• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SDP to Contest Bt Panjang

<TABLE class=contentpaneopen><TBODY><TR><TD class=contentheading width="100%">Democrats blanket Bukit Panjang with flyers </TD><TD class=buttonheading width="100%" align=right> </TD><TD class=buttonheading width="100%" align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=contentpaneopen><TBODY><TR><TD>News - Singapore </TD></TR><TR><TD class=createdate vAlign=top colSpan=2>Monday, 12 April 2010 </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top colSpan=2>Singapore Democrats

bp_flyer.jpg
The Singapore Democrats have been going about the Bukit Panjang housing estate - block-to-block, house-to-house - distributing flyers to residents, stepping up our campaign efforts in preparations for the upcoming elections against the incumbent PAP MP Dr Teo Ho Pin.

While we continue to strengthen our online presence and expand our reach on the Internet, we are making sure that our work on the ground also intensifies. With the expansion within our ranks, our campaign in the constituency has also increased steadily in recent years. </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>makapa <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>11:48 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>makapa <NOBR></NOBR>unread</TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (2 of 2) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>31662.2 in reply to 31662.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>The present flyer focuses on the need to stop the influx of foreign workers into Singapore, losses that the GIC and Temasek incurred in investments in Western banks as well as the witholding of our CPF savings.

In response, we highlighted the SDP's alternative Singaporeans First policy, the need for minimum wage and retrenchment entitlements.

But as fast as we are moving, there is still a wide gulf between the resources available to Dr Teo through the PAP compared to what is available to us. While the PAP gets the big donations from the elite big boys, we depend on support from ordinary citizens.

While we have shown that we can surpass the PAP on innovative and resourcefulness when it comes to campaigning, the limited funds at our disposal severely curtails our ability to reach out to the electorate.

bp_csj_khalis.jpg
Chee Soon Juan and Young Democrat Muhd Khalis visiting a resident

Printing of flyers, for instance, takes a huge chunk from our expenditure. Flyering is an important feature of our campaign because this is our only means of communication with the residents.

With the media imposing a news blackout especially on the SDP's election activities, we have no choice but to reach out directly to the residents though our flyers as well as our newspaper, The New Democrat.

We would, therefore, like to appeal to our fellow Singaporeans for your financial support without which we cannot run a competent and effective campaign. Your support is crucial to our efforts to bring about a democratic Singapore.

So please make your donations today. Don't wait until the elections to make your contribution by which time it will be too late. We need to continue with the momentum we have built up and your support will determine if this swing continues to move up or dies down.

You can make your donations via monthly pledges or a one-time donation by clicking here
donate
. Or you can email us at [email protected] This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it to make alternative arrangements.

Support the party that dares and cares, the party that continues to speak up for Singapore no matter how hard the PAP comes down on us.

We are your voice, your party.
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Looks like SDP will likely to contest in Bt Panjang in the next GE!

But how about SDP's plans to contest Bishan-Toa Payoh? SDA seems set to abandon Pasir Ris-Punggol to go for Bishan-Toa Payoh in the next GE.

3 corner fight in Bishan-Toa Payoh? Or SDP will consider contest in Pasir Ris-Punggol instead?

wonderful wonderful
ALL the way SDP!!!

Please no 3 corner fight given the tight resources. Will someone please contest with the higher mortal Charles Chong and the fatty Gan Kim Yong in Chua Chu Kang too? People who are working should at least donate a couple dollars to alternative parties with tight resources. Afterall you are paying hefty taxes to feed PAP, so why not channel your resources to help alternative parties challenge the one-party system and stop the reckless influx of foreigners into our peaceful land. I have donated some monies already so please do likewise if you want change for the good of everyone - just a couple dollars they need for the huge sacrifice they have given us.

NSP team led by Sebastian Teo. More or less the same as in last GE.

Whoever wants to fight in Jalan Besar, a hot issue would be the red light district which has sprouted up. The area near Singapore Casket has a large number of mei mei bars. This red light district is almost as bad as the old Joo Chiat.

Then slightly further down the road, we have the infamous Petain Road. This has seen a revival of sorts with the wholesale migration of the old Malayisan CAT 150 girls there. These girls were displaced when Geylang underwent a quiet revamp to allow in legal China mei mei's.

Lots of political capital for a political party with enough balls to make these vice activities a political issue.

fatty Gan Kim Yong won by a 20% margain last GE but that is just 5000 votes.
2500 votes change sides and our oppositions will win the seat.

Does Steve Chia want to give CCK SMC one last shot?

Request for the SDP Chee siblings to maintain a low profile in General Election

Dear Sir,

At the time of writing this, the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) is known to be preparing for a General Election (GE) which is expected to be held within the few months. For the past 30 years the SDP has been active in GE. In 1991 it rose to prominence by winning 3 seats.

Since the 1990s, Dr Chee Soon Juan has continuously held the position of secretary-general in SDP. Dr Chee and his sister Ms Chee Siok Chin has tried to raise the profile of SDP by being more directly critical of the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP). This has resulted in the SDP being involved in a series of civil and criminal lawsuits.

Between 1984 and 1991, the PAP had seen its share of valid votes decreased from 78% to 61%. The actions of the Chee siblings had been to the advantage of the PAP. It had managed to portray the SDP and other critics as an assembly of hot-headed radicals. As a result, the SDP had been indirectly helping the PAP to win votes.

In the 1997 GE, the PAP reversed the decreasing vote trend by winning 65% of valid votes. In the 2001 GE, the PAP increased its valid vote share to 75%. In the 2006 GE, the SDP received approximately of 25% of valid votes in its contests. This was far below the 33% average for all opposition candidates.

Currently the SDP may be able to increase its vote share or even win a parliamentary seat due to apparent rising anti-PAP sentiments. It is essential the SDP should maintain contact with the masses through cool-headed rational discussion.

The Chee siblings had been associated with confrontational methods and this had almost certainly put off many voters. Therefore the writer urged the Chee siblings to maintain a low profile in the expected 2010 GE. It can still play a role as mentors to potential candidates.

With the large inflow of immigrants which are expected to more supportive of the PAP, this opposition would had to be very careful
not to give away any advantage to the PAP.

Yours truly,

Mr Chua Yuankai

Re: Request for the SDP Chee siblings to maintain a low profile in General Election

I had previously threw away my vote when given a choice between SDP and PAP. At the time, i was totally disgusted with CSJ for his part in chasing GCT and asking “where is the moneies”

I dun think i will do the same again. Better to vote in a madman, then vote in a deaf thief

Re: Request for the SDP Chee siblings to maintain a low profile in General Election

I agree. A lot of people don’t have a very good impression of the Chee siblings. For some people, whenever there is mention of opposition, they think of the Chees and have the impression that most opp are like them

Whoever wants to fight in Jalan Besar, a hot issue would be the red light district which has sprouted up. The area near Singapore Casket has a large number of mei mei bars. This red light district is almost as bad as the old Joo Chiat.

Then slightly further down the road, we have the infamous Petain Road. This has seen a revival of sorts with the wholesale migration of the old Malayisan CAT 150 girls there. These girls were displaced when Geylang underwent a quiet revamp to allow in legal China mei mei's.

Lots of political capital for a political party with enough balls to make these vice activities a political issue.

NSP HQ is right in between Lavender and Petain. Two bus stops away at Syed Alwi is WP HQ. You think they don't know?

Lavender and Balestier bars are licensed bars. Whatever sex trades are illegal, but hard to catch behind closed doors. Petain and Desker brothels are licensed brothels. MOM issues work permits to these bargirls and prostitutes. Police raids are only concerned with breaching of laws.

NSP HQ is right in between Lavender and Petain. Two bus stops away at Syed Alwi is WP HQ. You think they don't know?

Lavender and Balestier bars are licensed bars. Whatever sex trades are illegal, but hard to catch behind closed doors. Petain and Desker brothels are licensed brothels. MOM issues work permits to these bargirls and prostitutes. Police raids are only concerned with breaching of laws.

The political profile of NSP and WP are such that they don't really go after issues like this. It however fits SDP quite well. I can imagine SDP relentlessly attacking the incumbent PAP MPs about their moral values and why they tolerate such vice activities in their GRC.

On whether laws are broken or not broken, the moral high ground is that we should not have such vice activities. If all the incumbent PAP MPs can do is point to how no laws are being broken, then they would have already lost.

I had previously threw away my vote when given a choice between SDP and PAP. At the time, i was totally disgusted with CSJ for his part in chasing GCT and asking “where is the moneies”

I dun think i will do the same again. Better to vote in a madman, then vote in a deaf thief

Correction you won't be voting in a madman, you will be voting in a clown...face it no one will take CSJ seriously, he is better off making a career out in the circus as a clown then been in politics. At least in the circus people will take him seriously and appreciate his clowning around.

They already have a prime candidate in Lim Sia Suay. Failing which, LHL with his mee siam mai hum song routine is guaranteed to bring a few chuckles.

Yes undeniably those Pappies dogs have the cream of the crop for clowns, unfortunately CSJ did not apply for the post if not he would have been up there with the best of the lot..:D

The political profile of NSP and WP are such that they don't really go after issues like this. It however fits SDP quite well. I can imagine SDP relentlessly attacking the incumbent PAP MPs about their moral values and why they tolerate such vice activities in their GRC.

On whether laws are broken or not broken, the moral high ground is that we should not have such vice activities. If all the incumbent PAP MPs can do is point to how no laws are being broken, then they would have already lost.

These moral highground arguments have been going around for ages since colonial times. The winning argument has always seemed to be some vice has to be allowed for entertainment, as long as these are controlled, regulated, restricted to certain zones. Police raids are conducted against unlicensed prostitutes, breaches of work permit terms, fighting, racketeering, loansharking etc. in those zones.

Most heartland voters aren't affected, except in ocassional cases when wild crows strayed over. These are usually dealt with expediently as they affect aunties and decent girls. To put things in historical perspective, these zones have shrunk quite a lot through the past 40 years.

The new bars at Lavender is nothing and nothing compared to 20 to 30 years agao, when the entire Balestier from Thomson down Lavender west through Jalan Besar or further south and west through North Bridge, were all bar zones. These were anchored on Serangoon side with Petain and Desker brothel zones and on the South Bridge side with Keong Siak brothel zone. From Lavender eastward, once past Kallang and beginning with Geylang Lorong 1 all the way to Lorong 40, it's integrated bar and brothel zone. Then further into Joo Chiat, it became bar zone again.

Today, I can safely estimate that half of old Geylang licensed brothels were gone. Those remaining are now mainly from Lorong 12 to Lorong 24 only and must be inside the lorongs. None must be facing the three main roads of Geylang, i.e. Guillemard, Geylang and Sims. The scales of Petain, Desker and Keong Siak were also cut down by half each at least.

Wah so many pap losers here so scare of CSJ. If he is being elected in, you guys got no where to run. I do understand why sinkies scare of someone who has balls.

wahahah!!

on whether laws are broken or not broken, the moral high ground is that we should not have such vice activities. If all the incumbent PAP MPs can do is point to how no laws are being broken, then they would have already lost.

Do the people support pointing the laws got broken or not. THe pap laws are all bullshit. You got to bear that in mind that it is the people that decide if laws are a guide to proper order. People are not going to give in to this bullshit at the moment. The law is already self-serving and you talk about laws. wahahha!!!