• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Monthly Household Income Rise Faster Than Expenditure

The CPF is your money because you get to keep the yield that it produces.
That is the gold standard when it comes to determining ownership.
1564632877528.png
the key word is keep , and cannot touch..
the gold standard of a ponzi scheme is the operator keep changing rules
on when , how and amount you can withdraw , and your fund can be diverted and locked up
into some special account for the benefit of the operator.

The CPF is your money because you get to keep the yield that it produces. That is the gold standard when it comes to determining ownership.
no it isn't. the gold standard of ownership is not necessarily well-defined in any body of work and is fluid across different areas where the term is exercised. For example ownership of a stock with a dividend only implies ownership because of the benefit that arises from said ownership. Long story short : getting to keep a yield is not ownership. it is a benefit of ownership. How you determine ownership of the stock is whether you can change it's status autonomously and without interference.

ownership implies a large degree of autonomous control or freedom of access to change the status of said asset. an owned house for example, you can change the interior colour at a whim if you wish. a rental house doesn't allow you that right. yield doesn't have a part to play in it. Conversely there are plenty of taxi drivers who don't own the cars they drive, but they get to keep the yield that it produces.

no it isn't. the gold standard of ownership is not necessarily well-defined in any body of work and is fluid across different areas where the term is exercised. For example ownership of a stock with a dividend only implies ownership because of the benefit that arises from said ownership. Long story short : getting to keep a yield is not ownership. it is a benefit of ownership.

ownership implies a large degree of autonomous control or freedom of access to change the status of said asset. an owned house for example, you can change the interior colour at a whim if you wish. a rental house doesn't allow you that right. yield doesn't have a part to play in it. Conversely there are plenty of taxi drivers who don't own the cars they drive, but they get to keep the yield that it produces.
Exactamondo! You are a learned man, much respect.:thumbsup::biggrin:

It means you don't own it. In Sinkies Land, PAP is the Law. They can twist and turn cos in 24 hours the will get the bill passed in a parking lot. The PAP Govt don't go by the rule of law.
If you think about it, most sinkies don't own anything. Big ticket items like home and car, you only pay for the privilege to use them. Freehold property? They can chase you off it too if they want to, and compensate you. But the compensation will be insufficient to purchase a similar home.

Indeed. Same goes for the so-called 'freehold' real estate. If you don't own the land, you hold no real sovereignty over the buildings on it.

'Home ownership' is an emotive political deception in Sinkieland.

no it isn't. the gold standard of ownership is not necessarily well-defined in any body of work and is fluid across different areas where the term is exercised. For example ownership of a stock with a dividend only implies ownership because of the benefit that arises from said ownership. Long story short : getting to keep a yield is not ownership. it is a benefit of ownership. How you determine ownership of the stock is whether you can change it's status autonomously and without interference.

There is no such thing as absolute control. It is an illusion. EG owners of public companies face many restrictions regarding the selling of the shares they hold. Property owners are often restricted as to who they can sell too.

In NZ I can no longer sell to the highest bidder unless he is an "approved" buyer as decided by the commerce commission. This restriction did not exist when I bought the property. It was imposed upon me without my approval or consent in any form. It has severely dented my net worth.

So there are restrictions of a portion of your CPF money and this is no different from the restrictions imposed upon the sale or transfer of other forms of capital that exist throughout the world.

However I know that I own my house despite the restrictions because I am the beneficiary of any income that the capital generates.

If you think about it, most sinkies don't own anything. Big ticket items like home and car, you only pay for the privilege to use them. Freehold property? They can chase you off it too if they want to, and compensate you. But the compensation will be insufficient to purchase a similar home.
exactly my bro. ownership of cars in singapore is a very, very good example of the nature of true ownership vs the leaseholding nature of ownership in the singapore paradigm. the assigned value at the end of a car's life in singapore is already pre-determined by the time you buy and "own" the car. The way the COE and the 10 year PARF rules work is designed to maximum government revenue from ownership of the car while ensuring that you WILL NOT ever truly own the car. Buy a car anywhere else and you can still own it until it becomes a rustbucket. It's still yours. In Singapore, you get to keep paying for the right to own the rustbucket.

There is no such thing as absolute control. It is an illusion. EG owners of public companies face many restrictions regarding the selling of the shares they hold. Property owners are often restricted as to who they can sell too.
yes. absolutely correct. there is no such thing as absolute control. But there is such a thing as a relative degree of control which allows one enough autonomy to control the status of that asset. Please see my car example above.

