• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Stop Dr Chee from going to prison this election

If SDP is doing the wrong thing, so be it. Other oppos are free to move ahead and leave SDP in the dust.

If CSJ as one man can hold the entire oppo back, don't you think that reflects on the fragility of the oppo rather than CSJ himself?

But that is the problem that all opposition faces. All the opposition parrties had been grouped togather, no thanks to PAP media, as one unit and if one does something, all are seem as the same.

Despite the branding intent of WP, NSP and even RP, many singaporeans, especially those who are poliiticaly ignorant or dont care, cant tell one from another. This is the same asthose in the so called "international stage". Those people dont know who is who and group everyone togather as long as you are not with PAP

Chee and SDP knows that and they have been playing this image for years. People outside Singapore think that Chee is an "opposition leader", but he had never won a seat whereas very few know who Low and Chiam is despite they have been hagning around for years and have actually done more on the ground that Chee had ever done so. And best part is, Chee and SDP had little influence in the general political dcevelopment. Chiam and Low had way more influence locally.

So think of this, if we dont stop what Chee is doing, how can the opposition progress? PAP will never hand power over and they will fight tooth and nauil, who wont? So for the opposition to move forward, deadwood need to go.

But that is the problem that all opposition faces. All the opposition parrties had been grouped togather, no thanks to PAP media, as one unit and if one does something, all are seem as the same.

Despite the branding intent of WP, NSP and even RP, many singaporeans, especially those who are poliiticaly ignorant or dont care, cant tell one from another. This is the same asthose in the so called "international stage". Those people dont know who is who and group everyone togather as long as you are not with PAP

wouldn't say the electorate think all oppositions are the same.
The difference between WP and SDP % of votes against PAP is a big 16% by WP.

So think of this, if we dont stop what Chee is doing, how can the opposition progress? PAP will never hand power over and they will fight tooth and nauil, who wont? So for the opposition to move forward, deadwood need to go.

I have my own disagreements with you on the general direction SDP is taking and I think we should just agree to disagree. But in this instance, if you look back at the context of our discussion, have you stopped to ponder exactly why CSJ is being charged in court & jailed? Was it because of a crime? A petty offence? It was simply about speaking in public during an election campaign. It was not a civil disobedience exercise or some sort of protest that he announced in advanced to the media. And for that - jailed 5 months.

I think we are losing our Perspective here. The action is an election campaign speech made in public. It is the authorities who have blown up the matter and chosen to prosecute. Life isn't fair. JBJ was also persecuted in the midst of election campaign over the TLH affair. No one then claimed that JBJ destroyed the image of the opposition. Every pro-oppo guy knew JBJ did not intend to destroy the oppo.

Yet another tactical blunder. Its best that he remains in prison to reflect how poorly he plans and executes things. His associates are getting younger by the day and that should indicate that something is a amiss.

I thought they would see this as a good sign and a plus point. That means renewal to them. They're flaunting their youth wing.

I think we are losing our Perspective here. The action is an election campaign speech made in public. It is the authorities who have blown up the matter and chosen to prosecute. Life isn't fair. JBJ was also persecuted in the midst of election campaign over the TLH affair. No one then claimed that JBJ destroyed the image of the opposition. Every pro-oppo guy knew JBJ did not intend to destroy the oppo.

Ooh. Me???

I would have less issue against CSJ's approach had it not for its inconsistency. At times avoid breaking the law, at times break the law but don't pay fine and go jail, at times break the law and don't go jail but pay fine. What is the principle behind the different approaches? It mirrors the times when they profess to be the strongest advocates for opposition unity, but hit on other opposition, then hit on RP for hitting on other opposition. To me, the lack of principles are always telling, no matter how brave they display it.

JBJ and CSJ are miles apart. In my view, there is less difference between JBJ and CST or LTK. The difference is the way the PAP treated them. Why?

LKY went against JBJ for one primary reason - skin colour. The old man didn't (and doesn't) want politics to be polarised by racial because JBJ will tend to attract Indians from PAP to WP if he grows and leave PAP with Chinese, then it will become Chinese v Indians like in Malaysia. (Not that I agree with the old man.)

The public has the perception that Chee is against the PAP because of personal reasons. He scored well in writing an open condolence message to LKY after his spouse passed away. Then he took a personal dig at LKY in the same letter, which make us all squirmed. Somehow he cannot tear himself away from attacking his nemesis.

Account Name: Ms. Huang Chih Mei
Bank Name: United Overseas Bank Limited (UOB)
Account No: 314-106-026-9 (savings account)
Bank Address: UOB Ltd, Thomson Branch, 251/253 Upper Thomson Road, Singapore 574376
Swift Code: UOVBSGSG

(Note: No ATM card required if you use a UOB cash deposit machine)

Cheque

You can write a cheque made payable to Ms. Huang Chih Mei and mail it to 12A Jalan Gelenggang, Singapore 578192.

Bankrupt Chee stays in freehold terrace house and ask us hdb dweller to help pay for his fine?? Well done!

Sorry for accidentally using your nick in vain. The other forum nick I love to use in vain is "Balls2U" (not that I am trying to say balls to you here!!).

Change of approach at different times is understandable. Now is election season, so no civil disobedience activities.

The only time SDP has hit on oppo is when they criticized Sylvia Lim's speech in 2007 at the IBA conference. But that speech was worth criticizing. Note that they focussed on the content of Sylvia' statements, they never called WP approved oppo. Though it must be admitted that Jufrie Mahmood did INDEED compared WP to poodles before he joined SDP as a member.

RP has been genuinely hitting on the oppo from time to time and in quite rude ways too. Being a political newbie, one does not expect this kind of behaviour.

Ooh. Me???

