• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

savings

gz0707

The contracts are now even longer. It has become a must have for developers or partners to swallow wholesale terms. Because if they don't, the small developers just do not have enough resources to engage legal expertise to negotiate terms with the big boys. so its my way or the high way.

The trick to making money is to get in early and get out when it starts getting complicated.

bryanlim1972

Many Singaporeans like yourself have this defeatist mindset that they're going to lose so what's the point of trying. It's killing the whole country.

this defeatist mindset arose after 10-12 years of education in the singapore system. the system grinds you down and destroys you, unless you're in the top 10% of your cohort.

i would suggest the defeatist mindset stems from poor(er) academic performance during their years in school, and this has severely affected their self-esteem leading to a defeatist mindset.

of course, there are always a few outliers who did well in life despite their failures in school, but these are just the special few who make it. by and large, the rest wallow in their defeatist attitudes.

if i am right, it means our education system is killing the whole country.

this defeatist mindset arose after 10-12 years of education in the singapore system. the system grinds you down and destroys you, unless you're in the top 10% of your cohort.

I went through the Singapore education system.

I was never anywhere near the top 10%.

There is such a thing as free will. No system can FORCE you to adopt a particular mindset.

Life is what you make of it.

bryanlim1972

I went through the Singapore education system.

I was never anywhere near the top 10%.

There is such a thing as free will. No system can FORCE you to adopt a particular mindset.

Life is what you make of it.

you are an outlier. not the norm. there is no way in hell you are representative of the average singaporean.

sure, no system can force u to do anything, but it can sure as hell compel you to fall into line.

Boliao

Robert is talking cock...when a person writes a cheque of US $1 mil, he needs to have 1mil cash ready in his bank account to be deducted. If the 1mil is other asstes, how is the cheque not to be bounced.
SinkiePeasant just wondering did you pay any semiars fees when you attended his cock talk, if yes then his 1 million is from your pocket LOL

Er.. you never heard of overdraft facilities?

gz0707

i would suggest the defeatist mindset stems from poor(er) academic performance during their years in school, and this has severely affected their self-esteem leading to a defeatist mindset.

of course, there are always a few outliers who did well in life despite their failures in school, but these are just the special few who make it. by and large, the rest wallow in their defeatist attitudes.

if i am right, it means our education system is killing the whole country.

this is the reason Wozniak said Singapore could never create an Apple. He could not see creativity thrive outside of the unforgiving education system. Still agree with Sam, there is a free choice to do what you want. However, it has become worse with increasing living costs and the 30 year old loan for the roof over you head. all these points to a system designed to lock you in as a wage slave.

sure, no system can force u to do anything, but it can sure as hell compel you to fall into line.

Let me say in all honesty that I am of the opinion that Singaporeans tend to complicate simple processes by over analysing issues to the point of paralysis.

I don't know whether this is the result of the education system or some sort of deep seated risk aversion which afflicts many for reasons best know to themselves.

salmon

Let me say in all honesty that I am of the opinion that Singaporeans tend to complicate simple processes by over analysing issues to the point of paralysis.

I don't know whether this is the result of the education system or some sort of deep seated risk aversion which afflicts many for reasons best know to themselves.

i must say this is very true in my case at least.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
sinkies lost creativity, got no sense of adventure and have little pioneering spirit in them due to years and years of being spoonfed and forcedfed.

It goes deeper than paralysis by analysis.

bros and sis,

Two questions,

1) how much do you guys save each month?
2) What do you think should a person at 43 years old have in cash savings.

i'm don't drive,don't splure and living a simple life.. saving around 6k + each month..
At 43, besides having properties, ( still servicing) savings only around 50k.. Too low right??? What much should a 43years have? Any 40s years old here to share?

Knn.. i'm living simple life now coz i'm scared that retirement liao no money...sianz... so many people living high live while i super frugal
Bro you are in safe zone. Confirm envy of many. Around the same age as you but opt for early retirement cos' bored of working. Living off from passive income from some small investments and rental income.

No need to be super frugal. Indulge yourself once in awhile but don't over do it. :biggrin:

Bro you are in safe zone. Confirm envy of many.

Based on how he describes his scenario, he has negative equity. It can hardly be considered to be a "safe zone".

"Safe" = debt free and half a million sitting in the bank.

soIsee

It's more the latter, the deep seated risk aversion which over time had shrunk their balls, that Sinkie are now BALLESS!

Hope that clears your doubt. Anyway, your analysis is good. You got to 2 of the distinct possibilities as answers and bingo, one really STANDS OUT! LOL

Based on how he describes his scenario, he has negative equity. It can hardly be considered to be a "safe zone".

"Safe" = debt free and half a million sitting in the bank.
Hehehe. My definition of "safe zone" is definitely much easier to achieve than yours. :smile:

Hope that clears your doubt. Anyway, your analysis is good. You got to 2 of the distinct possibilities as answers and bingo, one really STANDS OUT! LOL

When I was planning to emigrate, a number of my close associates expressed similar intentions. All of them are still in Singapore to this day and all of them are regretting their inaction when the opportunity to emigrate presented itself many years ago.

One of them went as far as to do to a kepner tregoe analysis regarding the emigration process. :eek: At the end of the day, his charts led him to believe that it was not the right time to leave so he stayed put.

I did zero analysis. I decided I wanted to leave so I took the necessary steps to make it happen. It was a very simple process. Forms took about 2 hours to fill. Getting supporting paperwork in place took a week in total.

When I was planning to emigrate, a number of my close associates expressed similar intentions. All of them are still in Singapore to this day and all of them are regretting their inaction when the opportunity to emigrate presented itself many years ago ...
u, oni 1 fella, ofcos e-z la ... ppl got 1 whole bunch 2 consider woh! ...

Television

Sine there is no real identity behind this Nick, Let me truthfully say.

I just started my own biz about 1 year ago and I'm already thinking of buying a boat..

Im in my late 20s and this is the first time in my life that i have money to spend, It just feels like something is overpowering me to spend but Truthfully i think its me deep down inside wanting to show off to everyone around me, That I the black sheep among the black sheeps has money now. Just 1 year ago, I had never had more then 3k sitting in my account, Now I have a car, an expensive watch, a 600 dollar sun-glass and Im already thinking of getting a boat. I know its wrong but i just cant help it. Anyways Im still single and got no other commitments in life.

Television

I channel my money 3 ways.. One towards my biz, the other towards my life savings account and the other to my Posb savings account aka Splurging account.