• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Retirement daunting for many Kiwis

h-nzheraldlogo-sans.gif

Retirement daunting for many Kiwis

By Ben Chapman-Smith
1:15 PM Thursday Aug 16, 2012
AirNz_jumbotakeoffPE_220x147.jpg

New research shows 22 per cent of retired New Zealanders never travel overseas. It shows a 'no frills' retirement in the city requires an income of $241.35 per week. Photo / NZ Herald

Nearly half of New Zealand's retirees feel they are not in a strong enough financial position to meet their retirement needs, according to a new report.

The Financial Education and Research Centre (FinEd Centre) - a joint initiative between Westpac and Massey University - today released its Retirement Expenditure Guidelines.

It showed that 47 per cent of retirees did not feel they had adequate financial resources to meet cope with retirement.The report, produced in conjunction with Workplace Savings NZ, also showed 33 per cent were not satisfied with their retirement and 46 per cent said retirement was not meeting their expectations.

FinEd Centre director Pushpa Wood described the survey as "a wake-up call" for people who needed to consider what sort of lifestyle they would like to have in their retirement.

"The good news is we all have the power to dictate our retirement lifestyles if we start saving early enough," she said.

The report showed what retirees were actually spending, said Massey University senior lecturer Claire Matthews. "We can't continue as New Zealanders to rely only on NZ superannuation," she said. Almost half of those surveyed said they spent more than 60 per cent of their income on basic living costs. "There were lots of comments about the fact that basic living costs keep going up," Matthews said.

A two-person household in Auckland or Wellington would need $241.35 per week for a 'no frills' retirement, meaning a basic standard of living including few, if any, luxuries.

A couple in provincial New Zealand living the same lifestyle would need $244.24 per week. NZ superannuation payments for a couple are currently $536.80 per week.

For a two-person household to live a lifestyle that included some luxuries, the cost would be $761.56 per week in metropolitan areas, and $693.83 per week in regional New Zealand.

Rent would be an obvious cost on top of this, as would rates, Matthews said.

She said the the question was whether people wanted to be able to have some choices or whether they wanted to just live a very basic lifestyle.

"Some people might be happy with that basic lifestyle," she said.

What are retirees spending? : (dollars per week)

<tbody>
</tbody>
One-person HouseholdTwo-Person Household
No FrillsChoicesNo FrillsChoices
MetroProv.MetroProvincialMetroProv.MetroProv.
Food55.9552.43107.5296.2393.6796.34216.75170.51
Alcoholic beverages,
tobacco and illicit drugs
Clothing and
footwear
Household
energy
Household contents
and services
Health0020.1421.443.595.7741.5848.32
Transport4.75.4941.3233.7127.8928.78103.59137.3
Telecommuni.9.5510.6324.1521.0915.216.442.228.5
Recreation and
culture
Miscellaneous goods
and services
Other
expenditure
TOTAL113.38113.22349.78350.91241.35244.24761.56693.83

<tbody>
</tbody>

Ten per cent said they had a very comfortable standard of living and had no concerns about their financial situation.

At the other end of the spectrum, 6 per cent said they struggled to find sufficient income to meet their basic living costs.

Workplace Savings NZ chairman David Ireland said the retirement findings were "sobering stuff".

"This is one of the most important pieces of research to come out in the retirement savings space in recent times. "The guidelines provide a great resource for financial advisers to pull out of their tool bag as part of the advice process."

Ireland said people living on the 'no-frills' budget were "pretty much on the poverty line". "It's pretty grim. It's not a happy experience for people living on that level."

Food costs were shown to vary greatly, depending on whether a person or couple wanted a 'no frills' or 'choices' standard of living.
For a retired couple to stock their pantry with basic food, it would cost $93.67 per week in cities and $96.34 in the provincial areas.
Living a better lifestyle meant food costs were up to $216.75 per week in cities and $170.51 elsewhere.

More than one-third of retirees surveyed said they almost never ate takeaways. "Takeaway and restaurant meals are almost non-existent for people on the 'no-frills' level," said Matthews.

Two-thirds said they visited a restaurant only a few times a year, and 22 per cent said they never travelled overseas. Around half of retirees had income in addition to their NZ superannuation. More than a quarter topped up their income with some type of paid employment.

