• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

S'pore to raise retirement age to 64 in 2026

threadfin

Stupidman
https://www.mothership.sg/tag/covid-19

S'pore to raise retirement age to 64 in 2026​

Re-employment age will be raised to 69 in the same year.

Kerr Puay Hian |
clock.png
March 04, 2024, 05:02 PM

Singapore's retirement age will be raised to 64 years old in 2026, Minister of Manpower Tan See Leng announced on Mar. 4, 2024, during the Committee of Supply debates.

Re-employment age will be increased to 69 in the same year.

The retirement age was raised to 63, and the re-employment age to 68 in July 2022.

For a more inclusive workplace​

Tan said this is part of the government's plans to "work hand-in-hand with employers and workers to build more inclusive and progressive workplaces".

Tan added that for seniors who wish to continue working, tripartite partners have agreed in 2019 to increase retirement and re-employment ages to 65 and 70 by 2030.

He said the increase in 2026 was also planned after reaching an agreement with the tripartite partners.

"We want to provide all Singaporeans with opportunities to participate in our transformation journey," Tan said.

Raising the official retirement age to 64 sounds good on paper, but as long as there are no specific anti-discrimination laws in place, competent older workers are not receiving adequate protection from discrimination based on their age rather than their ability; those affected by forced lay-offs will consider making official complaints nothing but a waste of time.

Work till u die and pay taxes to support PAP elite salaries and service humongous mortgage loans
Removing older staff from their jobs after they have crossed a defined age may lead to companies losing some of their most valuable assets. Experienced managers are usually the most acquainted with how their organisations function, and are more likely to preempt problems than newer staff.

Provided PAP still run the show lah..

But one thing I dun understand,u can retire whenever u want, why do u need an authority to tell you when u can retired?

Government say 64. Private corp say 44. So how ?
You hit the nail squarely on its head! Based on the experience of many of my ex-classmates, the axe tends to fall in the private sector by age 45. Some of them bounced back to white collar positions similar to their last job, but most fell off the cliff to either be self-employed or doing gig work far beneath their experience and qualifications.

Provided PAP still run the show lah.. But one thing I dun understand,u can retire whenever u want, why do u need an authority to tell you when u can retired?
The official line from the Govt is that an official retirement age provides a framework for workforce management. It ensures fairness and supports older workers by helping to create a more inclusive and dynamic workplace. At the same time, it offers opportunities for younger staff while retaining the valuable experience and skills of older employees.

You hit the nail squarely on its head! Based on the experience of many of my ex-classmates, the axe tends to fall in the private sector by age 45. Some of them bounced back to white collar positions similar to their last job, but most fell off the cliff to either be self-employed or doing gig work far beneath their experience and qualifications.
This ah pek is one of the many examples..

Th
Raising the official retirement age to 64 sounds good on paper, but as long as there are no specific anti-discrimination laws in place, competent older workers are not receiving adequate protection from discrimination based on their age rather than their ability; those affected by forced lay-offs will consider making official complaints nothing but a waste of time.
The problem is the terms spelt out in the re-employment contract, such as no 13th month bonus, no performance bonus, even the younger employees are entitled. Is this discrimination against elder workers?

The official line from the Govt is that an official retirement age provides a framework for workforce management. It ensures fairness and supports older workers by helping to create a more inclusive and dynamic workplace. At the same time, it offers opportunities for younger staff while retaining the valuable experience and skills of older employees.
That is very book theory. Does not reflect reality. No companies give a fuck what the govt say.. profit is the thing. If you reach certain age and the company feels that u are a liability. Bye bye to ur job.

Th
The problem is the terms spelt out in the re-employment contract, such as no 13th month bonus, no performance bonus, even the younger employees are entitled. Is this discrimination against elder workers?
Oh and CPF contribution also cut by the employer? Well said it is age discrimination on the pap end

Singapore raise retirementment age in order for our GDP to look good superficially on world stage.

https://www.mothership.sg/tag/covid-19

S'pore to raise retirement age to 64 in 2026​

Re-employment age will be raised to 69 in the same year.

Kerr Puay Hian |
clock.png
March 04, 2024, 05:02 PM

Singapore's retirement age will be raised to 64 years old in 2026, Minister of Manpower Tan See Leng announced on Mar. 4, 2024, during the Committee of Supply debates.

Re-employment age will be increased to 69 in the same year.

The retirement age was raised to 63, and the re-employment age to 68 in July 2022.

For a more inclusive workplace​

Tan said this is part of the government's plans to "work hand-in-hand with employers and workers to build more inclusive and progressive workplaces".

Tan added that for seniors who wish to continue working, tripartite partners have agreed in 2019 to increase retirement and re-employment ages to 65 and 70 by 2030.

He said the increase in 2026 was also planned after reaching an agreement with the tripartite partners.

"We want to provide all Singaporeans with opportunities to participate in our transformation journey," Tan said.
CPF goal pole shifting alert

Leetirement age going up means the gov is useless.
A good gov is supposed to make the Leetirement down and not up.
Fuck canto leng and LW