• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Prosecutors Fucked up, Angmo who whacked cabby to get retrial after found guilty

Sinkies got such a chance or not? Found guilty already and send to jail, can get retrial one. So, did the DPP fuck up? Their "eyewitneses" were lying?

SINGAPORE - A Norwegian who has served more than half his 10-week jail term after admitting to choking a taxi driver, paid the victim $30,000 and lost his job, has been given a chance to defend himself in a retrial.

This comes after two Singaporean men came forward to say that the cabby was actually the aggressor.

The High Court heard on Friday how Mr Mohamed Ayub Shaik Dawood and his friend Roslan Zainal witnessed the altercation last September at Circular Road.

When Mr Ayub read a newspaper report on the case, he was surprised that 50-year-old Arne Corneliussen was jailed while 46-year-old cabby Chan Chuan Heng, whom he saw throwing a punch, escaped punishment.

He sought out Corneliussen's lawyer and he and his friend have since filed affidavits on their account of what happened.

Corneliussen's lawyer, Mr Terence Seah, said his client had pleaded guilty because he was too drunk to remember the details of the fight and the police had eyewitness accounts that he had attacked Mr Chan.

Given the "exceptional turn of events", the prosecution did not object to Corneliussen's conviction and sentence being quashed and the case sent back to the State Courts for a retrial.

Deputy Public Prosecutor Wong Kok Weng stressed that this did not mean that the earlier conviction was wrong. He pointed out that the two new witnesses were not at the scene when police arrived and did not come forward during investigations.

Two passersby who had pulled Corneliussen away from Mr Chan told police that they saw the Norwegian chasing the cabby and choking him, said the DPP.

But Mr Ayub said he saw Mr Chan punch Corneliussen on the left side of his head, causing the latter to squat down in a daze.

When Corneliussen asked the cabby why he had hit him, Mr Chan tried to run away. After a few short chases to and from the taxi, Corneliussen caught up with Mr Chan and pinned him down, before being pulled away.

Mr Roslan did not see the punch but heard a loud smacking sound, after which he saw the cabby, arms akimbo, standing over Corneliussen, who was squatting with his hands covering his face.
- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...-defend-himself-retrial-#sthash.Dgez0oTV.dpuf

So it turned out that the sinkie cabby lied all along. He didn't tell the court that he started the fight and hit the good white man.

The testimony of a white man definitely has more credibility.

methink

Foreigners get retrial. Sinkies get locked up and the key thrown away. In other words, dun expect a retrial for the new evidences will be thrown into the waste basket!

methink

If you say so. You're obviously speaking from experience. :rolleyes:

Boss, I am speaking from experience. I won't have my cases re-trialed. The judges really biased. Would have won my cases if under a different judge.

I have seen this biasness in our national airline SIA. Some call it the pinkerton syndrome. Sadly this syndrome also extends to the establishments of Spore :(

In the early years this attitude was common because the whites were masters of Spore. However with the PAP taking control they never tried to change attitudes. Maybe it was because they sold out Spore & sporeans to the angmos, japanese, europeans,... They wanted a compliant society & not an independant free thinking populace.

methink

You are very correct! Could have made this place one of the best.. most admired democratic state in the world. But they went the way of the fascists.

You could have a retrial if the new evidence would fundamentally change the nature of the case. For this case, it turned out that it was the sinkie who assaulted the Caucasian passenger but found himself overpowered, rather than a Caucasian starting a fight and beating up a cabby in a drunken rage over a fare dispute.

The court should not pardon or jail a person simply because of their race and religion. That's what enabled Singapore to rise from Third World to First within a single generation.

methink

The court should not pardon or jail a person simply because of their race and religion. That's what enabled Singapore to rise from Third World to First within a single generation.

How about jailing ppl with different political views? Is this First World?

You could have a retrial if the new evidence would fundamentally change the nature of the case. For this case, it turned out that it was the sinkie who assaulted the Caucasian passenger but found himself overpowered, rather than a Caucasian starting a fight and beating up a cabby in a drunken rage over a fare dispute.

The evidence hasn't fundamentally changed, you fucktard. That is why the DPP Is a fucktard too. The angmor did chase the cabby after the cabby whacked him, and did attack him and drop him to the ground where he choked the cabby. The witnesses testified to this already.

The part about the cabby whacking him first is irrelevant to his sentence. The proper thing to do for him was to report the cabby to the police and have the police arrest the cabby and the DPP press charges against the cabby. There is no provision in the penal code for you to take the law into your own hands and chase the cabby down and whack him. By doing so, you have committed aggravated assault. And you yourself could be prosecuted.

In this case, no retrial is necessary. with the new information, the angmo's lawyer should file an appeal for a shorter sentence by claiming there was mitigating circumstances. He might be released or have a shorter sentence. What the DPP should have done was to file charges against the cabby.

Come now... we don't want to escalate this into a diplomatic issue, do we? What if Norway imposes a trade embargo of Norwegian salmon? We'll be doomed! :eek:

Sinkie cabbies are a dime a dozen, and can be easily replaced with FTs. Norwegian salmon, on the other hand, cannot be easily substituted.

Come now... we don't want to escalate this into a diplomatic issue, do we? What if Norway imposes a trade embargo of Norwegian salmon? We'll be doomed! :eek:

Sinkie cabbies are a dime a dozen, and can be easily replaced with FTs. Norwegian salmon, on the other hand, cannot be easily substituted.

If they stopped shipping tall Norwegian blondes here for PAPsmearer to fuck, then I understand. But that's not happening now, so no loss to me. They can embargo all they want. I switch to canadian salmon.

The evidence hasn't fundamentally changed, you fucktard. That is why the DPP Is a fucktard too. The angmor did chase the cabby after the cabby whacked him, and did attack him and drop him to the ground where he choked the cabby. The witnesses testified to this already.

The part about the cabby whacking him first is irrelevant to his sentence. The proper thing to do for him was to report the cabby to the police and have the police arrest the cabby and the DPP press charges against the cabby. There is no provision in the penal code for you to take the law into your own hands and chase the cabby down and whack him. By doing so, you have committed aggravated assault. And you yourself could be prosecuted.

In this case, no retrial is necessary. with the new information, the angmo's lawyer should file an appeal for a shorter sentence by claiming there was mitigating circumstances. He might be released or have a shorter sentence. What the DPP should have done was to file charges against the cabby.

Somebody hits you, you report to police. Somebody steals your candy, you go to ntuc. Is that the sinkie way? That's why i stay away from sinkies.

Good white man? Chinese dog hopefully you get beaten to half an inch of your life left by a good white man.

numero uno

How wrong you are. There is a thing called mitigating circumstances and self defence, cabby started the fight first. Knew all sinkies cabbies are liars, cowards and cheaters, called police after losing fight, can charge cabby with giving false testimony or report, at least mat got decency to stand up for what is right