• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

STI TO BELOW 1000 Points....ALL OF You Have Been WARNED!!

bart12

STI will be much worst as Spore depend on the recovery of US.
DJ will hit a bottom far beyond anyone can imagine after looking at a few emerging crisis that is unravelling before our eye.

1)Super massive layoff crisis..Look at the layoff list http://www.layoffdaily.com/ , US unemployment rate will definitely hit > 12% and unofficially rate could be as high as 20% by end of 2009( US unemployed stat does not count anyone who has run out of unemployment benefit) . The unofficial number will put it almost on par with the depression jobless crisis. The danger of high unemployment also feeds right back into the financial sector because of repossessions, arrears on mortgages and lower consumption. It will causes a worsening of the financial and retail sector which feeds back to the real economy again.

2) We saw major bankruptcies, such as retailers Circuit City and Linens and Things. One bankruptcy after another. Then we saw store closings. Starbucks, Home D&D Power and down the line. With malls,stores and offices closing down due to poor business and layoff, commercial mortgage timebomb will be bigger than the subprime crisis . The question becomes who is going to take all of the vacant retail space? Who is going to rent it? The answer is - nobody. Now we look at the financial collapse in 2008, we saw the Merrill Lynch mob go under the bed and the Lehman boys went bankrupt. You saw bond companies, brokerage firms, and banks go belly up. Who is going to rent all the vacant office space that they used to occupy? The answer is - nobody. The commercial real estate collapse that’s going to happen in 2009 is going to dwarf the residential real estate collapse. US banks will have no more mean to absorb those losses and have to be nationalised.

3) Sovereign debt for eastern Europe and southern european like portugal,spain and greece have been downgraded for fear of default. Sovereign debt default from Russia and UK also possible as their currencies have been sharply devalued just over the last 1 month.This will be a repeat of 97 Asian currencies crisis but many times bigger. The collapse of UK economy will send a shockwave 100 times bigger than what we have seen from Lehman Brother debacle. In addition, municipal bonds in the US will also default as well like California is heading toward bankruptcy

We’re going to see the economic collapse the likes of which the world has never seen before. It’s not only in the United States; it’s going global. At the end of 2008 we saw Christmas retail sales: women’s apparel down 23%; home furnishings and electronics off 27%; luxury items down 35%. These are Depression Era collapses.

It is possible that the current crisis can be worse than the Great Depression, perhap call it the Greatest Depression. Back then in 1930 deperssion,most American didn’t have homes. There was no such thing as home equity loan. And back then, people didn’t have credit cards. The consumer wasn’t 14 trillion dollars in debt. United States had a manufacturing base that built the world out of the Great Depression following World War Two. Uinited States no longer have that.

Seriously DJ could hit as low as <3000!! STI <500!

Royston46

This year will fall to 600 - 400 pts !

If that really happens, you will see many big bosses driving Lambo, Merc, Ferarris become taxi drivers...

:eek:

My Dad was one of the casualties in the late 1980s...

He drove many many types of cars during his time, Merc, Honda Prelude, Lancer, etc, stay semi-D in Kembangan... when he died, the very last car he drove was a Citi Cab taxi and the last property he owned is a 5 Rm flat...

Life is such, how much you can eat, how much luxuries you can enjoy is all fated one...

I have always lived by this piece of wisdom derived from my older generation's story... Be content with what you have and be happy!

Without doubt there are solid companies that are blue chip. The current trend is downwards and its driven by global sentiments that has nothing to do with fundamentals for some of these. Obviously they are cheap and do not reflect the fundamentals. Obviously it going to rebound.

Howevere only an absolute idiot will buy now as it a trend. This is not a volatile market, there is a clear trend. Furthermore we are going to see companies collapsing and this will see further down downward pressure.

Wait till it stops trending downwards.

Just keep the cash in the milo tin now.
Put in milo tin also have to be wary of thief.
Put with fund manager also have to be wary of thief.
The only difference is the attire.

TeeKee

one good recommended stock advisory...

when Temasek or GIC buys, SELL!

when Temasek of GIC sells, BULL!!

bao tio one...LOL

Soul_Reaper

..... it will be a simple strategy. Dump money into dirt cheap stocks of stable companies and forget about it for 5 years. (Really forget about touching it.)

Normally I keep them for more than 10 years, my average returns is about 16 fold :biggrin:
Wun be going in until STI drop below 999 but this time round a bit tricky picking out the companies that will survive :wink:

Royston46

Normally I keep them for more than 10 years, my average returns is about 16 fold :biggrin:
Wun be going in until STI drop below 999 but this time round a bit tricky picking out the companies that will survive :wink:

Hahahaha! Good for you.

Just another simple strategy, whatever Jinx touch, don't touch, sure turn into dog shit one in a while...

That should filter out plenty of time bombs and land mines for you to cross to the land of richness safely...

Hehehehehe!

Very unlikely STI below 1000pt. My prediction will drop again and stable around 1200 pts.
Then HDB price will drop 20~30% by next year. Private property will drop by average 50%.

Put in milo tin also have to be wary of thief.
Put with fund manager also have to be wary of thief.
The only difference is the attire.
good point.

Here is a feel good real story. Shophouse burnt down many years ago. Policeman was asked to keep guard until next morning. Owner, Ah Pek came down early next morning looking around for something and found the policeman sitting on a milo tin.

He pointed at it and the Policeman handed it to him. He opened it and all his savings were in there intact.

Spermlord

in my humble opinion, sti should be able to hold between 1100-1300 level. it's shopping time sooner than later (possibly around mid to end 2009).
by next year end, properties should be next in line.
meanwhile, within couple of months, precious metals should be gems for the picking.

Mark my word, it will go BELOW 1000 before Jun 09

Baimi

You stupid cock !!

Now is the best time to buy high dividend blue chip stocks !!

Don't tell me you keep your money in milo tin below your bed ah ??:eek:

Very true!!
I have a fixed desopite of 20K and after
21/2 years, I go and collect my interest
only $500+
I have 10 lots of SPC bought at $1.66
many years ago, each year the dividend
is $4000 before tax, and the tax can offset
my income tax. Without selling the share i
have made some money with it already.
How much, how long i must put inside the bank
to get this kind of money?
Now i have took out the money and waiting for
good price to buy share with good dividend.

UseYourBrain

You know something I don't or do you know the same thing I do?

I agree 100%. Only a broker will ask you to buy and keep at this time. See today DOW. First time since 1997 it has break through the safe haven goinbg below 7000 pts. Buy buy buy lah....dont say alibaba didnt warn you...he is a thief and he knows the wall street theif comittee mah

chrtsrv.dll

Hope

We're already in a depression. Inevitably we'll have to go through a severe deflation and then we might see a recovery in 2012.

Obama's stimulus package is not going to help turn the US economy around. Good chance for the STI to fall below 1000 pts & Dow
Jones to 4000.

The next big company to fall will be LVS. Operating costs for LVS's 4 mega casinos in Vegas and Macao amounts to about US$18m
per day, and they simply are not getting the turnover to generate for them the profits.
Trump is already gone,can Sheldon be far behuind?

I think not,even PM Lee claims that he inspects the build up of resorts every other day.

Where is the money?PAP

shelltox

For once I have to agree with ahleebabasingaporethief , we have not seen the worst yet. For those who think of averaging in this downward spiralling market it would be catching a falling knife. Your bullets would be used up and when the likes of DBS, Capitaland and the other blue chips company issue rights issues, you would be caught high and dry. With bullets all spent, you have got no $$$ to subscribe to the rights issue.
If history repeats itself, the worst crash would occur in oct 2009 . The worst crash in 1929 occurs in october 1929.