Matthews said comments also suggested a significant number of retirees were supplementing their income through borrowing, often for one-off costs like surgery.

There were also indications that medical insurance was unaffordable for some.

"A number of respondents said they cancelled their medical insurance at 65 because premiums had gone up," Matthews said.
The survey involved 517 people, 60 per cent from a Westpac Customer Voice panel and the remainder from a Camorra Research panel.

The full report will be available tomorrow.
By Ben Chapman-Smith

Copyright ©2012, APN Holdings NZ Limited

With more than 40% failing to make the CPF minimum Sum years from now, YOU MUST BE TALKING OUT FROM YOUR ASS HOLE!
LOL

In NZ, 47% realise that they don't have adequate savings. That's 7% higher compared to Singapore which means kinana has the ability to analyse the numbers rather than just making wild statements.

Without kinana, this forum would go downhill rapidly.

soIsee

In NZ, 47% realise that they don't have adequate savings. That's 7% higher compared to Singapore which means kinana has the ability to analyse the numbers rather than just making wild statements.

Without kinana, this forum would go downhill rapidly.

What makes you think the Sinkie are not in the 47.55% as a matter of fact, it's not only the CPF minimum sum being insufficient but Sinkie are being more in debt and if their pigeon hole would drop in value years from now, they'll have to 'drop from the higher storeys' as well! LOL

many retired uncles and aunties are millionaires. some sold off their hdb flats. some sold off their hdb shophouses. they are now all millionaires. you can see them travelling everywhere. you see uncles and aunties eating chirp chirp and shopping chirp chirp!!!

yes, singaporeans are the richest people on earth. thanks to our great governance. all hdb dwellers are now millionaires!!! the world's number one country with the highest numbers of milliionaires......the tour groups are packed. the tour agencies are packed. over-flowing...but the young ones are tough.

but they too are millionaires for one generation only after the old folks die and pass the inheritance to them....provided of course the mbs and rws do not swallow all their savings!!!...so all old folks must be banned from patronising the casinos. they must be a prohibition for all those above 60 years!!! agree?

Cruxx

Latest statistic shows we are NUMBER 1, beating the Swiss and Americans. Why compare us to Kiwis?

These statistics? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(nominal)_per_capita

Sorry, first goes to Monaco. The homicide rate of Monaco is 0 and their GDP per capita is more than 3 times that of Singapore. Monaco has no natural resources nor the strategic location that Singapore enjoys. They only have people. What this proves is that the Monaco government and people are the most hardworking, most productive, most intelligent in the world. No government in the world deserves millions in remuneration more than the Monaco government. Majulah Monaco! :rolleyes:

Cruxx

According to 2006 figures, 24% of residents in Sinkieland have no medical insurance. That's worse than the much maligned USA. 在新加坡,可以死不可以病。Government debt is higher than GDP. There are few countries as indebted as Singapore. But rest assured. At least you sinkies can seek solace in the fact that you have the most iphones per capita in the world. What a rich cuntry Singapore is! :rolleyes:

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Why is the average of 2 person household more then single?

The stats looks strange if we compare against each other. :confused:

soIsee

According to 2006 figures, 24% of residents in Sinkieland have no medical insurance. That's worse than the much maligned USA. 在新加坡,可以死不可以病。Government debt is higher than GDP. There are few countries as indebted as Singapore. But rest assured. At least you sinkies can seek solace in the fact that you have the most iphones per capita in the world. What a rich cuntry Singapore is! :rolleyes:

I wonder if the Sinkie go hungry can they eat their I pones? LOL

Kinana

It's more than that 40% vs 47%. In Singapore our hdb can be sold for a tidy sun while kiwis cannot.

Fishypie

Yup you're spot on there. You are one of the few who has the intelligence and wisdom to realise how lucky Singaporeans are. I have added to your points.

Samsan, how many times have i noticed you added points to kinana; so when am i going to be on your add List ?..
:smile:

greedy and cunning

And after selling their pigeon holes, they can live with you?

All of them?

Say Yes lah! LOL

No. they don't have to live with Kinana or Leongsam.

The gov will find them an alternative place at a greatly subsidized price.
sinkies are definitely luck.

if the 2 idiots only want to hear the good thing we should tell them that.
whatever leongsam says just agreed or add more praises , eventually he will feel very frustrated. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: