• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Robert Kuok's Book - Akan Datang

Much sought after. I expect Merle to provide some insights as well in view of his strong track record.

51Xr1It8C9L._AC_US218_.jpg

From what I’ve read and heard about the man. He is one of the most upright businessman.
And he doesn’t fuck around or have decadent lifestyle despite his wealth.

Got a lot of respect for his mother. The family has been in centre of many things on both sides of causeway. She lost 2 sons to communism, both died in the jungles of Malaysia. They crossed over when they were young and the mother actually paid for CPM's printing press at the request of the youngest son. Both mother and son rebuilt father's lost fortune from scratch. I heard that Robert even in his adult days scared of his mum more than anyone else.

Robert has acted as mediator and chief negotiator in times of trouble between both governments.

From what I’ve read and heard about the man. He is one of the most upright businessman.
And he doesn’t fuck around or have decadent lifestyle despite his wealth.

Got a lot of respect for his mother. The family has been in centre of many things on both sides of causeway. She lost 2 sons to communism, both died in the jungles of Malaysia. They crossed over when they were young and the mother actually paid for CPM's printing press at the request of the youngest son. Both mother and son rebuilt father's lost fortune from scratch. I heard that Robert even in his adult days scared of his mum more than anyone else.

Robert has acted as mediator and chief negotiator in times of trouble between both governments.

Bro, Robert loves to quote his mother's favourite teaching: "Poon-Ser" (Hokkien). She believed that to succeed one must have "poon" (capital) and "ser" (capability).

Most sadly his first wife, Joy couldn't 'see-broken' Robert falling in love with his 2nd wife (former SQ stewardess) and poor woman ended up taking her life in Hawaii.

Matriarch grandma was the one who disapproved of Bob's son from marrying Teresa Teng.

Years ago, Robert gave a speech about his mother and her "philosophy" and how they built their fortune because of her. It was very humbling.

Bro, Robert loves to quote his mother's favourite teaching: "Poon-Ser" (Hokkien). She believed that to succeed one must have "poon" (capital) and "ser" (capability).

Most sadly his first wife, Joy couldn't 'see-broken' Robert falling in love with his 2nd wife, and she ended up taking her life in Hawaii.

Grandma was the one who disapproved of Bob's son from marrying Teresa Teng.

This would indicate why SIA and Shangri-La share some common DNA when it comes to service. Robert became an SIA Director and the long running question on who played the service ground. The answer lies with 3 people - Kok, Pillay and Batey.

Kuok: M’sia-S’pore Airlines split like separating Siamese twins

FMT Reporters
| November 25, 2017

Billionaire Robert Kuok, who was MSA chairman for 2 years, shares how dominant S'pore board members were just too good for their Malaysian counterparts to handle.

robert-kuok-msa-1.jpg

PETALING JAYA: Malaysian tycoon Robert Kuok, in his new autobiography, reveals that the move to dismantle and separate Malaysia-Singapore Airlines (MSA) was like performing surgery on Siamese twins, as it took them a long time to carry out the operation.

The South China Morning Post has published excerpts from his book, “Robert Kuok, A Memoir”, which hit the shelves in Hong Kong and Singapore today. The Malaysian release is set for Dec 1.

“Serving as chairman of MSA was a thankless task and I was working like a slave, virtually day and night,” Kuok said of the role he took up reluctantly in 1969 at the prompting of the Singapore government who preferred him over the candidate proposed by the Malaysian government.

“The Malaysian government had proposed MCA’s Dr Lim Swee Aun, the former minister of commerce and industry, who had failed to get re-elected in the elections of May 1969.

“But Singapore said they ‘did not like him’,” writes the 94-year-old billionaire in his book.

Kuok says he decided to quit his role as chairman of MSA almost two years later as he could see that the assurance given to him that the airline would be maintained as one to “preserve ties” between the two counties, was not going to be fulfilled.

“I had been under the impression that the link between the two countries would be preserved. Now that the decision to split was imminent, I decided to resign,” he said.

Kuok, who said he was already involved in the sugar business at the time, said he knew the split would be even more difficult having already faced much resistance from the two countries’ representatives on the MSA board since he became chairman.

“The board of 15 directors comprised one chairman, four directors nominated by the Malaysian government, another four by the Singapore government, one director from Straits Steamship (then a British shipping company controlled by Blue Funnel Group), two directors each from British Airways and Qantas Airways and the managing director, who was on loan from British Airways,” Kuok said.

“There were six white men, eight Malaysians and Singaporeans, and myself, a Malaysian. You couldn’t have had worse bickering than between the Singapore and Malaysian government-nominated directors.

“If one side raised a point and asked for a resolution to be passed, the other side would object. Each side tried to peel off the skin to see what hidden agenda existed under that resolution,” he said of the airline which was established in 1966, one year after Singapore left the federation of Malaysia.

Looking into the future

Kuok also praised the Singapore members of the board and management, whom he said were efficient and also understood the economics of the airline industry.

“They began to realise that the Malaysian domestic routes were profit-making, but looking into the future, they could not see such air travel as big-scale business,” he said.

He said with Singapore’s international airport, the government there could see the growing international traffic was the jewel in the crown of the airline industry in the region.

“So, the Singapore government felt it would be useful to break Malaysia-Singapore Airlines into two and let each country go its own way,” Kuok said, adding that board meetings had already been acrimonious as it was.

“I was acting as referee, but I was seeing the poor Malaysian directors slaughtered at every meeting because the Singapore directors had minds as sharp as razors.”

Kuok had particular praise for Singapore board member Joe YM Pillay, whom he said had “tremendous intellect that had no superior in the Singapore/Malaysia region”.

Kuok, who is Malaysia’s richest man according to Forbes, said following his resignation, the two governments agreed to having two co-chairmen, one from each country.

“They could not have asked for a more classic mongoose and cobra arrangement.

“The Malaysian government chose Ismail Ali, then Bank Negara governor, while the Singapore side picked Pillay,” he said.

Kuok said what the two co-chairmen presided over eventually, was like a funeral, as MSA reached the end of the road with the split into two separate airlines – Malaysian Airlines System (MAS) and Singapore Airlines (SIA).

This chap has been working for and still with the Japs since WW2.
He has the same frequency with old fart and for sure you won't like his bad temper.

image: https://i.malaysiakini.com/1186/c81876a7d50973efa692687b90a5b094.jpeg

c81876a7d50973efa692687b90a5b094.jpeg

Robert Kuok: 'Crooks' among Chinese have devastated Southeast Asia
Published: Today 1:39 pm Modified: Today 2:53 pm

Malaysian tycoon Robert Kuok believes that though Chinese immigrants have generally helped develop Southeast Asia, there have been "unscrupulous" ones among them who have ravaged parts of the region.

The Hong Kong-based entrepreneur in his memoirs said that this was made possible due to weak leadership and lack of strong watchdog institutions.

"The decent Chinese have helped to build up Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand and the Philippines, and made these countries what they are today.

"But you also had the rise of the unscrupulous and ruthless Chinese, who in turn have devastated many parts of Southeast Asia.

"Why were these people allowed to wreak havoc? It is because the leaderships have been weak," Kuok said in an excerpt from his upcoming memoirs published on the South China Morning Post (SCMP) today.

He said he had once delivered a warning about "Chinese crooks" and the need for strong watchdog institutions in Jakarta during Suharto's presidency.

Describing Chinese business management as "second to none", he had initially implored Jakarta to utilise Chinese entrepreneurs to develop the country's economy.

image: https://i.malaysiakini.com/1037/cb5b33503be48f4947398c9ca9b96e6b.jpg

cb5b33503be48f4947398c9ca9b96e6b.jpg

However, he said that some of these Chinese entrepreneurs could become "very big crooks" and so it is vital for the government to have a strong executive monitoring arm.

"What I am saying is that in a laissez-faire economy, you must let business develop freely, but at the same time you must have a very well-trained and highly disciplined monitoring arm.

"Where there is abuse and crimes being committed, you must come down very fast and very hard and punish the crooks severely.

"You should make examples of them so that the honest Chinese will help your country and the dishonest ones will be deterred," he had advised in Jakarta then, during a meeting with leaders from various Southeast Asian countries.

Ultimately, he said his advice went unheeded, not only in Indonesia but also most other countries in Southeast Asia.

For comparison, he said Singapore had its fair share of “Chinese crooks” but they are all hidden or dormant now, thanks to its late former prime minister Lee Kuan Yew (photo).

image: https://i.malaysiakini.com/872/3fa891e59420d09df839d483ab1bd211.jpg

3fa891e59420d09df839d483ab1bd211.jpg

"The crooks were held on steel leashes by two hands: Lee Kuan Yew's left hand and Lee Kuan Yew's right hand.

"With the unsavoury elements under control, look what Singapore has been able to accomplish by harnessing the energies of the overseas Chinese," Kuok said.

Business no longer clean

Meanwhile in a yesterday's excerpt of his memoirs in SCMP's series, he said of Malaysia that he believed racism and racial politics took a turn for the worse after the May 1969 riots.

Moderate leaders like founding father former prime minister Tunku Abdul Rahman, he said, could no longer hold back the hotheads after the riots and "extremists" had then hijacked power.

"I could see that, after May 1969, the business playing field was changing. Business was no longer clean and open.

image: https://i.malaysiakini.com/1186/932196f7cb852a2231a88c131e68c0a1.jpeg

932196f7cb852a2231a88c131e68c0a1.jpeg

"Things were changing, veering more and more towards cronyism and favouritism," he said.

In the Malays' haste to bridge the economic gap between themselves and the Chinese, Kuok believes that harmful shortcuts were taken, resulting in racism becoming increasingly ugly.