In NZ I can no longer sell to the highest bidder unless he is an "approved" buyer as decided by the commerce commission. This restriction did not exist when I bought the property. It was imposed upon me without my approval or consent in any form.

there are other forms of control that reduce your rights as an owner including the one you stated above. but in NZ's case, fundamental ownership of the home remains yours. All they have done is to restrict your ability to sell to an open market by controlling the supply. They have NOT changed your ownership status. They have restricted the demand and potential buyers that may access your home should you choose to re-sell it. You can try and sue NZ govt for impairing the value of your home, but it's still yours to live in long after you dead.

So there are restrictions of a portion of your CPF money and this is no different from the restrictions imposed upon the sale or transfer of other forms of capital that exist throughout the world.

TBH, I am not the most famililar with CPF controls other than what I glean from here, but it appears that those restrictions remove the right to changing the status. i.e. withdrawing or depositing or whatever you can do to the CPF and therefore remove true, independent ownership from the holder of said monies and places ownership of it within the demesne of the ruling body governing the CPF. The fact that it yields a rate of return is not necessary to determine ownership. It can be a feature of ownership or a benefit of ownership. you can not own an asset and still generate a return or yield that is still yours to keep.

However I know that I own my house despite the restrictions because I am the beneficiary of any income that the capital generates.
and what happens if your house doesn't generate income? does it then cease to be your house? does it become somebody else's?

while useful in itself and definitely a very important reason (some would say the only reason) to own an asset is the return and yield it generates. it does not mean anything when it comes to determining ownership. it is a benefit of ownership. :smile:

yes. absolutely correct. there is no such thing as absolute control. But there is such a thing as a relative degree of control which allows one enough autonomy to control the status of that asset. Please see my car example above.

there are other forms of control that reduce your rights as an owner including the one you stated above. but in NZ's case, fundamental ownership of the home remains yours. All they have done is to restrict your ability to sell to an open market by controlling the supply. They have NOT changed your ownership status. They have restricted the demand and potential buyers that may access your home should you choose to re-sell it. You can try and sue NZ govt for impairing the value of your home, but it's still yours to live in long after you dead.

TBH, I am not the most famililar with CPF controls other than what I glean from here, but it appears that those restrictions remove the right to changing the status. i.e. withdrawing or depositing or whatever you can do to the CPF and therefore remove true, independent ownership from the holder of said monies and places ownership of it within the demesne of the ruling body governing the CPF. The fact that it yields a rate of return is not necessary to determine ownership. It can be a feature of ownership or a benefit of ownership. you can not own an asset and still generate a return or yield that is still yours to keep.

and what happens if your house doesn't generate income? does it then cease to be your house? does it become somebody else's?

while useful in itself and definitely a very important reason (some would say the only reason) to own an asset is the return and yield it generates. it does not mean anything when it comes to determining ownership. it is a benefit of ownership. :smile:

I guess it is a matter of perception. LKY did not "own" SIA but he had the entire fleet at his disposal should the need arise. To me it was as good as owning the whole damned company.

you are right here.

(borrowing the following term from elsewhere and giving my own rojak answer) it is the locus of control that determines the ownership of an asset. he could fly in any one of them anytime he wanted to or ordered them all into the sea if he so wished.

he had true ownership....

of the whole island.

exactly my bro. ownership of cars in singapore is a very, very good example of the nature of true ownership vs the leaseholding nature of ownership in the singapore paradigm. the assigned value at the end of a car's life in singapore is already pre-determined by the time you buy and "own" the car. The way the COE and the 10 year PARF rules work is designed to maximum government revenue from ownership of the car while ensuring that you WILL NOT ever truly own the car. Buy a car anywhere else and you can still own it until it becomes a rustbucket. It's still yours. In Singapore, you get to keep paying for the right to own the rustbucket.

Indeed bro. In a nutshell, we know we got a raw deal. Add to that fact we are paying for the most expensive government in the world. It is all up to sinkies to muster the courage to fix it, when the time comes.:biggrin:

paiseh bro. :redface: not trying to be kuailan, but....

I actually think Harry's deal was a pretty good compared to others, but a severely self-limiting one. i.e. it was good for as far as he could envision it, but that was only to get sinkieland out of the gutter post WW2. I don't think he had a good idea for after that, but I don't blame him. We could have gotten a lot worse deal like our neighbours.

Where the deal started to really stink was when ol' Harry died.

paiseh bro. :redface: not trying to be kuailan, but....

I actually think Harry's deal was a pretty good compared to others, but a severely self-limiting one. i.e. it was good for as far as he could envision it, but that was only to get sinkieland out of the gutter post WW2. I don't think he had a good idea for after that, but I don't blame him. We could have gotten a lot worse deal like our neighbours.

Where the deal started to really stink was when ol' Harry died.
I was referring to the now and present. We started off on the right note after independence, hence our reverence for the old guards. Somewhere along, everything got hijacked, and started going south. It's up to sinkies to bring us back on track.:biggrin: