• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rich PRC buying expensive props r crooks

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Rich PRC buying expensive props r crooks</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>12:27 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>34858.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Jun 20, 2010

Agent goes far by going the distance for clients

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
ST_16419088.jpg
Ms Png specialises in marketing Sentosa Cove properties, where homes can fetch over $30 million. -- ST PHOTO: SAMUEL HE

<!-- story content : start -->
http://www.straitstimes.com/News/Home/Story/STIStory_543014.html
Real estate agent Jasmine Png drives a limited sports edition Mercedes C-class, carries a Prada handbag and cuts a smart figure with her tight black suits and crisp, white shirts monogrammed with her initials.
It is an image that goes down well with her millionaire clients.
Over the past two years, Ms Png has been specialising in marketing properties in Sentosa Cove. These homes start from about $4 million for a condominium and can hit more than $30 million for a bungalow.
She collects a 2 per cent commission from each sale but declines to reveal the tidy sum she makes each year. Her clients are from countries like Singapore, Malaysia and China.
The 29-year-old business and marketing graduate from the University of South Australia started work at real estate firm OrangeTee in 2005 and said she is still learning the ways of her wealthy Chinese clients.
One thing she has found out is their aversion to revealing personal details, even in small talk.
'I once asked a couple what part of China they came from, and they replied: 'Why must we tell you?' ' she said.
Ms Png has also met Chinese nationals who do not fully appreciate the rules here and assume that money can buy everything.
She related the case of a man who showed up to make a purchase, shouting that he wanted to buy a house immediately.
When told that there was a sales process to follow, he left in a huff.
'But he came back the next day with two suitcases full of money. Often we have to explain to such people that there are rules and paperwork in Singapore and you can't just buy a house like that,' she said.
Other real estate agents note the difference in tastes between Chinese clients and those of other nationalities.
Mr Dennis Wee, chairman of Dennis Wee Realty, said that while Westerners may prefer clean lines or contemporary furniture, the Chinese tend to go for more opulent designs.
'They like ornate styles which are quite grand, with lots of gold. Sometimes, the wood in the furniture doesn't even match. They just like the gold,' he said.
Chinese clients also prefer their property to be facing north or south, away from direct sunlight, agents said. This is so that the houses do not get too hot.
Westerners, on the other hand, like their houses to face west for the sun.
Agents also said Chinese clients often turn to them for help with other matters, besides buying properties.
Mr Markus Tay, vice-president for sales and marketing at Luxe Group, said: 'I've been asked to help clients find interior designers, good schools, chauffeurs and even domestic helpers.'
Ms Png said she does not mind going the extra mile for her clients, such as taking their wives shopping in her car.
It helps to build up social relationships that could lead to more referrals, which is how most real estate agents get their business.
'They are nice people at the end of the day,' said Ms Png. 'When they've learnt that they can trust you, they'll introduce you to all their friends and you even go out with them. Most of my Chinese clients have become my friends.'
Ms Png, who lives with her parents in their terrace house in Katong, is well aware that there are many agents who would love to get a piece of the Sentosa Cove pie.
She has her own Sentosa Cove website to garner business and knows of more than half a dozen similar websites set up by other property agents.
That is why she plans to fly to Shanghai within the next two weeks to meet a client, at her own expense.
The client plans to buy a few units in Sentosa Cove with his friends, she said.
'I love houses and seeing my clients satisfied, and it makes me happy when they refer me to other people,' she said, adding 'that's why I am successful'.

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Einfield

Normal folks don't walk around with suitcases of cash, only crooks do that.

Reason is simple, to evade any traceability.

manokie

Normal folks don't walk around with suitcases of cash, only crooks do that.

Reason is simple, to evade any traceability.

Normal folks don't walk around with suitcases of cash, because they don't have suitcases of cash to begin with!!

:p

kingrant

The crooked, the crafty, the corrupted, the deceitful are escaping the courts and tax authorities in China and have found a great haven in Singapore for laundering their money into assets protected by the PAP govt. They spoil the property market here and screw up all our lives.

kopiguni

专家解析中国贪官外逃新花样

今年5月6日,美国拉斯韦加斯联邦法院作出判决,以诈骗、洗钱、跨国转运盗窃钱款、伪造护照和签证等罪名,分别判处中国银行广东省开平支行前负责人许超凡和许国俊入狱25年和22年,同案被判有罪的两人配偶分别获刑8年。这一举措开创了外逃贪官在国外当地被审理宣判的先例。这会对外逃贪官起到怎样的震慑作用?贪官外逃有哪些特征?面对贪官“捞了就跑,跑了就了”的现状,中国如何应对?

