• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rich PRC buying expensive props r crooks

Meltdown

Truly, you don't understand what is going on, u are another example of a sheltered spoilt sinkie. THESE AH TIONGS ARE LAUNDERING THEIR MONEY, GOT IT? 90% of these PRCs money is illegally obtained, i.e. they are stolen from state enterprises, banks (they take loan out, but don't pay back), investors money, corruption money, etc. Thousands of PRCs are running all over the world now buying properties. Its not only in S'pore, but also in Canada, US, Europe, etc. Bottom line is they need to get the money out of their country and get it out fast. I have met a few of them, and they are very reluctant to reveal their work in China. But I found out one was a provincial official. How can a provincial official earning less than $1000 USD a month have six figures to buy properties in a foreign country? Some of my rich PRC friends tell me that every rich bungalow in China has its own safe. That is where they like to keep their USD currency. They don't like to put money in their bank account, and have the govt. possibly track it. That is why they travel with suitcases full of cash.

Now, I tell you why this is wrong. Lets say that a high ranking govt. official takes money from Temasek, millions of dollars and runs off to Switzerland. He or she than proceeds to buy million dollar mansions, sports cars, etc. with this cash. Under your logic, nothing wrong, because Switzerland is a free and capitalist economy. But for the people of singapore plenty wrong because its their money that is being stolen and spend. U get it now?

Are there legitimate millionaires in China, yes there are. But most of them are investing in US, Canada, and Australia because they are rich enough to pay an immigration lawyer to get PR in these countries and than legally bring in their millions. For the illegally obtain wealth like those from middle to high ranking PRC govt. officials, they dare not or cannot apply for PRs to these countries and hence they have to hide it 3rd world banana republics like S'pore.

The gov'ts of Singapore, US, Canada, Europe, Australia, etc. have no legal jurisdiction to penalize, catch, prosecute, and execute these alleged corrupt provincial officials from PRC. Yes, corruption is wrong but it's up to the PRC commie gov't to penalize, catch, prosecute, and execute them if found guilty. Got It?

It is wrong for any gov't to penalize a foreigner for an alleged crime committed in another jurisdiction based on rumors and speculation. Refusing to sell them any properties, goods and services based on rumors and speculation that hasn't been officially charged in a court of law in PRC constitutes penalizing the innocent. Got It?

You can always say that the international community like the UN, EU, and G-20 have international guidelines/protocol to fight against alleged corruption and money laundering. But these are only guidelines and it is up to each individual sovereign country to choose to follow them or not because they aren't enforceable. Got It?

Most collectivist socialist and commie peasants in this forum are "Today's Slaves But Tomorrow's Tyrants" if they have a chance to rule SG in the future. They just can't comprehend the concept of "Presumption Of Innocence Until Proven Guilty Beyond A Reasonable Doubt" which is the foundation of individual rights, freedom and liberty. This only proves that these slaves unconsciously want even bigger gov't to impose more penalties and regulation on individuals.

kingrant

Moneylaundering is not accepted internationally.

Govts which allow moneylaunderers into their countries are providing safe havens for a crime. For a start, our govt lets them in because it is greedy. So two dishonest parties make it right, you are saying?

These crooks find a great harbour to feed their lifestyles, thanks to Gandhis like you.

The gov'ts of Singapore, US, Canada, Europe, Australia, etc. have no legal jurisdiction to penalize, catch, prosecute, and execute these alleged corrupt provincial officials from PRC. Yes, corruption is wrong but it's up to the PRC commie gov't to penalize, catch, prosecute, and execute them if found guilty. Got It?

Meltdown

That's right. It's not acceptable internationally. But each sovereign country still has the right to accept the protocol (set out by the international community) or not. The key issue here enforceability. The UN, EU, IMF, G-20, etc. obviously don't have the power to impose and enforce their will on the Sg gov't.

So two dishonest parties make it right, you are saying?

No. What I'm saying is each country's gov't should mind their own business and not let those international organizations dictate how they should run their country.

These crooks find a great harbour to feed their lifestyles, thanks to Gandhis like you.

The world is less free today than in the past thanks to collective socialist attitudes from peasants around the world who blindly believe the ideals and lies being propagated by the Illuminati, Bilderberg Group, Skull and Bones, Bohemian Grove, CFR, Trilateral Commission, etc. that runs these international front organizations in the name of saving humanity, fighting global warming, fighting crimes & corruption. What they want is power and control of the whole world including imposing their will on sovereign national gov'ts in the coming New World Order.

eQuipment

our local property prices have been jacked up & inflated thanks to the foreigners who come in to fry & flip. for decades, nobody actually knows how many money launderers have come to bleach their cash.

sinkie land can also rename to dhoby land.

kingrant

You are citing examples w/o knowing what they stand for. Illuminati, CFR, BG. etc are all secret orders dedicated to amassing & controlling the entire world's wealth by controlling the political systems and financial systems. So yr use of these examples completely and totally demolish yr own arguments because these orders are not socialistic or benevolent in nature but in contrary, very much capitalistic and predatory and totalitarian. you are right - They don't want govt controls and they seek to control the govts so they can have a freehand to plunder the world. But they are not on our side but yrs with all yr laissez-faire capitalism.
We on the other hand want to stop these plunderers and corrupters of our systems.

