• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Retrenched............

Stay away from professions like engineering and IT, unless you have niche skills and willing to relocate overseas. Stick to safer professions like medicine, law, accountancy. All my friends who are in these 3 professions are doing well and are happy.

what nonsense, every career path you slecte bound to have ups and downs, so dun fret, do what you like is more important.

Kraft, I just tried to call him, he pick it up but can hear some mumbling sound and it was cut off.
Received call from his wifey earlier on that she was not able to locate him too. Asked her if her husband has share with her this bad news and she says he did....... I was thinking they might have quarrel over the finances earlier on and now with this R thing, it's going to get worse here on.

Anyway, will try to reach out to him. Maybe look for him after work at our usual haunts, and called up a few other friends that know him.................

i think as a friend, you have to tell him that he is not alone, let him know there is this forum here, and tell him my story, from pmet to taxi driver. make him feel better.

what nonsense, every career path you slecte bound to have ups and downs, so dun fret, do what you like is more important.

Not true. Some careers pay off better than others. My average lawyer friends are doing as well as my successful engineer friends. None of my friends who are lawyers, doctors or accountants have been retrenched and made to drive taxis or be security guard. On the other hand, all of my friends who have been retrenched, save for one in banking, are from the engineering and IT positions.

Our local universities takes in thousands of engineering undegrads each year, but only a few hundreds to study law, medicine and accountancy. That already tells you that it doesn't take much to be an engineer. Kids get the wrong idea about engineering because in schools, the top classes are usually those who do well in Math and Science. But in the real world, it is the lawyers, doctors, accountants and bankers who make the most money.

Wunderfool

Not true. Some careers pay off better than others. My average lawyer friends are doing as well as my successful engineer friends. None of my friends who are lawyers, doctors or accountants have been retrenched and made to drive taxis or be security guard. On the other hand, all of my friends who have been retrenched, save for one in banking, are from the engineering and IT positions.

Our local universities takes in thousands of engineering undegrads each year, but only a few hundreds to study law, medicine and accountancy. That already tells you that it doesn't take much to be an engineer. Kids get the wrong idea about engineering because in schools, the top classes are usually those who do well in Math and Science. But in the real work, it is the lawyers, doctors, accountants and bankers who make the most money.

No wonder our MRT train breaks down so often.:wink:

Asterix

Our local universities takes in thousands of engineering undegrads each year, but only a few hundreds to study law, medicine and accountancy. That already tells you that it doesn't take much to be an engineer. Kids get the wrong idea about engineering because in schools, the top classes are usually those who do well in Math and Science. But in the real world, it is the lawyers, doctors, accountants and bankers who make the most money.

In the real world, Sinkies will always be Sinkies, engineers or lawyers, just look at the farking useless Law Society compared with other places'. For there to be hope, Unsinkification is a necessary pre-condition. By the way, the greatest engineer in industrial revolution Britain was the son of an FT, french to be exact.

http://www.singsupplies.com/showthr...nkification-needed-for-LEEgime-change-to-last

[video=youtube;QwHnVH9jWmU]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QwHnVH9jWmU[/video]

i was from the engineering and it position...:(

lifeafter41

i think as a friend, you have to tell him that he is not alone, let him know there is this forum here, and tell him my story, from pmet to taxi driver. make him feel better.

Hi Kraft, thanks!. He is my secondary school friend, a long way we had known each other......

Just got a call from another friend that knows Henry. He found him wandering aimlessly in RWS, he told me he saw him around 8.30pm this evening at the bacarrart table playing. He did not know what had happened to him. Thought maybe he just went there to fun, until I called him if he had received any call from Henry.

Just brought Henry back to his house. Spoke to him, told me something that sounded strange. Henry says he wants to visit the 2 Singapore casino before he move on..... Not sure what he meant by that. This is the first time he goes RWS. Though we have visited Genting, that was at least 19 years ago.

I think he has lost at least 15k, as the wifey told me Henry took his bank book to make a withdrawal of 20k. When pressed him if he had any money left, he just said BO........

kryonlight

I think he has lost at least 15k, as the wifey told me Henry took his bank book to make a withdrawal of 20k. When pressed him if he had any money left, he just said BO........

Another daft sinkie is going to bite the dust pretty soon. Marina Barrage isn't a bad option.

Seriously? Out of job and lost 15k at RWS. Another dumb bird shit. Do you think you can earn a living at the casinos? LOL! So naive. You are better off collecting plates and washing toilets than at the casinos. At least that's a net positive income. And at the very least, you will have my respect because you are actually eking out a decent living instead of daydreaming.

Hi Kraft, thanks!. He is my secondary school friend, a long way we had known each other......

Just got a call from another friend that knows Henry. He found him wandering aimlessly in RWS, he told me he saw him around 8.30pm this evening at the bacarrart table playing. He did not know what had happened to him. Thought maybe he just went there to fun, until I called him if he had received any call from Henry.

Just brought Henry back to his house. Spoke to him, told me something that sounded strange. Henry says he wants to visit the 2 Singapore casino before he move on..... Not sure what he meant by that. This is the first time he goes RWS. Though we have visited Genting, that was at least 19 years ago.

i think he your friend is experiencing despair after losing job. he on impulse lost gamble and lost it in the casino. when i was divorced, i also feel the same not long after. i think it's human nature when feeling down. give him words of encouragement and try to accompany him often, dun let him be alone.

lang jeow... soon will be driverless cabs. uber, grabcock all will die.

i think he your friend is experiencing despair after losing job. he on impulse lost gamble and lost it in the casino. when i was divorced, i also feel the same not long after. i think it's human nature when feeling down. give him words of encouragement and try to accompany him often, dun let him be alone.

You go ask to see his CPF statement....he sure " will feel rich"...like Lim sway sway...many of us are PAPER RICH...but pockets KOSONG!

the worst part is that you can't even use your cpf funds for emergency.