• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rayomd Lim: Fare hike nothing to do with oil price

mscitw

The nationalised power companies are pleased with their chums in the EMA, the rubber stamp to approve electricity tariffs turned in billions of profits for 2007-2008!

Woe woe woe peasantpore, where lackeys work hand in hand to enrich themselves.

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Raymon Lim !!! U talk COCK !!!!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">Spearmint000 (Spearmint888) <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">7:23 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>4118.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>
israymond.jpg

Mr Lim explained: "This is because the public transport fare is not directly linked to the oil prices. We link it to national factors, like the inflation level in Singapore, and the wage level in the whole of Singapore."
HEY FARK FACE, when they increase public transport fare they said because fuel price go up !!!! Dun talk cock and keep shooting yourself in the foot la. Paid you millions and treat us like children. I dun wanna curse you but cannot tahan. CCB.
Public transport fares among issues raised at MacPherson dialogue session
By Asha Popatlal, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 21 December 2008 1931 hrs
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/397794/1/.html
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=260 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD align=right width=240>
phphI4Kg9.jpg
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top height=60> </TD><TD class=update vAlign=top height=60><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=138 bgColor=#f6f6f6>Photos </TD><TD width=47 bgColor=#f6f6f6>1 of 2</TD><TD width=18 bgColor=#f6f6f6></TD><TD width=19 bgColor=#f6f6f6></TD><TD width=18 bgColor=#f6f6f6></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
dotline_240.gif

An SBS Transit bus</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD class=update> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD><TABLE style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #cccccc" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=240 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width="100%"><TABLE cellSpacing=1 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #ffffff"><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>Related Videos </TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top bgColor=#cccccc>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>Public transport fares among issues raised at MacPherson dialogue session</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top align=left>
shim.gif
</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

SINGAPORE : It would take a further 1.5 percentage point hike in GST if bus and train rides were to be made completely free.

Transport Minister Raymond Lim revealed this at a dialogue session with MacPherson residents on Sunday.

One resident at the session said: "(During) this tough and uncertain period, I hope there will be no increase in transport fares."

With leaner times ahead and recovery not yet in sight, public transport fares - always a hot issue - dominated the discussion.

And while Mr Lim is making no promises, he said he understands ground concerns and pointed out that the Public Transport Council will look carefully at economic conditions before considering any increase.

But if things became really bad, will the government consider subsidising public transport fares?

Mr Lim pointed out that even with subsidies, it will still be the public which ends up paying.

Mr Lim elaborated: "There are only two persons who pay when it comes to public transport fares. One, I use - I pay. Or two, I use - you help me subsidise my ride. What happens when you subsidise my rides? That means the taxpayers are now paying."

Going to the other end of the spectrum, if rides were to be made completely free, that would impose a heavy tax burden on the people, as it takes S$1.2 billion just to run the bus and train systems annually.

Mr Lim said: "The money still must come from somewhere, right? It is about a 1.5 percentage point increase of your GST. So, now it is 7%. You want it to be free, do you want the GST to go up to 8.5% to run a completely free bus and train system?"

But with oil prices - which operators traditionally cite as one of their high cost factors - dropping significantly in recent months, why have bus fares not come down in tandem?

Mr Lim explained: "This is because the public transport fare is not directly linked to the oil prices. We link it to national factors, like the inflation level in Singapore, and the wage level in the whole of Singapore."

Moving to a cheaper form of transport, one resident asked "I would like to know...whether we are having, in the near future, a pro-bicycle government policy, where can provide shady bicycle tracks all over the island."

For now, Mr Lim said using two-wheelers as a form of transport is good for just intra-town travel. And it cannot be applied uniformly across the island but has to be adapted for different communities.

Apart from Tampines, authorities are also looking at Yishun and Sembawang for pilot cycling projects.

MacPherson is a constituency which has a high number of compact high-rise HDB flats, and a population that has a higher proportion of the elderly above the age of 50 who are more likely to be from the lower household income group.

It is not surprising then it was not just public transport fares but also other cost of living issues that dominated the dialogue session. That included whether costs of goods and services are expected to come down in this recession.

Another topic was that of foreigners working in Singapore. One issue raised was if the policy of letting foreign workers go first should also apply at the management level. Mr Lim pointed out that this differs from company to company, and depends on how badly the particular company needed the special skill sets of those management staff. - CNA/ms

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Good opportunity for opposition to target Macpherson too. I see the potential of alternative parties winning there is high after hearing the news.

chinkangkor

Going to the other end of the spectrum, if rides were to be made completely free, that would impose a heavy tax burden on the people, as it takes S$1.2 billion just to run the bus and train systems annually.

We are asking that transport companies do not exploit their monopoloy position to charge exorbitant fares.

R4g3

http://sgtransport.blogspot.com/2007/03/three-months-of-cheaper-bus-and-train.html

1.8% cap on any bus, train fare hike this year
Christopher Tan, Senior Correspondent

ANY decision this year on raising bus and train fares will be known only in August at the earliest, instead of the usual May announcement in previous years.
And if the Public Transport Council (PTC) approves an increase, fares will go up by 1.8 per cent at the most, a spokesman for the council told The Straits Times.
For most commuters, this could mean an increase similar to last year's one- to three-cent hike, when the cap on fare increase was set at 1.7 per cent.
The new deadline and the cap on how high fares can go are the result of a change in the formula adopted by the PTC last year to work out bus and train fare increases.
Traditionally, SBS Transit and SMRT submit their applications by May 1, and revisions take effect in July.
But last year, because the PTC was busy adapting to new regulatory powers, the fare adjustment exercise was delayed by three months.
It has decided to stick with the new deadline.
'Operators will have till August to apply. Henceforth, all adjustments will be from October,' the PTC spokesman added.
As for the 1.8 per cent cap this year, it is based on a formula that takes into account current economic conditions, average wage increases as well as productivity gains of the public transport companies. It also allows fares to be lowered when the economy is in deep recession.
Both operators declined to say if they will ask for a fare increase, but it remains to be seen whether the planned two-percentage-point rise in goods and services tax (GST) in July will influence the decision.
A two-point rise in GST to 7 per cent translates to about $22 million in additional cost to the two operators.
Singapore introduced GST in 1994, starting with a 3 per cent levy. It was raised to 4 per cent in 2003, and 5 per cent in 2004.
Although GST was never passed on directly to public transport commuters, it is computed indirectly in the fare adjustment formula, which takes inflation - represented by the Consumer Price Index - into consideration.
SMRT spokesman Goh Chee Kong said: 'The fare adjustment formula takes care of wage increases, Consumer Price Index and productivity. So any increase in GST will be accounted for in the Consumer Price Index.''
In the past two years, the operators cited higher oil prices as the main justification for a fare rise.
A senior transport analyst said GST had never been fully passed on to commuters, but added that 'the formula will prevail because we are not in a deflationary economy'.
Source: The Straits Times, 23 March 2007

thanks makapaa for the big tight slap to our elite pappies million dollar man

snrcitizen

Good question!

Did the transport companies lost big in their investments? If no disclosure is forthcoming, we will need to wait for their next annual reports.

That is the most likely reason as they learnt from the TC saga, to never percha lobang again. Look at the enormous effort they are putting in to suppress further discussion in the PAP controlled media.

Con News Asia: Raymond lim visited residents who requested for reduction in transport fares due to plunging oil price, or at least return some profit earned by operators to passenger by not increasing the fares.

However Raymond Lim treated residents like moron and said the previous fare hikes have nothing to do with oil. It has to do with quality and efficiency of transport services.

Did I not hear wrongly that every time when there are Transport fares increase, that Conman Lim will said due to HIIGH OPERATIONS COSTS. So oil price is not part of operation costs?

We Singaporean are cheated again!

none of these would have happened when there's real competition out there. a true public transport company challenging this SMRT, you see the prices will drop or not? :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

pia

Mr Lim elaborated: "There are only two persons who pay when it comes to public transport fares. One, I use - I pay. Or two, I use - you help me subsidise my ride. What happens when you subsidise my rides? That means the taxpayers are now paying."

:oIo: Lim. Always the people to Pay and Pay. What about reducing your greed for ever-increasing proftiteering by the tranport companies to feed your masters?? :mad:

oli9

Mr Lim said: "The money still must come from somewhere, right? It is about a 1.5 percentage point increase of your GST. So, now it is 7%. You want it to be free, do you want the GST to go up to 8.5% to run a completely free bus and train system?"
=========================================================

This vagina mouth Lim must have failed his maths.
http://www.smrt.com.sg/Upload/20087251783792978.pdf
SMRT's unaudited Apr-Jun08 NPBT is at S$40million!!!!! And its not accumulated!! Just for Q2 2008 itself!!!! What has GST got to do with providing free transport system? Did anyone asked for free rides? NOOO!!!!! The public is asking for a dare reduction. Dont tell me his ears has cancerous growth????

DrPanacea

Increased fares are due to increased cost in manpower, especially top execs salaries in the transport companies. Of course oil prices has an impact. The MRT has to pay for higher electricity to run the trains and the bus for higher priced fuel. But once they increase the fares they are not ready to bring it down.

Remember boss of NTUC comfort received S$1.4M bonus and multi million MRT head.

RL thinks we are fools, but he is the real fool who can't fool us.

Einfield

You must be mad to suggest putting a cap on profit for listed companies. :p

Then you must be mad to allow politicians to interfere with what listed companies with their business right?

So is this a listed company or not?

johnsgp1

Con News Asia: Raymond lim visited residents who requested for reduction in transport fares due to plunging oil price, or at least return some profit earned by operators to passenger by not increasing the fares.

However Raymond Lim treated residents like moron and said the previous fare hikes have nothing to do with oil. It has to do with quality and efficiency of transport services.

Did I not hear wrongly that every time when there are Transport fares increase, that Conman Lim will said due to HIIGH OPERATIONS COSTS. So oil price is not part of operation costs?

I dun believe he has the guts to say such nonsense.....he shld look into how much cost saving the transport operators could save with the recent drop in the petrol/diesel price and how to pass that savings to us. And not turn ard and tell us that the increase will be at least 40% if the transport operators follow the trend of the oil price earlier this year...he is not protecting the interest of the man on the street...he is protecting the interest of those companies that are earning big bucks from us...
When they want to increase the price, they cited oil price as the main component of the raising cost, but when as to reduce price, oil becomes a secondary factor..
Please dun treat us like sheep, we shld not be manipulated by such politicians...

johnsgp1

By the way, this is a classic example of arrogant politicians at their stupidity...treating themselves as a class higher than the rest...

congo9

By the way, this is a classic example of arrogant politicians at their stupidity...treating themselves as a class higher than the rest...
Still you want to vote for all these greedy bastard who take your money but in turn fleece more money from you !

Few months ago : Fare increase is due to fuel and operating cost
fast forward now : Fare increase is not due to operating cost !

CCB : What kind of Bastard Minister does PAP produce ?

alvin36

I WOULD LIKE TO NOMINAE THIS TO BE THE JOKE OR THE YEAR :

"This is because the public transport fare is not directly linked to the oil prices. We link it to national factors, like the inflation level in Singapore, and the wage level in the whole of Singapore."

and MR RAYMOND LIM to be the JOKER OF THE YEAR in Singapore :oIo:

oli9

I WOULD LIKE TO NOMINAE THIS TO BE THE JOKE OR THE YEAR :

"This is because the public transport fare is not directly linked to the oil prices. We link it to national factors, like the inflation level in Singapore, and the wage level in the whole of Singapore."

and MR RAYMOND LIM to be the JOKER OF THE YEAR in Singapore :oIo:

RAYMOND MANGY LIM has got to be the current most hated figure in Spore right now. I shudder to think all those curses flying to him will cause him to accelerate any tumour in him.