• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Sg video] - PAP Lawrence Wong addresses Singaporeans on the implications of Trump's tariffs for Singapore

The U.S. tariffs are a minor issue since S'pore's 2024 exports to the US were only $43.2 billion, and even with new tariffs, the impact is insignificant compared to Temasek's past losses in ill-advised foreign investments. Instead of focusing on this, the Govt should prioritise reducing the cost of living and re-evaluating high salaries for cronies and newly appointed individuals after the GE. How to convince S'poreans that the "whiter than white" are not merely wolves dressed in sheep's clothing?

In most private company, you don't tell the boss your problem, you are paid a high salary to provide the boss with solution. Election coming, voters are the boss.

too many people and not enough kopi shops to chope a seat? no worries sinkies. more kopi kaya toast franchises to the rescue. first there is killkidney, next we have toast pox and yaya kun, then funk toast and heavenly wank, now pang sai oops pang pang kopi and toast and roll, even toast and tart. kopi sets less than $6.9. no 10% tariffs, just 10% gst. affordable luxury. unfazed by trump’s tariff threat. life can continue for sinkies: chope, queue, pay, makan. shiok. sinkies have pap to thank for.

Actually he got no clue
No balls oso.
Before trump's 10% tariffs,LW already farked sinkees deep deep by increasing gst from 7% to 9% causing high inflation and high costs of living in Singapore.Nothing good come out of his mouth.555

Canada already bent the knee. :biggrin:

ENGs4ZjPF9wZ.jpeg

For those of you who still have business involvements with China, it's probably time to cut your losses now. Because China has just scored an own goal with their tariff 'retaliation'. You have been warned. :biggrin:

And to the PAP... it's still not too late to delay the election, maybe until next year. Think of an excuse, and let your controlled media lapdogs promote it. Your silly booksmart technocrats won't be able to handle the coming storm. :cool:

The fear mongering continues..

Vivian Balakrishnan, Shanmugam sound alarm on Trump's tariffs as Singapore braces for impact
Foreign Affairs Minister Vivian Balakrishnan cautioned that the fundamental pillars of integration and mutual agreement are at risk of being eroded, while Home Affairs and Law Minister K Shanmugam listed knock-on effects, such as a potential decline in investments.

Vivian Balakrishnan, Shanmugam sound alarm on Trump's tariffs as Singapore braces for impact
Minister for Foreign Affairs Dr Vivian Balakrishan (left) and Home Affairs and Law Minister K Shanmugam speaking to reporters at separate constituency events. (Photos: CNA)
Nicole LamAmanda Yeap
Get bite-sized news via a new
cards interface. Give it a try.
Click here to return to FAST
Tap here to return to FAST
SINGAPORE: Two Cabinet ministers on Saturday (Apr 5) sounded the alarm over United States President Donald Trump's tariffs, calling the move "a profound setback" to the global system and "a shadow (that) is forming across the world”.

Echoing Friday's statement by Prime Minister Lawrence Wong on the sweeping tariffs, Foreign Affairs Minister Vivian Balakrishnan cautioned that the erosion of interdependence and mutual agreements could bring higher inflation and slower growth.

He said that in the last 80 years, there has generally been progressive economic integration, growth of global supply chains, and multinational companies expanding and investing around the world.

The “organising principle” was about economic efficiency and competitive advantage, he added.

“And if you think about Singapore for the last 60 years, we realise our policies – economic, social, education – have actually been finely tuned to take maximum advantage of a world that operates on this basis.”

In a YouTube video posted on Friday, Mr Wong said the tariffs marked a "seismic change" in the global order, one where rules-based globalisation and free trade are over, to turn into one that is "more arbitrary, protectionist, and dangerous".

Deputy Prime Minister Gan Kim Yong, who is also the trade and industry minister, also warned of the significant impact of the tariffs, prompting Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh to back Mr Wong’s call for unity on Saturday morning.

At his constituency event in Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, Dr Balakrishnan, who is also Member of Parliament for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, said: “This is a big moment. This is a turning point, a profound setback to the way the world has operated for the last 80 years.”

He was present at the Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council’s five-year master plan event with fellow MPs Christopher de Souza, Sim Ann, Edward Chia from Holland-Bukit Timah GRC and Liang Eng Hwa from Bukit Panjang SMC.

In a separate event at Nee Soon GRC, Home Affairs and Law Minister K Shanmugam called the newly imposed tariffs “a very serious situation” and described them as akin to “a shadow that is forming across the world”.

"With the tariffs that are being imposed across almost every country in the world, it's going to have a serious impact on economies around the world."

Dr Balakrishnan and Mr Shanmugam were asked to weigh in on the tariffs, which have triggered a wave of retaliatory measures from affected nations like China, following Trump’s announcement on Wednesday.

Singapore, the only Southeast Asian country with a trade surplus with the US, will face a baseline 10 per cent tariff.

In contrast, other Southeast Asian nations such as Vietnam, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Cambodia, and Myanmar will see tariffs ranging from 18 to 49 per cent.

While Mr Gan expressed disappointment with the tariffs, he said on Thursday Singapore would not be taking retaliatory measures against them even though it could have chosen to do so.

Nee Soon GRC MPs (from left) Carrie Tan, Derrick Goh, Law and Home Affairs Minister K Shanmugam, Louis Ng at the launch of 'Nee Soon Cares - Each Dollar Every Heart’ Programme held at Chong Pang Community Club on Apr 5, 2025. (Photo:…see more
HOW SINGAPORE WILL BE AFFECTED
Dr Balakrishnan noted that, particularly for Southeast Asia, the past eight years have delivered not only prosperity but also peace, as the countries are interdependent.

“There was more to lose by having open conflict. There was every incentive to resolve.”

Dr Balakrishnan said that now, the fundamental pillars of integration, interdependence, negotiation, and mutual agreement are at risk of being eroded, bringing major economic impact.

“I expect to see higher inflation, I expect to see slower growth rates, and I expect to see a lot of pressure on the way agreements are reached or, more importantly, the way agreements are implemented and complied with.”

Meanwhile, Mr Shanmugam, who was at Chong Pang Community Club’s launch of “Nee Soon Cares – Each Dollar, Every Heart” programme, said although Singapore was imposed with one of the “lowest” tariffs of 10 per cent, Singapore will still be affected, given that its trade partners in Southeast Asia and China are bearing the brunt of the tariffs.

The programme enabled 60,000 households across Nee Soon GRC to redeem four essential household items, including rice and canned sardines, worth S$20 using a pre-purchased S$1 ticket.

Mr Shanmugam was joined by fellow Nee Soon GRC MPs, Louis Ng, Carrie Tan and Derrick Goh during the launch.

“Investments flow in (to Singapore) based on international trade with the tariffs that are being imposed across almost every country in the world. It's going to have a serious effect on economies around the world,” he said.

The Member of Parliament for Nee Soon GRC listed other knock-on effects, such as a potential decline in investments and funding for welfare programmes.

“The investments don't come in, the jobs are at stake,” said Mr Shanmugam.

He added that this, in turn, would affect the government’s ability to collect taxes and fund welfare programmes and might lead to rising healthcare costs.

“Effectively, what you have is a trade war and it's going to affect a lot of people.”

(From left) Vivian Balakrishnan, Sim Ann, Liang Eng Hwa, Christopher de Souza and Edward Chia at the Holland-Bukit Panjang Town Council’s five-year master plan event 'Our Home of Possibilities' on Apr 5, 2025. (Photo: CNA/Marcus Mark…see more
THE WAY FORWARD FOR SINGAPORE
Speaking at the launch of the Marsiling-Yew Tee Town five-year master plan at Yew Tee Square on Saturday morning, Prime Minister Wong said that Singaporeans might enter a world that is more “dangerous and unpredictable”.

Despite the “dark clouds” ahead, Mr Wong said Singapore has always overcome such challenges with “grit and determination”, particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic.

“As long as we continue to stand together and look out for each other, I believe we can weather the storm, and build a better tomorrow, a better home and a brighter future for everyone.”

As the world undergoes significant changes, Dr Balakrishnan said the way forward for Singapore is to “double down” on regional and global integration.

These include strengthening ASEAN ties, furthering free trade agreements such as the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) and Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), and continuing Singapore’s proactive role in signing and abiding by multilateral agreements.

Dr Balakrishnan acknowledged that while the US’ withdrawal from the global system is a significant setback, it still accounts for only 14 per cent of global trade, leaving 86 per cent remaining.

“My hope is that the rest of us will double down on integration, win-win solutions, and signing agreements that we will abide by, both in spirit and in the letter of the law,” he said.

“We need to keep the principle of economic interdependence, efficiency, and competitive advantage. If we can do that, we can still stay in the game."

Still, it is essential for Singaporeans to stay informed, said Dr Balakrishnan, as there must be a strong focus on domestic preparation, such as social safety nets, education, retraining and upskilling.

“We have both immediate, acute challenges and long-term ones, but Singapore has agency. Singapore has options. There’s a full agenda, and we need to ensure that all this translates into real benefits, hope, and optimism on the ground.”

When asked how Singapore will weather the looming storm, Mr Shanmugam said Singapore has always faced “many serious problems” – from the country’s birth in 1965, economic recessions, the SARS outbreak and the COVID-19 pandemic – and has seen them through.

“You know how we have always solved problems ... The key is, in the end, unity within our country,” said Mr Shanmugam.

“The leadership is not thinking of the next election, but five years, 10 years (ahead), and taking the steps that are necessary with the support of the people to get past these dangerous times. And that’s always been the case.”

After receiving Million dollars salary, they tell Citizen to embrace volatility. Any Tom Dick & Harry can do the same too !!!
They should be ensuring us ... don't worry, SG is ahead of the game & SG is the last paradise on Earth when every country fails
IF not ... they are just normal mediocre quality, stop pretending to be expert & brag they are the only talent, demand high salary

look at the face. He's aged exponentially since his wearing in. Another one year and 1000 steps closer to the grave. Poisoned chalice. The fount of cancer. heng SK is really heng

Ah Heng so smart said Dont want the PM post. He knows his lifespan will be longer without the PM post.
Ah Wong gong gong garang stepped in and Ah Loong quickly confirmed him. Ah Wong gong Lor.

Knn..
Just tell the people pap has enough fats to shield Singkie from any shock will do. Instead he choose to fear monger the electorates. Why ?

Tariff is towards exporting goods to US. Not importing goods or produce from USA.

Please don't kpkb about paying GST to the USA when you PAP cockroaches are abusing CECA.

Even Americans are waking up. :cool:

GnwQW5oW0AAVfUM.jpg