• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore's citizens are the only citizens in Asia without minimum wage

Wage is the single biggest income that most pple have and unless U are in retail with less then 1 staff at your store, for the majority of companies out there, wages is also the single highest operating expense that they have(don't take my word for it, go check out financial statements of companies that publish them) and Food is the most important item that any one person needs that is why I used them as examples. They are totally relevant to the topic.

So by your measure, wages and food are good indicators that Taiwan is worse off than Singapore economically?

This guy is just out to lick the PAP balls. He is no economist but want you to believe he knows something. Just ignore his comments becos' he knows nuts.

Thanks I already knew that from his post. I am casting my line for him to bite before I reel him in hook line and sinker.:D

I. At the end of the day, ask yourself. are you willing to push prices up 25-30% just to see a minimum wage?

Money in my pocket is better than those locked up by other people. Who cares about inflation. If I don't eat out and everyone stay at home eating their own healthy diy meal, inflation will drop and has no impact on my life. Besides, how frequent do you need to buy light bulbs, electrical appliance...etc. Inflations only affect the rich and the spendrift people. Whether you earn more or less, inflations will stay so I rather earn more than less.

Lanchiow, understand. You're the uneducated one who cannot see that minimum wage may equal to no job.

if you are not happy with my posts, then dun read it lah.. stupid sinkies..

oh yes . uneducated and disgruntled low life sinkies.

Thailand treats her people as humans. a minimum for basic living and survival.

Sinkies are treated as digits and dumbfuck slaves

Sinkies no need salary, just give them a plate of rice ok liao.

i support minimum wages.

Those who talk cock say minimum wages is bad are those uneducated low IQ dumbfuck losers, just like those dumbfuck PAP ministers...

Thailand well done, you have propose minimum wages and that is the first step toward being a real country and a step toward being a truly developed country like Australia, dun be like sinkieland populated with a whole bunch of dumbfuck losers

I love Thailand....

Thailand 1 sinkieland -999

Well done Malaysia

Malaysia 1 Uneducated Dumbfuck sinkieland -999

Malaysia's Najib weathers protest, announces minimum wage

KUALA LUMPUR (REUTERS) - Malaysian Prime Minister Najib Razak announced the country's first minimum wage on Monday, moving to regain the political initiative after violence at weekend protests raised doubt about the timing of elections that had been expected by June.

Private sector workers in peninsula Malaysia will receive minimum monthly pay of RM900 (S$365) while those in the poorer east Malaysia states of Sabah and Sarawak will get RM800, Mr Najib said in a television address.

That compares with the RM760 per month that, according to a government survey, roughly represents the poverty income line in Malaysia and the gross pay that workers take home in the manufacturing sector.

The new wage policy, part of Malaysia's plan to achieve rich nation status by 2020, coincides with moves by China, the world's manufacturing hub, to raise minimum wages by at least 13 per cent in the five years to 2015.

Bloodsucking PAP

All a minimum wage does is to mandate a system whereby lazy, unproductive members of society end up earning far more than they are worth.

The absence of a minimum wage in Singapore ensures that the economy remains competitive and that everyone has to work hard to keep their heads above water.

LOL I know you will be out to spank those who are in favour of socialist style of labour benefits. There's nothing wrong with socialism because capitalism is stinkier. Anyway, putting up a social net is the govt job.

Demand and supply is a great to start Economics with but it didn't take me long to figure out that capitalism is one bloodsucking potential devil of the world. Need I tell you an example how a pro-capitalist country like USA is now demonstrating on the street today ?

We can see for ourselves, what is good or evil. It's time to throw them out for awhile and push these capitalist to work harder instead of becoming 寄生虫 blood sucking worms like PAP.

Hookworm_filariform_B.jpg

This is all due to the cowardice and ball-less behavior of the sinkies. It has come to a point that it is even a disgrace to live in this type of country.

LOL It seems like this is your iconic volley.

volleyball_jumpserver.jpg

Lanchiow, understand. You're the uneducated one who cannot see that minimum wage may equal to no job.

Indeed. Minimum wage is a well-meaning policy, but a disaster when coupled with liberal immigration policy. Restrict the labour supply from the third-world, evict them if necessary, and redesign work for the elderly and unskilled. Sure, price of daily consumables like eating out will certainly go up, but problems such as the escalating cost of buying a flat, underemployment and depressed wages from oversupply of labour, overcrowding in public transportation, and the chatter of unfamiliar tongues will disappear quickly.

Isn't that much better than imposing a blanket minimum wage? That is why I think minimum wage arguments are red herrings. Restricting labour supply is the better solution in my view. The day PAP starts targeting negative immigration growth and starts evicting the trespassers, I shall find it in my heart to forgive what they did with their 'enablers', but surely that is wishful thinking on my part.

Have to disagree with you on this one. A minimum wage ensures that working class people in ordinary jobs can earn enough to live well, i.e. at a standard of living above mere subsistence.

I have to disagree with you too. There shouldn't be any laws which guarantee that the lowest wage earners in society live well. "Mere subsistence" should be the low end reference point and the working class on the lowest wages should be struggling with their heads barely above water.

If they are guaranteed a wage which ensures them a comfortable existence, it takes away the incentive for improvement.

Re: Bloodsucking PAP

LOL I know you will be out to spank those who are in favour of socialist style of labour benefits. There's nothing wrong with socialism because capitalism is stinkier. Anyway, putting up a social net is the govt job.

While it may be hip to knock capitalism at the moment, the fact remains that it's the capitalists that create the jobs.

Take Apple Inc as an example.. a company that is as capitalist as they come. The socialists blame the company for the working conditions at foxxcon but they conveniently ignore the fact that the company has created hundreds of thousands of very well paying jobs worldwide and made thousands of enterprising young app writers very wealthy in a very short period of time.

The beauty of the capitalist driven internet is that it does not matter where you are in the world, as long as you have internet access, you have the potential of being the next millionaire if you can spot an opportunity.

If Singaporeans spent less time whinging and complaining about their govt on the internet and used their computers and their broadband connections in a more productive manner, they might find themselves in a position to start a company, specify that they want Singaporeans only in their job ads and pay the tea lady $3000 a month for dusting the desks and serving drinks.

This is all due to the cowardice and ball-less behavior of the sinkies. It has come to a point that it is even a disgrace to live in this type of country.

Hey Tony, how much money should you give your school children for their daily pocket money?

We should also have a law that imposes a minimum standard for pocket money you know.

Lagi best, we should pitch it at US or Swiss standard so that they can afford eat western fast-food like cheese burger and fried chickens everyday. Happy?

While it may be hip to knock capitalism at the moment, the fact remains that it's the capitalists that create the jobs.

Take Apple Inc as an example.. a company that is as capitalist as they come..... the company has created hundreds of thousands of very well paying jobs worldwide and made thousands of enterprising young app writers very wealthy in a very short period of time......

If Singaporeans spent less time whinging and complaining about their govt on the internet and used their computers and their broadband connections in a more productive manner, they might find themselves in a position to start a company, specify that they want Singaporeans only in their job ads and pay the tea lady $3000 a month for dusting the desks and serving drinks.

Unfortunately Leongsam, the Singapore gahment is very cruel and appears to stuff out gungho internet entrepreneurs.

They refuse to allow its citizens to set up a website or company like Sammyboy.comor an escort on-line service for local young (not underage) girls- both are very lucrative, you know.

By the way, if Apple Inc is an Asian entity in its beginning, the Europeans and Americans won't be so kind to it. They would have come up with all the trade barriers possible, or get learned scientists to come up with findings that ipads and iphones are bad for human beings.

I am in favour of minimum wage

All my workers, including the PRC cleaner and dishwasher, already make more than $1,000 each, plus I provide food and accommodation and one sponsored trip to zoo/flyer/any other attraction once every two months

It's not wise to reveal your tricks and confess in a public forum.

Declaring that they earned more than $1,000 + living allowances for your skilled dishwashers and professional garbage men will entitle them to an S-pass Work Permit so you pay less for the Foreign Worker's levy.

MOM will be coming to inspect your book very soon.

Unfortunately Leongsam, the Singapore gahment is very cruel and appears to stuff out gungho internet entrepreneurs.

They refuse to allow its citizens to set up a website or company like Sammyboy.com or an escort on-line service for local young (not underage) girls- both are very lucrative, you know.

By the way, if Apple Inc is an Asian entity in its beginning, the Europeans and Americans won't be so kind to it. They would have come up with all the trade barriers possible, or get learned scientists to come up with findings that ipads and iphones are bad for human beings.

I'm puzzled by your claim that the S'pore govt "refuses to allow" websites like sammyboy.com as permission is not required in the first place. The Singapore govt does not control domains other than .sg and has no jurisdiction over servers that are beyond Singapore's borders. This means that ANY Singaporean can set up any website they want and prosper from any successes that may arise. They are also free to write apps for the Apple store. All they need to do is submit the required info to Apple.

When it comes to successful companies, there were a succession of successful Asian entities before Apple became a big time player. Sony, Nintendo, Acer, Toyota, Panasonic were all billion dollar players on world stage long before Apple.

If you take a look at today's tech wars, the two companies that are in the forefront are Samsung and Apple with Samsung selling more smart phones than Apple Inc in the last few quarters. Samsung is an Asian entity.

If they are guaranteed a wage which ensures them a comfortable existence, it takes away the incentive for improvement.

Then we are actually in agreement. What is good for the goose is good for the gander.

Similarly when labour supply is unlimited and wage costs are kept at a comfortably manageable level, society (in the form of businesses) do not have the incentive to improve operating processes and productivity.

"Mere subsistence" should be the low end reference point and the working class on the lowest wages should be struggling with their heads barely above water.

My take is that it is very difficult to determine what the clean wage should be to thread "just barely above water". Many healthcare costs are difficult to determine before the fact even with an army of actuaries, simply because there are many "unknown unknowns" in an individual's life. These are things we do not know we don't know, and quite likely the reason why even working class folks here tend to live frugal lives and hoard wealth.

So until a more comprehensive healthcare program is in place, or someone can prove beyond a shadow of a doubt that current wages are indeed above water for folks intending to work, a minimum wage argument is still compelling.

Hey Tony, how much money should you give your school children for their daily pocket money?

We should also have a law that imposes a minimum standard for pocket money you know.

Lagi best, we should pitch it at US or Swiss standard so that they can afford eat western fast-food like cheese burger and fried chickens everyday. Happy?

My children are not sinkies, only dumbfucks like you give birth in sinkieland.

The amount i give is to make sure they have enough to live by comfortably and without the stress of being insufficient. This is being very well thought out by me ( because i am an unsinkified human being) and it has nothing to do with setting a rule to get to that.

They are not sinkies so they are very well-behave for being a human being , unlike sinkies.

tonychat moron,

you where got any kids. no matter how many times you screw your ladyboy wife in its whatever hole, you cannot get IT pregnant.