• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore PM demands that blogger delete 'false' graft accusations and apologise

Boba Fett

Singapore PM demands that blogger delete 'false' graft accusations and apologise

But writer says he is 'being sued' for posting about the need for greater accountability and transparency on wealth fund

PUBLISHED : Monday, 19 May, 2014, 5:09pm
UPDATED : Monday, 19 May, 2014, 5:29pm

Agence France-Presse in Singapore

singpm.jpg

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong. Photo: AFP

Singaporean Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has demanded an apology from a local blogger for a posting seen as accusing him of corruption.

Lee’s lawyer Davinder Singh has written to Roy Ngerng Yi Ling asking him to take down the original article as well as the links posted on his Facebook pages and to post an apology by tomorrow

Singh said the allegations by Ngerng in his May 15 blog post were “false and baseless”.

“The article means and is understood to mean that Mr Lee Hsien Loong, the Prime Minister of Singapore and the chairman of GIC, is guilty of criminal misappropriation of the monies paid by Singaporeans to the CPF (Central Provident Fund),” Singh wrote in the letter.

GIC is a sovereign wealth fund that manages more than US$100 billion of the city-state’s foreign reserves. CPF is the state pension fund.

Singh said the post constituted a serious libel against Lee, “disparages him, and impugns his character, credit and integrity”.

Health care worker Ngerng, 33, regularly posts commentaries critical of the long-ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) in his blog The Heart Truths.

Recent posts have called for greater transparency on how CPF funds are invested by the government through GIC and state investment firm Temasek Holdings.

“My articles have been calling for greater accountability and transparency, and instead of acknowledging these issues, the prime minister has decided to sue me,” Ngerng said.

“I am quite disappointed and at this point I am still in discussion with my lawyer on my next course of action.”

Singapore has ranked top in surveys as one of the world’s least corrupt countries.

But international human rights groups have regularly accused its leaders, including Lee’s father and former prime minister Lee Kuan Yew, of using financially ruinous libel actions to silence critics and political opponents.

Singapore leaders have countered that the lawsuits are necessary to protect their reputations.

With the mainstream media perceived as pro-government, blogs have risen in prominence as avenues for citizens to vent their anger.

1920456_10151995807434141_1678255719_n.jpg

Roy Ngerng Yi Ling

You got balls or not..

are you the ball-less sinkies..pls prove to us if you got balls..

Ball-less pinky does not disclose to demand by his masters.
Relapse is the best karma.

serious libel leh!!!!! roy nergh faster zhao ah!!!!!!run to russia and seek political asylum!!!!!!big brother is coming for you!!!!

If there is any lawyer willing to stand up for him n he starts an online fund raising campaign. Many of use here will donate. Agree?

agree. I think this would be a good fight for your undisclosed used of your CPF to pay themselves obscene salaries claiming that their should be paid bullshit CEO salaries. With all the profit made from your CPF were not distributed back to the CPF owners it is bo kay yean.

Some more increase your CPF min sum from $148K to $155k lagi tulan. Keep taking but not giving.

Gen Y Roy has drawn LHL into a legal fight and see who drop the case first. This is better fight than GE2016, your CPF money your hard earned money taken off from your monthly pay since 1970s?

If there is any lawyer willing to stand up for him n he starts an online fund raising campaign. Many of use here will donate. Agree?

Just when we thought the suing had stopped.

The natives are getting restless so the PAP needs to fix them.

In the next GE the CPF thingy is going to be a big issue. So even if this guy loses a court case it is going to cost the PAP votes .

or the PAP wants to further speed up its downfall.

As it stands now the CPF is a taxation on every working "Sporean". Many who have reached their 50's have probably made plans for all that savings> Now that the PAP has moved the goal posts how do you thing these people feel?

The PAP will find out in the next GE:D

“The article means and is understood to mean that Mr Lee Hsien Loong, the Prime Minister of Singapore and the chairman of GIC, is guilty of criminal misappropriation of the monies paid by Singaporeans to the CPF (Central Provident Fund),” Singh wrote in the letter.

PM Lee can't sue Roy since an audit on our CPF is not yet done.

As such, I advise Roy to sit out the 52 man years for the court to reach a verdict.

Roy Ngerng has brought to light what the cpf scheme is all about. and now with this action against him more people will be interested in what he wrote.
this could work against the govt

FT on LHL--the reporter was brave but still thought he might be sued

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/2/4511f092-bf2c-11e3-8683-00144feabdc0.html#axzz32G98VjlM

I ask if he always knew he would go into the family business, into politics? There is a slight edge in his voice, as he replies: “No, I did not. It is not a family business.” With faint alarm, I recall that the PM has successfully extracted apologies and damages from media organisations, including the FT, for suggesting the Lee family has benefited from nepotism.