• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore Aim to be Top 10 Footballing Countries in Asia

ps07857

I don't know how to respond to this.... Should I laugh or should I cry... or should I support the cause.... Goal 2010.... the Dream Lives on......

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Singapore Aim To Be In Top Ten Asian Football Nations In Five Years
The city-state has lofty ambitions...

Mar 28, 2010 12:25:00 AM

Photo Gallery Zoom
Singapore - National Team- GOAL.com/Yuslan Kisra
Teams
Singapore
Zainudin Nordin, the president of the FA of Singapore (FAS) feels that Singapore will need at least five years to be among the top ten footballing countries in Asia.

He made the statement following the island republic’s feat of almost making it into the 2011 Asian Cup finals but for a lapse in their last qualifying match against Jordan earlier this month.

The Lions needed just a draw to qualify but instead fell to a 2-1 defeat.

“Football in Singapore is on the right path and we are heading in the right direction,” said Zainuddin, who is also the Mayor of CDC Central Singapore.

“For the last five years, the national team has made remarkable progress where they have won the ASEAN Championship crown twice and also for the first time, made the third round of the World Cup qualifiers.

“The Under-23 squad also won the bronze at the SEA Games last year in Laos which in itself is an achievement when we consider that we had sent a very young team with an average age of just 19.8 years.”

The last time Singapore made the final rounds of the Asian Cup was back in 1984 when they were hosts.

Zainudin had taken over the FAS presidency from Associate Professor Ho Peng Kee just over a year ago.

“The FAS have formulated a Strategic Planning programme but it cannot be initiated in a hurry and it will take time for it to be successful – maybe five years,” said Zainudin.

”The project is not mine, it belongs to everyone. We have strategized a good system from the 16-year-olds to the 23-year-olds.

”The first two years is do well at the ASEAN level and win championships. Level two would be to continue doing well at the ASEAN level and also to be competitive at the Asian level.

The Strategic Planning aims to put Singapore as among the top ten football countries in Asia.

“We have identified the gaps between us and the Asian giants like Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia and Australia,” added Zainuddin.

“And it is for that reason we have arranged for matches against quality teams like the Brazil Olympic team, Australia, China, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Korea and Liverpool as further exposure for the national team.”

I forgot to add that Top 10 in Asia means competing against the likes of Iran, Uzbekistan....Japan, Korea, China and recently added Australia....
Why don't we start by being top nation in SEA (beat Thailand consistently) and maybe we will stand a chance....
It really is a loss of face for Singaporeans because other countries will look at this and just laugh...

PLease keep your ambition to yourself, you cannot even get a boardcasting right for world cup and now you talk bullshit about football, WAHAHAHHAH!!! only in sinkieland they do such funny stuffs when they lose face.

I forgot to add that Top 10 in Asia means competing against the likes of Iran, Uzbekistan....Japan, Korea, China and recently added Australia....
Why don't we start by being top nation in SEA (beat Thailand consistently) and maybe we will stand a chance....
It really is a loss of face for Singaporeans because other countries will look at this and just laugh...

being top 10 nations in SEA , more likely

Sinkies and sinkieland are already a laughing stock for the whole world.

World football today is a "fixed" game. Many PREMEIR leagues already have convictions. Germany, Italy, England, Russia, China, and even our kachang puteh ASSLEAGUE.

So do not be surprised if your tax payers' monies is used to bribe officials and opposing players to "fix" our rankings.

After all, what is a few tens of millions to fix what they want to achieve; when we lose hundreds of BILLIONS. This time
, the FTs savings are also thrown into the fray lah.

We already "achived" a YOG which nobody wants and the INTERNATIONAL YOG officials have been expose to be HUMSUPs. Maybe pedophiles in disguise and think YOG is for bonking young men and women.

ALSO DON'T FORGET WE HAVE AN IDIOT WHO WANTS TO SPEND MONEY ON WINTER OLYMPICS WHEN S'POREANS ARE SUFFERING
.:oIo:
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

being top 10 nations in SEA , more likely

Hi my dear friend, I don't think there are even 10 nations in SEA.... I think the last time I counted there were less than 10 countries in SEA... =)

I maybe wrong but let's count realy quickly...

(1) SG
(2) MY
(3) Indon
(4) Philippines
(5) Vietnam
(6) Laos
(7) Cambodia
(8) Thailand
(9) Timor? (I don't know if u can count them?)

Also it is my belief that this statement was put out to PACIFY a certain group of people where football is their life; bread and butter.

Give them hope or false hope since many also tulan with GARMENT for failing to secure WC 2010 TV rights.

Actually a VOTE BUYING procedure if you ask me what this announcement is all about.

FALSE HOPE INDEED!
:mad:
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

got balls go protest lah, talk so much cock here.

hey arsehole, since you claim to live in bangkok where you gaev 1st hand experience with street protests, why dont you come back and lead?

My hard criticisms of the SCUMS should be taken constructively. I am telling them the DAYS OF PIAN GI NA ARE NUMBERED. People can see through all their lies and POOR SPIN.

They should focus more on poor SINGAPOREANS and not FTs. Can spend MILLIONS on FT integration but additional $30 for the really poor, must talk cock and sing song long lone....until one poor woman DIED eating food from rubbish bin.:oIo: .

PLease keep your ambition to yourself, you cannot even get a boardcasting right for world cup and now you talk bullshit about football, WAHAHAHHAH!!! only in sinkieland they do such funny stuffs when they lose face.

CB kia tonychat,

wtf is 'boardcasting'?

KNN english really poor like fuck:oIo:

hey arsehole, since you claim to live in bangkok where you gaev 1st hand experience with street protests, why dont you come back and lead?

My hard criticisms of the SCUMS should be taken constructively. I am telling them the DAYS OF PIAN GI NA ARE NUMBERED. People can see through all their lies and POOR SPIN.

They should focus more on poor SINGAPOREANS and not FTs. Can spend MILLIONS on FT integration but additional $30 for the really poor, must talk cock and sing song long lone....until one poor woman DIED eating food from rubbish bin.:oIo: .

you are still talking here, beside talking, what can you do????

What is going on here guys? Why are you all picking on Tonychat? Anyways, Dream 2010..... oh sorry... It should have been Goal 2010... The Dream Lives on....

Not supporting FAS, but top 10 in Asia in 5 years time is feasible, better than Goal 2010 project :D:D:D:D

What is going on here guys? Why are you all picking on Tonychat? Anyways, Dream 2010..... oh sorry... It should have been Goal 2010... The Dream Lives on....

erm..

dunno? just fuck him lah.:D

u new here? why u ask this type of question? who over here dun tulan that CB loser tonychat. maybe only his gay partner yellow_people.

Hi my dear friend, I don't think there are even 10 nations in SEA.... I think the last time I counted there were less than 10 countries in SEA... =)

I maybe wrong but let's count realy quickly...

(1) SG
(2) MY
(3) Indon
(4) Philippines
(5) Vietnam
(6) Laos
(7) Cambodia
(8) Thailand
(9) Timor? (I don't know if u can count them?)

Timor leste is included. You forgot powerhouse Myanmar & minnows Brunei. That gives us 11. Phillipnes is considered as SE Asia or under Asian. Anyone?

haha... I am proven wrong.... Is Myanmar a powerhouse? Anyways, there are 11 countries in SEA... I think Philippines is SEA too right? But I have never seen Manny Pachuaio boxing during the SEA games....

To set goal and target is postive management but to set unachievable ones will demoralize staff and make a joke out of it.

top 10? what is the point?
only 3 slots for asia for world cup.