• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sayonara Liang Court. Thanks for the memories.

Will reopen Mall with Cineleisure, MacDonalds, KFC, Aijisen, Uniqlo etc etc

Kinokuniya books store was my favorite haunt there during my secondary school days. Moi spent lots of time there reading their hentai comics, including Cat's Eyes and City Hunter, after swimming lessons at River Valley swimming pool. Great memories back then. :rolleyes:

I bet many people didn't know that area including Boat Quay was like another part of Chinatown back in the 80s. There's also a few blocks of HDB flats there where the first few floors were mainly shops selling dried food. It's very crowded when near CNY.

clarke-quay-ellenborough-hdb-flats-1980s.jpg

singapore-river-boat-quay-clarke-quay-ellenborough-hdb-flats-1980s.jpg

Good ole days, I used to rent my VCDs at Poh Kim video rental! Lotsa Jap expatriates too, like to ogle at those Nihon ladies lah as a teenager! Hahahaha..

Poh Kim is still around in many malls, now they sell DVDs. :thumbsup:

My impression of liang court is daimaru

Liang Court is a mall. Daimaru is a department store.

Liang Court had the Meidi-ya supermarket in the basement, many nihonjins could be found there on weekends.

Isetan Scotts is another place where they can be found.

Liang Court is a mall. Daimaru is a department store.

Liang Court had the Meidi-ya supermarket in the basement, many nihonjins could be found there on weekends.

Isetan Scotts is another place where they can be found.

Last time 1980s my mum say we go daimaru means go liang court liao.

All the department stores are going... going... gone.

Emporium, John Little, Robinsons etc.

What's left? Isetan, Takashimaya, OG, Mustafa, BHG.

Marusho was one of my favourite stores at that time. They had nice clothes and stationeries from Japan. I still have one or two of the shirts bought from there in my storeroom. But it looks so dated and bengish now. I'm keeping just for memory sake.

Liang Court parking was scary.. So small and tight spaces.. A refurbishment is definitely required. That place was too old. Next should be UE Square la

Kinokuniya books store was my favorite haunt there during my secondary school days. Moi spent lots of time there reading their hentai comics, including Cat's Eyes and City Hunter, after swimming lessons at River Valley swimming pool. Great memories back then. :rolleyes:
aisles in that bookstore must be soggy with cum from self-administered handjobs.

Hotel Otani was there too if my memory doesn't fail me...that nite joint-" Madame Wong" wasn't that far either..Time flies! Wow...