• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Government!!! Love Or Hate???

HK14K

Our govt seems to be loved and as well as being hated to the core by Singaporeans. But my question is if so many Singaporeans are grumbling now, then why in the first place vote for PAP during GE? Everytime during GE ppl vote for PAP and as we all know after GE, all prices will shoot-up but still ppl vote for them n yet making noise... Ain't this contradicting yourself???

A good example is the revision of car loans by MAS. Blame who? Singaporeans like to HaoLian (HL), SGD$1drive a BMW come out n HL. 3 months down the road lost their job n LL their car got tow away. Blame the govt or themselves?

3 words!!! No other choice!!! GE2016 will be different though...hope the Opp gets their act together.

How about an analogy why people hate the government these days?

Once upon a time, in a far, faraway southern province of China, there lived a fella called Ah Beng. He was a good man, albeit he liked to overspend, and had a tendency to run out of money even before the next paycheck. Ah Beng is quite troubled about his situation and confides in his big brother, Tai Lo. Tai Lo thinks it through and says, "Come I will manage your money for you, coz you always anyhow spend, and I will make sure you don't anyhow spend " Ah Beng thought it through, and decided to hand his monthly salary over to Tai Lo, as he realise it's for his own good, and Tai Lo gives him a weekly allowance.

This goes on for a good many years, and it works out perfectly, now one fine day, Tai Lo calls Ah Beng and tells him, "Bro, paiseh lei, I recently invest my money in this Ang Moh bank which ai toh, mai toh, but government bailout, so when it recover, I'm supposed to win big. But KNN, I still lose money on it and bo pian have to sell. Btw ah, I put some of your money in it too, and you lost abit. " Tai Lo refused to tell him how much he lost, call it what, 'protecting the reserves', Ah Beng hear it he kpkb, but he tell himself also, "cb, I follow Tai Lo so many years already, and all along he kia zai zai one, suah la. ", and furthermore he had no idea how much he lose, so he guess it must be small so he forgot all about it awhile later.

So a few years later, Ah Beng decided to buy a house, he told Tai Lo, who was now a developer doing very well, about it, and how he faced trouble finding a house at a good price. Tai Lo thought it through, and told Ah Beng, "Mian huan lo, I go buy a piece of land, build a skyscraper, and sell you a unit cheap cheap." All you need to do is pay me money before I build, so Ah Beng tell him take some from the money Tai Lo been safekeeping for him and use it to buy the land. It took a couple more years for the house to be built, Ah Beng was eagerly anticipating the house Tai Lo built for him to be ready. The day came when the house was ready, and Tai Lo passed Ah Beng the key to the house, and patted him on the back, telling him, "Bro, you are the proud owner of your own home. " Ah Beng opened the door, and realised that the house was smaller than the ones Tai Lo built in the past, and it was even more expensive. Ah Beng buay song already. but as he and Tai Lo were brothers, he cannot offend Tai Lo, so he jokingly said, "Bro, wah lau, why so expensive sia this time." Tai Lo told him that the land was very expensive, but the land was actually land Tai Lo inherited from his father, but he decide to charge market value for the land. And a few months later, another of his close pal, Ah Kow told him about the actual situation. When Ah Beng knew the truth, he sibe gek sim that Tai Lo treat outside people better than him, but he reminded himself that Tai Lo used to treat him well, and somemore help him manage his money, so once again, he let the matter rest.

Fast forward another couple years, Tai Lo continue to do very well, and he bought over the company Ah Beng was working in. He tell Ah Beng, " Bro, together we will make money together, but firstly, you need to take paycut lei, coz company not doing well. Ah Beng hear already, he puh hay, but he tell himself, Tai Lo actually was very good to him in the past, so he just follow what Tai Lo tell him to do. A few months later, Tai Lo ask him to do whack OT everyday, say everyone will benefit, Ah Beng once again acceded to his request. Tai Lo also tell him no payrise, as the company was not doing very well, and Ah Beng again LPPL. So no payrise for one year, become two, two became five, give became ten. Ten years later, Tai Lo, tell him "Ah Beng, you with us so many years, I'm forever grateful, so I must reward you. " He gave him a $50 pay rise for ten years of service. By then, Ah Beng already old already , he valued job security, thinking that they company will continue to hire him till he retired, after all, he has done so much for the company. Two months later, he received a call from HR, saying he was being retrenched. He buay hock, so he decided to find Tai Lo to trash it out with him. He stormed into the CEO room, and realised Tai Lo was in a meeting with his new hires who were to replace him, they were three young men, Zhang from China, Bala from India and Alex from Philippines. Ah Beng confronted Tai Lo, and Tai Lo told him, "you are not competitive enough, they are cheaper than you and they are all university graduates in the home countries, you diploma nia, how can I keep you. " Ah Beng was so disappointed, that he trusted the wrong person all this while.

Now as things turned out, the company did give Ah Beng some shares in the company, during the previous management, so he was a minority shareholder. He still went to the AGM, for the free buffet, he saw Tai Lo, but didn't want to talk to him. Now Tai Lo was by then the Chairman of the company, and he was trying to gather enough votes to ensure his million dollar salary was paid out once again. He told everyone at the AGM that he was their servant and all he did was for the company, he even had tears in his eyes. He also told them not to support the second biggest shareholder, Ah Seng who was trying to takeover the company. He warned the shareholders, if you all go Ah Seng more power, "I will spend all my time fixing Ah Seng and not looking out for the company." But eventually he won, albeit by a lower margin. He even proposed a new share issue, another two million shares, to make the company even bigger and stronger, to have a total of 6.9 million shares. But he faced widespread criticism from the existing shareholders, so he dropped it. Lastly, Tai Lo decide to go all PR mode, and starting a 'Company conversation', to show the he had the shareholders at heart, but alot of the shareholders were thinking, "KNN, so many years, we tell you, you don't want listen, now thinks not going your way, then you want listen."

We want checks and balances, not all the power and money concentrated in a few bloodline-related families.

Nor do we want arrogant scums persecuting bloggers and cartoonists.

We want checks and balances, not all the power and money concentrated in a few bloodline-related families.

Many of their policies instead of encouraging, productivity, growth & creativity have the opposite effect...& the nation gets stunted as time goes on.

We want all those PAP maggots cockroaches self serving bags of excrement out out out out in 2016
There is no loving of those who screwed and fucked us of hundreds of billions into smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY Stinkapore sovereign funds and into their own obscene big fat pay

ALL OF THEM TO BE OUT

Our govt seems to be loved and as well as being hated to the core by Singaporeans. But my question is if so many Singaporeans are grumbling now,

The ones who grumble are the selfish bastards who expect the PAP to craft policies tailored to suit their circumstances. They don't understand that the government has to consider the greater good for the whole of Singapore society.

A good example is the immigration policy. The bastards who complain about letting in foreigners are the lazy ones who can't stomach the fact that there are foreigners who are willing to work twice as hard while earning half the pay.

Many sinkies believe that they have some sort of God given right to be paid astronomical salaries for doing bugger all. What they don't realise is that many of their fellow countrymen have businesses to run and that these businesses need to compete with the rest of the world. They need talented foreigners to keep their businesses afloat.

Singaporeans need to regain their work ethic or the country will go to dogs.

Glad to see TS easing into his prescribed role.
After some fluff threads to throw us off scent finally true intentions shown.
Cant keep a good man down for long.

The ones who grumble are the selfish bastards who expect the PAP to craft policies tailored to suit their circumstances. They don't understand that the government has to consider the greater good for the whole of Singapore society.

A good example is the immigration policy. The bastards who complain about letting in foreigners are the lazy ones who can't stomach the fact that there are foreigners who are willing to work twice as hard while earning half the pay.

Many sinkies believe that they have some sort of God given right to be paid astronomical salaries for doing bugger all. What they don't realise is that many of their fellow countrymen have businesses to run and that these businesses need to compete with the rest of the world. They need talented foreigners to keep their businesses afloat.

Sorry friend, talking about the immigration policy, our govt are also of one kind... NO ACTION TALK ONLY (NATO)!!!

My spouse and I after 10 years of marriage, recently we come back to SG because of our daughter's education. PR was constantly rejected by the govt and Lee Hsien Loong can every year during national day rally says "Come on Singaporeans, build families, have more babies" If my spouse can't even have the assurance to stay or reside in SG, how to build families, how to have more babies!!! Contradicting right

Sorry friend, talking about the immigration policy, our govt are also of one kind... NO ACTION TALK ONLY (NATO)!!!

My spouse and I after 10 years of marriage, recently we come back to SG because of our daughter's education. PR was constantly rejected by the govt and Lee Hsien Loong can every year during national day rally says "Come on Singaporeans, build families, have more babies" If my spouse can't even have the assurance to stay or reside in SG, how to build families, how to have more babies!!! Contradicting right

Is it not possible to educate your daughter elsewhere?

Then why did the embassy in Beijing sent me email asking me to bring my daughter back for education?

And also isn't it contradicting when the Prime Minister urged Singaporeans to have more babies, build families but their spouse are not allowed even to be granted a PR. We're not desperate for a PR, but the things govt says n their actions doesn't tally...

Also why is it a lady who have committed twice an offence of over-staying and working illegally in SG managed to hold a 5 years LTVP? What kind of ICA policy or regulations is that???

Then why did the embassy in Beijing sent me email asking me to bring my daughter back for education?

You should have set some conditions. Like give my wife PR at least one month before school starts and we will come back, otherwise get lost. :rolleyes:

Would you comply if I sent you an email asking you to stick your head in a Beijing Toilet Bowl? :rolleyes:

It's your daughter you can educate her wherever you want.

If you wife is being denied PR, there must be something about her past that you aren't aware of.

next he's gonna claim the embassy sent him instructions on how to mount a horsey for the cowboy position.

When you say the government has to consider the greater good for the whole of Singapore society, I assume you meant GDP. And indeed we have the second highest GDP per capita among developed countries (New Zealand included).

Astronomical salaries? I hardly think so. We actually have the third lowest average salary among developed countries.

Pls see http://thehearttruths.com/2013/03/29/do-rich-countries-like-singapore-pay-higher-wages-to-their-people/

When you say the government has to consider the greater good for the whole of Singapore society, I assume you meant GDP. And indeed we have the second highest GDP per capita among developed countries (New Zealand included).

Astronomical salaries? I hardly think so. We actually have the third lowest average salary among developed countries.

Pls see http://thehearttruths.com/2013/03/2...e-singapore-pay-higher-wages-to-their-people/

That's because there are such a large number of Singaporeans who are very unproductive.

If they put in more effort, Singapore's average wage will rise considerably.

That's because there are such a large number of Singaporeans who are very unproductive.

If they put in more effort, Singapore's average wage will rise considerably.

That is just your assumption lah.

Would you comply if I sent you an email asking you to stick your head in a Beijing Toilet Bowl? :rolleyes:

It's your daughter you can educate her wherever you want.

If you wife is being denied PR, there must be something about her past that you aren't aware of.
Sorry to quote you, my wife follow me when she was 17. If there's something like what you mentioned that I ain't aware of, I dun think ICA or our SG govt will be aware of as well.

Also when an email is being sent to you, one will analyst and consider. Only a fool maybe like you will stuck yr head into a Beijing toilet bowl. If a good school is offered to my child, why not. A person like u who doesn't know how to use yr brains will only forever stuck in a Singapore toilet bowl... Also did you know how many emails I sent to former George Yeo and current Shanmugam ? So don't just jump into your toiler bowl conclusion. Thank You!

Sorry to quote you, my wife follow me when she was 17. If there's something like what you mentioned that I ain't aware of, I dun think ICA or our SG govt will be aware of as well.

Also when an email is being sent to you, one will analyst and consider. Only a fool maybe like you will stuck yr head into a Beijing toilet bowl. If a good school is offered to my child, why not. A person like u who doesn't know how to use yr brains will only forever stuck in a Singapore toilet bowl... Also did you know how many emails I sent to former George Yeo and current Shanmugam ? So don't just jump into your toiler bowl conclusion. Thank You!

There are GOOD schools in Singapore??? :eek: