• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore appointed 2 idiots to lead the task force.

Lawrence will be delivering the budget. :smile:

Lawrence Wong

6 h ·
Today, 13 Feb, marks the end of our Covid-19 restrictions. We have pulled together to weather the crisis of a generation. While we have emerged stronger together from the pandemic, we now have to prepare for a new post-pandemic future.
#SGBudget2023 will be about “Moving Forward in a New Era”. The Budget sets out how we will secure our prospects in a troubled world — to help Singaporeans seize new opportunities, to strengthen our social compact and give assurance for families, while we build our collective resilience as one people.
I will deliver the Budget in Parliament tomorrow, 14 Feb, 3:30pm. The road ahead will not be easy. But through our collective efforts, and the trust we have in each other, I am confident that we will strive and secure a better tomorrow for all, and for our future generations.
Ministry of Finance (Singapore)
(
1f4f8.png
: MOF Photo by RK)

330628476_880346609834638_1075898980653229678_n.jpg

Lawrence has a warm bowl of Budget porridge on the eve of Budget day. :wink:

Lawrence Wong

2 h ·
It is our Ministry of Finance (Singapore) tradition to have a warm bowl of Budget porridge on the eve of Budget day.
I remember the time when I was a young officer here, helping with the Budget preparation many years ago.
And I am glad our young officers still get to have this warm bowl to fortify them, as we put the finishing touches to the Budget.
Many different ingredients make up our porridge — just as we receive inputs from across the government, the public and private sector that help to contribute to our Budget policies.
Thank you to our public officers for your hard work, and to everyone for sharing your views and feedback.
Stay tuned for tomorrow! #SGBudget2023

Lawrence is ready. :wink:

Lawrence Wong

6 h ·
Ready for #SGBudget2023 — Moving Forward in a New Era.
You can catch the Budget Statement ‘live’, at 3.30pm on Ministry of Finance (Singapore), the Budget website (www.singaporebudget.gov.sg) and Ministry of Communications and Information (MCI)’s YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XiaMFeV0dlA).
It will be broadcasted on CNA, 8视界新闻新加坡 8world News (www.8world.com) and Mediacorp’s meWATCH (www.mewatch.sg) or tune in to CNA938 and Mediacorp CAPITAL 958 城市频道.
(
1f4f8.png
: MCI Photo by Ngau Kai Yan)

329850373_896528198437462_6832494829361297273_n.jpg

Lawrence announces comprehensive measures. :thumbsup:

Lawrence Wong

3 h ·
In #SGBudget2023, I announced comprehensive measures to help Singaporeans tide through the immediate cost of living pressures. We are also taking decisive steps to secure our future in a more uncertain and troubled world.
We are pursuing new strategies in several key areas through the #ForwardSG exercise, which will be completed in the second half of this year. But in this Budget, we are making several significant moves, including:
1f4ca.png
Assurance Package top-up to $9.6 billion to help with cost of living
1f3e1.png
More support for first-timer families to get a BTO or resale flat
1f37c.png
More help for parents to raise your children
1f4bc.png
Equipping workers to find good jobs and developing our local enterprises
‍‍‍
More support for the lower-income and vulnerable communities
1f1f8_1f1ec.png
Building up our resilience to future shocks, including climate change and future crises
The road ahead will not be easy. But we have braved many hardships before as a country, and always emerged stronger. So long as we stand as one people and keep alive the #SingaporeSpirit, we can move forward together with confidence!
1f1f8_1f1ec.png

Check out my speech here: https://www.mof.gov.sg/singapor.../budget-2023/budget-speech.
(
1f4f8.png
: MCI Photo by Betty Chua)
May be an image of 5 people and indoor

Lawrence glad to take part in the ceremony. :smile:

Lawrence Wong

3 d ·
Rain in the morning did not dampen the spirits of about 20,000 people here to celebrate the Consecration Ceremony of the Sri Mariamman Temple today!
#didyouknow that this is the oldest Hindu temple in Singapore? For religious reasons, it is reconsecrated every 12 years after renovation and restoration.
Glad to take part in the ceremony with my colleagues S Iswaran and Josephine Teo, as well as devotees and other religious leaders.
This is part of living in multicultural Singapore, where the whole community comes together to celebrate each other's cultural and religious milestones.
Thanks to Hindu Endowments Board and the Sri Mariamman Temple for hosting us.
(
1f4f8.png
: MCI Photos by Liu Ying)

330101366_6231718513505821_2419140960535148758_n.jpg

Lawrence understands our concerns on the cost of living. :barefoot:

Lawrence Wong

4 h ·
In #SGBudget2023, I announced the enhanced $9.6 billion Assurance Package, to help Singaporeans cope with rising price pressures.
I understand your concerns on the cost of living. We have provided comprehensive support last year, and we are doing more this year.
Together with the permanent GSTV Scheme, the enhanced AP reflect our commitment to help Singaporeans through this challenging period. The package includes:
1f4ca.png
Increased cash payouts under GST Vouchers and AP cash
1f6d2.png
More CDC Vouchers in 2024
1f4b0.png
Cost-of-Living Special Payment, up to $400
1f3e1.png
Additional U-Save rebates
1f475.png
Additional support for our seniors
1f4da.png
Top-up of CDA and Edusave/PSEA accounts for our children
You can read more here: https://go.gov.sg/b2023-assurancepackage

Lawrence recommends a calculator. :barefoot:

Lawrence Wong

7 h ·
There were many support measures for Singaporeans announced in #SGBudget2023. It may not be so easy to keep track of all the schemes. So our teams from GovTech (Government Technology Agency of Singapore) and Ministry of Finance (Singapore) have come out with a ‘Support For You’ calculator, which can help you estimate the benefits you and your household members can receive under our various packages and schemes.
Check it out at http://go.gov.sg/supportforyoucalculator

Lawrence will continue to encourage and support our young families. :thumbsup:

Lawrence Wong

40 m ·
Besides helping Singaporeans cope with the cost of living in #SGBudget2023, I also announced measures to help our young married couples and parents.
This includes:
1f37c.png
Bigger Baby Bonus cash gift
‍‍
Longer paternity leave
1f3e1.png
More grants and enhanced BTO balloting for first-timer families
1f4da.png
Additional Child Development Account
‍‍
Adjustment to Working Mother's Child Relief
We will continue to encourage and support our young families.
Made For Families SG

from straitstimes.com:

Analysts say increased grant could raise HDB resale prices; Govt to monitor potential impact​

yaohui-pixgeneric-6488.jpg

The increased grants are specifically targeted at eligible first-timer home buyers and do not go to all buyers, said MND. PHOTO: ST FILE
michelle_ng.png

Michelle Ng
Housing Correspondent
UPDATED

7 HOURS AGO

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE - The higher housing grant announced during Budget 2023 could raise Housing Board resale flat prices for smaller flats in popular locations, said property analysts.
They expect the revised Central Provident Fund Housing Grant, which has increased by up to $30,000, to shift some demand to the HDB resale market, especially for four-room and smaller flats in mature or sought-after locations, as this group of buyers will receive the most grants. Sellers could take the chance to raise prices, they added.
On Thursday, the Ministry of National Development (MND) said it is “mindful of the potential impact of increasing grants in a buoyant resale market”.

That is why the increased grants are specifically targeted at eligible first-time home buyers with household monthly incomes below $14,000 for families and $7,000 for singles, and do not go to all buyers, MND said in response to queries.
About a third of resale flat buyers received the CPF Housing Grant in the last two years, it noted, adding that it will closely monitor the market and act decisively if needed.
Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Lawrence Wong announced on Tuesday an increase of between $5,000 and $30,000 in the CPF Housing Grant for first-timer families and singles buying HDB resale flats.

First-timer families buying two- to four-room HDB resale flats can now get a grant of up to $80,000, up from $50,000. Those who buy five-room or larger units can get $50,000, up from $40,000. Singles, meanwhile, can get up to $40,000 for four-room and smaller units, up from $25,000. Those who buy five-room units can get $25,000, up from $20,000.

This means that buyers can either opt to take a smaller loan and reduce their monthly mortgage payments, or cast their net wider for a resale flat as they have an increased budget.
Support20for20first-time20HDB20home20flat20buyers2028129.png

OrangeTee & Tie senior vice-president of research and analytics Christine Sun said some sellers of four-room and smaller HDB resale units may take the opportunity to raise prices, in anticipation of buyers having greater purchasing power.
Dr Tan Tee Khoon, Singapore country manager of PropertyGuru, also expects demand for four-room and smaller HDB resale flats to increase in the short term due to first-time buyers.

But analysts noted that some buyers may not bite if sellers price the increased grant in their asking price.
Ms Sun said sellers should be mindful that buyers face increasing cost pressures on other fronts. The ramp up in Build-To-Order flat supply by HDB could also dilute demand for resale flats, she noted.
MND said sellers who raise their asking prices “might run the risk of pricing themselves out of the market as buyers remain price-conscious, given the high interest rates and uncertainties in the global economy”.
Professor Sing Tien Foo, the provost’s chair professor of real estate at the National University of Singapore, said the grant cannot be used to offset any increase in prices above a flat’s market valuation, as it is credited into the buyer’s CPF account.
“Since the grant cannot be used to pay for the cash-over-valuation (COV) caused by the seller raising the price above valuation, sellers cannot increase prices indiscriminately to cream off the additional grant,” he added.
COV refers to the difference between the sale price of a resale flat and its actual HDB valuation, which can be paid for only in cash.

What the revised grant offers buyers is the flexibility to choose between a BTO flat and the HDB resale market, Prof Sing said.
PropNex Realty chief executive Ismail Gafoor said the higher grant will benefit many families and ease anxieties over housing affordability to some extent.
Singapore University of Social Sciences associate professor of economics Walter Theseira said that while a grant is meant to primarily benefit buyers, sellers also tend to benefit indirectly.
The main challenge the authorities face in tackling housing affordability is how to intervene in the HDB resale market without affecting the fundamental policy that owners own their flats and are entitled to sell them at market price, he added.
Interventions such as price control would affect this principle and affect the vast majority of Singaporeans who own HDB flats, he said.
Noting that many buyers would prefer to exhaust all their options of getting a prime BTO flat before they turn to a city fringe location or the more expensive resale market, Prof Theseira said a solution is to lessen the “relative attractiveness difference” between prime BTO flats and all other available options.
This can be done through a combination of increasing subsidies given for BTO flats that are not in prime locations and by increasing the clawback for prime BTO flats, which is what is currently implemented through the prime location public housing (PLH) model.
“The basic idea is that the profit potential or implicit value of securing the HDB flat really has to be more similar across locations in Singapore. If it is not, then you will always have this issue,” he said.

from straitstimes.com:

Budget 2023 designed to support families, signals beginning of a new S’pore: Indranee​

202302161680907775571fa6-2a72-4076-90a0-988dd1d80d7f.jpg

Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Indranee Rajah (centre) said she was happy to see strong measures for parents and young couples in the Budget. ST PHOTO: GAVIN FOO
natasha.png

Natasha Ann Zachariah
Correspondent
UPDATED

17 FEB 2023, 1:16 PM SGT

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE - Incentives for marriage and parenthood and moves to strengthen the social compact are some of the clear themes in this year’s Budget, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office and Second Minister for Finance Indranee Rajah said on Thursday as she outlined the Budget’s significance.
Ms Indranee, who is also Second Minister for National Development, said that paternity leave was an issue which came up more than maternity leave, when the Government was doing its feedback and engagement exercise with the public and stakeholders.
“And that is why we moved on it... This is Government signalling a shift, a change. And that change is not just Government doing it, but it is Government responding to what we see as a society,” she said.

“So, think of this as something which is an evolution taking place before your very eyes, because 20 years ago (it was not) something that you would have thought of. But our society is changing, and this is the beginning of a new Singapore as far as families are concerned.”
She was speaking at a MoneyFM 89.3 roundtable discussion with four other panellists – Mr Kurt Wee, president of the Association of Small and Medium Enterprises; Mr Suan Teck Kin, head of research at UOB; Mr Ajay Kumar Sanganeria, partner and head of tax at KPMG Singapore; and Mr Ignatius Low, editor-in-chief of lifestyle and entertainment media at SPH Media.
In his Budget speech on Tuesday, Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Lawrence Wong had announced a slew of grants and schemes for parents and young couples.

These included enhancements to the Baby Bonus Scheme, doubling government-paid paternity leave, and more housing grants for first-timer families with children, as well as young married couples aged 40 years old and below, among other initiatives.

Ms Indranee said she was happy to see strong measures for parents and young couples in the Budget. She added that research shows that children do better when both fathers and mothers are involved when the children are young.
Mr Low said what stood out for him was the Budget’s focus on millennials, with whom themes such as building a family and owning a home resonate, and who may not prioritise material advancement as much as previous generations.
“I think young Singaporeans are different, and they put the emphasis on certain values. I would call them more left-leaning, maybe,” he said. “And if this is the case, then the Government is absolutely on the right track in signalling to a generation who will support organisations, brands (and) people whom they feel are reflective of their values.”

Other initiatives announced in the Budget were geared towards helping Singaporeans cope with the rising cost of living, goods and services tax (GST) hike and inflation.
These include a Cost-of-Living Special Payment of between $200 and $400 for each eligible adult Singaporean, and an extra one-time payout for seniors. Singaporean households will also receive $300 in Community Development Council vouchers in January 2024.

Ms Indranee said these measures were crafted to address short-term concerns, but emphasised the need for Singaporeans to think ahead by upskilling themselves and taking advantage of available programmes.
“We have got to invest in skills. We have to make sure there is innovation. We have to charge up the economy so that you have growth opportunities for all. So, quite a bit of money has been channelled there,” she said.
MoneyFM 89.3 presenter Ryan Huang, who was co-moderating the panel, asked if this was a “Robin Hood Budget”, given the increased tax on luxury cars, higher-value residential and non-residential properties and tobacco products.
In response, Mr Suan said that unlike the GST hike, these measures are not so much revenue measures as they are a form of signalling by the Government that it is addressing the income divide.

202302161938226918351016-927b-40ae-a7c3-7cfc4b8d8015.jpg

Minister Indranee Rajah (centre) with (from left) Association of Small and Medium Enterprises president Kurt Wee, MoneyFM presenter Ryan Huang, UOB head of research Suan Teck Kin, MoneyFM presenter Rachel Kelly, KPMG Singapore head of tax Ajay Kumar Sanganeria and SPH Media’s editor-in-chief of lifestyle and entertainment media Ignatius Low. ST PHOTO: GAVIN FOO

To round off the discussion, the panellists were asked what else they had hoped the Budget would address.
Both Mr Suan and Mr Sanganeria said there could be more help for businesses with sustainability and to improve their environmental, social and governance standards.
Mr Sanganeria said he would like to see future Budgets support green financing, and help pivot Singapore’s real estate towards becoming more energy-efficient.
Ms Indranee said that while this year’s Budget housing measures had focused on groups with the most urgent needs, namely married couples and young families, some single Singaporeans had also asked what support they would get.
“Actually, the resale housing grant does apply to singles as well. So, that is something for them in terms of helping them to access the resale market,” she said.
“But I think in the longer term, we are also looking to see how we can make housing more accessible and affordable. That is a work in progress.”

from straitstimes.com:

Budget 2023 designed to support families, signals beginning of a new S’pore: Indranee​

202302161680907775571fa6-2a72-4076-90a0-988dd1d80d7f.jpg

Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Indranee Rajah (centre) said she was happy to see strong measures for parents and young couples in the Budget. ST PHOTO: GAVIN FOO
natasha.png

Natasha Ann Zachariah
Correspondent
UPDATED

17 FEB 2023, 1:16 PM SGT

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE - Incentives for marriage and parenthood and moves to strengthen the social compact are some of the clear themes in this year’s Budget, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office and Second Minister for Finance Indranee Rajah said on Thursday as she outlined the Budget’s significance.
Ms Indranee, who is also Second Minister for National Development, said that paternity leave was an issue which came up more than maternity leave, when the Government was doing its feedback and engagement exercise with the public and stakeholders.
“And that is why we moved on it... This is Government signalling a shift, a change. And that change is not just Government doing it, but it is Government responding to what we see as a society,” she said.

“So, think of this as something which is an evolution taking place before your very eyes, because 20 years ago (it was not) something that you would have thought of. But our society is changing, and this is the beginning of a new Singapore as far as families are concerned.”
She was speaking at a MoneyFM 89.3 roundtable discussion with four other panellists – Mr Kurt Wee, president of the Association of Small and Medium Enterprises; Mr Suan Teck Kin, head of research at UOB; Mr Ajay Kumar Sanganeria, partner and head of tax at KPMG Singapore; and Mr Ignatius Low, editor-in-chief of lifestyle and entertainment media at SPH Media.
In his Budget speech on Tuesday, Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Lawrence Wong had announced a slew of grants and schemes for parents and young couples.

These included enhancements to the Baby Bonus Scheme, doubling government-paid paternity leave, and more housing grants for first-timer families with children, as well as young married couples aged 40 years old and below, among other initiatives.

Ms Indranee said she was happy to see strong measures for parents and young couples in the Budget. She added that research shows that children do better when both fathers and mothers are involved when the children are young.
Mr Low said what stood out for him was the Budget’s focus on millennials, with whom themes such as building a family and owning a home resonate, and who may not prioritise material advancement as much as previous generations.
“I think young Singaporeans are different, and they put the emphasis on certain values. I would call them more left-leaning, maybe,” he said. “And if this is the case, then the Government is absolutely on the right track in signalling to a generation who will support organisations, brands (and) people whom they feel are reflective of their values.”

Other initiatives announced in the Budget were geared towards helping Singaporeans cope with the rising cost of living, goods and services tax (GST) hike and inflation.
These include a Cost-of-Living Special Payment of between $200 and $400 for each eligible adult Singaporean, and an extra one-time payout for seniors. Singaporean households will also receive $300 in Community Development Council vouchers in January 2024.

Ms Indranee said these measures were crafted to address short-term concerns, but emphasised the need for Singaporeans to think ahead by upskilling themselves and taking advantage of available programmes.
“We have got to invest in skills. We have to make sure there is innovation. We have to charge up the economy so that you have growth opportunities for all. So, quite a bit of money has been channelled there,” she said.
MoneyFM 89.3 presenter Ryan Huang, who was co-moderating the panel, asked if this was a “Robin Hood Budget”, given the increased tax on luxury cars, higher-value residential and non-residential properties and tobacco products.
In response, Mr Suan said that unlike the GST hike, these measures are not so much revenue measures as they are a form of signalling by the Government that it is addressing the income divide.

202302161938226918351016-927b-40ae-a7c3-7cfc4b8d8015.jpg

Minister Indranee Rajah (centre) with (from left) Association of Small and Medium Enterprises president Kurt Wee, MoneyFM presenter Ryan Huang, UOB head of research Suan Teck Kin, MoneyFM presenter Rachel Kelly, KPMG Singapore head of tax Ajay Kumar Sanganeria and SPH Media’s editor-in-chief of lifestyle and entertainment media Ignatius Low. ST PHOTO: GAVIN FOO

To round off the discussion, the panellists were asked what else they had hoped the Budget would address.
Both Mr Suan and Mr Sanganeria said there could be more help for businesses with sustainability and to improve their environmental, social and governance standards.
Mr Sanganeria said he would like to see future Budgets support green financing, and help pivot Singapore’s real estate towards becoming more energy-efficient.
Ms Indranee said that while this year’s Budget housing measures had focused on groups with the most urgent needs, namely married couples and young families, some single Singaporeans had also asked what support they would get.
“Actually, the resale housing grant does apply to singles as well. So, that is something for them in terms of helping them to access the resale market,” she said.
“But I think in the longer term, we are also looking to see how we can make housing more accessible and affordable. That is a work in progress.”
I don’t even bother to follow the budget. Nothing much - if at all -for me anyway.

First-timer families buying two- to four-room HDB resale flats can now get a grant of up to $80,000, up from $50,000. Those who buy five-room or larger units can get $50,000, up from $40,000. Singles, meanwhile, can get up to $40,000 for four-room and smaller units, up from $25,000. Those who buy five-room units can get $25,000, up from $20,000.
Wow Ccb sinkies here rejoice after that can continue to act poor thing complain pap bully them.

from straitstimes.com:

New online calculator for Singaporeans to check Budget 2023 benefits​

2023021254420313caeddc68-18d2-4f15-822f-4f55ec148022.jpg

The calculator will help estimate the benefits individuals and their household members can receive under the various packages and schemes from Budget 2023. ST PHOTO: DESMOND WEE
goh_yan_han.png

Goh Yan Han
Political Correspondent
UPDATED

18 FEB 2023, 2:18 PM SGT

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE - Singaporeans can now get an estimate of how much payouts and rebates they will be receiving as part of Budget 2023.
In an Instagram and Facebook post on Friday, Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong said that with the many support measures announced in Tuesday’s Budget speech, it may not be so easy to keep track of all of them.
Mr Wong, who is also Finance Minister, said that while Singaporeans could turn to ChatGPT – an online artificial intelligence platform that has recently created a buzz worldwide – the platform may not provide a very accurate answer.

This is in the context of the fact that ChatGPT may not accurately help estimate the benefits one can get from the Budget.
Teams from the Government Technology Agency and the Ministry of Finance have put together an online calculator meant to help people estimate the benefits individuals and their household members can receive under the various packages and schemes, said Mr Wong.

Budget 2023 had unveiled various enhancements to existing payouts and schemes under the Assurance Package, while also introducing new special payouts for the year.

The Assurance Package was boosted to $9.6 billion, up from $8 billion in a November 2022 update and $6.6 billion at Budget 2022. It is meant to address the impact on households of the goods and services tax hike, and was enhanced to also take into account higher-than-expected inflation.

Other measures in Budget 2023 include increased Baby Bonus cash gifts, the doubling of government-paid paternity leave to four weeks, as well as increasing the Central Provident Fund monthly salary ceiling.
Singaporeans can access the calculator at http://go.gov.sg/supportforyoucalculator

from straitstimes.com:

Budget 2023: Extension of 250% tax deduction for donations until 2026 welcomed by charities​

aicharity1802_0.jpg

The Hope Initiative Alliance (HIA) said the scheme will continue to benefit donors, charities and beneficiaries. PHOTO: ST FILE
Andrew Wong
UPDATED

21 FEB 2023, 6:04 PM SGT

FacebookTwitter

SINGAPORE - Singapore’s decision to extend its tax deduction rate for donations for another three years until the end of 2026, one of the measures announced during the Budget unveiled on Feb 14, was welcomed by Institutions of a Public Character (IPCs) and other bodies The Straits Times spoke to.
“The extension... will continue to encourage the spirit of giving over the next few years. This scheme will continue to benefit donors, charities and beneficiaries,” said the Hope Initiative Alliance (HIA) in a statement on Feb 15.
HIA president, Reverend Ezekiel Tan, said: “When people of different races, religions and identities collectively work for the betterment of those around us, they nurture trust and positive bonds. As a result, we become a resilient and united society.”

Deloitte South-east Asia’s clients and markets leader James Walton said the steps are “consistent with the Government’s ongoing effort to foster a culture of giving, particularly in a time where the rising cost of living... could present more challenges for certain community groups”.
Also announced during the Budget was the enhancement of the existing Business and IPC Partnership Scheme into a broader Corporate Volunteer Scheme (CVS).
Come Jan 1, 2024, the scope of qualifying volunteering activities will be expanded to include those conducted virtually or outside of the IPC’s premises.

The qualifying per-IPC cap will also double to $100,000 per calendar year, to facilitate deeper partnerships between businesses and IPCs.

“The new CVS... is promising. We hope this will increase the number of businesses that integrate the spirit of volunteerism into their human resources and corporate social responsibility programmes,” said the HIA.
The move to include virtual activities is in line with how social services have evolved since the Covid-19 pandemic, a spokesman for the Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) told ST.
This is because most social services’ activities, programmes and services are now available in-person or online.

“The doubling of the cap will increase the resources that organisations can tap,” YMCA said.
Deloitte’s Mr Walton also welcomed the move to include online activities under the scheme.
“Much of the skill-based volunteering, such as mentoring and tuition, has moved online in recent years,” he said. “This expansion opens doors to opportunities to reach more people, making it easier for individuals to fit volunteering into their work schedules.”

Social service needs are also becoming more complex, according to Ms Charmaine Leung, managing director at Community Chest.
She observed that Community Chest had already been rallying its corporate partners to adopt more sustainable philanthropy practices, such as regular volunteerism, to ensure that the social service sector is adequately supported.
The expansion of the CVS is useful because organisations will find it more convenient to carry out their volunteering efforts, she said.
Ms Leung added: “We hope more organisations will leverage this scheme to engage their employees and make regular volunteerism a part of their corporate culture.”
Others pointed out that external factors could still hinder the Government’s efforts to cultivate philanthropy.
YMCA said: “We are mindful that with the ongoing manpower crunch and inflationary pressures, there can be some counterbalancing.
“At the same time, we will take these measures as motivation for us to continue to work hard to engage individuals, corporates and groups to come alongside us in serving the community and pursuing causes for the greater good.”
Ms Vivien Chan, chief executive of Willing Hearts, a charity, shared the sentiment.
“With the higher cost of living and impending recession, it is not easy to predict if Singaporeans will donate more or less,” she said, adding that Willing Hearts will create more opportunities for donors who want to lend a hand.
The latest enhancements to encourage philanthropy and volunteerism here come amid a surge in donations.
Despite the economic downturn due to Covid-19, the donations received through Giving.sg – a one-stop national giving platform by the National Volunteer and Philanthropy Centre – were about three times higher than pre-pandemic levels, and have remained around $100 million in the last three years.

from straitstimes.com:

From The Gallery​

Budget debate: A tale of two Singapores, or a continuum of support?​

graceho.png

Grace Ho
Deputy News Editor
ryanpixgeneric-2_2.jpg

The theme of seniors and retirement adequacy was one of the topics that received ample airing during the Parliament session on Feb 22, 2023. ST PHOTO: RYAN CHIONG
UPDATED

11 HOURS AGO

FacebookTwitter

Amid the interminable stream of 27 MPs who spoke on the Budget on Wednesday, some turns of phrase stuck in my mind.
The first, “two Singapores”, came from Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh, when he warned of the potential disconnect between a Singapore that is connected to the world as a hub economy; and another where most Singaporeans live and “where there are perceptions of slowing social mobility, connected to the reality of high housing prices”.
The second, on pain, came from Mr Sitoh Yih Pin (Potong Pasir).

I recalled the metaphors of analgesics and anaesthetics that swirled around his fiery exchange with Workers’ Party MPs Leon Perera and Jamus Lim in November 2022, when the three men debated the GST hike.
On Wednesday, Mr Sitoh said that while the Government is committed to relieving citizens’ pain, the aim of the opposition is to convince Singaporeans that the glass is getting emptier and the pain points they face, intractable.
“They want you to change your doctor, but we have to ask ourselves, ‘Will this so-called new doctor have better solutions and cures, or worse?’” he asked.

Political sparring aside, the substantive issues raised on Wednesday covered virtually every life stage.

A few themes – seniors and retirement adequacy, business costs, housing, parenthood, education and training – received ample airing.
On retirement adequacy, Mr Singh asked if the Government had considered allocating more to the Central Provident Fund Special Account which earns more interest and, in his view, would serve Singaporeans’ retirement needs better.
Ms Ng Ling Ling (Ang Mo Kio GRC) asked about support for elderly residents who are asset-rich but cash-poor.

Mr Saktiandi Supaat (Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC) asked if the Government would consider allowing earlier drawdown of retirement funds for certain purposes, such as defraying medical bills for pre-existing medical conditions.
Ms Jessica Tan (East Coast GRC) sought better eldercare support, often a huge strain on families’ expenses; and spoke up for better quality of seniors’ jobs, not just employment numbers.

On parenthood, she, like Messrs Liang Eng Hwa (Bukit Panjang), Dennis Tan (Hougang) and Louis Chua (Sengkang GRC), had mixed feelings about the change to the Working Mother’s Child Relief (WMCR) from a percentage to fixed dollar relief.
To maximise benefits to both lower- and middle-income working mothers, Ms Hany Soh (Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC) suggested retaining both the fixed dollar and percentage relief, with whichever is higher to apply.
Mr Chua suggested giving a motherhood tax rebate to lower-income working mothers instead. If the tax rebates granted exceed the tax payable, tax credits can be paid out in cash to ensure the reliefs are not lost, he said.
Added Mr Tan: “Regardless of the Government’s intention, I think it sends a discouraging signal to affected working mothers and takes the shine off the originally intended symbolism of this scheme.”
Speaking of intended symbolism, is symbolism enough? How effective was the WMCR to begin with? One hopes there will be further clarification on this issue.
The billion-dollar tuition industry here came in for special mention by Mr Christopher de Souza (Holland-Bukit Timah GRC), who proposed to “right-size” the school syllabus to minimise stress and the need for tuition.
Mr Xie Yao Quan (Jurong GRC) also mentioned tuition in the context of household expenditure, which today is seen primarily through the lens of income bands.
But, he said, it would be useful to also study household expenditure by household archetypes. One archetype would be a “sandwiched” sub-segment which still regards tuition as necessary.
“In turn, we can form a better, more nuanced understanding of particular drivers of cost-of-living pressures for this particular sub-segment,” he said.

Here, I’m reminded of a 2021 study, which stirred public debate when it stated that a family of four in Singapore needs over $6,000 a month to afford a basic standard of living.
The Finance Ministry had pointed out then that the researchers included discretionary spending items such as private enrichment classes and overseas holidays.
So what truly are the baseline expectations and aspirations of ordinary Singaporeans, and how can these be adequately captured? Mr Xie’s suggestion offers food for thought.
On housing, Mr Zhulkarnain Abdul Rahim (Chua Chu Kang GRC) queried on the feasibility of a capital gains tax for HDB flats that have been sold at a huge profit.
If the profit is so excessive and disproportionate to the fair valuation or initial purchase price, then a portion of the profit could be considered as a windfall, he said.
Ms Tin Pei Ling (MacPherson) and Mr Darryl David (Ang Mo Kio GRC) also asked about support for those who wish to live near their elderly parents, who may live in mature estates where flat prices may be high.
We’re barely halfway through, with a clutch of labour MPs due to speak in Thursday’s Parliament session. Will the issue of unemployment support come up?
In any case, one gets a better sense of the areas of concern that have shaken out from the Valentine’s Day Budget, and which may be addressed in Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Lawrence Wong’s round-up speech on Friday.