• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporean billionaire Peter Lim is now the new owner of Spanish club Valencia

Peter Lim's purchase of Valencia is a big slap on the faces of FAS key personnel. He could have supported local soccer by sponsoring a club or even FAS. He chose not to but invested 700million on a club thousand of miles away. Why? Makes FAS look bad.

not really, he can rope in some of the bad sheep players whom FAS cronies hold a bias view, into valencia. dun let FAS always be the judging panel.

Peter Lim's purchase of Valencia is a big slap on the faces of FAS key personnel. He could have supported local soccer by sponsoring a club or even FAS. He chose not to but invested 700million on a club thousand of miles away. Why? Makes FAS look bad.

u dun insult big shots @ iskandar wif ass-leak matches ...

DavidMoyes

I hope to see our boys play in Valencia. Huat ah!

Not a bad idea and become a mid table club. :eek:

5zzxBEp.jpg

winners

Never knew Peter Lim was once a part-time taxi driver. Wonder why he didn't buy over the taxi company which he had once worked for?

Sideswipe

can put some money on Valencia getting relegated next season. doubt this Peter Lim would be a sugar daddy for Valencia.

yinyang

Expect Valencia cafes in S'pore and the region.
Unsure if PL will replicate MU cafes (some years back). Mushroomed 1 in Boat Quay in heydays 2009, but languished later -now closed. Got 1 in coperation with thai partner in Bkk, still there in soi 11. Was there 3 years ago for makan, on a big match day. Service sucked then, waited 45mins for makan + even hot tea. Complained, and bedek by name dropping PL's:o. Visiting sinkie chabor manager wrote off the check. My crony then wished he had ordered more beers!:p

DavidMoyes

can put some money on Valencia getting relegated next season. doubt this Peter Lim would be a sugar daddy for Valencia.

Aiyaaaaaa mai picha lobang lah! I know loser sgpools will make Valencia as favorites in their matches so bet on the underdogs!

dredd

Knn, Singapore and Malaysian billionaires know fark all about football let alone how European clubs work. Look at Vincent Tan and the Fernandez guy who buy Cardiff and QPR... all first year kenna relegated. Football is not in our DNA. We can't play football at the level and we can't even buy and manage proper football clubs. Vincent Tan thinks changing from blue to red attire will keep Cardiff up... this kind of mentality? People are talking about tactics, talent, strategy... we talk about superstition.

PL will get a rude awakening when Valencia kenna relegated after next season.

Knn, Singapore and Malaysian billionaires know fark all about football let alone how European clubs work. Look at Vincent Tan and the Fernandez guy who buy Cardiff and QPR... all first year kenna relegated. Football is not in our DNA. We can't play football at the level and we can't even buy and manage proper football clubs. Vincent Tan thinks changing from blue to red attire will keep Cardiff up... this kind of mentality? People are talking about tactics, talent, strategy... we talk about superstition.

ang mohs dunno how football clubs work either.....roman ambrovich sunk 2 billion usd into chealsea....nothing to do with tactics talent or strategy,football is like a gambling casino except the odds are even worse than the casino......

S-League club? FAS? With clowns such as this guy in charge of FAS, it would have been a slap on Peter Lim to splash the cash on local football. :rolleyes:

ST_20131027_SPTZAI_3898222e.jpg

Owning a football club is a very unique business. You can splash a lot of cash and yet achieve nothing e.g. QPR, Cardiff.

I can see a lot of these Asian owners are very kiasu, they expect miracle results within one season when it should have been a long term project.

First of all, you must hire a good football manager and be on good terms with him. Don't try to play politics with him.

Your scouting network must also be good. The Asian owners tend to overpay for not-so-good players, and buy plenty of them at one go without addressing the team's needs (QPR and treatment of Joey Barton). It's not like playing a FIFA video game where you simply swap existing players with ones that have higher stats. Some players are not bad; rather, they can't play well in a certain system. You'll have to decide to keep the player or the system.

Next, you have to develop your youths within your academy. The ones that are really good can break into the first team. The better ones but not good enough to break into the first team can be loaned or sold. Sometimes some players are late bloomers who may shine during their loan spell. Keep tabs on their development.

The financial side of the business: players' wage bill, stadium ticket receipts, sponsorship deals, tv broadcast revenue, merchandise sales etc. Try to avoid having long term contracts with players aged 30 and above. A player's performance (and market value) peaks then declines after his late 20s.

Last but not least, invest in good medical facilities and have a good medical team. I'm not naming any clubs here but some clubs have plenty of injuries, players who go in and out of injury rehab, and whose fitness are questionable after recovering from an injury.