• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Staying alive and injury free during NS

AndroAsc

Came across this blog posted by a NSF. Reasonable advice provided by the young kid. Reading all the vitriolic comments is amusing:
http://www.jeremyko.com/2012/04/staying-alive-and-injury-free-serving-the-saf

It's amazing how the PAP have brainwashed the younger generation to think that serving NS is something positive. Sad to see so many people whacking him for "chao-keng" and "malingering", but I guess it's not surprising given that when I was in "National Slavery" back then, there were still people who look down on the kengsters or weakling (be it genuine case or not).

The thing I don't understand that if you were forced into slavery for 2 years, wasting your youth, why would you not want to get away with as little effort as possible? Must be the idiotic 60%.

personally, i had no problem with ppl who keng. but i tulan ppl cause problem to own platoon mate because of his keng. most tulan ppl who ownself chao keng still got the cheek to point finger at others.

LITTLEREDDOT

Very good advice. Can never understand those silly, impressionable young educated youths who are brainwashed into thinking it is such a prestige and honour to be an officer. Trained very hard and performed very diligent to get best trainee, get into OCS, get best cadet and then end up being arrowed to do so many shit work as an officer.

Advice:
1. Be an average performer, hope to be selected for specialist vocation.
2. Hope to be posted to an inactive unit and can stay-out.
3. During service, try to get downgraded and be exempted from reservist.
4. If kena reservist, hope that MINDEF lost your record and you do not get called up at all.

Equalisation

Very good advice. Can never understand those silly, impressionable young educated youths who are brainwashed into thinking it is such a prestige and honour to be an officer. Trained very hard and performed very diligent to get best trainee, get into OCS, get best cadet and then end up being arrowed to do so many shit work as an officer.

Advice:
4. If kena reservist, hope that MINDEF lost your record and you do not get called up at all.

During my time, best vocations were cook atau driver .....:smile:

Advice:

if NSF can get pass NS without any commanders knowing or remembering his name, then i said he a sifu of NS.

chupacabra

Driver is the best. Come out with license. No need to spend money at SSDC. Other vocations wayang oni. Cook also quite good as got some REAL skills when come out of NS. I know a guy who now earns over 3k as chef and was trained in army. He has no other qualifications, oni o lebel.

babuSingh

to injure oneself during NS is bo hua...after ORD the illness will come back and haunt you....can't sleep well because of back problems, can't do strenous exercise because of knee pain etc etc...Really don't understand...there are limits the human body can do..if you feel pain..your body is telling you that something is wrong NOT weakness leaving the body...KNN

LITTLEREDDOT

Being a clerk also good. Office work. Learnt typing. Good skills to have in this IT age when doing a lot of work using computer keyboard.

Being lobo and a CO's runner also good. Know how to work the channels and pull ranks using CO's name. Good PR and communication skills to have for work.

Being storeman also good. Know the weakness of inventory control and internal audit. With Accountant General always singling MINDEF as one of the biggest culprits of waste, this is good knowledge gained for future: being an auditor, financial controller or being a crook.

Being PTI also good. Hear all the good and bad excuses used by those who want to keng. Know all the physical ailments that can qualify for medical board. Once NSF service is over, use the best excuse and ailment to get downgraded and be exempted from reservist.

Only one simple and effective way : KENG ALL THE WAY!!!

Bo Keng Bo Chut Peng!

personally, i had no problem with ppl who keng. but i tulan ppl cause problem to own platoon mate because of his keng. most tulan ppl who ownself chao keng still got the cheek to point finger at others.

My motto is Keng as much as possible as long as didn't sabo anyone.....if because of your Keng someone got to take your place to shovel your shit then cannot.

Driver is the best. Come out with license. No need to spend money at SSDC. Other vocations wayang oni. Cook also quite good as got some REAL skills when come out of NS. I know a guy who now earns over 3k as chef and was trained in army. He has no other qualifications, oni o lebel.
Now no more cooks....someone mentioned PTI......PTIs also no more....and PTI is suffer first enjoy later....so still got siong part to go thru.
Actually SAF got many vocations and postings that are really cho bo one.......depends on your luck.
Vocations like mess boy, live firing areas rangers....and a range of others....some vocations allow you to sneak out and work part-time even.

This is really a good article..

Not worth it to go all out during NS..

Once in awhile can be '' On The Ball '' just for wayang sake, but most of the time should play the Keng game..

Nearing the end of my BMT, I remember asking my officer if he can recommend me to go for driver's course after my BMT.. He then told me he would consider my request..

But after BMT, I kena sent for Sispec course.. :mad: :oIo: :mad:

Three golden rules for NS:

1) Keep a low profile.
2) Don't volunteer.
3) Always do the bare minimum.

This is really a good article..

Not worth it to go all out during NS..

Once in awhile can be '' On The Ball '' just for wayang sake, but most of the time should play the Keng game..

Nearing the end of my BMT, I remember asking my officer if he can recommend me to go for driver's course after my BMT.. He then told me he would consider my request..

But after BMT, I kena sent for Sispec course.. :mad: :oIo: :mad:

your vocation already "fixed" when u go cmpb for medical checkup. if i not mistaken, only pes c go driver course. for ppl combat fit, better tiam tiam at BMT, if not, high profile chaps kenna "recommend" for ocs or sispec. of course, maybe your nsf experience differ from mine.

sometime i really feel it not what u do at nsf that allow u to be injury free. maybe there someone up there taking caring of me during NS & ICTs, i no christian, but being in a vocation that have 20tons vehicles running around and i did experience a few of accidents both inside and outside of the M113/BX but i come out in one piece. that why we ppl in armour that safety very seriously and are known to refuse orders from stupid occifiers who have hay as brain when they give dangerous orders. many time we walk down a steep gradient but OC kan us for wasting his time for not riding down inside the M113/BX. we pity the driver and VC who somehow had to control the vehicle sliding downslope despite the brakes being fully appy.

Three golden rules for NS:

1) Keep a low profile.
2) Don't volunteer.
3) Always do the bare minimum.

point 1 & 3 very truth but point 2 must see. sometime it advantageous to volunteer for a small arrow when u know there a bigger arrow coming that cannot siam.

melzp

To "KENG" is a measurement of yr survival instincts. When opportunities come, and u cant KENG, u will be hopelss in jungle. It needIQ/intelligence as well.
As for me, I either want the simplest or the toughest task. Extreme, u may call it.
I am called "TACTICAL IDLE" by my platoon <<<, My CSM(20yrs service) could not believe that I only
reported camp only on Pay Day.........hahahahahaha

Not entirely true.

Some Tan fella wasn't assigned to study night soil until much later.

that one laopeh was ministar of offense. he too was slanted to be occifier course but only he can drop out to study shit for baterica as laopeh big fark.

if not, why ppl kenna mon-intake. i suspect some survey i did at cmpb cause me to be posted to armour. kanina, 6 coys POP yet i part of the 30+ kenna second prize to armour. of course, first price go to the 50+ that posted to polar bear. a big part of that cohort posted to school of signal and i not part of it. pui...