• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PUB now resorts to lies and semantics - where got flood? It is just "ponding" - KNN

Re: PUB now resorts to lies and semantics - where got flood? It is just "ponding" - K

Today only light drizzle, so no Ponding.. Lets wait for tommorow's Super Sunday and see whether there'll be any Christmas Ponding or not..

You mean Christmas Pudding after Christmas?

Re: PUB now resorts to lies and semantics - where got flood? It is just "ponding" - K

You mean Christmas Pudding after Christmas?

Will have Christmas pudding at home.. But it would be interesting to see of any ''ponding'' on the streets tommorow in case of heavy rain.. :D

What do you think is called Rhetorical Masturbation?
:cool::cool:

Re: Yacoob have ingeniously solved the flooding problem

PUB is right. Singaporeans are too weak, too fragile, too sheltered.

A little of PONDING, they panic!!!

Just look at those massive FLOODINGS in Thailand , Australia and in China.

We are really nothing - just masak masak PONDING......well done!!!!PONDING...!!!

Singaporeans never panic leh..they are happy to see this because it only happens once in 50 years and also got chance to fck the miws.
As a matter of fact Bangkok tourist belt was not flooded, thanks to Ying Luck quick decisions to use sand bags.
We are worse than Thailand, our tourist belt got hit so badly.

Now comparing flood in other countries is subjective, most of them occured in their country sides where people are poorer and have inadequate or no proper drainages.

In Singapore our standard of living is much higher and our land is tiny comparing to the others. Our livelihood depends on the central business district and the tourist belt in Orchard Rd. The consequences and damages caused by a flood depends on where it happens. If it happens in Lim Chu Kang the dollars and cents will be smaller than if it happens in Orchard or Marina Sands.

A car on the road can afford to have many minor accidents but an aeroplane in the air cannot afford a single minor accident.

A Ponding in Singapore is nothing but just an awakening...nothing to panic..

Let's us see the effectiveness of our flood control barrage in the years ahead.

Singaporeans never panic leh..they are happy to see this because it only happens once in 50 years and also got chance to fck the miws.
As a matter of fact Bangkok tourist belt was not flooded, thanks to Ying Luck quick decisions to use sand bags.
We are worse than Thailand, our tourist belt got hit so badly.

Now comparing flood in other countries is subjective, most of them occured in their country sides where people are poorer and have inadequate or no proper drainages.

In Singapore our standard of living is much higher and our land is tiny comparing to the others. Our livelihood depends on the central business district and the tourist belt in Orchard Rd. The consequences and damages caused by a flood depends on where it happens. If it happens in Lim Chu Kang the dollars and cents will be smaller than if it happens in Orchard or Marina Sands.

A car on the road can afford to have many minor accidents but an aeroplane in the air cannot afford a single minor accident.

A Ponding in Singapore is nothing but just an awakening...nothing to panic..

Let's us see the effectiveness of our flood control barrage in the years ahead.

Some civil engineers I spoken with said the term "ponding" is not used in such situations where the submersion is due directly to water flowing into the building from the roads and drains. According to them, "ponding" in the construction industry refers to puddles of water accumulating on the floor (such as in a car park) due to the floor being uneven. Such puddles of water usually result from some rain splashing into the building through the open windows but not those water flowing in from the roads or drains. That is simply called flooding.

can prawning in ponding anot ?

Some civil engineers I spoken with said the term "ponding" is not used in such situations where the submersion is due directly to water flowing into the building from the roads and drains. According to them, "ponding" in the construction industry refers to puddles of water accumulating on the floor (such as in a car park) due to the floor being uneven. Such puddles of water usually result from some rain splashing into the building through the open windows but not those water flowing in from the roads or drains. That is simply called flooding.

The reason PUB uses the word Ponding was to soften the blow for the old man and it back fired. Ha...ha

1. Just google "ponding pictures". A picture worth a thousand words:D

ponding [′pänd·iŋ]
(building construction)
An accumulation of water on a flat roof because of clogged or inadequate drains.
(civil engineering)
The impoundment of stream water to form a pond.
Covering the surface of newly poured concrete with a thin layer of water to promote curing.
(hydrology)
The natural formation of a pond in a stream by an interruption of the normal streamflow.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms, 6E, Copyright © 2003 by The McGraw-Hill Companies, Inc.

ponding
(Civil Engineering) 1. The impoundment of stream water to form a pond. 2. Covering the surface of newly poured concrete with a thin layer of water to promote curing.

another small house call big house. want to know what is flood, see thailand. Now that is a flood.

every time it rain in venice, the people get the feet wet, they build wooden path for walking. but people did not complain and tourists keep coming

can prawning in ponding anot ?

You can catch prawns in these ponding, I give you a prize; most likely you make get those, brown or dark coloured 'submarines'.:D in case you don't know, they are related to SHT.

Will our resident english coach Leongsam please come
in to explain to us the real meaning of ponding?

Any body of water less than 31 metres deep and less than 250,000 m[SUP]2[/SUP] in area definitely qualifies being called a pond.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walden_Pond

If you give details regarding the depth and area covered by water as a result of this recent deluge, I'll try my best to give a definitive answer.

If it walk like a duck, quacks like a duck ........

The reason PUB uses the word Ponding was to soften the blow for the old man and it back fired. Ha...ha
Not so long ago, Mahathir sensing Singapore is thirsty for water, demanded that their water price revised from 3 cents per 1000 gallons to $10. Wiseman LKY was faced with a challenge for the country. We all know he's never one to give up. Even the Indons wanted to do us in by suddenly stopping supply of sand and granite to build Marina Bay Sand and reclaim Tuas and P Tekong - they did not succeed. Face with such a challenge, Wiseman LKY will rise even if he is being lowered - such is his dedication to the country. He has showed us that S'poreans need to be resilent. Singapore will never be held to ransom.

To show Mahathir that we can have more water if need be, he offered a million dollars to anyone who can creatively produce water. So the rivers are dammed and turned into lakes. Monsoon drains and canals became elongated reservoirs. Waste water became NeWater - cleaner than tapwater. Marina Bay was created out of the sea, and then turned into a fresh-water reservoir within the CBD - a feat seen in few countries. If need be, Orchard Road can also be temporarily ponded to create more storage. Mahathir was defeated.

So don't blame the gahment. They have our welfare in mind - think of the long term, think of the big picture, think of the unexpected. Ask ourselves, have my flats ever get flooded like the houses in Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, Philippines, China, Australia and many more countries? Have we got to activate emergency teams to rescue tourists and S'poreans in Orchard Road? Have we to put Orchard Road residents in emergency shelters? Do we need to bring in emergency food and medical supply? Do you see our PM and Minister Yaccob sitting in a sampan bringing medical supplies and giving moral support to residents in Orchard Road?

If the answer is no, then we must thank the gahment. What's a little ponding? Make the best of the situation and find a creative way to entertain yourself - like these people holding on to Starbuck coffee and navigating through obstacles in Orchard Road.
20111223.181808_liat_flood.jpg

During the last flood we had the orchard river......
Yesterday we had the orchard pond....
what other bodies of water to be created to complete the list? Lake Orchard on the way....

If the answer is no, then we must thank the gahment. What's a little ponding? Make the best of the situation and find a creative way to entertain yourself

You are so used to being pounded in the ass by the PAP for such a long time that only people like you are capable of writing such a long essay like this in praise of the PAP..:rolleyes::rolleyes: Keep on bending for the PAP, my dear Myo359..:p

During the last flood we had the orchard river......
Yesterday we had the orchard pond....
what other bodies of water to be created to complete the list? Lake Orchard on the way....

1. hahaha!
2. orchard river, orchard pond.
3. the next one: orchard waterfall. i bet on it!

>>>To show Mahathir that we can have more water if need be, he offered a million dollars to anyone who can creatively produce water. So the rivers are dammed and turned into lakes. Monsoon drains and canals became elongated reservoirs. Waste water became NeWater - cleaner than tapwater. Marina Bay was created out of the sea, and then turned into a fresh-water reservoir within the CBD - a feat seen in few countries. If need be, Orchard Road can also be temporarily ponded to create more storage. Mahathir was defeated.<<<

LKY did it out of personal spite rather than the welfare of the people. Singaporeans drinking each other's urine and shit....that's welfare? What about the about the costs of re-conditioning the sewage water compared to a few ringgit per 1000gal? Did the government, for the welfare of the people bear the costs?

Singapore water agreement with Malaysia is still in force, i.e. 3 Malaysian Cents per 1000gal and how much PUB bills you?

Being the payers for the water, the citizens of Singapore should have the choice to drink either Malaysian water or shitt water but LKY chose the latter ... the welfare of Singaporeans?

If you want to quote a para, use the "quote" function by selecting the text and clicking on the icon on the extreme right of the top of the message pane.

Leongsam said:
Any body of water less than 31 metres deep and less than 250,000 m[SUP]2[/SUP] in area definitely qualifies being called a pond.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walden_Pond

If you give details regarding the depth and area covered by water as a result of this recent deluge, I'll try my best to give a definitive answer.

I have doubt on your comprehension. Although the name is Walden Pond, it is clearly indicated that it is a lake with exactly the dimensions you have indicated but that does not mean that anything smaller than that is automatically a pond.