• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SMRT puts missing person posters programme 'on hold'

M

Magoichi Saika

SMRT puts missing person posters programme 'on hold'

showimageCC.aspx

by Leong Wee Keat
05:55 AM Jan 07, 2010

showimageCC.aspx

Mdm Zhang Xiang Yun standing outside Tampines MRT station on Tuesday to appeal for information for her missing daughter, Han Yanfei.

SINGAPORE - When the SMRT first started working with Crime Library in 2006, allowing posters of missing persons to be placed at all bus interchanges and MRT stations, it was hailed as an endorsement of the non-profit group's efforts.

But Crime Library's publicity efforts to help families find their missing loved ones have hit a bump recently. SMRT had told it in August that the partnership had ended and Crime Library founder Joseph Tan's attempts to revive the tie-up has not succeeded.

No "real reasons" were given, he said, except that it "was put on hold". He has not heard from the SMRT since. When contacted by MediaCorp, an SMRT spokesperson said the arrangement "lapsed some time last year". "We're currently reviewing requests to use the notice boards at our premises due to high demand from various organisations for the space," she said.

The explanation is scant consolation for Crime Library, which Mr Tan claims has an "85 per cent success rate" in tracking down missing persons. "We felt lost," he told MediaCorp. "We lost one network that could help those who do not want to publicise their stories through the mass media."

Mr Tan has not ruled out approaching public transport operator SBS Transit, which partners the police in appealing for information on missing persons. But he hopes SMRT would reconsider its decision. He cited the current case of Ms Han Yanfei, whose mother, Mdm Zhang Xiang Yun, 48, has resorted to walking around the island the last two days to distribute posters.

Mdm Zhang, who wore a sandwich board showing photographs of her missing daughter in her search for information, admitted it was tedious, but she said she would not stop till she finds her daughter. "I'm not allowed to paste posters. I have no other way but to rely on myself," she said.

zuoom

maybe they could turn to the various online plaform like the forums, and maybe even Facebook networks?

cooleo

U people still don't get it?

AssMRT wanna make $$$$$$

Just pay for using the ad space can liao!

BusNo64

I am very sure this PRC bitch is hoping to find her daughter body fast so that she can put on a show to cry father and cry mother so that gullible sinkies will take pity and donate to her ala Huang Na.
I wonder who long is she going to walk around with dat sandwich board? 1 yr? 2 or 5 yrs if they don't find her body? Then can become PR and work in tuina, or go geylang kopitiam and con ahpek..:rolleyes::oIo:

annexa

"We're currently reviewing requests to use the notice boards at our premises due to high demand from various organisations for the space,"

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

HellAngel

We look forward to the decision made by SMRT management. Based on the decision, we can judge the kind of top dogs there and which one they value more Monetary or Morality. I think it would be the former as they will say, we are not a charity organisation.

"We're currently reviewing requests to use the notice boards at our premises due to high demand from various organisations for the space,"

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

HellAngel

It is for their shareholders and investors.

Established in 1987, SMRT has been listed on the Singapore Exchange since July 2000. Their core transport business is focused on offering a safe, reliable and friendly travel experience on the extensive network of trains, buses and taxis supported by various retail amenities conveniently located within stations island-wide.

http://www.squidoo.com/SMRT

But hor SMRT was built with taxpayers monies...

So it should be accountable and serve the people right? :biggrin:

Does anyone know whether Crime Library is a voluntary organization?
How do they obtain their funding or revenues?
It seems that they are doing quite a useful job.