tenure was very short. Yoong however was considered a professional and well respected. So I was not surprised that he stood up to old man.

There! I knew you have to know something! Tks for sharing.

Wasn't Yoong the guy who came out to correct some error of fact in MIW book?

kingrant

Yes, he is the one. I was however not however aware that he replaced the ISD director over the Nayang Affair. ...

. So I was not surprised that he stood up to old man.

Then we still don't know who Yoong replaced -- that would be the one who stood up to OM also.

elephanto

Bro, you seem to be running a political archive of sorts. You should have been in this forum together Kingrant 10 years ago.

Maybe we should ask Yoong himself :p

Saw from his blog, he is 82 & his latest entry in jan 2010 is on The Romanian hit-&-run.

Invite him leh, Scroobal to come here lim-kopi !

kingrant

Bro, you seem to be running a political archive of sorts. You should have been in this forum together Kingrant 10 years ago.

Yea, a pity I wasnt tuned in then to this forum 10 years back. Sure missed you guys..

the first time I heard of it and tuned in, I thot I was in a cul-de-sac, and expected to meet Old Man with his knuckledusters but isntead I saw lots of pics of nude female bodies and salacious writeups on geylang, with stars rating like Michelin and even had recommendations...so it wasnt what I was looking for, and I didnt revisit unless I needed tips to burn my dollars on a night out with the kakis...

Last edited by a moderator:

The first few years, everything was anti and lots speculation. Then we began having good discussions and people would come in to correct errors. Its was also the time that SPH articles began mentioning SBF as the source. We would get it first, then week late it will be in the papers. So much so that Sam was interviewed by ST and Eric Ellis the Australian journalist.

I suppose 9 out of 10 people logging in for the first time would have thought that this was garbage and never came back not realising the hidden gems. Really good robust arguments on politics was quite common and we all enjoyed it.

Yea, a pity I wasnt tuned in then to this forum 10 years back. Sure missed you guys..

the first time I heard of it and tuned in, I thot I was in a cul-de-sac, and expected to meet Old Man with his knuckledusters but isntead I saw lots of pics of nude female bodies and salacious writeups on geylang, with stars rating like Michelin and even had recommendations...so it wasnt what I was looking for, and I didnt revisit unless I needed tips to burn my dollars on a night out with the kakis...

elephanto

Actually, it began for me around 1997-1998 at soc.culture.singapore.

Then newsgroups are the in-place to discuss current affairs, few dedicated sites to my knowledge.

It was Sam Leong's threads & links to his sammyboy that by & by caused me to migrate there.

But I seem to spend more time subsequently on the Sammyboy 'Asian Values' site (sex site) :smile:

My most memorable recall form the Delphi forum was this sgmadman always ranting abt NS killing Sporns. What happen to him now , anyone knows ?

Then settle down, drift in & out ... recently created a new nick & took time out to post more...

Enough nostalgia... back to 2010

kingrant

Wow! That was something! I wonder how SBF is being viewed now by the estab?

I doubt ST now has the guts to quote from Sammy, but I'll not be surprised if that bucktoothed rear admirer is also tuned in every night surreptitiously and feeding back to the son --probably he will avoid the OM knowing lest he scolds him for wasting his million dollar job on reading online chatter.

He should tell the OM nevertheless that online fora have "taken on" the govt and "waging a smearing campaign to discredit and belittle it and subvert its authority" in order to "create chaos, despair and to overthrow the govt".

Not hard to build a vocab under 50 years of PAP black ops.

The first few years, everything was anti and lots speculation. Then we began having good discussions and people would come in to correct errors. Its was also the time that SPH articles began mentioning SBF as the source. We would get it first, then week late it will be in the papers. So much so that Sam was interviewed by ST and Eric Ellis the Australian journalist.

I suppose 9 out of 10 people logging in for the first time would have thought that this was garbage and never came back not realising the hidden gems. Really good robust arguments on politics was quite common and we all enjoyed it.

kingrant

Tks for sharing..

yes, also browsed soc.culture before but was put off by much of them being useless one liners..

Actually, it began for me around 1997-1998 at soc.culture.singapore.

Then newsgroups are the in-place to discuss current affairs, few dedicated sites to my knowledge.

It was Sam Leong's threads & links to his sammyboy that by & by caused me to migrate there.

But I seem to spend more time subsequently on the Sammyboy 'Asian Values' site (sex site) :smile:

My most memorable recall form the Delphi forum was this sgmadman always ranting abt NS killing Sporns. What happen to him now , anyone knows ?

Then settle down, drift in & out ... recently created a new nick & took time out to post more...

Enough nostalgia... back to 2010

Winston Churchill: We shall fight on the seas and oceans...we shall fight in the streets, we shall fight in the hills.

Goh Meng Seng: We shall leave no men behind.

(Note: Both went on to lose their elections respectively.)

kingrant

Winston Churchill: We will fight on the seas and oceans...we shall fight in the streets, we shall fight in the hills.

Goh Meng Seng: We shall leave no men behind.

(Note: Both went on to lose their elections respectively.)

After reading Pat Buchanan's tome "Churchill, Hitler, and the Unnecessary World War" I have lost respect for Churchill.

I didn't read that book, but I see that before the war, the richest nations on earth were:

1. United States
2. Great Britain
3. Germany
4. France
5. Japan

Now, the richest nations on earth are:

1. United States
2. Japan
3. Germany
4. Great Britain
5. France

Sure hell of a of lot of difference to be worth several hundred million lives and livelihoods.

kingrant

Sure hell of a of lot of difference to be worth several hundred million lives and livelihoods.

Certainly appreciate where you are coming from..