The world is less free today than in the past thanks to collective socialist attitudes from peasants around the world who blindly believe the ideals and lies being propagated by the Illuminati, Bilderberg Group, Skull and Bones, Bohemian Grove, CFR, Trilateral Commission, etc. that runs these international front organizations in the name of saving humanity, fighting global warming, fighting crimes & corruption. What they want is power and control of the whole world including imposing their will on sovereign national gov'ts in the coming New World Order.

Logisex

Very well put.
I would add on the following:
A person who has money does not mean that he has power.
A person who has power does not mean that he has enough power to get him out of all situations.
And even a person who has what he thinks is ultimate power, will have to face old age, sickness and death.

On a brighter note, how's the resolution of your "mid life crisis" coming along? :smile:

I realised that my "mid-life crisis" was like the peak of an iceberg that was simply "going with the flow". As I dived deeper, I discovered there are so many underlying factors that created this "tipping point" Life was just passing me so fast and I wasn't looking "close enough" and being true at what's happening within and around me everyday. It all seems good and I was on the upswing till it "tipped"........it was like I'm slipping down the other side of the iceberg and going backwards to question what brought me to this point. its like......
- I had a good job and had been in this industry for quite a long time but I was never truly happy or had any passion for it. It pays the bills but never got me rich. I find it very difficult to be the type of person who excel in this industry. Infact I detest those who mold themselves to be the bosses' pets as I find it so fake and the money really doesn't justify it. I even rejected a promotion because I don't see eye-to-eye with my new boss on some issues and also thought the new pay package was a joke. Some people will call his absolute stupidity but somehow it just feel like the right thing to do then.
- I had a good wife who takes good care of me. She used to be very pretty. I'm questioing myself as to why I married her in the first place (since I've always enjoyed my bachelorhood) as I never truly love her. Even if I want to leave her now, I simply can't find any good reason to do it.
- My dad passed away last year and I suddenly realised I dun really know this guy. I think I should and I wish I had spent more time to care for him during his last days. There is a rojak of emotions involved till I dunno how I truly feel towards this man. Now I miss him from time to time. Sad but true.
- I realise I'm been trying to live up to everyone's expectations and wearing so many masks everyday that I don't know who I am anymore.
- I suddenly feel I'm running out of time.....

I could go on and on........work, family, friends, spirit..........

Dalai Lama said that the purpose of life is to be happy. Life has been pretty good to me so far but I guess I never questioned or realised that I wasn't truly happy.

I haven't gone to the stage of jumping MRT and I doubt I will ever will. In fact I have been taking care of my body, taking supplements, listening to Buddism audios, reading books and taking it slow and easy at work.

"Mid-life Crisis" is a symptom or a wake up call as you might call it. It is just a passing thing but its gonna stay longer than it should if the underlying issues are not resolved.

As a monk once said: "Time is running out - that's why we must go slowly". I'm more at peace with myself now once I take that fear factor away. So if you ask me whether I had a resolution, I could only say that I know why this crisis came about but it will take a lot more to find resolutions for the underlying issues.

tua lam pah

most people dont realise that they are not short of money they are short of time!
time runs out for us all eventually....

Hahaha, I can now add stupidity to your existing ignorance. The countries u mentioned above are signatories to the OECD FATF conventions on money laudering. They also signatories to the Strasbourg convention. In other words, they are bind by international edict to collaborate and prosecute cross border international money laundering violations conducted bytheir own citizens as well as citizens of other countries. Get it retard? The fact is that SIngapore has monetary regulations because it is a FATF signatory. If you bring in more than $30K into singapore, U must declare it. This is the singapore law and within singapore legal jurisdiction. These PRC corrupt fuckers bringing in suitcases of money are for sure not declaring it. Hence they have broken a S'pore law and can be prosecuted, contrary to what u have so ignorantly stated. Also, PRC has currency controls too. If a citizen takes out more than USD $10K, they must obtain permission from the Bank of China as well as other govt. authorities. Obviously, these PRCs coming to S'pore with large amounts of money are not applying for the permit, and hence they have broken a PRC law. The PRC can ask S'pore to extradite the individual back to China for investigation. The role of Singapore in the event that a PRC money launderer is caught here is not to execute them, you moron. If the PRC wants them for questioning, they can be extradited back there, and China can do what they want.

It is wrong for any gov't to penalize a foreigner for an alleged crime committed in another jurisdiction based on rumors and speculation. Refusing to sell them any properties, goods and services based on rumors and speculation that hasn't been officially charged in a court of law in PRC constitutes penalizing the innocent. Got It?

You can always say that the international community like the UN, EU, and G-20 have international guidelines/protocol to fight against alleged corruption and money laundering. But these are only guidelines and it is up to each individual sovereign country to choose to follow them or not because they aren't enforceable. Got It?

Its not a guideline. In fact the Strasbourg convention is binding to the countries that signed. Where on earth did u think they were voluntary guidelines? It shows u know nothing.

Most collectivist socialist and commie peasants in this forum are "Today's Slaves But Tomorrow's Tyrants" if they have a chance to rule SG in the future. They just can't comprehend the concept of "Presumption Of Innocence Until Proven Guilty Beyond A Reasonable Doubt" which is the foundation of individual rights, freedom and liberty. This only proves that these slaves unconsciously want even bigger gov't to impose more penalties and regulation on individuals.
Yes, people should be presumed innocent. But when you are bringing in suitcases of money, and your pay is $1000 a month in your home country, and u have no other sources of income, u need to ask yourself where and how this people obtained their money. In addition to this, when u are evasive about what u do for a living, and also evasive about where the money came from, the question becomes what have u got to hide.

Govts which allow moneylaunderers into their countries are providing safe havens for a crime. For a start, our govt lets them in because it is greedy. So two dishonest parties make it right, you are saying?

In fact, the OECD has blacklisted countries known to be friendly to money launderers. But this simple fact is unknown to "Meltdown".

Meltdown, I think that u have suffered a mental meltdown. How did u deviate on a debate about money laundering into the Illuminati, etc. and world freedom? ARe u just going off on a tangent that only u seem to think is a logical extension of a money laundering topic, or have you been so humilatingly embarassed by me that u have to change the topic? I think you have seen too much Angels and Demons.

As a monk once said: "Time is running out - that's why we must go slowly". I'm more at peace with myself now once I take that fear factor away. So if you ask me whether I had a resolution, I could only say that I know why this crisis came about but it will take a lot more to find resolutions for the underlying issues.
Hahaha, thanks bro for your comprehensive reply.
I have come to realize that in life, there are 2 things that we must not have, or at least have as little as possible.
The first is fear, and the second is desire.
Fear of death, fear of life, fear of being lonely, fear of being nagged, fear of having no money, fear of the unknown, etc etc.
Desire for money, desire for power, desire for sex, desire for love, desire for fame, desire for comfort, luxury, etc etc.
Once you can manage to have as little fear and desire as possible, comes peace of mind and with peace of mind comes happiness.
Btw, I'm not a Buddhist.

kiss

I have come to realize that in life, there are 2 things that we must not have, or at least have as little as possible.
Fear of death, fear of life, fear of being lonely, fear of being nagged, fear of having no money, fear of the unknown, etc etc.
Desire for money, desire for power, desire for sex, desire for love, desire for fame, desire for comfort, luxury, etc etc.
Once you can manage to have as little fear and desire as possible, comes peace of mind and with peace of mind comes happiness.
Btw, I'm not a Buddhist.

U gona reach nirvana !!! :eek:

Einfield

This is the 2 main goods PAPPY is selling, FEAR AND DESIRE

But ended up we are at the bottom of the Happiness scale.

Btw, I'm not a Buddhist.

Logisex

Btw, I'm not a Buddhist.

Wah you really talk like my favourite Ang Mo monk - Ajahn Brahmavamso

A very popular Abbot who graduated from Cambridge and is now in Australia. His Friday night talks are very enlightening and you dun need to be a buddhist to understand them. If you are interested, you can download his audio from the folloing website. Don't bother with the sutta readings audios and those talks by other monks:

http://www.dhammaloka.org.au/

Btw, I'm not a Buddhist.

U forgot fear of ISD, fear of MIW and fear of IPPT:biggrin:

This is the 2 main goods PAPPY is selling, FEAR AND DESIRE

But ended up we are at the bottom of the Happiness scale.
Exactly, that's why when you have little or none of both, you won't buy their bullshit.
And life becomes better for you.

Wah you really talk like my favourite Ang Mo monk - Ajahn Brahmavamso

A very popular Abbot who graduated from Cambridge and is now in Australia. His Friday night talks are very enlightening and you dun need to be a buddhist to understand them. If you are interested, you can download his audio from the folloing website. Don't bother with the sutta readings audios and those talks by other monks:

http://www.dhammaloka.org.au/
Although I said that, I'm far from the stage when there is no fear and desire.
We are all human and it's very very difficult to have little fear and desire.
Pardon my impudence, but coming back to your case again, I think your fear is that of not getting the most or best out of your life. And your desire is rather conversely, wanting to get the most or best out of your life.
You don't seem to be the type who desires money or power, and I don't think you have a great desire for sex as well, although that may have occurred (as stated by you previously) in your quest to combat the desire and fear. :smile: