• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore museum buying 3 dinosaur fossils for S$870 million, launches donation drive

Re: Singapore museum buying 3 dinosaur fossils for S$870 million, launches donation d

===

please don't compare the British Museum and the New York museums with Singapore. It takes a long time, a long culture and a long history in order to put together a museum of that scale. It is not simply, buying things and stuffing it.

We are lacking the history and culture. Buying dinosaur bones and displaying it does not cut it. What is the story? Are these things found here? No. Are they natives? No.

WTF...a roving exhibition, yes, loan them and display them for a few months, yup...but house them permanently at a cost of a few millions? No.

And just 3 skeletons? For fuck? Neither here nor there.

House something of relevance and meaningful that we can draw relevance to.

Secondly, these established museums in London and New York are so rich in exhibits that you cannot possibly finish walking in a day. Singapore? U can finish it in 2 hours flat.

I say, go for the bold move, have the largest sex museum or gambling museum lah...something radical and out of the world.

See, we lack the scale.

100% agree. We cannot set up museum/culture by import. That will be lack of history. How you will tell the visitor where is the item come from? When you tell then from others country the 1st immediate respond people will lost interest. People will think next time they will visit that country if they are really interested.
People want real story and link not fake story like Merlion try to con low IQ people.
Why people still visit China/Europe/Greece/Egypt ? Because the have history site and culture for few thousand of year.
Singapore should try to promote it own culture like Peranakan, Malay Kampung, great grandfater culture from China/Indian mix with local.That was what people looking for real story.
Look what happen to Tang Dynasty in Jurong is a fail project because is fake. If the building was a real one, I'm sure it will survive until next century.
Singapore is small and have only few hundred of year of history so people dont expect Singapore to have such great collection.
What is gov thinking that visitor come to Singapore to see dinosour skeleton/Egypt/China collection? I think tourist prefer to see local and actual story.

Re: Singapore museum buying 3 dinosaur fossils for S$870 million, launches donation d

Why go to the expense?

We still got one old Dinosaur still alive and kicking at Oxley Road...:eek:

The fossil of the other one can be found in Mandai.

I am a museum goer for almost all countries I've visited. And I have to say the Singapore one is easily one of the worst. I am being very objective here... They are usually quite good with marketing but the lack of display content is just disappointing.

I understand the case which argues we are a young nation without an ancient culture etc etc.. but you just have to look at their operating model.. there are more restaurants and bars than exhibits.

If the museum is going to be run like another profit making business, then importing a few bones will not make any thing better.

Heard that it would take at least 2 weeks to seen all the 35,000 exhibits at the Louvre museum:)

In Spore you don't even need that long to visit all the malls:)

===

please don't compare the British Museum and the New York museums with Singapore. It takes a long time, a long culture and a long history in order to put together a museum of that scale. It is not simply, buying things and stuffing it.

We are lacking the history and culture. Buying dinosaur bones and displaying it does not cut it. What is the story? Are these things found here? No. Are they natives? No.

WTF...a roving exhibition, yes, loan them and display them for a few months, yup...but house them permanently at a cost of a few millions? No.

And just 3 skeletons? For fuck? Neither here nor there.

House something of relevance and meaningful that we can draw relevance to.

Secondly, these established museums in London and New York are so rich in exhibits that you cannot possibly finish walking in a day. Singapore? U can finish it in 2 hours flat.

I say, go for the bold move, have the largest sex museum or gambling museum lah...something radical and out of the world.

See, we lack the scale.

I haven't seen the new york musuems before, but a good part of what is displayed at British musuems were actually loot taken from native nations at the height of its empire building :D

Heard that it would take at least 2 weeks to seen all the 35,000 exhibits at the Louvre museum:)

Agree.

That place is massive. I walked for 5 hours non-stop and had to take a heineken break.:o

Singapore museum can have Equalisation fossil for free when it becomes available, coming soon, in exchange for just a 21-gun-salute state funeral. :eek: :D

its cool to have dino fossils in singapore ,how many singaporean actucally have a chance to see real dino fossils in their entire life . i have been to london history museum at south kensington that place is fucking huge !!!! can singapore bulid that size of museum ? by the way , i think its a bit too expensive for those dino fossils .

