• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

RSN to "fight" Somali pirates. Proud?

Dont forget that the pirates are using RPG also, a few RPG rounds can take care of the ship liao lor. Do you guys think SAF would send the Leapords there? maybe can park at the Deck and use their main gun. lol

pls lor, RPG-7 had limited range and damn heavy. Not something u want to lug around on board a dingy in open sea. why park a Leo when there already a 76mm main gun. lol...

anyway, RSN is there to "support" only. maybe a front to run resupply mission to the Somali warlords.:rolleyes:

pls lor, RPG-7 had limited range and damn heavy. Not something u want to lug around on board a dingy in open sea. why park a Leo when there already a 76mm main gun. lol...

anyway, RSN is there to "support" only. maybe a front to run resupply mission to the Somali warlords.:rolleyes:

the gun placement is very important, because will they be able to use it?

can it rotate 360 degrees to fire in any directions?

Since I am retrenched, no job, no salary..

CAN I VOLUNTEE TO JOIN THE OPERATION ??

OF COURSE MUST PAY ME !!

JOB THAT I CAN DO WELL : SHOT ! RUN ! EAT ! SLEEP ! SHiT ! CLEANING ! OBC !

I AM WAITING FOR REPLY.

Leopard using 120mm main gun lor...more power! Maybe send our AMX13 over, can give it to the warlords for recycle after the mission is done

Since I am retrenched, no job, no salary..

CAN I VOLUNTEE TO JOIN THE OPERATION ??

OF COURSE MUST PAY ME !!

JOB THAT I CAN DO WELL : SHOT ! RUN ! EAT ! SLEEP ! SHiT ! CLEANING ! OBC !

I AM WAITING FOR REPLY.

faster apply, you will get it!

the regulars got no balls to do it. so there's always vacancies.

do you know this kind of ops usually got overseas allowances...

some more can go weapons hot! shiok man!

i feel like signing up too! hehe..

i really missed my NS days....it brought back fun memories after watching this...sigh!

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/f-bralMVT_U&hl=de&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/f-bralMVT_U&hl=de&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

hehe.. exactly where you should be putting up :)

okay here's the advantages of china. personally.

1. big land, lot's of sight seeing you can do.
2. wah plenty of makan, cheap and good.
3. plenty of places to stay. cheap and good.
4. restaurant services no horse run.
5. more happening, lotsa of buzz.
6. shopping also got alot. everything mega mega mega.
7. just you thought spore got the best, they really got it x many times!! your balls will drop when you see the scale.
8. super nice weather - 4 seasons.
9. oh yeah, most important thing! can worship in church too!! shiok man!

everything cheap and good lah. affordable retirement.

disadvantages, read my earlier posts lah! LOL...

WTF our own back door already got pirates also cannot handle now want to go so far and poke into other peoples problem.

Its fine if they want to send ships and troops there- but looking at the stuff they are sending, we would be looking like raspberries.

I mean, if the Sheath frigates are so well acclaimed, why not use them in Somalia? Instead what we have is a glorified transport ship which needs more machine guns to be installed, needs two or three real sea-based attack choppers and with more men to storm other ships.

Even China sent a cruiser or destroyer to the Gulf of Aden, making their flotilla looking more like a real navy deployment.

Its fine if they want to send ships and troops there- but looking at the stuff they are sending, we would be looking like raspberries...

Halo halo.... we are sending in our best vessel....... in fact the only vessel in our flotilla that has seen real combat and survived hor (she saw action during the Vietnam war ;))..... how can we send our other newbie untested vessels ? The scholar generals have not finish playing masak masak with them yet :D

this is good news. they are finally sending NS slave for real combat training.

Next they should send army to Somali, Iraq and afghanistan etc.

They will go as boys and come back as combat veterans.
this is good news.

Sorry to disappoint you there........ no NS boy is being sent there........ Everyone of those going on this trip are volunteers drawn from the regulars except for the monkeys from the SOF :D and the aircrew :(

Yes Singapore's support is in principle a good thing because we have a lot of sea-borne business

Sorry to disappoint you there........ no NS boy is being sent there........ Everyone of those going on this trip are volunteers drawn from the regulars except for the monkeys from the SOF :D and the aircrew :(

u mean those ppl from PDF?

I thought Japan would send a frigate of ninjas and samurai to deal with those pesky pirates?

Whatever the hell happened to the bushido spirit?

Our SAF is really humji. Their advertisements are so power packed but when it really matters, they send out support units only. Why can't our frigates go? Blow those pirates out of the water personally.

Singapore to join anti-piracy efforts in Gulf of Aden
By S Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 12 February 2009 1322 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore will be joining the international community with its anti-piracy efforts in the Gulf of Aden.

Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean told Parliament on Thursday that Singapore will be deploying a Landing Ship Tank, with two Super Puma helicopters for a period of three months this year.

The ship will work with the newly-formed multi-national Combined Task Force 151 to protect shipping in the Gulf of Aden.

The LST will be deployed once the operational arrangements have been made.

Minister Teo explained that Singapore's involvement is because as a maritime nation, the country shares the concerns of the international community regarding piracy.

It is also committed to supporting international efforts to keep the sea lanes safe and secure.

He stressed that it is not possible for any country, including Singapore, to protect its own shipping in all the key sea lanes of the world.

Hence all countries have to depend on international cooperation to secure the sea lanes for everyone's use and that means littoral states, user states, and the international community have a role to play.

Minister Teo said there was an upsurge of piracy attacks recently in the Gulf of Aden.

In the past year, over 100 ships have been attacked by pirates, who have raked in an estimated ransom of US$120 million.

And in recent months, NATO, the European Union, the US, as well as countries such as China, India, Malaysia and Russia, have contributed to anti-piracy efforts in the Gulf of Aden.

Other countries, including Japan and Turkey, have announced their intention to send naval vessels.

easy, who is the one in charge of our rsn? its paper schoolar, people who think of themselves more than others when their duty is to serve the nation and their honor is to die on the battle field. their duty true duty of rsn is to leech from the nation and chao geng when its time for them to fight.

Let us hear it for the, admiral in the rear..I mean Rear-Admiral, who does no pormography; take a few months off and command the support ship. Most likely the ship will be in the most safest zone of the delpoyment; far away from any danger; and the only 'pirates' they will see, will be the sea brids or Captain Jack Sparrow...ha ha ha ha:D

Our SAF is really humji. Their advertisements are so power packed but when it really matters, they send out support units only. Why can't our frigates go? Blow those pirates out of the water personally.

Har??? You dunno that cowardic is one of the most high profile traits in the PAP and among those sinkies? I think you are an FT or you dun stay in sinkieland.