• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG Tourist attractions always fail. Why?

In the short time I've been here (about a year) I've found Singaporeans to be highly clever but awfully boring.

That's a surprise. I've been in Singapore a bit longer than you have and I find Singaporeans to be extremely stupid, awfully boring and VERY obnoxious.:rolleyes:

chupacabra

Its not about the attractions, its about the people. Its always about the people.

In the short time I've been here (about a year) I've found Singaporeans to be highly clever but awfully boring.

I've been to other places, for work and on holidays, and the people there are always interesting. intriguing even. In Singapore they always seem to be jaded. Why is that?

With the 3rd world shitty pay to go with 1st world prices. Who wouldn't be jaded?

Sinkees are bred with broomstick up their arses. Thanks to pappy bastards.

In school they put rulers up sinkees ass. In the army you get a bayonet up where the sun don't shine, in your work life you are paid peanuts to work slave hours witout overtime pay.

No safety net for retirees or anyone for that matters. School leavers have little choices in jobs because FTs depress ALL of the blue collar jobs.

There are loads more reasons. Stick around this forum for more updates.

Sinkees are bred with broomstick up their arses. Thanks to pappy bastards.

Don't blame the pappies for goodness sake. Sinkies CHOSE to have broomsticks shoved up their arses.

When opportunities arose every now and then to have those broomsticks removed, a small amount of pappy KY jelly just before the election was enough to convince them that those nice broomsticks up their arses were there for their own good.

Cthulhu

Its not about the attractions, its about the people. Its always about the people.

I've been to other places, for work and on holidays, and the people there are always interesting. intriguing even. In Singapore they always seem to be jaded. Why is that?

ho-ching.jpg

Excuse me, I am highly clever but not boring at all.

tiulehloumoh

Tang Dynasty, Asian Village, Haw Par Villa, SG Flyer and most probably the casinos.

Why? What are we doing wrong? Please advise.

I don't see any thing wrong with it..... if old entertainment don't go.... new entertainment don't come rite ? then how to kutoh more tourist $$$.......

See the same entertainment buay sian har !.

HakkaThaileen

Malay Village also.

Is the failure of our tourist attractions due to our scholar's ineptitude
or is SG not meant to be tourist attractive?

The scholarly people do not possess shrew business acumen. They could be good administrator / bureaucrat, but they are not businessmen.

Take Malay Village fo example, it is being fenced up like a prison.

My goodness, it is supposed to be a shopping cum recreational hub, but now, you would need to hunt high and low for the entrances in order to get in.

It makes sense to fence up a police station as it signifies authority. When a criminal walks into the compound of a police station, psychologically, he knows that he is under the appropriately authority's jurisdiction.

But when you have a shopping centre fenced up, you effectively stop your customers from coming.

Your customers must be able to come into the village from all 4 directions and not only from few fixed entrances. That's the way to do business.

Of course, from administrator's point of view, when people can come in from all directions, the roads surrounding the village will be messy as people will conveniently stop their vehicles at the roadside.

But, we are talking about business. In business, you must be prepared to accept a certain level of 乱 (messiness). You look at those streets in Hong Kong, they are a little 乱 but that is exactly the factor for the town being bustling, lively and full of vitality.

But our best and the brightest think otherwise. They would go all out to ensure that the place is clinically clean. But the result is that the place is dead, dull. Hong Kong people say "新加坡...? 好闷.." (Singapore.. a dull place..). This is the meaning.

If you were to get a comment from the old Far East boss, he would scold in Hokkien whoever behind the idea of fencing being "cum lan".

silverfox@

Sg's Unofficial most successful Tourist Attraction is in

GEYLANG.

Look at the number of foreigners we see there, locals also,

Can eat, can drink, can fuck, can gamble

This place will never fail even if all else fails:biggrin:

VIBGYOR

Tang Dynasty, Asian Village, Haw Par Villa, SG Flyer and most probably the casinos.

Why? What are we doing wrong? Please advise.

sgp is a peesai country, plus lousy customer service.

no natural beauty, mostly concrete building.

shopping not cheap. HK is better in terms of price.

most think spend 1/2 days in SGP is enough.

as a matter of fact, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and Philippines are more endowed with natural resources, are more attractive to tourists and cheaper too!

Highly clever??? I dun think a person who vote for a party that like to ram his ass time and time again is clever.

jaded.. if you are being ram in your ass day in and out, what do you think?

sgp is a peesai country, plus lousy customer service.

no natural beauty, mostly concrete building.

shopping not cheap. HK is better in terms of price.

most think spend 1/2 days in SGP is enough.

as a matter of fact, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and Philippines are more endowed with natural resources, are more attractive to tourists and cheaper too!

You are absolutely right!!!!!!

HakkaThaileen

GEYLANG.

No. It will certainly fail the moment the URA steps in.

oli9

One of Vietnam's tourist attraction is the tomb of Ho Chi Minh. Wonder if we have one in Spore, would it too be successful?

We can have 1st class entertainments but run by 3rd class mentality.
You pay peanuts you get monkeys.

Ah Guan

1) Lack of creativity.

Sinkapore finds 1 winning formula and proceeds to replicate it to death

Like outdoor parties eg. Zoukout and the cancelled NYE countdown... Now who in the right mind would hold 2 big outdoor parties in 1 month??? Organisers are simply not agile enough to cater to the fickle party-going crowd.

2) Lack of staff motivation

By hiring low cost staff to serve tourists, sinkapore becomes a nation of unhappy faces who would not "take ownership" of their work.

The sinkapore flyer crisis management fiasco just proves this point.

Zeitgeist

By hiring low cost staff to serve tourists, sinkapore becomes a nation of unhappy faces who would not "take ownership" of their work.

Nothing can sum up any better the whole sorry state of affairs with regard to locals' attitude toward their jobs than this sentence........................

Singapore all tourists spot will only make money for 1st 3 years because it attract local people and tourists. After that only left tourist and cannot afford to maintain and upgrade facilities with tourists revenue.
Shopping Singapore are one of the most expensive to shop even after GST rebate for tourist. Shopping in US, Japan, HK, Thailands and Mudlands are more cheaper compare to Singapore.
And Singapore with no heritage/culture and also no nature spot( only Sungei Buloh,B. Timah how can compare to others country).
So there is nothing here for tourists can gain from coming to Singapore.

1) Lack of creativity.
Sinkapore finds 1 winning formula and proceeds to replicate it to death
ya ler ...

oni noe how 2 copy other ppl's idea ... like dat big, now-grounded donut ...

oso, tang dynasty copied fr hk's sung dynasty ...

... By hiring low cost staff to serve tourists, sinkapore becomes a nation of unhappy faces who would not "take ownership" of their work.
toking abt ownership ...

even ze so-called 'blainchild' owners oso scared 2 take ownership of their own ideas ... who own donut now? ... dat shows how much confidence dey hv in their own ideas ... dun even tok abt passion ...

GEYLANG.

wifout gahmen interference, u can c ze whole place is so vibrant ... it simply grows n flourishes by itself ... iz a place dat never sleeps ...

chupacabra

I don't see any thing wrong with it..... if old entertainment don't go.... new entertainment don't come rite ? then how to kutoh more tourist $$$.......

See the same entertainment buay sian har !.

Kutoh your own head la. Tourist are not stupid la. They know an overpriced shitty overated tourist trap when they see one.

No need to talk about new tourist trap when old ones haven't even been constructed. In flyer's case haven't even made any money.