Then allow me to share my experience with you as well...
After my R.O.D, I was trying to look for a job for myself. When i flipped the ST job page, all the requirements are Degree holders or at the least a Diploma. I still remember when i first got my job, my basic pay was only SGD$1,200 working as a channel sales executive selling pagers services. My highest salary that i managed to get working about 2-3years after my NS was only a mere SGD$2,200 becoz i dun hold a degree....
One day while i was on my way to work I told myself, if i'm going to get this kind of miserable salary, I can't even afford to get myself a wife to start up a family. With this thought, I decided to venture to HK. Maybe you would think that I come from a rich background but nothing to be ashamed of, I'm not. I borrowed money back then n ventured to HK n China till today....
For the past 10 years when i resided in HK, China n Taiwan, I even spent nearly 2 years in Milan. When i left SG, I hate the govt to the core coz it leaves no room for those who do not have a good paper qualification like myself but after spending so many years in overseas. Those things that i see n when i turned my head back n have a look at my own country, I learn to appreciate what LKY n co have done in the past despite the mistakes they made....
I could have allow my kid to study in a international school over here but after a lengthy discussion with my wife and an email from Beijing embassy, I brought my kid back to SG for education.
Becoz of this, I also bought a HDB flat n all my CPF is being wept out after the purchased although my CPF is only a mere SGD$35k, the remaining i've to pay by cash. When my HK friend visited my flat, he say SG govt is like giving you a gift for the price I'm paying coz i got the highest floor with a good view towards town area.
I'm not claiming that whatever PAP does are all positives but sometimes we have to depend on ourselves too... When i left SG, did the govt helped me??? NO... Did the govt provide me with any aid??? NO...
Lastly, I can tell you that my wife n kid is in SG too and most of my time is in overseas working. It's true that when moving out, considerations have to be made but if your rice bowl is located outside of SG, are you going to tell me that becoz of frienz, this n that which is why you are not moving??? To me is a mere excuse...
Allow me to quote you, when i first started to venture into China Wuhan back in 2002. I knew nobody. No one was willing to locate to Wuhan back then in 2002 coz is not as good as now. I came to Wuhan alone, I survive till today. Now I have my group of friends in Wuhan be it my soccer buddies, biz associate n Singaporeans that are in Wuhan.
I'm delighted that I've moved on n although I'm not super rich but at least i can even afford to walk into a AP boutique myself today