• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's citizens are the only citizens in Asia without minimum wage

forum123
  • profile.png
    View Profile
  • forum.png
    View Forum Posts
  • message.png
    Private Message

user-offline.png
<DL class=userinfo_extra><DT>Join Date <DD>Jul 2011 </DD><DT>Posts <DD>413 </DD></DL>
[h=2]Singapore's citizens are the only citizens in Asia without minimum wage[/h]
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-...ces-minimum-wage-as-najib-preps-for-poll.html

Malaysia will introduce its first minimum wage to benefit an estimated 3.2 million workers, joining neighbors Thailand and Vietnam in strengthening support for low-income households as elections approach in Southeast Asia’s third-largest economy.

“The lowest-paid will now be guaranteed an income than lifts them out of poverty and helps ensure that they can meet the rising cost of living,” Prime Minister Najib Razak said, announcing the plan in a speech in Putrajaya, near Kuala Lumpur, ahead of today’s Labor Day holiday. “The proposed rates take into account the needs of business, while ensuring that no Malaysian is left behind.”
Malaysia Introduces Minimum Wage Ahead of Election

The government has been preparing for a possible early election in May or June, before the due date in early 2013, according to four officials who spoke in March on condition of anonymity because the talks are private. Najib, 58, has raised civil servant salaries and pensions, waived school fees and boosted handouts for the poor in a bid to extend the ruling party’s 55-year lock on power.

The pay plan comes after police arrested 512 people who took part in a street protest in Kuala Lumpur on April 28 to demand cleaner and fairer elections. Najib’s government enacted legislation in April banning such protests after police detained more than 1,600 people during a similar rally in July.

Workers on Peninsular Malaysia will get a minimum 900 ringgit ($297) per month starting in October, said Najib, who is also finance minister. The rate will be 800 ringgit in some more rural areas, including the eastern Sabah and Sarawak states, he said. The government has already begun distributing one-off 500- ringgit ($165) cash payments to the poor after announcing a record 232.8 billion-ringgit spending plan for 2012 in his October budget.
Wealth Gaps

Asian nations from Thailand to Taiwan are introducing or raising minimum pay to address wealth gaps in a region that is leading global growth.

Thailand increased its minimum wage to 300 baht ($9.75) a day in Bangkok and six provinces in April, and by an average of 40 percent in the rest of the country. The move partly fulfilled a campaign pledge that helped propel Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra’s party to a majority win in July elections.

Vietnam in May will raise the minimum wage for state employees by about 27 percent to 1.05 million dong ($50) per month, according to a National Assembly decision last year. The government enacted a minimum wage increase of as much as 69 percent in October that applied to workers employed by private and state-owned enterprises.

Taiwan’s move last year to increase minimum pay by 5 percent to NT$18,780 ($644) per month helped President Ma Ying- jeou win a second term in January.
Hong Kong Protest

Hong Kong introduced its first statutory minimum wage of HK$28 ($3.61) an hour last year. Thousands of workers were expected to take to Hong Kong’s streets today, demanding Chief Executive-elect Leung Chun-ying address a widening wealth gap when he takes office in July.

Najib, who took over as prime minister mid-term in 2009, sparked speculation of an early vote when he said in December that preparations had begun for the contest. His National Front coalition, which has governed Malaysia since independence, had its narrowest election victory in half a century in 2008.

Malaysia’s minimum wage policy is part of the government’s long-term economic plan to move the country up the value-added chain into higher-yielding industries from its agricultural base.

The country’s per capita income has risen to $9,700 from $6,700 when the government’s economic transformation program was started two years ago, Najib said on April 3. This means Malaysia is on track to achieve its target of per capita income $15,000 by 2020 when the Southeast Asian nation wants to achieve developed-nation status, he said.​

This is all due to the cowardice and ball-less behavior of the sinkies. It has come to a point that it is even a disgrace to live in this type of country.

Asian nations from Thailand to Taiwan are introducing or raising minimum pay to address wealth gaps in a region that is leading global growth.

Thailand increased its minimum wage to 300 baht ($9.75) a day in Bangkok and six provinces in April, and by an average of 40 percent in the rest of the country. The move partly fulfilled a campaign pledge that helped propel Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra’s party to a majority win in July elections.

Very very proud of Thailand!!!!

Tonychat you chump. What's point of having a minimum wage for the sake of having one? Let the economic factors decide.

Thailand's minimum wage is THB 300 (S$13) per day. So they are better off than us? Malaysia minimum wage is $327 per month.

Tonychat you chump. What's point of having a minimum wage for the sake of having one? Let the economic factors decide.

Thailand's minimum wage is THB 300 (S$13) per day. So they are better off than us? Malaysia minimum wage is $327 per month.

if you are not happy with my posts, then dun read it lah.. stupid sinkies..

oh yes . uneducated and disgruntled low life sinkies.

Thailand treats her people as humans. a minimum for basic living and survival.