I would have less issue against CSJ's approach had it not for its inconsistency. At times avoid breaking the law, at times break the law but don't pay fine and go jail, at times break the law and don't go jail but pay fine. What is the principle behind the different approaches? It mirrors the times when they profess to be the strongest advocates for opposition unity, but hit on other opposition, then hit on RP for hitting on other opposition. To me, the lack of principles are always telling, no matter how brave they display it.

Not freehold terrace house. It is a 2nd level shophouse and I think he is renting the place.

Okay, thanks. But surely he can rent something in Jurong that is much cheaper right? Upper Thomson a bit extravagant leh.

That row of shop houses in Jalan Gelenggang, the rental of the 2nd floor is pretty cheap, cheaper than a 4 room flat. It is pretty small actually.

Okay, thanks. But surely he can rent something in Jurong that is much cheaper right? Upper Thomson a bit extravagant leh.

I know of someone who rents a place for massage parlour in upper thomson and the rent is cheap. Why do u think the operating costs of such biz there is so low?

Ooh. Me???

I would have less issue against CSJ's approach had it not for its inconsistency. At times avoid breaking the law, at times break the law but don't pay fine and go jail, at times break the law and don't go jail but pay fine. .............................. WP if he grows and leave PAP with Chinese, then it will become Chinese v Indians like in Malaysia. (Not that I agree with the old man.)

Dear Perspective,

Your views are really genuine perspective that is worthy for considerations.

Thank you,

Exactly, as I said in the other thread. Like playing chess, every move must be calculated several moves ahead. This guy appears to walk into the traps set before him with his eyes wide open. If he wants to be a martyr to show the world how oppressive the government is, he has succeeded, but he fail to understand his opponents are ready and prepared. Instead of using the funds to win votes, now the funds will be used to get him out so he can walk into another trap yet again. So just like chess he wins a knight and loses his queen, and then get checkmate again. I repeat again that winning sympathy votes will not be enough to win a seat. Not every genius can play chess, and he is out of his league.

You Sinkies are just hypocrites condeming Chee whereas you shd be condeming a corrupt judicary system that is control by dictator Old Fart. One day a big riot and civil unrest will happen to Singapore and once it starts it will last for decades and SEA will be finish and go back to 3rd world.

Look ahead of you and you see there is no good leadership after Old Fart. Of course there isn't one because if there is one then Singapore is ike North Korea.

Chee may not be a good leader and make some mistakes along the way, least he is paving ways for a good leader to come forward to match Old Fart one to one. One thing must be clear for a good leader to come and that is to make the jurdicary system a clean and uncorrupted one.

You think Old Fart is looking for someone to match himself and hopefully take over his Leegime? He is hiring 'Yes' men and paid his Yes men millions of dollars to keep old fart himself in leadership. You think old fart cares for his leegime to continue? Nah! he already told you so recently so don't get upset with Old Fart.

SDP's brand of opposition unity is that all opposition parties should agree with them, say and do the same as them. Those not in line are then blamed for disunity without regard to any principle or consistency.

JBJ and CSJ are miles apart. In my view, there is less difference between JBJ and CST or LTK. The difference is the way the PAP treated them. Why?

CSJ contested Marine Parade GRC BE 1992 knowing that it was held for JBJ. After JBJ passed away, his eulogies praised JBJ to cloud nine high. If he respected JBJ so much, why did he want to contest him, though JBJ didn't take part that BE after all, as it still turned into a four-cornered circus.

LKY went against JBJ for one primary reason - skin colour. The old man didn't (and doesn't) want politics to be polarised by racial because JBJ will tend to attract Indians from PAP to WP if he grows and leave PAP with Chinese, then it will become Chinese v Indians like in Malaysia. (Not that I agree with the old man.)

I don't think LKY went against JBJ for skin colour. I heard there were past feuds when LKY was lawyer and JBJ was judge. Can anyone confirm?

SDP's brand of opposition unity is that all opposition parties should agree with them, say and do the same as them. Those not in line are then blamed for disunity without regard to any principle or consistency.

They have been behaving like so since Chiam was kicked out and Chee took over.

The thread is about Dr. Chee and condemning the judiciary should have it's own. I will comment if you make a new thread about it. Your prediction about a big riot has no basis whatsoever.

No comment on your second point.

I respect your opinion, but that does not mean I agree with you.

I don't know where you get the idea I think that Old Man is looking for someone to match himself. Maybe you are referring to another post?

No matter whether PAP or Opposition, I will criticise him/her if I see any character flaws. It does not mean that if someone is in the Opposition, I must applaud and overlook his/her faults. As it is my personal opinion, anyone has the right to agree or disagree and if he wishes to, can rebut what I say.

You Sinkies are just hypocrites condeming Chee whereas you shd be condeming a corrupt judicary system that is control by dictator Old Fart. One day a big riot and civil unrest will happen to Singapore and once it starts it will last for decades and SEA will be finish and go back to 3rd world.

Look ahead of you and you see there is no good leadership after Old Fart. Of course there isn't one because if there is one then Singapore is ike North Korea.

Chee may not be a good leader and make some mistakes along the way, least he is paving ways for a good leader to come forward to match Old Fart one to one. One thing must be clear for a good leader to come and that is to make the jurdicary system a clean and uncorrupted one.

You think Old Fart is looking for someone to match himself and hopefully take over his Leegime? He is hiring 'Yes' men and paid his Yes men millions of dollars to keep old fart himself in leadership. You think old fart cares for his leegime to continue? Nah! he already told you so recently so don't get upset with Old Fart.

This story reminds of the tampines fc football player who was sentenced to imprisonment and he was asking his fans to help him pay his fine of $10K.

CSJ more power. $20K.

:o