They have a few hundred years of History and Culture to exhibit.
We only have a few decades of History and it is all about LKY; it can all be housed in a small room and finished in minutes, unless, one bother to read his memoirs.

Agree.

That place is massive. I walked for 5 hours non-stop and had to take a heineken break.:o

And The Louvre is only one many museums in the city Paris:D

Singapore museum can have Equalisation fossil for free when it becomes available, coming soon, in exchange for just a 21-gun-salute state funeral. :eek: :D

It was the banter like this which first alerted him to you. :eek:

They have a few hundred years of History and Culture to exhibit.
We only have a few decades of History and it is all about LKY; it can all be housed in a small room and finished in minutes, unless, one bother to read his memoirs.

LKY's legacy is that there is none, zero. zilch,...:eek:
LKY/PAP has chosen commercialism over maintaining Spore's heritage.

sg deserves a vagina museum. after all, all kinds of chee bye have paraded themselves there 24 by 7 by 365, contributing directly to men's happiness and indirectly to other countries' gdp. at any one time in sg, thousands of chee bye are literally working their butts off earning incomes by just opening up. from black to white, from hairy to shaved, from stinky to sticky, diseased to clean, tight to loose, the museum will be the perfect display of real life and character of sg. sg, the united nations of chee bye plying their trade openly in the streets.

Eh Kotek,

Heard from Sylvia u play masak masak with your playmate in Hongkong until nearly forget to come back ah ??:eek::oIo:

===

Technically speaking, the 2 most impressive museums in the world in London and Paris are filled with treasures looted from former colonies. The best treasures from China, India and Middle east are there.

We are lacking the history and culture.

We also have no former colonies to loot... haha

Australia is also a similar young country with no ancient history or heritage to showcase.. but I was impressed with the Sydney museum. Every country can have a grandfather story to tell. It is down to how and what you want to say.

Sex and gambling museums are good ideas.

... Sex and gambling museums are good ideas.
technically speaking, sg can set up 1 on ze former immediately ... a few yrs down ze road, ze latter oso ...

someone pleaze tell me this is a joke...SGD890million... who are they trying to outdo ? YOG ? Barrage ? Casino ? entire cabinet salaries ?

Dinosaur museum bones of a dino.

What kind of dino? Apatasaurus? T-rex?

Dinosaur museum bones of a dino.

What kind of dino? Apatasaurus? T-rex?

barney-dinosaur.jpg

we need to have something like mummified lky to draw the crowd!!! lky pls faster do us the favor.

Technically speaking, the 2 most impressive museums in the world in London and Paris are filled with treasures looted from former colonies. The best treasures from China, India and Middle east are there.

We also have no former colonies to loot... haha

Australia is also a similar young country with no ancient history or heritage to showcase.. but I was impressed with the Sydney museum. Every country can have a grandfather story to tell. It is down to how and what you want to say.

Sex and gambling museums are good ideas.

==

yes, indeed I am dismayed to see a large collection of mummies in the British museum - clearly looted. As well as some treasures, no doubt looted from Summer Palace in China.

right or wrong, they are part of UK's history. Of course Sinkie has no colonies to loot - but we do have a collection of preserved specimens, housed in so called Raffles museum that until some years ago, no one wanted them. So, we are housing them in the new museum.

There is no need to buy some dino bones. If you wanna buy, go buy a T-rex or buy more dinos...WTF buy 3. Thats the stupidity of some organisations - do things half past six.

Can't they think out of the box for once and showcase something si beh unique in this world - like a makan museum. House the traditional makans - makans that are lost.

A sex museum - so far, I have not heard of a sex museum in Asia - equal to the Erotica museum in Copenhagen.

Expand the stamp museum for example - don't just house it in a miserable building with little publicity. Look at Metropolitan Museum of NY - even can set up shops to sell merchandise.

Some one started the toy museum - build on that too....