• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Re: HDB Con, Once Again, U heard it here first from PAPsmearer

With respect, I submit that the Honourable Prime Minister, is too soft.
In addition to the Pipeline, he appears to be trying to win votes.
Another matter which I disagree, is that of the swarm of refugees crossing from the USA, to Canada.
I believe that any government should take care of its current citizens and residents, rather than allow illegal migrants and refugees, to put significant stress and strain on the local governments re: refugees accommodation and welfare. If it is me (and of course, with my perspective, I will never win any votes), I would not accept any refugees, but send them back to the USA, to let the USA will deal with it.

I would not accept refugees either.
Calgary's economy has literally collapsed because of the oil glut and drop in prices. Also there is no room for growth if there is no additional pipeline capacity. This has hurt Calgary especially and Alberta.
I do not believe the pipeline will ever be built simply because Canadians are too soft.

The loudest protestors get their way. The silent majority will always be bullied into giving way to the loudest dissenters. It is the Canadian way.

For the pipeline to be built Alberta must make itself into a have not province that does not give equalization payments. When Quebec and Ontario no longer have those payments and suffer real debt crises and ask Ottawa where is the money, Ottawa will answer there is no more money as Alberta has collapsed. Ont and QC will ask why? Answer no pipelines. And Ont and QC will then demand we build those pipelines. By then perhaps there is no need for oil anymore.

I look at the debt levels to GDP for other provinces. http://calgaryherald.com/news/politics/braid-worried-about-alberta-debt-pity-poor-ontario

Alberta needs to catch up. We should borrow more. The whole of the rest of Canada has way way way higher debt than Alberta! So why don't we borrow more?

It is stupid that we are fiscally responsible and then have to give our money we earn and save to other provinces who just spend and spend it all away!

I say we spend it first so that other provinces have nothing from us to spend!

As a mid career immigrant, I believe that it is unrealistic, to find high paying jobs in their field as their first job.
I know of a few from Singapore, who emigrated to the Toronto area.
One is another individual and his family, whom I chatted at Sammyboy,
When they arrived in Toronto, I bought them lunch at Springrolls. Thereafter, I met them may be two times.
I know of a financially successful schoolmate.
He and his family are in the Toronto area. Due to his comments to me, I did not meet them.
I know of a Malaysian Chinese who studied civil engineering at SU (from my days at Raffles Hall at Nassim Road, Bukit Timah campus), worked in SG, and was a professional in another field or an entrepreneur.
He was doing business in the Toronto area, while his wife and children were in Singapore.
He is probably financially very successful. His email response to me, was very curt. I did not meet him.
I know of several who are members of the NUS Alumni Toronto Chapter. I do not know them well, but it looks like they are doing well in the Toronto area.

So it seems to me that sinkies who migrate to Toronto are not friendly? All doing well too.

So it is easy to migrate then. I should not be worried for my sisters then.

I would not accept refugees either.
Calgary's economy has literally collapsed because of the oil glut and drop in prices. Also there is no room for growth if there is no additional pipeline capacity. This has hurt Calgary especially and Alberta.
I do not believe the pipeline will ever be built simply because Canadians are too soft.

The loudest protestors get their way. The silent majority will always be bullied into giving way to the loudest dissenters. It is the Canadian way.

For the pipeline to be built Alberta must make itself into a have not province that does not give equalization payments. When Quebec and Ontario no longer have those payments and suffer real debt crises and ask Ottawa where is the money, Ottawa will answer there is no more money as Alberta has collapsed. Ont and QC will ask why? Answer no pipelines. And Ont and QC will then demand we build those pipelines. By then perhaps there is no need for oil anymore.

I look at the debt levels to GDP for other provinces. http://calgaryherald.com/news/politics/braid-worried-about-alberta-debt-pity-poor-ontario

Alberta needs to catch up. We should borrow more. The whole of the rest of Canada has way way way higher debt than Alberta! So why don't we borrow more?

It is stupid that we are fiscally responsible and then have to give our money we earn and save to other provinces who just spend and spend it all away!

I say we spend it first so that other provinces have nothing from us to spend!

You have a valid point(s).
Although I am not a proponent of debt(s), whether incurred by the various levels of govt., or individuals, the ancient equalization payments, is not valid at this stage of the development, versus at the time of Confederation.
May be, one day, Alberta, will separate, and avoid the equalization payments and the HST.
Based on the income taxes contributed by Ontario residents, especially from the Greater Toronto Area, and it appears that Ontario is not receiving its fair share of money from the Canadian federal govt., especially for transportation infrastructure, I believe that Ontario should separate from Canada (as much as Quebec wanted to separate). Looking at back, in the past, I was in favour of Quebec leaving and separating, as well as, takes its pro rata share of the federal debts. Easier to write, but very complicated in reality.

So it seems to me that sinkies who migrate to Toronto are not friendly? All doing well too.

So it is easy to migrate then. I should not be worried for my sisters then.

I believe it is much easier to emigrate to Canada.
During my days, the federal govt.'s immigration policies insisted that I leave the country to pick up the application from the USA, and hand in the completed application forms to a Consulate Office in the USA, travel there for the interview, and travel there to pick up the IMM 1000 (landed immigrant status).
I do not wish to appear to be critical, but I submit that individuals who are financially successful, may have "an attitude" (Singaporean or otherwise), and appear to be less friendly, although I am not begging for food or money.
It is difficult to describe.

I do not wish to appear to be critical, but I submit that individuals who are financially successful, may have "an attitude" (Singaporean or otherwise), and appear to be less friendly, although I am not begging for food or money.
It is difficult to describe.

It's the new world order. Behave badly and you get what you want. Be nice and polite and people walk all over you, bully you curse at you.

Those who become financially successful don't get their by being nice, dealing with nice polite people. They usually get their by fighting their way there, winning over losers, taking shit from assholes and gritting their teeth because of the bigger goal. All that leads to a frustrated mind and soul brimming with anger.

FInancial success does not equate to being happy in life.

It's the new world order. Behave badly and you get what you want. Be nice and polite and people walk all over you, bully you curse at you.

Those who become financially successful don't get their by being nice, dealing with nice polite people. They usually get their by fighting their way there, winning over losers, taking shit from assholes and gritting their teeth because of the bigger goal. All that leads to a frustrated mind and soul brimming with anger.

FInancial success does not equate to being happy in life.

Nice guys finish last. It's true in the dating world as it is in the business world.

This is just wonderful. Thought me a lesson. My fantastic thread highlighting my analytical ability on the HDB flats scam has been hijacked by 2 fucking former Sinkies bend on masturbating each other with tributes about what swell guys they are, and yacking about Canadian politics.............like who gives a shit. See, this is why I am tuning myself out of here.

HDB flats have never been a scam.

The 99-year lease is made known upfront and also during transfer of ownership during resale. If sinkies choose to ignore the dwindling lease because they assumed automatic SERS, that's their own problem. Sinkies are retards for overpaying and ignoring the lease. As an owner of factory space, I do have to pay attention to the lease. JTC will take back the unit and return to the gahmen once the lease expires. It is not different with HDB flats.

Most sinkies I know profited from the rising prices of HDB flats over the decades. If you bought a BTO, you very likely profited at least 80% after MOP. How is that a scam?