Come on lah, get real, even Singapore Sentosa property prices drop the most.
I openly give well wishes to PH owners only... im no future teller....
Come on lah, get real, even Singapore Sentosa property prices drop the most.
I must admit I am not well versed in international law. I know that China officially received the surrender of SCS islands from Japan in accordance with the ww2 surrender documents signed. As I understand, historical basis is one of main precedents in deciding many past island disputes by international court. UNCLOS provides legal basis and guide to mainly deciding eez and territorial water. UNCLOS has no jurisdiction over sovereignty dispute of islands. I wonder what basis philippines and vietnam have in claiming SCS islands if they don't use historical basis? It would be curious to know what basis europeans have to claim Americas, Australia, NZ,...; and US claim over Hawaii, British over Diego Garcia, Falklands,...
My read is historical basis is used in cases where no better or practicable basis is available like international agreements such as the legal precedents that exist today. Surely europeans could not be asked to return Americas, Australia, nz,.... to the natives of the places bases on historical basis.
I won't comment again, or we'll definitely be rapped across the hands for straying off topic! You can only claim an EEZ if islands are inhabited...Being as these were submerged, they certainly were not. Therefore you can only claim 'territorial waters' which amount to an area surrounding the marine feature of 12 miles only around it. I don't think anyone can reasonably claim that China announcing the entire South China sea as theirs is reasonable on that basis.
Yeah - Hawaii is a strange one...
Falklands get to be British as all the inhabitants universally declared a desire to be British...which the League of Nations and now UN decide to be the 'right to self determination'. Your points on Australia, New Zealand and America are spot-on. In the modern world, no-one would describe a land-grab like that as just or fair. That's why a modern day grab seems to be something of a throwback. The Europeans aren't claiming America, Australia or New Zealand, they are their own entities which have since been 'colonized', much as China is colonizing Tibet with Han Chinese. I don't think many Europeans would proud of what happened in those areas.
Last night my mother went square dancing with her cats.
At Puteri Harbour?
No, in Me*Bourne, oops yes, yes I mean Puteri Harbour, heng still not off-topic, phew!
i thot last mth was 13 14 now 17, waytogo
Imperia took approximately 1.5 yrs to complete construction and TOP, after the building was erected to the top level (35th storey skydeck).
Just sharing.
Been watching Marco Polo on Netflix, produced at Pinetree Studios, nice work.
I think 2016 will be tough, oil economies such as Malaysia will have a hard time. Property prices will suffer, but I am in for personal use and long term, there will always be bad years and cycles, I will wait it out. 2024-26 is my timeline, oil will be back hopefully the high speed rail is done, I can decide keep it and fully live then retire here, or sell and retire back in North America (not all my decision though)
Happy 2016 the year Teega is to be complete (I hope for 3-4 months delay but it does not appear that will happen). But though it will be a tough year, I look forward to progress in PH, private marina built, yacht club started, now I guess is time to decide, join golf course or yacht club.... Happy 2016 to whatever it will bring, it is just one year in many to come for me.
By end 2018 we should be seeing some more condos being TOP such as the sea fronting SMR and PCC. The private marina clubhouse to be managed by One 15 will be ready alongside the Convention Centre. However I wont be surprised if they are ready in 2020. By then we hope to know what is in store in the empty land currently occupied by the open air carpark.
Its exciting just to be thinking of it. Of course, critics can give any comments they like. From day 1 when me and a group of investors friends drove into PH at 3am one night in 2009 or 2010, none of the buildings along the Medini main road were completed. Its a lonely, errie drive to PH entrance and one cant even enter PH. And I still remember we see a few WILD BOARs running around looking for breakfast just within the ROUNDAbout leading to PH!!
LEGOLAND is not even completed. PH was just a huge chunk of bare land except for one miserable guard who was enjoying his easy paycheck.
How times files! In 5-7 years years time only, soooo many amazing structures are up and some are on-going. From a 1 man area it has become a thousand who thronged it every other day and night.
In another 5-7 years time, the 2nd wave is coming and my fellow PH investors friends ( many of whom are stationed around Malaysia ) just cant wait. Good news are coming in every other month.
At the other side of JB, grim news are grabbing the headlines. MRT break downs la, dying patients had to lie and die along govt hospital corridors la, commuters being squeezed out of mrts and buses during peak hour la.. not enough houses and suddenly too many houses la etc. Tiger airway ( national budget carrier ) kena screwed and bashed badly by Airasia and had to be bailed out by SIA la. SIA also suffering from poor profits la... PSA volumes dropping by shit every other month etc etc. Many years ago, SIA and PSA were #1. No horse run. Now even the textbooks don't dare to mention liao. At this rate the volumes are dropping, in another 20-30 years time PSA and SIA is just an ordinary seaport and airlines. So they better buck up and reverse their fortunes.
So sorry to state the stats and the truth here. Many loyal Singaporeans here I can sense are grabbing their SAR21 to point at me. But you know what, the truth sometimes hurts.
Its really sad just to think how these past 5-10 years has changed the lives of people in a First World country.
Of course, as a loyal Singaporean, who would be happy and still smile at your comments, especialy the last part.
All along, I like this thread because it does not pinpoint on nationalities. Any further discussions in a wrong direction might not be healthy.
Both side need each other, either side fail does not make the other side better.