https://www.ato.gov.au/rates/individual-income-tax-rates/#Residents
It is tiered.
First 0 – $18,200 is not taxed at all
$18,201 – $37,000 taxed at 19% ( you pay $3572 if you earn $37,000 a year )
$37,001 – $90,000 taxed at 32.5% ( you pay $3572+$17,225= $20,797 if you earn $90,000 a year)
$90,001 – $180,000 taxed at 37% ( you pay $3572+$17225+$33,300=$54,097 if you earn $180,00 a year)
Every dollar earned above $180,00 you pay 45% and that is added to the $54,097 from the first $180,000.
So let's say someone earns $40,000 a year their taxable income is $37,000-$18,201=$18,799. That is then taxed at 19% $3572. The remainder $3000 is taxed at 32.5% ie $975. Hence total tax is $4547. Which means actual overall tax rate is 11.4%
If you earn $60,000 your total tax is $7797. Effective tax rate is 12.99%
If you earn $90,000 a year your total tax is $20,797. Effective tax rate is 23.1%
Is that really THAT BAD?
If you earn $120,000 a year ie $10k per month your total tax is $11,100+ $20,797=$31897. Effective tax rate 26.6%. $88,103 is after tax income. $7341 per month.
In sg if you earn $120,000 per year your total tax is $7950. Effective tax rate is 6.6%. After tax income is $9337.5 per month.
So between someone in Oz vs Sg both earning 10k a month salary after tax disposable income difference is $1996.50 higher for the Sinkie.
I think both would own a car. The sinkie probably will need to pay $20k or more every 10 years on his COE.
So in the end is about the same lah. Unless you dont own car in sg lah.
Oh and I forgot....sinkie got to pay CPF correct? 20% cut out every month. So the sinkie who earn 10k a month also got to contribute 2k to CPF. Meaning his actual money in pocket is only $7337.50 per month. Which is less than the Ozzie. Well we can say year can use CPF pay for house. Also employer top up 17% also. But your CPF money yours or not?
You go figure lah.
Once aus become chinese majority, the tax would be lower! As chinese dont really depend on govrt financial aid! Chinese depend on ourselves! I hear my indon chinese frien told me that his granddad came to indon with one baggage but after that end up having alot of houses with luxury stuffs!