• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sporean must bind together & boycot FTs

Honestly, FTs are not to be blame. With their back ground in india and china etc. It is quite attractive to come to singapore.

The real culprit is the PAP goverment on the FTs policy. They are here to help singapore else the MNC will move their base to china and india ( according to the PAP ministers ). You see the food courts, shopping centers and even kalanguni. Are the foodcourts, coffee shop and kalanguni going to move to china??

The only reason is the goverment fail to see thing at our level. They are not the one who face retrenchment, dirty void deck and etc.

So thanks to the 66%. May I curse you that you lose your job to a Fts and every morning your void deck is full of empty beer bottles and half eaten food.

I am very sad .........There is nothing I can do except to wait for election. Honestly I really dun know what to do. A small drop of water fight against the sea of PAP.

The solution to this is not importing cheap labour. It is to redesign the job and ensure that the pay matches the unattractiveness of the job (people who perform dirty jobs are humans too). The design of the rubbish chute is so wrong, it allows people to just chuck all sorts of rubbish down the chute and forget about the mess. In first world countries, people need to bag their waste properly, take it out of their house and put it nicely by the roadside for the garbagemen to dispose of it. I don't see why people in Singapore can't do that and take their rubbish to a central collection point in their block daily instead of just chucking everything down the rubbish chute. For the elderly or sick who need help, special arrangements will need to be made. However, Singapore being a tropical country, the garbage collection would need to be a lot more frequent than once a week.

yes...follow japan ...monday is paper collecting day ...tuesday is glass day ....wednesday is plastic day ....ect .

singapore is far far away from first world country ...

I was just thinking about this issue a couple of days ago and reached the conclusion that Singaporeans are too selfish to make something like this work. They have been ensuring low-value jobs get paid as little as possible and turned up their noses at blue-collar workers. In short, they are only concerned about their own wellbeing. Even if it is something that benefits everyone, they will rather sit on their asses and wait for someone else to fight for that for them. Their rationale is to get the gains while avoiding all risks. It is not even like letting someone else do the dirty work. At least when you get someone else to do the dirty work, you have to pay them to do it.

It is no coincidence that the PAP has remained in power all these years and the policies that they have put in place are meant to suit that mentality.

It is no point asking businesses to help Singaporeans because their focus is on the bottomline. It is up to the consumers to force the change but is that possible in Singapore? Let's assume that company A hires the greatest proportion of foreigners within its industry. How many Singaporeans would be willing to boycott company A if it offers the lowest prices? They do not know the concept of self-sacrifice for the greater good (they believe in it only if it affects their loved ones or themselves). Besides, with the huge numbers of foreigners in Singapore, this bargaining power of Singaporeans has been greatly diminished.

So, don't put too much hope in something like this happening. I have always considered myself an optimist and I am more optimistic that pigs will fly before you can see a protest of 10 people fighting for something not directly related to their own pockets. However, this strange species called Singaporeans will somehow fight over Hello Kitty toys given as part of meal purchases from a certain fast-food restaurant chain. :)

Let me give a recent case in NZ. Cadbury recently downsized their chocolate bars by 20% and replaced its cocoa butter ingredient with vegetable fat and palm oil. Even though the bars are now cheaper, Cadbury was forced to make an about-turn a couple of weeks later. Link here.

good post ......up yours

yes...follow japan ...monday is paper collecting day ...tuesday is glass day ....wednesday is plastic day ....ect .

singapore is far far away from first world country ...

no need to compare to first world, compare thailand can liao...........

I so agree with you on this..... just look at every elections, there is always an overwhelming support in opposition rallies, but when it comes to actual voting, DUH!!! all become mouse! :(

There is no need to look at the political arena, just look at your daily life. Years back, I had the misfortune to be the sole voice against an unpopular company policy even though everyone I talked to agreed with me that the policy stinks. However, when the manager asked who else shared my viewpoint, the entire room was so quiet you can hear a pin drop. The next time something similar happened, I got smarter and I asked those who are unhappy to put their names and signatures on paper. Surprisingly (or rather as expected), no Singaporeans dared to do so and it was my PRC colleagues who supported me (Besotted would probably be ecstatic over this information).

Agree with you except the Cadbury example. They used the fact that Palm Oil industry has removed the forest for Orangutan and the Kiwis fell for it. It has nothing to do with Orangutan. The dairy lobby has been anti-palm oil for years.

Let me give a recent case in NZ. Cadbury recently downsized their chocolate bars by 20% and replaced its cocoa butter ingredient with vegetable fat and palm oil. Even though the bars are now cheaper, Cadbury was forced to make an about-turn a couple of weeks later. Link here.

It has been a classic singapore trait - dissent whether with merit or not is considered negative. I have seen Singaporeans working in MNCs vehemently voice their dissensions in international meetings but turn quiet when they join local companies.

There is no need to look at the political arena, just look at your daily life. Years back, I had the misfortune to be the sole voice against an unpopular company policy even though everyone I talked to agreed with me that the policy stinks. However, when the manager asked who else shared my viewpoint, the entire room was so quiet you can hear a pin drop. The next time something similar happened, I got smarter and I asked those who are unhappy to put their names and signatures on paper. Surprisingly (or rather as expected), no Singaporeans dared to do so and it was my PRC colleagues who supported me (Besotted would probably be ecstatic over this information).

Agree with you except the Cadbury example. They used the fact that Palm Oil industry has removed the forest for Orangutan and the Kiwis fell for it. It has nothing to do with Orangutan. The dairy lobby has been anti-palm oil for years.

I have never said I agreed with the Anti-Palm Oil lobby (for the record, I don't agree with the lobby as well). I am just illustrating the power of consumers to force businesses to change their practices.

Here is a good example. There is a Brazilian Restaurant in Bukit Timah run by a Lawyer and ex-newreader David Gabriel. A local and his office friend, a Dutchman agreed to meet there for a meal. The local arrived early and asked for a table but was told that it full as reservations had been made. He waited for the Dutchman who arrived shortly and told him the situation and thinking that they would have go else where. The Dutchman walked in and got the table. The local complained in the press. David Gabriel gave a bullshit answer that they had a cancelation and his tone of reply was wanting.

I had a chat with a friend who is a family friend and business was still booming.

The country is pretty much mercernary and people like Besotted are pretty much in the majority.

How many Singaporeans would be willing to boycott company A if it offers the lowest prices? They do not know the concept of self-sacrifice for the greater good (they believe in it only if it affects their loved ones or themselves). Besides, with the huge numbers of foreigners in Singapore, this bargaining power of Singaporeans has been greatly diminished.

Here is a good example. There is a Brazilian Restaurant in Bukit Timah run by a Lawyer and ex-newreader David Gabriel. A local and his office friend, a Dutchman agreed to meet there for a meal. The local arrived early and asked for a table but was told that it full as reservations had been made. He waited for the Dutchman who arrived shortly and told him the situation and thinking that they would have go else where. The Dutchman walked in and got the table. The local complained in the press. David Gabriel gave a bullshit answer that they had a cancelation and his tone of reply was wanting.

I had a chat with a friend who is a family friend and business was still booming.

The country is pretty much mercernary and people like Besotted are pretty much in the majority.

I think it is too late, the horse has already bolted. Even if you can get half the Singaporeans to support your cause, many businesses can survive comfortably on patronage from the rest and the foreigners. I do not wish to pour cold water but in this instance, it is my gut feel that the foreigners are here to stay and it will take many years to reduce the foreign population to an acceptable level (somewhere about 10-15% would be my guess) if we do not want the economy to collapse overnight. As the Chinese saying goes, once you get on a tiger, it is difficult to dismount. This is a very clear example of the danger of how a one-party rule can easily go into excess precisely because it can implement policies most efficiently and effectively.

The PAP could be right that there can't be major changes or knee-jerk reaction to the FT policy overnight but that does not mean they should not be punished for incompetence (or is it treason) for gunning for the simplest solution (my take is that besides pandering to the population seeking lower costs, it benefits them immensely as well). As always, the people need to keep a constant vigilance on their government and any curtailment of civil liberties must be met with vehement objection.

A boycott is never a practical and long term solution. Where do you start? Stop using all imported brands? Sony TV, Nike shoes, Mac computers, handphones? Everything on sale in Singapore bears an FT mark. Almost every thing we feel and touch here has been conceived, developed and manufactured elsewhere. Face it, from our perspective, these goods carry the banners of FTs from around the world.

If your country doesn't make it easy for foreigners to work here, people just won't come, simple as that. It's not their fault that they're now invading your shores.

Take a look at most European countries. Look at England for instance, the football league to be specific. For any non-native to play in the league, and I'm not even talking about the Premiereship, you first have to have played for your country a certain number of times, in other words, there is a quota to fulfill before they even issue you a work permit. There have been many talented players who have failed throughout history to secure this permit because they have not played enough times for their own country, either because of injury or some unforeseen reasons. This is what we call screening, where only the real talents get summoned. Players like Park Ji Sung are REAL foreign talents because they have first surpassed expectations back home.

In Singapore, any one who has a passport that doesn't bear the red covers can be considered foreign talent. Where's is the screening? Even the Bangalah who clears my rubbish is a talent. He is talented becos he can do something that a lot of govt scholars can't do!

Last edited by a moderator:
I think it is too late, the horse has already bolted. Even if you can get half the Singaporeans to support your cause, many businesses can survive comfortably on patronage from the rest and the foreigners. I do not wish to pour cold water but in this instance, it is my gut feel tha.

thi is exactly true.. the monopolistic govt.. may have got the efficiency and speed to get things done.. but it also bulldozes over the alternatives easily..

there should always be a push and pull between the government and its people in moving things..

this govt is already holding a tiger by its tail.. meaning it has gone too far in its policies and a u turn (sudden..one) will be a suicidal one..
:eek:

you guys and gays are pathetic. keep on whining and can't do a thing about it, except to vent online with an anonymous moniker. come election time, and it's still the same old same old. fucking useless bunch of morons in sinkapoor.

btw, i'm cumming to visit to check on the state of local affairs soon. will most likely hear a different story and see different things when i'm on the ground. tend to think that the hatred of ft's is pent up and only displayed here and not in any face to face confrontation (due to lack of balls on sinkies part).

again, you chaps are truly pathetic.:rolleyes:

Locals need to take a long hard look at themselves

At every business chamber meeting, all the SME bosses have the same hiring problem, hence we feed back to the MOM about the work dependency ratio

It is a genuine problem. Locals don't want to work shifts, fussy about transport, quit to go another employer after OJT just because of $50 increase or because nearer home, and locals ARE ALWAYS COMPLAINING

That makes PRC Pinoy and Burmese attractive hires

PRC workers are the hardest working. It is scary how long they work and they still beg me to let them chalk up overtime

Pinoy are not so hardworking but they are very happy people and they make good front end workers

Burmese are extremely local and listen to instructions always

Don't always blame employers, goverment or the economy. REFLECT upon your own behaviour

Totally agree. Those of us with even a drop of assertiveness or self-worth left SG for greater things.

The ones left behind rest just:

1) Copy and paste articles or KPKB on SBF
2) Take voyeur pictures, copy and paste articles or KPKB on Stomp.

there are 3 types in sinkapoor:

1. wealthy, elite, powerful who call the shots
2. foreigners who leave their countries in search of jobs
3. local losers who can't be (1) and (2)

everytime i arrive in sinkapoor for a visit, all i get to see in public are (1) and (2). those in number (3) are most likely stuck in their shitholes posting crap and ranting "unfair" day in night out.

truly pathetic bunch of morons.

Who wants to work for u and lose money because of the misreable salary u're paying and the high cost of living in Singapore? People like u who do not innovate and only compete on low costs will be gone sooner rather than later. SG will also be gone if it only knows how to compete on low costs.

U fuckard, even the rich and powerful & FTs always KPKB about their pay and responsibilities. U're probably too insignificant to be hanging around these people so u don't know how they really behave away from the public's eyes.

To Besotted:

Bosses need to take a long hard look at themselves.

At every opportunity behind their backs, all the SME employees complain about the same lousy boss problem, hence we feed back to the MOM about the blatant worker exploitation (too bad the government is in bed with the bosses, definitely a problem arising from one-party rule).

It is a genuine problem. Bosses want workers to work shifts without considering about their employees' life outside of work, paying worthwhile salaries for the shifts, allowing flexible work arrangements so that employees can still have a life, do not treat employees as intelligent creative people who do not like being stuck in a dead-end job with unappreciative bosses (so they will even take a paycut to change employers) and the bosses are always treating their employees like criminals who will cheat them of $1 at the slightest opportunity (not to mention expecting the employees to sacrifice everything just because they are giving them a job with a fixed salary).

They think PRC Pinoy and Burmese are attractive hires although the productivity suffers.

PRC workers are like robots. It is scary how long they work and they still beg bosses to let them chalk up overtime because they are in debt up to their eyes to pay their agents to bring them in to work.

Pinoy are not so hardworking but they are very happy people and they make good front end workers because back home, their economy is in shambles and they have twenty hungry mouths to feed.

Burmese are extremely local (loyal?) and listen to instructions always because that is how they have been conditioned under the murderous regime in Myanmar. Otherwise, the result is death or imprisonment.

Don't always blame employees, goverment or the economy. REFLECT upon your own behaviour.