• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

RSN to "fight" Somali pirates. Proud?

Cthulhu

Our SAF is really humji. Their advertisements are so power packed but when it really matters, they send out support units only. Why can't our frigates go? Blow those pirates out of the water personally.

Singapore to join anti-piracy efforts in Gulf of Aden
By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 12 February 2009 1322 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore will be joining the international community with its anti-piracy efforts in the Gulf of Aden.

Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean told Parliament on Thursday that Singapore will be deploying a Landing Ship Tank, with two Super Puma helicopters for a period of three months this year.

The ship will work with the newly-formed multi-national Combined Task Force 151 to protect shipping in the Gulf of Aden.

The LST will be deployed once the operational arrangements have been made.

Minister Teo explained that Singapore's involvement is because as a maritime nation, the country shares the concerns of the international community regarding piracy.

It is also committed to supporting international efforts to keep the sea lanes safe and secure.

He stressed that it is not possible for any country, including Singapore, to protect its own shipping in all the key sea lanes of the world.

Hence all countries have to depend on international cooperation to secure the sea lanes for everyone's use and that means littoral states, user states, and the international community have a role to play.

Minister Teo said there was an upsurge of piracy attacks recently in the Gulf of Aden.

In the past year, over 100 ships have been attacked by pirates, who have raked in an estimated ransom of US$120 million.

And in recent months, NATO, the European Union, the US, as well as countries such as China, India, Malaysia and Russia, have contributed to anti-piracy efforts in the Gulf of Aden.

Other countries, including Japan and Turkey, have announced their intention to send naval vessels.

Our SAF is really humji. Their advertisements are so power packed but when it really matters, they send out support units only. Why can't our frigates go? Blow those pirates out of the water personally.

Oh Lord!

Let's pray their support ship don't get hijacked by the somali pirates.

It will be the next greatest embarrasment to Singaporeans, which we are getting alot in the world recently.

the figrates no...its low-detectable, cannot reveal to other forces especially Matland is there. Also, there are reports that the frigates are not made for cross-ocean sailing - no where to get logistics support - refueling etc.

its a joke, everywhere they parade the LST - their biggest ship, it seems to me that it is the only vessel capable of making that long -distance trip. And why so slow to react? Matland was so many months ahead of us and their ship is already credited for foiling 2 attacks.

and the last thing, this is the first time super puma is operating frm a ship. My understanding is that our pumas are land based, so they probably need to modify them to operate from LST. Hopefully they don't slip and roll into the sea.

31dec04_lst03_sml.jpg

No carrier LST also good?

LST = Ah Beng's Aircraft Carrier :D:eek:

this is good news. they are finally sending NS slave for real combat training.

Next they should send army to Somali, Iraq and afghanistan etc.

They will go as boys and come back as combat veterans.
this is good news.

this is good news. they are finally sending NS slave for real combat training.

Next they should send army to Somali, Iraq and afghanistan etc.

They will go as boys and come back as combat veterans.
this is good news.

yeah! you ain't a soldier until you have undergone the baptism of fire!

incoming fire! LOL..

shiok feels like signing on the army and shoot off a few rounds...LOL...

go there shame our flag only, before live firing at the priates must dry run first. Dont be suprise that our LST got hijacked !Anyway i had travel to Acher in the LST before, only got 2x .5 mm HMG and a 76mm main gun, think 4 priate ships can take care of it liao

easy, who is the one in charge of our rsn? its paper schoolar, people who think of themselves more than others when their duty is to serve the nation and their honor is to die on the battle field. their duty true duty of rsn is to leech from the nation and chao geng when its time for them to fight.

>>Their advertisements are so power packed but when it really matters, they send out support units only.<<

Don't under etimate the LST, 5,000 Ton of floating steel with many water tight compartments, can do beach landing in Somali. Beside 76mm cannon & 2 x .5 mg. a number of armed remote fast craft, spike missile, water cannon etc at its disposal. Power pack.

Oh Lord!

Let's pray their support ship don't get hijacked by the somali pirates.

It will be the next greatest embarrasment to Singaporeans, which we are getting alot in the world recently.

This is funny... This will surely be a sight to behold... If it really happen, I wonder how all the papers around the world going to write.

Don't under etimate the LST, 5,000 Ton of floating steel with many water tight compartments, can do beach landing in Somali. Beside 76mm cannon & 2 x .5 mg. a number of armed remote fast craft, spike missile, water cannon etc at its disposal. Power pack.

got radar sensitive enough to detect small dingy packed with TNTs?

This is funny... This will surely be a sight to behold... If it really happen, I wonder how all the papers around the world going to write.

Next time people asked where is Singapore, my reply will be in China..LOL..

653389.jpg

"Knn.. how many times must i tell u all that we have no real war experience? Just serve your ns and fcuk off. Don't act hero.
No casualties means no compensation and i get to keep my million dollar job. Senang for me senang for servicemen"

"Knn.. how many times must i tell u all that we have no real war experience? Just serve your ns and fcuk off. Don't act hero.
No casualties means no compensation and i get to keep my million dollar job. Senang for me senang for servicemen"

[/CENTER]

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/tnLK-Af9WjM&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/tnLK-Af9WjM&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Dear Tima

The LSTs have been errrr up sized for the mission in Somalia, based on what was taken to the gulf missions, you might want to add more 12.7mm MGs, more 7.62mm MGs, SOF teams, Fast Boats, Predator Unmanned Surface Vehicles, and twin Typhoon weapon station mounts which have been mounted before with at least 25mm cannons. Helicopters have been added as well which I believe was the reason the frigates were not sent as their seahawks are not ready yet. Only downside abt the LST the low 18 knot speeds versus the 28 30 knots for fast frigates

Locke

go there shame our flag only, before live firing at the priates must dry run first. Dont be suprise that our LST got hijacked !Anyway i had travel to Acher in the LST before, only got 2x .5 mm HMG and a 76mm main gun, think 4 priate ships can take care of it liao

huh??? 76mm main gun cannot defend against a few sampans with a few armed men on board. By the way, it not .5mm hmg, it the CIS .5 HMG, which fired the same size of ammo as the Browning 50cal MG. Just one round can blow a man to pieces. 50cal is also the same as 12.7mm.

Wait, the forces of Somalia also use CIS made SAR80 and Ultimax 100. So this a resupply mission or anti piracy mission???

huh??? 76mm main gun cannot defend against a few sampans with a few armed men on board. By the way, it not .5mm hmg, it the CIS .5 HMG, which fired the same size of ammo as the Browning 50cal MG. Just one round can blow a man to pieces. 50cal is also the same as 12.7mm.

Wait, the forces of Somalia also use CIS made SAR80 and Ultimax 100. So this a resupply mission or anti piracy mission???

Dont forget that the pirates are using RPG also, a few RPG rounds can take care of the ship liao lor. Do you guys think SAF would send the Leapords there? maybe can park at the Deck and use their main gun. lol

Dear Tima
The LSTs have been errrr up sized for the mission in Somalia, based on what was taken to the gulf missions, you might want to add more 12.7mm MGs, more 7.62mm MGs, SOF teams, Fast Boats, Predator Unmanned Surface Vehicles, and twin Typhoon weapon station mounts which have been mounted before with at least 25mm cannons. Helicopters have been added as well which I believe was the reason the frigates were not sent as their seahawks are not ready yet. Only downside abt the LST the low 18 knot speeds versus the 28 30 knots for fast frigates
Locke

why don't they put one apache helo on the LST?

sure scares the living hell out of the somalians.