• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Hawker, 76, closes Serangoon vegetarian stall after rental allegedly rises from S$930 to S$3,000

This is the result of voting PAP. Rental increase and yhe cost of your basic food needs also increases in tandem. FUCK PAP :FU:
The Govt packs 6 million people into this tiny island and then wonder why too many people chasing too few private homes and cars lead to the cost of living spiralling out of control!!!

Screenshot-2024-07-04-at-11.43.17%E2%80%AFAM-1024x927.jpg
We need Lim Tean to spar with Amy!

Hearsay many dogs go down to the stall & try to persuade old hawkers to give up their place.

Before running the stall, Liang joined his older brother in Denmark and worked in the food and beverage industry for over ten years before returning to Singapore.
Odd that he didn’t use that as a springboard to get resident status in Denmark. Surely that’s better than coming back to Singapore!

Everyone knows rental is the thing that kills off most businesses. At least with staff, you can still do one man show yourself and fire the rest. Rental? U got open stall or not, still have to pay rent hor!
Amy Khor is another overrated, overhyped and overpaid clueless minister.

Hawker, 76, closes Serangoon vegetarian stall after rental allegedly rises from S$930 to S$3,000​

Nevertheless, the stall owner said he plans on reopening the stall somewhere else.​

A 76-year-old man and his wife decided to close their vegetarian food stall at a Serangoon coffeeshop after the new operator allegedly raised their rental from S$930 to over S$3,000 per month.

However, while he was moving out of the coffeeshop on Feb. 28, the exiting operator allegedly "kept rushing him and even cursed at him", reported Shin Min Daily News.

When the man, surnamed Liang (transliteration from Chinese), asked the exiting operator for a refund of two days' rental as he closed his stall on Feb. 26, the latter apparently rejected his request.

Eventually, Liang alerted the police, and the matter was resolved with the help of police mediation.

Upon learning about the incident, the new operator of the coffeeshop also arrived at the scene and refunded Liang two days' rental, which amounted to S$62, from his own pocket.

Stall in operation for over 10 years​

According to Shin Min, Liang was the owner of Shang De Vegetarian, a food stall that had been in operations for over 10 years.

Liang told the Chinese daily that he initially operated his stall along Circuit Road before moving to its latest location at 566 Serangoon Road coffeeshop.

Before running the stall, Liang joined his older brother in Denmark and worked in the food and beverage industry for over ten years before returning to Singapore.

Liang's account of what happened on Feb. 28​

Liang shared with Shin Min that he decided to close his stall after learning that the new operator will be renovating the coffeeshop and that his new monthly rental might triple.

"I am just running a small business, and I only earn enough to get by. I can't afford such rent. I may bid for a stall at a government-owned hawker centre to continue running my business," he added.

As the coffeeshop would be handed over to the new operator on Feb. 28, Liang said the exiting operator asked him to empty his stall by then.

However, as he and his wife are both in their 70s, they "fell slightly behind schedule" in cleaning up their stall on Friday.

He was taken aback when the exiting operator allegedly "rushed him" while he was moving his belongings in the morning.

"I already informed him that I would be moving everything away by 6pm. [At that time,] there was only one refrigerator left waiting to be taken away. I don't understand why he was so aggressive," said Liang.

Response from exiting operator​

In response to Liang's allegations, the exiting operator told Shin Min that the coffeeshop had informed all stallholders that they would need to empty their stalls before Mar. 1 so that the venue can be handed over to the new operator for renovation.

When he noticed that Liang had yet to empty the vegetarian stall on Feb. 28, he became worried that he might not be able to hand over on time and decided to "approached Liang to find out more".

"However, he told me, 'It's none of your business' and said he would liaise directly with the coffee shop owner. These comments made me feel disrespected.

Although I am only the operator of the coffeeshop, the stall owners pay their rentals to me, and they also signed their lease with me," added the exiting operator.

He also admitted that he had spoken "inappropriately" on Friday, adding that he was caught up in the heat of the moment.

As for why he did not refund Liang two days' rental, the exiting operator said that all stalls were closed on Feb. 26, but the coffeeshop owner did not return the rental to him.

"How can I give back the rental to the stallholders?" he asked.

Diners patronised Liang's stall on its last day​

According to Shin Min, many old customers patronised Liang's stall for one last time on Feb. 26.

One of these diners was Workers' Party chief and Leader of Opposition Pritam Singh, who also posted a photo of himself with Liang and Liang's wife on Instagram.

Liang said he was touched by the support from his customers.

He added that even though he and his wife are in their silver years, they enjoy good health and are "young at heart".

Hence, they do not plan on retiring and will reopen their stall for business after a bit of rest.

Top images via Shin Min Daily News & Google Maps
Why No One dares to Name and Shame the Greedy Land Lord ?

Sg is such a ‘rich’ country till u have 76 year old folks still working full time jobs to survive ! And they don’t even have the means to do these jobs because they get priced out of rental markets!

Don't understand why these cina veteranians always use the world 'healthy' to describe their food ..when all they use is high salt, high sugar, seed oils, high carbs, ultra processed gunk ..if it's real veteranians food..... they will have no business and as these ppl die early or abandoned such lifestyle..and worst still use religion as an excuse

Real vegetarian food sibei expensive leh. U think those gen z yuppies with money will go hawker to eat? They prefer Organic! Non-gmo! No gluten! No shit!

One thing I’ve always found amusing was the practice of making ‘mock meat’

Wanna eat meat eat meat la

Look at this shit! Oxymoron - vegetarian and mutton!

1740989076329.jpeg