• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sg Sends Slow Ship to Fight Pirates. Potential Target Themselves?

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Another SG ship going to Somalia...</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">1:16 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>11151.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>S'pore joins anti-piracy mission off Somalia
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- Author --></TD></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Jermyn Chow
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
bernard-.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

Mission commander, Colonel Bernard Miranda, accepting a Singapore flag and a letter of encouragement from the Chief of Navy, Rear-Admiral Chew Men Leong, during the sending-off ceremony yesterday. -- PHOTO: MINDEF
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->

A SINGAPORE Navy warship left yesterday for the Gulf of Aden - the Republic's contribution to an international anti-piracy patrol coalition to curb the escalating violence off the waters of Somalia.

The Landing Ship Tank (LST) RSS Persistence, with two Super Puma helicopters and 240 Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) personnel on board, set off for a three-month tour to join a United States-led task force that is watching over the area.
The Persistence will join about 45 warships from around the world, including China and Malaysia, which are already patrolling the area.
The international flotilla, formed in January, escorts vessels plying the waters in and around the Gulf of Aden, the Arabian Sea, Indian Ocean and the Red Sea.
As part of the Combined Task Force 151, the LST will protect merchant ships that pass through the pirate-infested waterway. It will also respond to any emergency calls made from ships that are under attack.
Leading the SAF contingent is Colonel Bernard Miranda, commander of the navy's 3rd Flotilla.
Singapore's contribution to the multinational effort to fight piracy comes as more attacks have been reported.
In the worst spate of hijackings in months, Somali pirates seized five ships in 48 hours in the past week.
The Singapore-registered oil tanker Ocean Amber was also threatened when it passed through the waterway, although it was not fired upon and none of the 30-man crew was taken hostage.
A Japanese destroyer responded to its distress call and chased away the four pirate boats, said a spokesman for the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore.
Fourteen Singapore-registered ships were among the more than 100 vessels which were fired upon or pursued by pirates last year when they sailed through the Gulf of Aden. To date, at least 17 ships with more than 250 hostages remain in pirate hands.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

gd idea wat! ...

wen u reach there, ppl oredi finis fighting ... u can juz go home! ...

Pirate will mistake them for a freighter.

With their slow speed, how can they run from the pirates :biggrin:

How much ransom will Spore gov't pay if SAF personnel are taken hostage :confused:

Pirate will mistake them for a freighter.

With their slow speed, how can they run from the pirates :biggrin:

How much ransom will Spore gov't pay if SAF personnel are taken hostage :confused:

The Somalian's pirates will laugh so hard & loud, seeing the RSN boats..that they will have to be rescued by the American Navy!:p

Is my behind Admiral's who does no porn..leading? or any other?:rolleyes:

mscitw

Peasantpore's navy officers are products of a nine month officer mill school, one that churns out cheap expendable officers in nine full moons. One ex-officer even claimed he is a grad because he attended SCSC, a rare demented joker indeed who should have 200 dogs banging himself.

Small wonder why a navy paper tiger managed to collide her floating coffin with a huge durian tanker in the open sea! ha ha!

AddinMedia

Back in the early 80's, took us 7 days of rock n roll to Taiwan.

With the 2 Super Puma, it will be a super slow rock and roll to Africa.:rolleyes:

Won't it be embrassing for a rich little nation not to send our newer ship there?

angie II

LHL : Oei! Why send slow ships???

LTY : Aiya we'll be the bait.. don't worry cuz we have the US navy to save us. So make use of this mission to gain experience mah.

miosux

Back in the early 80's, took us 7 days of rock n roll to Taiwan.

With the 2 Super Puma, it will be a super slow rock and roll to Africa.:rolleyes:

Won't it be embrassing for a rich little nation not to send our newer ship there?

we need our newer ships to protect singapore. force projection has never been our navy's mandate.

aiya...if you read into the specs of our navy ships, only the LST can be taken out of the bathtub...the rest cannot tahan the perils of the ocean lah...the stealth ships are known to be unstable. and also, logistics support is a big question mark.

moreover, matland ships there leh...how can we show them our stealth ships?

aiya...if you read into the specs of our navy ships, only the LST can be taken out of the bathtub...the rest cannot tahan the perils of the ocean lah...the stealth ships are known to be unstable. and also, logistics support is a big question mark.

moreover, matland ships there leh...how can we show them our stealth ships?

2jdrfp2.jpg

Sala lah! If pirates cannot see our stealth ship and langa with it how? Paiseh one u know? Hence send a white elephant there to show show lah!

STUCK_HERE

we need our newer ships to protect singapore. force projection has never been our navy's mandate.

fuck your force projection lah. project what force? protect what? you are just a small piece of shit that can be wiped out by a rise in sea level.

angie II

090223_pirates.jpg

Over a month since the United States launched its own counter-piracy effort, details of the operations are emerging. The U.S. coalition is deploying technological and legal creativity to get the job done.

Most countries have been nervous about touching the pirates, let alone keeping them in custody. Britain, for example, instructed its patrols not to pick up any of them.

What is the point of having a navy when you will not use it.

No wonder the pirates are successful .... their opponents are just paper bags.