• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Summary of Benefits of a Singaporean Citizen vs a PR's

kojakbt

[COLOR=_______]The benefit info except for housing data is taken from the ICA website. I've summarised the relevant info and put them in a table form for ease of reading and comparison.[/COLOR]

see: http://0000pcj.people.delphiforums.com/downloads/Benefits_of_Singaporean_vs_PR1.htm

The general conclusion is Singaporean citizens are only getting a marginal advantage over PRs in terms of benefits. Don't forget, we need to serve NS and reservist.... they don't need to.

kojakbt

Benefits for Singaporean vs PR
Singaporean PR Remark
Education

Govt Schools
Primary $0 per mth $3.50 per mth
Secondary $5 per mth $6 per mth
Pre-U $6 per mth $7 per mth

Independent Schools
Secondary (avg) $202.50 per mth $243 per mth SG has 17% discount
Pre-U (avg) $312.50 per mth $375 per mth SG has 17% discount

Others
ITE (avg) $ 27.50 per mth $ 30.25 per mth SG has 9% discount
Poly $175.00 per mth $192.50 per mth SG has 9% discount

Universities
"NUS, NTU, SMU" $6110 per year $6720 per year SG has 9% discount

Primary 1 Enrollment Same Same

Healthcare

Public Hospitals
Class B1 20% subsidy 10% subsidy SG has 10% more subsidy
Class B2 65% subsidy 55% subsidy SG has 10% more subsidy
Class C 80% subsidy 70% subsidy SG has 10% more subsidy
Day Surgery 65% subsidy 55% subsidy SG has 10% more subsidy
Specialist Clinic 50% subsidy 40% subsidy SG has 10% more subsidy

Polyclinics Consultation
Adult (avg fee) $9.05 $14
Child/Elderly (avg fee) $4.85 $14

Public Housing*
4 room HDB $285K $334K SG has 14.7% discount
5 room HDB $375K $392K SG has 4.3% discount
Eligibility for HDB loan Yes No But PR can get bank loans

Special Transfers
CPF top-up Yes No
Medisave top-up Yes No
New S'pore Shares (NSS) Yes No
Econ Restruct Shares (ERS) Yes No
Progress Package Yes No

NS & Reservist Yes No PR kids can relinquish
their PRs to avoid NS

* Public Housing figures are calculated from the following:

[New Punggol HDB flats currently being offered]
[URL="http://www100.hdb.gov.sg/09JULBTOPG_pdf/$file/Punggol_Residences_General_Info.pdf"]http://www100.hdb.gov.sg/09JULBTOPG_pdf/$file/Punggol_Residences_General_Info.pdf[/URL]

Typical Applicants' Median
Selling Household Income
Price
4 room $295K $4100
5 room $375K $5100

For household income of $4100, the 1st time buyer'll enjoy an additional $10K grant
Grants are not applicable for household income above $5000

Hence, typical price of new HDBs in Punggol for 1st time avg S'poreans after applying grants:
4 room $285K
5 room $375K

[Price of HDB Resales which PRs can buy in Punggol]
[URL="http://www.scribd.com/doc/15509668/HDB-Resale-Transactions-May-09"]http://www.scribd.com/doc/15509668/HDB-Resale-Transactions-May-09[/URL]

Avg HDB Resale transacted price in Punggol:
4 room $334K (avg of the 10 transactions in May 09)
5 room $392K (avg of the 18 transactions in May 09)

Watchman

[COLOR="_______"]Why put in CPF when Bank-rates and CPF-rates are equally lousy ![/COLOR]

Are you Just following blindly their requirement to buy HDBs?

Char_Azn

Good Link :cool::cool:

However its not very complete. A number of other stuff are not mentioned

What I would like to see done to the CPF is to take away that 15% the employers are suppose to contribute to the PR's CPF and instead put that 15% into a pool to be redistributed to Citizens instead. Call it an FT tax

cass888

Not accurate. For NS liability, both the Singaporean and the PR can avoid NS by revoking their citizenship/PR by a certain age.

[COLOR=_______]The benefit info except for housing data is taken from the ICA website. I've summarised the relevant info and put them in a table form for ease of reading and comparison.[/COLOR]

see: http://0000pcj.people.delphiforums.com/downloads/Benefits_of_Singaporean_vs_PR1.htm

The general conclusion is Singaporean citizens are only getting a marginal advantage over PRs in terms of benefits. Don't forget, we need to serve NS and reservist.... they don't need to.

hillary888

Americans can see the value in their citizenship - As US President and senators go all out to save them when they are in trouble!

An American,John William Yettaw, sentenced to seven years hard labor in Myanmar after he sneaked into the home of detained democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi, arrived in Thailand on Sunday with the U.S. senator, Jim Webb, who secured his release.

art.yettaw.smile.afp.gi.jpg

North Korean leader Kim Jong Il issued a "special pardon" freeing two jailed American journalists after talks with former U.S. President Bill Clinton, North Korea's official news agency announced.

05korea4-600.jpg

kojakbt

Not accurate. For NS liability, both the Singaporean and the PR can avoid NS by revoking their citizenship/PR by a certain age.

That is true, but the point here is to highlight the differences... in other words, what are the priviledges we think Singaporean should have or should have more than PRs in order to ensure fairness...

next to US citizenship, sinkies one is like toilet paper.

Americans can see the value in their citizenship - As US President and senators go all out to save them when they are in trouble!

An American,John William Yettaw, sentenced to seven years hard labor in Myanmar after he sneaked into the home of detained democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi, arrived in Thailand on Sunday with the U.S. senator, Jim Webb, who secured his release.

art.yettaw.smile.afp.gi.jpg

North Korean leader Kim Jong Il issued a "special pardon" freeing two jailed American journalists after talks with former U.S. President Bill Clinton, North Korea's official news agency announced.

05korea4-600.jpg

mscitw

The useless Yeo merely told e nehs to do their best when e paki swines took one peasant as a hostage.

cass888

That is true, but the point here is to highlight the differences... in other words, what are the priviledges we think Singaporean should have or should have more than PRs in order to ensure fairness...

I know. But you say PR can avoid NS by giving up PR. In the same vein, Singaporean can avoid NS by giving up citizenship. So this factor should be 50-50.

darememore

Benefits for Singaporean vs PR
Singaporean PR Remark
Education

Govt Schools
Primary $0 per mth $3.50 per mth
Secondary $5 per mth $6 per mth
Pre-U $6 per mth $7 per mth

Independent Schools
Secondary (avg) $202.50 per mth $243 per mth SG has 17% discount
Pre-U (avg) $312.50 per mth $375 per mth SG has 17% discount

Others
ITE (avg) $ 27.50 per mth $ 30.25 per mth SG has 9% discount
Poly $175.00 per mth $192.50 per mth SG has 9% discount

Universities
"NUS, NTU, SMU" $6110 per year $6720 per year SG has 9% discount

Primary 1 Enrollment Same Same

Healthcare

Public Hospitals
Class B1 20% subsidy 10% subsidy SG has 10% more subsidy
Class B2 65% subsidy 55% subsidy SG has 10% more subsidy
Class C 80% subsidy 70% subsidy SG has 10% more subsidy
Day Surgery 65% subsidy 55% subsidy SG has 10% more subsidy
Specialist Clinic 50% subsidy 40% subsidy SG has 10% more subsidy

Polyclinics Consultation
Adult (avg fee) $9.05 $14
Child/Elderly (avg fee) $4.85 $14

Public Housing*
4 room HDB $285K $334K SG has 14.7% discount
5 room HDB $375K $392K SG has 4.3% discount
Eligibility for HDB loan Yes No But PR can get bank loans

Special Transfers
CPF top-up Yes No
Medisave top-up Yes No
New S'pore Shares (NSS) Yes No
Econ Restruct Shares (ERS) Yes No
Progress Package Yes No

NS & Reservist Yes No PR kids can relinquish
their PRs to avoid NS

* Public Housing figures are calculated from the following:

[New Punggol HDB flats currently being offered]
[URL="http://www100.hdb.gov.sg/09JULBTOPG_pdf/$file/Punggol_Residences_General_Info.pdf"]http://www100.hdb.gov.sg/09JULBTOPG_pdf/$file/Punggol_Residences_General_Info.pdf[/URL]

Typical Applicants' Median
Selling Household Income
Price
4 room $295K $4100
5 room $375K $5100

For household income of $4100, the 1st time buyer'll enjoy an additional $10K grant
Grants are not applicable for household income above $5000

Hence, typical price of new HDBs in Punggol for 1st time avg S'poreans after applying grants:
4 room $285K
5 room $375K

[Price of HDB Resales which PRs can buy in Punggol]
[URL="http://www.scribd.com/doc/15509668/HDB-Resale-Transactions-May-09"]http://www.scribd.com/doc/15509668/HDB-Resale-Transactions-May-09[/URL]

Avg HDB Resale transacted price in Punggol:
4 room $334K (avg of the 10 transactions in May 09)
5 room $392K (avg of the 18 transactions in May 09)

If an Indian have that kind of money to buy a HDB flat, do you think they will still want to come here to work? They better stay back home and be a land lord and lived like a Raja!
Use your head and you get the answer! Sinkies are being CONNED!

khunking

In the case of a local born guy, there's no way he can avoid NS by giving up his citizenship.

I know. But you say PR can avoid NS by giving up PR. In the same vein, Singaporean can avoid NS by giving up citizenship. So this factor should be 50-50.

kojakbt

PR can finish A level, give up PR to avoid NS, go overseas to study. Can Singaporean do that or not? Can't right? You don't do NS, you go to jail.

kojakbt

If an Indian have that kind of money to buy a HDB flat, do you think they will still want to come here to work? They better stay back home and be a land lord and lived like a Raja!
Use your head and you get the answer! Sinkies are being CONNED!

Have you been sleeping? It is precisely an Indian FT working here will give him that kind of money to buy a HDB resale. To them, they think this way... if they dont buy HDB resale, they will have to rent which means money is not recoverable. With that kind of money (about $1500 rental for 4 rm), they might as well buy a HDB resale... see?

I have an ex-colleague of mine.. he's an Indian FT (PR in Singapore). He's been working here, making money in S$ and sending money home to buy land in rupees... just for your info S$1000 = Rs33,000. An avg accountant makes about Rs10,000 in India...