Not that bad leh.... There are a lot of factors to consider. The situation is not so bleak. Planning well in advance and seizing opportunities at the right time is important. There are always pockets of such opportunities.
SG has opportunities for investment. It's very conducive to make money if we know how to. That's why we need to innovate and keep up to date. If not, why would multi millionaires or even billionaires want to settle here? We can throw a few names already.
As for commoners, you must bring up your children well. They do well in their studies, naturally good jobs will await them. And they can do well.
For parents, no matter how poor, they will have CPF money and at least a HDB flat to pass down when they leave the world. That is quite substantial already.
For those savvy ones who plan well ahead, they probably got several other investments to also pass down.
The problem is with those Singaporeans who don't do anything, don't want to learn new things, don't want to keep up to date with the latest, don't want to plan ahead, then when the cost of living goes up, they complain mother father "Wah lao, why everything in Singapore so expensive? Can only go to Iskandar to buy my property." (No intention of insult or anything... just citing as an example.)
But this is where the irony lies.
When Singapore becomes more and more expensive, your investments also go up in value. How do you think one can rent out his HDB flat and get good rental income? Or when you sell your flat, how do you think you can make good profits?
If you don't plan, don't want to seek opportunities to make money when they come, it is pointless to complain or paint a bleak picture that Singapore is dying or is a gonner. If you mix around with the rich people in SG, you will realize how much confidence and how much prospect it has with the large business corporations.
I believe that most people would have some plans for the future, though some times plans can be vague..agar agar plan to do this and that kind. Anyway, some of us make definite choices that do not really put financials as top priority. For example, for my family we decided to just live on one income. To many in Singapore this is crazy because it means giving up one university graduate earnings. And perhaps this is the reason why I am still a peasant today. Sometimes I wish we have double incomes, but perhaps that might have traded off my wife involvement with kids at their growing up years. Anyway, since we already decided to live on one income, we just have to stick with it, even the peasant consequences. Time will tell if this "investment" will reap a better ROI. One of the good things (well, in my view anyway) for our move to JB is that I can leave more than just one HDB behind, I can now leave behind (hopefully) two freehold properties to my kids, though they are far from fully paid up. Not luxurious properties by any SG standard but I guess it's adequate enough for us (mai hiam buay pai lah) Being a salaried worker and just one earner, I probably cannot seek my fortunes in SG, but next door JB could just be a ticket to seeking a mini fortune.:p