"I saw very clearly that the path being pursued by the new leaders after 1969 was dangerous.

"But hardly anyone was willing to listen to me," he said.

Despite that, he said the Malay leaders have generally behaved reasonably in running the country.

"At times, they gave the Malays an advantage. Then, when they see that they have overdone it, they try to redress the problem.

"Their hearts are in the right place but they just cannot see their way out of their problems," Kuok said.

Read more at https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/403369#emXGm40QPkDhQvBe.99

This would indicate why SIA and Shangri-La share some common DNA when it comes to service. Robert became an SIA Director and the long running question on who played the service ground. The answer lies with 3 people - Kok, Pillay and Batey.

Pillay's "midas-touch" on airlines business is proven to all because Pillay is just lucky to be in the team, and head the team. It's like putting Desmond in the shoes of Pillay.

His resume in airlines business ended in a complete flop when he was proven to be clueless when left alone in Tiger Airways.

If you ask the SIA's founding and second generation of leaders they will tell you of notes, letters, meetings, instructions, clarification etc from Pillay across my lines of SIA business on nearly every decision.

Tiger was the work of Aunty Ho. She gave the white man too much control and SIA despite holding shares in it SIA executives refused to be involved. Only when the OZ suspended their permit on safety consideration, Aunty Ho forced her useless husband to throw out Tiger chairman Gerard Ee and moved Pillay in. Pillay made 2 call - first to sack the white man and sell part of it (OZ business to Virgin) and merge the rest into SIA or budget airlines. The damage was extensive. The white man had upset nearly every australian airlines and Tourism official in nearly every state. The Brand was damaged beyond repair.

Pillay's "midas-touch" on airlines business is proven to all because Pillay is just lucky to be in the team, and head the team. It's like putting Desmond in the shoes of Pillay.

His resume in airlines business ended in a complete flop when he was proven to be clueless when left alone in Tiger Airways.

If you ask the SIA's founding and second generation of leaders they will tell you of notes, letters, meetings, instructions, clarification etc from Pillay across my lines of SIA business on nearly every decision.

Tiger was the work of Aunty Ho. She gave the white man too much control and SIA despite holding shares in it SIA executives refused to be involved. Only when the OZ suspended their permit on safety consideration, Aunty Ho forced her useless husband to throw out Tiger chairman Gerard Ee and moved Pillay in. Pillay made 2 call - first to sack the white man and sell part of it (OZ business to Virgin) and merge the rest into SIA or budget airlines. The damage was extensive. The white man had upset nearly every australian airlines and Tourism official in nearly every state. The Brand was damaged beyond repair.

I respect your insights but I have my reservations. He did well in SIA because of his juniors; he was just overseeing as a garmen man.

Sorry, in the version that I know of, Pillay was like an amateur, rather than a veteran, when he was leading Tiger. There was a saying that this is the chairman that don't (or hardly) flew his own airlines, completely clueless about the dynamics of the aviation industry (not just budget airlines). His measures were described as a race to the bottom, Tiger's sank deeper in the red with every measure that he took to salvage Tiger.

You might want to read Robert's book and his comments about Pillay.

I respect your insights but I have my reservations. He did well in SIA because of his juniors; he was just overseeing as a garmen man.

Sorry, in the version that I know of, Pillay was like an amateur, rather than a veteran, when he was leading Tiger. There was a saying that this is the chairman that don't (or hardly) flew his own airlines, completely clueless about the dynamics of the aviation industry (not just budget airlines). His measures were described as a race to the bottom, Tiger's sank deeper in the red with every measure that he took to salvage Tiger.

You might want to read Robert's book and his comments about Pillay.

Sorry if you think i hijacked your thread on Robert.
Robert is entitled to his own opinions on Pillay and our society does give the richer greater credentials.

For comparison, he said Singapore had its fair share of “Chinese crooks” but they are all hidden or dormant now, thanks to its late former prime minister Lee Kuan Yew (photo).

image: https://i.malaysiakini.com/872/3fa891e59420d09df839d483ab1bd211.jpg

3fa891e59420d09df839d483ab1bd211.jpg

"The crooks were held on steel leashes by two hands: Lee Kuan Yew's left hand and Lee Kuan Yew's right hand.

"With the unsavoury elements under control, look what Singapore has been able to accomplish by harnessing the energies of the overseas Chinese," Kuok said.

Have to disagree with his observations on LKY. LKY was a smart crook & took advantage of his position to become probably the richest dictator in the world.

Under LKY all the money went to the leaders & not the minions.

The system he set up in Spore allowed his family to continue controlling Spore and today we continue to pay the price.

LKY also transformed an entire population into cult followers. His!

LOL

great .. now with lky gone.. the chinese crooks can proliferate like cancer here

Yes very good for sinkies! Huat!

I had never quite understood why sinkies come here and bash sinkieland and wish ill on the land they live on .

But I can say now that I am gone it is very fun to bash and curse sinkieland