贪官外逃问题始自上世纪80年代末期。据2004年商务部发布的一份调查报告显示,改革开放以来我国外逃官员数量约为4000人,携走资金约500亿美元。如今,随着媒体再度对贪官外逃事件的大量报道,其已经成为中国政府一个必须解决的重大问题。

贪官外逃,个体特征五花八门

职业特征。据笔者调查分析,金融系统和国有大中型企业是携款潜逃的多发区。银行工作人员、国企负责人在携款潜逃中所占比重大,其中金融系统、国有企事业单位工作人员占87.5%,其它部门占12.5%。这说明,第一,必须加强对金融业、国有企事业单位的管理;第二,必须加强对政府部门官员及其亲属出入境的管理。

职位特征。外逃贪官很多是国企的“一把手”,或者是直接与钱打交道的职员。在国企,这些“一把手”往往同时兼任党组书记、董事长、总经理等多个职位,一些国企的管理体制成了事实上的“家长制”、“一言堂”,如云南旅游集团公司原董事长罗庆昌、河南豫港公司原董事长程三昌、中国银行广东开平支行原行长余振东等。这些贪官的妻子儿女大多移民海外,手上一般持有因公或因私护照。在政府,外逃者多为厅局级干部,主要发生在交通、水利、粮食等领域,如贵州省交通厅原厅长卢万里、海南省粮食局原局长陆万朝。这些“一把手”拥有绝对权力,利用手中权力大肆侵吞国家财产。当然,在外逃贪官中,也有部分小人物,这些人多为银行职员,如建行东莞分行原金库保管员林进财、陈国强,中国银行南海支行原丹灶办事处信贷员谢炳峰、麦容辉,等等。他们之所以能携巨款外逃,主要与其职业有关。

年龄特征。外逃贪官出逃时的年龄呈现行业特征,即:政府公务员,年龄大多在50岁以上,如厦门市原副市长蓝甫出逃时年龄为59岁,浙江省建设厅原副厅长杨秀珠出逃时为58岁,贵州省交通厅原厅长卢万里出逃时为57岁等;非政府公务员,大多处于30~50岁年龄段之间,如中国银行广东开平支行原行长余振东出逃时年龄为38岁,北京城乡建设集团原副总经理李化学出逃时为43岁等等。

显然,政府官员主要是临退位时外逃。首先,年轻的时候,大多具有积极的人生追求,思想健康向上。而到了一定年龄,感到前途无望,思想逐渐退化,最后导致腐化堕落。其次,如果外逃,必须具备一定的外逃资金。而政府官员只有在一定的级别后,才有可能聚敛巨额的不法资财。第三,在位时,个别官员可以利用权力掩饰自己的腐败行为,但一旦退位,害怕被追查,从而选择临退位前一走了之。

贪官外逃,方式花样翻新

调虎离山式:大部分贪官在出逃前,就已作好出逃准备。他们事先把亲属安排到国外定居,一旦感觉自己的腐败问题可能被发现,就立即藉机潜逃国外。河南烟草专卖局原局长蒋基芳就是典型。早在案发前,蒋基芳就安排妻子和子女定居美国。

暗渡陈仓式:部分贪官利用本单位或自己的关系,在国外开设分公司,然后把国内资金悄悄转移到国外分公司,自己一般经常往来于国内公司与国外分公司之间。一旦自己的腐败问题被发现,就待在国外不回来。原河南豫港公司原董事长程三昌就是典型。河南豫港公司是河南省政府设在香港的“窗口公司”。程早前就利用关系,在新西兰开设办事处或分公司,并暗地转移资产,自己长期游移于境内外之间。由于腐败行为被发现,程便从香港不辞而别,携巨款和情妇定居新西兰。

顺手牵羊式:部分贪官在与国外的企业或公司打交道时,往往蓄意与这些企业或公司建立非业务关系的其他亲密关系,然后利用这层关系把亲属转移出境。河南省服装进出口公司原总经理董明玉就是典型。出逃前,“顺便”利用业务关系,先是在美国为自己建立不错的生意关系,接着让妻子和儿子打理那里的生意,并获得了美国绿卡。认为条件成熟,董便于1995年逃往美国。

金蝉脱壳式:部分贪官办理了很多假身份证,然后用假身份证办理真护照,通过旅行团出境转逃第三国或者偷渡到第三国。浙江省建设厅原副厅长杨秀珠就是典型。杨及全家出境时,所用证件全部身份不明。她早就拥有美国绿卡,但卡上姓名非她真名。也就是说,一旦她逃到国外,不仅没有海关记录,而且还可以堂而皇之易名而居,过上“安全”生活。

声东击西式:部分贪官为掩人耳目,常常采用声东击西的伎俩,在打算外逃时,刻意掩饰自己的去向,给别人一种自己没有任何异常举动的假象。原中国银行南海支行丹灶办事处信贷员谢炳峰、麦容辉就是典型。案发前,谢炳峰、麦容辉为了不让他人知道其外逃意向,出逃当天还正常上班。案发后,携带巨额现金,辗转东南亚各地。

假途伐虢式:部分贪官事先在国外安排好了出逃地,但为了出逃时不被发觉出逃地,往往不是直接逃到目的国,而是辗转几个国家,最后才到达出逃目的国。河南高速公路发展有限责任公司原总经理、董事长童言白就是典型。早在几年前,童安排妻子孩子移民到了澳大利亚。2004年1月2日,童从深圳口岸出境,先到达香港,随后转道菲律宾,最后转道澳大利亚,与早已移民的妻子、孩子会合,整个逃亡之旅可谓假途伐虢,费尽心机。

贪官外逃,最爱逃向哪

“捞了就跑,跑了就了。”这是贪官外逃的真实写照。国内以及某些外派机构的官员腐败犯罪后,为逃避打击,往往携巨款潜逃海外,其去向大体有四类:

中国周边国家,如泰国、缅甸、蒙古、俄罗斯等。这些国家是涉案金额相对小、身份级别相对较低的出逃人员的首选,但其风险也较大。因为中国与邻国合作打击犯罪,特别是打击贪官外逃方面配合相当紧密。所以,这些地方往往成为贪官们再次转移的跳板。如谢炳峰与麦容辉、郑治新与李寿云等。

非洲、拉美、东欧等一些国家,如突尼斯、厄瓜多尔、匈牙利等。这些国家是那些办不到直接去西方大国证件官员外逃的跳板,一有机会便会过渡到西方发达国家去。如周长青、陈安民等。

西方发达国家,如美国、加拿大、澳大利亚、荷兰等,这些是案值大、身份高的官员的主要目的地。对于那些曾在国内拥有显赫地位的官员来说,上述两种地方是他们所不屑的。他们看中的是美国、加拿大等移民国家,因为这些国家容易接纳外来者。如加拿大,一旦夫妻中的一方入了加籍,另一方也很容易拿到该国绿卡。逃往上述国家的贪官占了很大比例,如:中行广东开平支行原行长余振东、许超凡,云南旅游集团公司原董事长罗庆昌,昆明卷烟厂原厂长陈传柏,云南省证券公司原总经理陆海莺等。

相当多的外逃官员通过中国香港新加坡中转,利用香港或新加坡世界航空中心的区位,以及港民前往原英联邦所属国家可实行“落地签”的便利,再逃到其它国家。如浙江省建设厅原副厅长杨秀珠,就是通过这种方式逃到美国的。(王明高)

(作者为《中国惩治和预防腐败重大对策研究》课题组组长)

kopiguni

中国贪官洗钱伎俩大起底

洗钱,正成为中国贪官最迫切的需求。他们要为自己的不义之财寻找「合适」的出路,更希望能够以一种堂而皇之的身份拥有这些财富,而不必像亡命海外的四千名贪官那样,惶惶不可终日。
改革开放二十多年来,许多贪官已经以各种卑劣方式完成了肮脏的「资本原始积累」,如果再让他们把黑金洗白,他们将可能逃脱应有的惩罚。

*「海外窗口」的乾坤挪移

贪官们要把黑金洗白,更要把黑金洗「绿」--一旦资金流出国外,当地政府一般不会对流入的外资有多少积极性刨根问底,追究来源。

于是,将资金直接留在海外,是贪官们找到的洗钱「捷径」。有的贪官在境外银行直接建有个人账户。一些中资公司在海外账户里非法持有的外汇,远远高于国家外汇管理部门所掌握的数额。各地在海外的不少「窗口公司」,实际上有的就是洗钱通道:某些国有企业的海外分支机构,已经演变为国内腐败团伙的洗钱中心。近年来,许多中资外贸企业宣布破产前,部分资产和利润早已被转移到境外,落到私人名下。

由于「天高皇帝远」,缺少严格有效的监控,一些中资企业海外分支机构的敛财手段近于疯狂。据称,美国房地产业人士曾经注意到一个可怕的现象:中资公司人员为了个人取得巨额回扣或其他好处,经常操纵公司以高出市场价百分之二十至百分之一百的价格在美国购置房地产或企业,甚至明知是一堆垃圾,也会买进不少根本无法保值的破败房地产或濒临倒闭的企业。同时,美国期货交易业内人士也反映,不少中资企业以巨资投入期货交易,是赢是输毫不在意,因为即使亏损,也能以经营亏损向中国的主管部门报账,而个人则可通过期货交易人私下分得交易手续费。

大陆的境外投资一直有「碰不拢」的两本账。比如,截至九十年代中期,澳大利亚政府统计中国在澳投资存量为十九点五六亿澳元,约台十四点三一亿美元,而中国的统计数字仅三点二六亿美元。新加坡政府统计的中国投资企业数为一百五十家,而中国的统计仅为四十八家,美国商务部统计的中国在美投资的企业逾一千家,而中国的统计仅为二百一十八家。数字相差如此悬殊,反映了一个基本事实:在中国的对外投资中,有大量投资处于官方管理之外。

近年来国内企业一度掀起对外投资热潮,相当一部分国企的法人代表假藉对外投资、合资的名义,将国有资产转移到境外,再通过各种不可告人的渠道,将其变为私人财产。

黑金绿了会更安全,一些贪官不要家里堆成金山银山,常常要求行贿方直接将黑钱打人海外的个人秘密账号。

原深圳市计划局财贸处处长王建业权倾一方。深圳市某建材公司业务部经理黄某,在王建业荣升处长后申请免税钢材进口指标,王略一点拨,黄心领神会,三天之内用人民币二百三十多万元买了四十万美元,汇到了王建业指定的境外账户上。短短一年半时间内,王建业索贿受贿人民币六百三十多万元,美金七十八万多元,完全做到了「日进万金」,成为建国直到一九九三年金额最大的受贿犯。

nickers9

1-3.jpg

These foreigners are my foreign talents or foreign babes cause they gave me lots of money ah. So they are not crooks.

But you Sinkies stayed in my kingdom Sinkapore and you dont give me any money at all, so to me you all are crooks.

Get it Sinkies ah!!!

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!

Logisex

Its very common to see PRCs walking to property sales office with suitcases of cash. They are usually the mine owners from Shanxi amd businessmen from Zhejiang area and Wen Zhou.

allanlee

The crooked, the crafty, the corrupted, the deceitful are escaping the courts and tax authorities in China and have found a great haven in Singapore for laundering their money into assets protected by the PAP govt. They spoil the property market here and screw up all our lives.

Dun have to be envious of these people...... the time will come when these people have to payback to society..... the MIWs cannot protect them forever.

Fyi, the poodles of the MIWs have secret dossiers on these people.
GOD help them if these dossiers fall into the "wrong" hands. :mad:

allanlee

Its very common to see PRCs walking to property sales office with suitcases of cash. They are usually the mine owners from Shanxi amd businessmen from Zhejiang area and Wen Zhou.[/QUOTE]

Wen Zhou got businessmen meh ?!! :confused:
Even the PRCs themselves all acknowledge that there are only crooks in Wen Zhou..... mei you yi ke hau ren. :p

Its very common to see PRCs walking to property sales office with suitcases of cash. They are usually the mine owners from Shanxi amd businessmen from Zhejiang area and Wen Zhou.
Are you referring to property sales offices in China? Which part of China?
I have seen many china tourists with loads of cash buying jewellery or electronic goods in HK and Shanghai.

The China authorities certainly don't go easy on some of these people.
A few years ago, the founder of Gomes electronics was placed as the richest man in China by Forbes magazine. He was interviewed by the western press, including CNBC where he spoke in Chinese and what he said was translated into English.
Unfortunately for him, he has been found guilty of insider trading and corruption and sentenced to a long time in prison.

Logisex

Its very common to see PRCs walking to property sales office with suitcases of cash. They are usually the mine owners from Shanxi amd businessmen from Zhejiang area and Wen Zhou.[/QUOTE]

Wen Zhou got businessmen meh ?!! :confused:
Even the PRCs themselves all acknowledge that there are only crooks in Wen Zhou..... mei you yi ke hau ren. :p

All businessmen are crooks to a certain degree. Its a jungle out there and only the fittest will survive so you can't be that honest.

Logisex

Are you referring to property sales offices in China? Which part of China?
I have seen many china tourists with loads of cash buying jewellery or electronic goods in HK and Shanghai.

In all major cities like SH, BJ, SZ, GZ, Hainan........

There are new policies now on property speculation but it is difficult to carry out. For example, the govt might restrict the locals from buying 1 propery but they can only track that if you get a mortgage loan from the bank, who will need to input that loan record into the PBOC credit system. China does not have a central system to track property transactions/owners so as long as you pay in cash, it is very difficult to track the number of properties that you own. It is still possible to track but its gonna take a lot of manpower and resources so they will only do it when they are investigating fraud/corruption cases.

Logisex

The China authorities certainly don't go easy on some of these people.
A few years ago, the founder of Gomes electronics was placed as the richest man in China by Forbes magazine. He was interviewed by the western press, including CNBC where he spoke in Chinese and what he said was translated into English.
Unfortunately for him, he has been found guilty of insider trading and corruption and sentenced to a long time in prison.

The problem with the Gome guy is that greed and fame gets over his head and he thinks money can solve everything. He thought that "as long as the meat goes into the mouth, it ends there". Its not that simple once you are playing the major league with the big boys. The politics and "Guanxi" etc. goes much deeper and mpre complicated than just $$$ signs.

His deficiency has to do with his upbriging, or his route to success. He was just a guy from the village with not much education but who has lots of guts and nothing to lose. That's all he got so he lacks the sophistication to play in the major league and took more than he can swallow.

There was an economist who indirectly said that he is not very smart as he is already as big as his corporation so there is really no need to go under table anymore. There are legitimate ways to do it and there will be lots of banks/investors going after him. But then as I've said above, going undertable is the only way that he knows how to do it........

The problem with the Gome guy is that greed and fame gets over his head and he thinks money can solve everything. He thought that "as long as the meat goes into the mouth, it ends there". Its not that simple once you are playing the major league with the big boys. The politics and "Guanxi" etc. goes much deeper and mpre complicated than just $$$ signs.

His deficiency has to do with his upbriging, or his route to success. He was just a guy from the village with not much education but who has lots of guts and nothing to lose. That's all he got so he lacks the sophistication to play in the major league and took more than he can swallow.

There was an economist who indirectly said that he is not very smart as he is already as big as his corporation so there is really no need to go under table anymore. There are legitimate ways to do it and there will be lots of banks/investors going after him. But then as I've said above, going undertable is the only way that he knows how to do it........
Very well put.
I would add on the following:
A person who has money does not mean that he has power.
A person who has power does not mean that he has enough power to get him out of all situations.
And even a person who has what he thinks is ultimate power, will have to face old age, sickness and death.

On a brighter note, how's the resolution of your "mid life crisis" coming along? :smile:

Angelo

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Rich PRC buying expensive props r crooks</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>12:27 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>34858.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Jun 20, 2010

ST_16419088.jpg
Ms Png specialises in marketing Sentosa Cove properties, where homes can fetch over $30 million. -- ST PHOTO: SAMUEL HE

Real estate agent Jasmine Png drives a limited sports edition Mercedes C-class, carries a Prada handbag and cuts a smart figure with her tight black suits and crisp, white shirts monogrammed with her initials.
Over the past two years, Ms Png has been specialising in marketing properties in Sentosa Cove. These homes start from about $4 million for a condominium and can hit more than $30 million for a bungalow.
She collects a 2 per cent commission from each sale but declines to reveal the tidy sum she makes each year. Her clients are from countries like Singapore, Malaysia and China.
The 29-year-old business and marketing graduate from the University of South Australia started work at real estate firm OrangeTee in 2005 and said she is still learning the ways of her wealthy Chinese clients.
One thing she has found out is their aversion to revealing personal details, even in small talk.
'I once asked a couple what part of China they came from, and they replied: 'Why must we tell you?' ' she said.
Ms Png has also met Chinese nationals who do not fully appreciate the rules here and assume that money can buy everything.
She related the case of a man who showed up to make a purchase, shouting that he wanted to buy a house immediately.
'But he came back the next day with two suitcases full of money. Often we have to explain to such people that there are rules and paperwork in Singapore and you can't just buy a house like that,' she said.
Other real estate agents note the difference in tastes between Chinese clients and those of other nationalities.
Mr Dennis Wee, chairman of Dennis Wee Realty, said that while Westerners may prefer clean lines or contemporary furniture, the Chinese tend to go for more opulent designs.
'They like ornate styles which are quite grand, with lots of gold. Sometimes, the wood in the furniture doesn't even match. They just like the gold,' he said.
Chinese clients also prefer their property to be facing north or south, away from direct sunlight, agents said. This is so that the houses do not get too hot.
Agents also said Chinese clients often turn to them for help with other matters, besides buying properties.
Mr Markus Tay, vice-president for sales and marketing at Luxe Group, said: 'I've been asked to help clients find interior designers, good schools, chauffeurs and even domestic helpers.'
Ms Png said she does not mind going the extra mile for her clients, such as taking their wives shopping in her car.
It helps to build up social relationships that could lead to more referrals, which is how most real estate agents get their business.
'They are nice people at the end of the day,' said Ms Png. 'When they've learnt that they can trust you, they'll introduce you to all their friends and you even go out with them. Most of my Chinese clients have become my friends.'
Ms Png, who lives with her parents in their terrace house in Katong, is well aware that there are many agents who would love to get a piece of the Sentosa Cove pie.
She has her own Sentosa Cove website to garner business and knows of more than half a dozen similar websites set up by other property agents.
That is why she plans to fly to Shanghai within the next two weeks to meet a client, at her own expense.
'I love houses and seeing my clients satisfied, and it makes me happy when they refer me to other people,' she said, adding 'that's why I am successful'.

Is Screwing part of the deal?

Meltdown

icon.aspx

ST_16419088.jpg

What's wrong with that?

SG has an open and free market economy. If those nouveau riche Ah Tiongs wanna snap up luxury properties here, it's their money that they are investing to buy those properties. If property prices crash in the future, it's also their money that is being put at risk!

Socialist and commies in this forum obviously can't comprehend how capitalism and free market economy operate.

What's wrong with that?

SG has an open and free market economy. If those nouveau riche Ah Tiongs wanna snap up luxury properties here, it's their money that they are investing to buy those properties. If property prices crash in the future, it's also their money that is being put at risk!

Socialist and commies in this forum obviously can't comprehend how capitalism and free market economy operate.

Truly, you don't understand what is going on, u are another example of a sheltered spoilt sinkie. THESE AH TIONGS ARE LAUNDERING THEIR MONEY, GOT IT? 90% of these PRCs money is illegally obtained, i.e. they are stolen from state enterprises, banks (they take loan out, but don't pay back), investors money, corruption money, etc. Thousands of PRCs are running all over the world now buying properties. Its not only in S'pore, but also in Canada, US, Europe, etc. Bottom line is they need to get the money out of their country and get it out fast. I have met a few of them, and they are very reluctant to reveal their work in China. But I found out one was a provincial official. How can a provincial official earning less than $1000 USD a month have six figures to buy properties in a foreign country? Some of my rich PRC friends tell me that every rich bungalow in China has its own safe. That is where they like to keep their USD currency. They don't like to put money in their bank account, and have the govt. possibly track it. That is why they travel with suitcases full of cash.

Now, I tell you why this is wrong. Lets say that a high ranking govt. official takes money from Temasek, millions of dollars and runs off to Switzerland. He or she than proceeds to buy million dollar mansions, sports cars, etc. with this cash. Under your logic, nothing wrong, because Switzerland is a free and capitalist economy. But for the people of singapore plenty wrong because its their money that is being stolen and spend. U get it now?

Are there legitimate millionaires in China, yes there are. But most of them are investing in US, Canada, and Australia because they are rich enough to pay an immigration lawyer to get PR in these countries and than legally bring in their millions. For the illegally obtain wealth like those from middle to high ranking PRC govt. officials, they dare not or cannot apply for PRs to these countries and hence they have to hide it 3rd world banana republics like S'pore.

Now, I tell you why this is wrong. Lets say that a high ranking govt. official takes money from Temasek, millions of dollars and runs off to Switzerland. He or she than proceeds to buy million dollar mansions, sports cars, etc. with this cash. Under your logic, nothing wrong, because Switzerland is a free and capitalist economy. But for the people of singapore plenty wrong because its their money that is being stolen and spend. U get it now?

Ho%20Ching.bmp

Wah seh! Like this you also know! *hee*hee*