Now we know that wars can be started by individuals' emotions and people who trusted their own personal feelings more than the realities and logic--WW2 was started by people who have an axe to grind and whose egos were not fed (Hitler), people who wavered when they shouldnt and stubborn when they shld not be (Churchill)...

Dick Cheney and Rumsfeld even managed to start a war that is still going on completely false premises. Something in an age where facts are easier to verify and things can't be covered. They managed to get Colin Powel to convivce the United Nations to say that Saddam can launch weapons of mass destruction within 45 minutes.

Certainly appreciate where you are coming from..

Now we know that wars can be started by individuals' emotions and people who trusted their own personal feelings more than the realities and logic--WW2 was started by people who have an axe to grind and whose egos were not fed (Hitler), people who wavered when they shouldnt and stubborn when they shld not be (Churchill)...

kingrant

Dick Cheney and Rumsfeld even managed to start a war that is still going on completely false premises. Something in an age where facts are easier to verify and things can't be covered. They managed to get Colin Powel to convivce the United Nations to say that Saddam can launch weapons of mass destruction within 45 minutes.

What to do when a bloody clown was in the Prez's seat!

Another guy was Ronald Reagan drugs for weapons war in Nicaragua.

elephanto

I want to return to Chiam See Tong.

He emerged in 1976, campaigning in his VW Beetle challenging Lim Kim San in upscale Cairnhill.

Lost but made an impact as independent.

Then lost again in 1979 against Howe Yoong Chong in Potong Pasir By-Election (losing with 33%) and again in 1980 GE (losing 41%)..still as independent.

By then even LKY noticed him, remarking that if he serious should form his own party.

True enuf, after historic breakthru of Anson 1981, at the 1984 GE, Chiam again at Potong Pasir after forming SDP.

As a young man in Fullerton Sq one fine afternoon, I & the whole crowd was shocked & unhappy Old Man denigraded Chiam's 'O' Level score as against his opponent Mah Bow Tan's excellent grades ! I kept telling my friends but Chiam got 2 degree, one B Sc when he was teacher & LLB as lawyer. But to LKY, that's nothing.

Well, Chiam won partly becos of new winds of change, also becos CPF non-withdrawal at 55 rumor was hot & against Howe (CPF & Aged Report supporter).

Since then, amongst those who have lost to Chiam, Mah Bow Tan (84), Kenneth Chen (88 & 91?), Ng Pock Too (91?), Andy Gan (97?), Sitoh YuPin('01,'05').

So it was with great sadness during his 25 years Potong Pasir Dinner, I was shocked to hear his weak voice on stage (as seen & heard on youtube). Poor man. Though lucky to recover from stroke, but time & illness have worn the man down.

Time to retire, ah Chiam. Indeed you have prove the opposite of your popular hokkien namesake 'Temporary Tahan' - chiam-si-tong !

kingrant

To return to the topic of the thread, anything memorable from Chiam? We already have "If the Prime Minister says it is so, then it must be so!"

I want to return to Chiam See Tong.

He emerged in 1976, campaigning in his VW Beetle challenging Lim Kim San in upscale Cairnhill.

Lost but made an impact as independent.

Then lost again in 1979 against Howe Yoong Chong in Potong Pasir By-Election (losing with 33%) and again in 1980 GE (losing 41%)..still as independent.

By then even LKY noticed him, remarking that if he serious should form his own party.

True enuf, after historic breakthru of Anson 1981, at the 1984 GE, Chiam again at Potong Pasir after forming SDP.

As a young man in Fullerton Sq one fine afternoon, I & the whole crowd was shocked & unhappy Old Man denigraded Chiam's 'O' Level score as against his opponent Mah Bow Tan's excellent grades ! I kept telling my friends but Chiam got 2 degree, one B Sc when he was teacher & LLB as lawyer. But to LKY, that's nothing.

Well, Chiam won partly becos of new winds of change, also becos CPF non-withdrawal at 55 rumor was hot & against Howe (CPF & Aged Report supporter).

Since then, amongst those who have lost to Chiam, Mah Bow Tan (84), Kenneth Chen (88 & 91?), Ng Pock Too (91?), Andy Gan (97?), Sitoh YuPin('01,'05').

So it was with great sadness during his 25 years Potong Pasir Dinner, I was shocked to hear his weak voice on stage (as seen & heard on youtube). Poor man. Though lucky to recover from stroke, but time & illness have worn the man down.

Time to retire, ah Chiam. Indeed you have prove the opposite of your popular hokkien namesake 'Temporary Tahan' - chiam-si-tong !

elephanto

To return to the topic of the thread, anything memorable from Chiam? We already have "If the Prime Minister says it is so, then it must be so!"

I really must reminiscience .....

You see, in late 70s, Chiam was a breath of fresh air, compared to the Seow Khee Lengs & Harbans Singhs.

Although no great orator, his careful measured delivery very uncharacteristic of what one would associate with lawyers, was very endearing to the masses.

Unfortunately, he surrounded himself with the likes of Wong Hong Toy (SDP Chairman once), Ling How Doong (ex mata inspector with law degree ok dun pray-pray), Chee Soon Juan (his pride & folly).....

The other one, 'You Don't Talk Cock ...' Ling How Doong was uttered in Parliament.

I think Ling was solding Chiam I can't remember for what.

All these off the top of my mind.

I seem to remember one when he introduced Dr Chee Soon Juan at the 1992 Marine Parade by-election, something like this man that NUS reject now returns as an NUS lecturer or something like that. sigh old oredy, memory fading.

I guess one way is you may google for Chiam's quotes :smile:

But, the one at the top, " If PM says so..." My all time favourite & classic!
I am not sure there are others if not I surely can remember......