Sinkies are treated as digits and dumbfuck slaves

Sinkies no need salary, just give them a plate of rice ok liao.

if you are not happy with my posts, then dun read it lah.. stupid sinkies..

oh yes . uneducated and disgruntled low life sinkies.

Thailand treats her people as humans. a minimum for basic living and survival.

Sinkies are treated as digits and dumbfuck slaves

Sinkies no need salary, just give them a plate of rice ok liao.

Look who is calling others uneducated and low life.... This is so funny... ha ha ha 555555

Thailand treats her people as humans and Singapore not? You must be kidding!!

I suggest when you visit Thailand, spend more time knowing the real people, including the middle class.

Going there only for whoring and mixing too much with whores is not going to bring you very far in understanding Thailand!

Singapore Citizens have no minimum wages But Singapore PAP ministers have minimum wages.
1st in the world.

Look who is calling others uneducated and low life.... This is so funny... ha ha ha 555555

Thailand treats her people as humans and Singapore not? You must be kidding!!

I suggest when you visit Thailand, spend more time knowing the real people, including the middle class.

Going there only for whoring and mixing too much with whores is not going to bring you very far in understanding Thailand!

Please provide proof that I am whoring as claimed by you. The dumbfuck,uneducated one

All a minimum wage does is to mandate a system whereby lazy, unproductive members of society end up earning far more than they are worth.

The absence of a minimum wage in Singapore ensures that the economy remains competitive and that everyone has to work hard to keep their heads above water.

As a result, the population is actually stronger and healthier as can be seen by comparing life expectancy in Singapore vs most other Asian economies.

As can be seen from the chart, only Japan has a higher life expectancy and that's due primarily to a healthier diet.

minimum wages will benefit FT/FW much more than local sinkies. Do opposition know what is inflation. When everyone have wage increase, price of food and lodging will increase, and it does not solve the poverty.

I am in favour of minimum wage

All my workers, including the PRC cleaner and dishwasher, already make more than $1,000 each, plus I provide food and accommodation and one sponsored trip to zoo/flyer/any other attraction once every two months

Minimum wage only applies to the Men In Whites & their associates, their bench mark is 1 peanut; the peasent, call shout, mayday, mayday' no one will hear!! Last exchange rate for 1 peanut equals S$600,000 determined by Wooden GO wife!

With minimum wage is still grossly underpaid. Lim Chong Yah has said our countries have moved at the speed faster than many countries but our salaries remained stagnant and backward on par with 3rd world salaries.

but our salaries remained stagnant and backward on par with 3rd world salaries.

If your salary has remained stagnant, look at yourself in the mirror.

Have you made efforts to be more productive? Have you figured out a better way of earning a living instead of waking up every morning and doing the same thing you did yesterday and with the intention of going through the same process tomorrow, and next week, and next year, and the year after.

Change has to come from within. It is not the PAP's job to make a success of your life. You have to do that yourself.

Instead of moaning and complaining like wimp, research the mindsets of successful people and emulate their attitudes towards life.

If your salary has remained stagnant, look at yourself in the mirror.

Have you made efforts to be more productive? Have you figured out a better way of earning a living .

Oh ya, I leanred to fuck PAP from different angles on different days without jeopardizing my daily susbsistience if you want to know that. My productivity far surpassed all MIW ministers combined. They screwed the people for obscene pay, I screw them back. With that I deserved to be as handsomely paid as them for the same jobs they did. Now, get me thick steel pole, I need to break some ass.

All a minimum wage does is to mandate a system whereby lazy, unproductive members of society end up earning far more than they are worth.

The absence of a minimum wage in Singapore ensures that the economy remains competitive and that everyone has to work hard to keep their heads above water.

As a result, the population is actually stronger and healthier as can be seen by comparing life expectancy in Singapore vs most other Asian economies.

As can be seen from the chart, only Japan has a higher life expectancy and that's due primarily to a healthier diet.

That is right. PAP should not set minimum wages but give handouts instead, like the Aussies and Kiwis.
My parents receive about A$1k each monthly from the generous Aussie government and this is much better than minimum wage because you don't even need to work :D

Please provide proof that I am whoring as claimed by you. The dumbfuck,uneducated one

Hey chump, what proof you want? Proof that you are a whorist and/or some uneducated low class dumfuck?

Oh ya, I leanred to fuck PAP from different angles on different days without jeopardizing my daily susbsistience if you want to know that. My productivity far surpassed all MIW ministers combined. They screwed the people for obscene pay, I screw them back. With that I deserved to be as handsomely paid as them for the same jobs they did. Now, get me thick steel pole, I need to break some ass.

Agree agree, do it from different angle, like do it in rea life in front of PAP and not KPKB behind a PC or Tab.

Whoever that says pay raise depends on productivity is an idiot. Whether you get a good raise depends on the following factors:

1) How critically dependant the company is on you.
2) How you fool your boss into believing you deserve a raise
3) How you befriend the human resource to do a good benchmarking report for you

In other words, being honest and hardworking is the least effective way to get a raise.

Deceit and manipulation is the order of the day.