• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rolex submariner 116610

Used to have 4 x daytonas one with Zenith movement, in TT. Had others but mainly also in TT and SS.
3 x GMT 2 and 2 x Submariners, 1 x Explorer 1 and 1 x Yachtmaster.

Invested in them and in the end, sold them all except one, didn't lost much money if at all, made from Daytonas
and in the end covered and didn't lose much money.

Buy only sports models as datejust,etc are good to bring to dinners, etc but are more for "old"men.

Agree though, they attract the wrong crowd as sometimes they are abit too guady and its also dependant on your background. If people know you have lots of money, even if you wear a fake, people think its real. If you dress simply or never flaunt your wealth, even if you wear a 35k watch, people will think its fake. Those in the know though, 5-10 seconds is all it takes and then you get a "very nice Daytona"

Used to have 4 x daytonas one with Zenith movement, in TT. Had others but mainly also in TT and SS.

Is there any reason why you've not bought other brands ? Your mannerism is exemplary in this forum. I'm sure something along the line of Bvlgari-Bvlgari or Lange & Sohne will be befitting.

Seiko and Citizen also very recognizable. The issue is recognizable by which group of people ?

This one cannot argue. It's a question of demand and supply.

But I'm wondering why few people choose a watch as an extension of their personality. A Jaeger Le Coultre exudes a gentlemanly appeal which will look a total mismatch on the wrist of a chicken-rice seller.

I agree with you, a Rolex on a chicken-rice seller is weird. Why even wear it when you are selling chicken-rice? Fortunately I'm not a chicken-rice seller. I wear a fedora, vest, tie, long coat to work. I drive a mini cooper-S, I think a Rolex would suit me. I'm not getting the 18K white/gold version, just the simple SS which I will wear daily to work, nothing fancy there. I've considered other brands, Jarger Le Coutre, Omega, Patek Phillipe, Seamaster, Tudors. At the end of the day, I think a Rolex is still more recogniseable then them. I want a watch I can wear daily and is more or less discreet. Long coat plus french cuffs helps to hide it if I want to. Non-white/gold/platinum helps as well. I'm not saying Seikos or Citizens are bad and won't last as long, the question is, if you just want to buy one watch and use for at least 10 years daily, which one would you buy? Again, I'll state that I'm not a collector just someone that has reached a point in life where I have a new beginning and want something that could last and remind me of that.

Indeed, Daytonas are very sort after even in the 2nd hand market. They cost a bomb as well. Apparently in Japan, Daytonas are worn by the Yakuzas, if you see someone in Japan in a black suits, sunglasses, and wears a Daytona, stay out of their way!

Invested in them and in the end, sold them all except one, didn't lost much money if at all, made from Daytonas
and in the end covered and didn't lose much money.

Buy only sports models as datejust,etc are good to bring to dinners, etc but are more for "old"men.

Agree though, they attract the wrong crowd as sometimes they are abit too guady and its also dependant on your background. If people know you have lots of money, even if you wear a fake, people think its real. If you dress simply or never flaunt your wealth, even if you wear a 35k watch, people will think its fake. Those in the know though, 5-10 seconds is all it takes and then you get a "very nice Daytona"

Is there any reason why you've not bought other brands ? Your mannerism is exemplary in this forum. I'm sure something along the line of Bvlgari-Bvlgari or Lange & Sohne will be befitting.

I have other watches actually. Its mainly because of the very good resale value and i viewed them as investment, turns out i was right particularly for Daytonas. I never wore them much anyway and the one time i wore one, i had a fall at a car park and scratched it badly. Managed to repair the scratches though.

it's too sweaty in sg to wear a watch. bacteria accumulates and very soon, the joints turn green and emit a foul odor.

I agree with you, a Rolex on a chicken-rice seller is weird. Why even wear it when you are selling chicken-rice? .

Actually it's not that weird. In fact all bengs & lians luv this brand. Why? Becos it's recognisable within their circles. Can u imagine a beng wearing a patek, Lange & Söhne , chopard or what have you? None of their frens would recognise it - bottomline, money wasted.

Hence the appeal of a Rolex, imagine if you have to explain to someone that is not a horologist about the history of Patek, who wears them etc etc. That makes it uncool to wear them. Same reason why Jeremy Clarkson said about certain cars why they are not on the cool wall.

Very true, a lot of folks in the upper circles, supposedly well heeled and travelled the world don't even know what a Patek or Panerai is!!

After my black-rubber casing, digital chronograph Casio watch died of old age (after few battery and belt changes), I didn't wear a watch since. Too painful memory since it accompanied me for round-the-world-trips, joggings (IPPTs) and swimming, never gone below 5 feet underwater, even though it was rated 50 metres.

RIP, my trustworthy and reliable $20 casio watch.

As I have mentioned, it depends on which group of 'audience' you're referring to. Your local soccer bookies loitering in Whampoa Hawker Centre off Balestier Road will agree that it's indeed 'cool' to be spot wearing a Rolex. It's probably the only upmarket brand they know, and because people of such background (due to their education) you can even say that they wear a Rolex to send a message to their peers - "I can afford". So to this group of Rolex enthusiasts, it's all about affordability. They just don't care about the movement and mechanism within. The 'art' of a mechanical timepiece is lost, so much so that there is absolutely NO connection between the person who wears the Rolex and the artisan who made the Rolex. It's sad, isn't it ? It's like a Stradivari violin in the hands of a someone who can't even play the violin, let alone play it well. So instead of 'inheriting' the goodwill associated with Stradivari violins, they diminish the goodwill of the Stradivari brand.

On the contrary, I think it's cool if what I wear is noticeable to a horologist but not a Ah Beng.

Hmm, I'm not a horologist, but what is wrong with the Rolex movement? Para-chrome spring not good enough ?

As I have mentioned, it depends on which group of 'audience' you're referring to. Your local soccer bookies loitering in Whampoa Hawker Centre off Balestier Road will agree that it's indeed 'cool' to be spot wearing a Rolex. It's probably the only upmarket brand they know, and because people of such background (due to their education) you can even say that they wear a Rolex to send a message to their peers - "I can afford". So to this group of Rolex enthusiasts, it's all about affordability. They just don't care about the movement and mechanism within. The 'art' of a mechanical timepiece is lost, so much so that there is absolutely NO connection between the person who wears the Rolex and the artisan who made the Rolex. It's sad, isn't it ? It's like a Stradivari violin in the hands of a someone who can't even play the violin, let alone play it well. So instead of 'inheriting' the goodwill associated with Stradivari violins, they diminish the goodwill of the Stradivari brand.

On the contrary, I think it's cool if what I wear is noticeable to a horologist but not a Ah Beng.

I concur with you. I can tell from your post above that you are from an elite background.

Rolex is designed for the Asian mass market because most peasants will recognize them due to their large size and ostentatious design. In order words, Rolex is for peasants and slaves who are seeking attention from their fellow peasants who can't even recognize a Patek timepiece. Hawkers, taxi uncles, Ah Lians, Ah Bengs, and office workers wearing Rolex are classical examples that it's for the masses. I am not saying that there's anything wrong with people wearing Rolex. Which brand of watch they wear is their choice because it's their own money they are spending, not mine.

Most truly wealthy people would prefer a Patek over a Rolex. They are too busy with more important issues than to waste their time impressing lesser mortal peasants and slaves. It's really cool for their private bankers, investment bankers, fellow elites within their circles, and horologists to recognize their Patek timepieces!

It may cost more then a Seiko, but it retains its value better then it. I'm getting a Rolex because I want to keep it for the future. As for able to afford one, I'm in a much better position now then before to own one.

its a bit of a misnomer when "they" say a rolex retains it value. i'm sure the ultra super limited edition ones will actually gain in value, but the regular 10-20k ones, hardly...

just go to any second hand rolex dealer. they'll probably offer u 40-60% off retail if u try to sell. when u buy, its probably a 30-40% discount off retail.

buy a seiko, and put the rest in SGS bonds.

haha, this thread has degenerated into a wank fest for pretenders who cannot spell...

Hmm, I'm not a horologist, but what is wrong with the Rolex movement? Para-chrome spring not good enough ?

Did I say something was wrong with Rolex movement ?

I'm saying many would not look beyond the 5 match sticks when all they sought was recognition.

I'm not saying you should or you should not wear a Rolex. I mean...who am I, right ? Don't get me wrong. I'm just puzzled that Rolex seems to have the ability to unite people from different social classes. With this, those from the lower social classes tend to benefit from the patronage of those from the higher classes.

Actually, Rolex began in London as a jewellery-watchmaker firm, but they outsourced the makings of precision movement mechanisms to a workshop in Switzerland. The firm in London made the encasement and bracelet.

It won many international awards and firsts for the precision mechanisms, and the London firm decided to move wholesale to Switzerland and merged the whole operation into a single Rolex watch company.

Rolex brandname was probably popularised globally during the British colonial era as the preferred watch for British administrative and military officers, particularly catching the imagination of oversea Chinese.

However, I don't think that it's true that Rolex nowadays are popular with Chinese or Asian upcoming economies only. It's still very popular, desirable and instantly recognisable in the western countries.

The trouble with the impression that Chinese wearers of Rolex make is a mismatch of dress sense and occasion. Nobody will doubt that a chicken rice stallholder can make thousands enough to afford his Rolex. But wearing such a respectable brand in tee and bermudas chopping chicken?

Me very sad just pawned my boy size yatch master thanks to my recent loss at the world cup..now my only watch are human with watches excuse me uncle/aunty/miss...wats the time now..or kwee tiam liao..thanks kam sia;)

I buy over your pawn shop ticket be quick before it expire!!!
Pm me quick quick!!