• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Private property owner wheel-clamps car and demands $500 from driver

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...-wheel-clamps-car-and-demands-500-from-driver

Is it possible to actually purchase a portion of a road.

STOMPer K found his car wheel-clamped by a private property owner who demanded $500 as the removal fee.
The STOMPer had parked for 15 minutes at a double-yellow line in front of a terrace house at Jalan Mas Puteh while he collected food from a nearby restaurant.
Wrote STOMPer K:
"This happened at Jalan Mas Puteh at about 7.45pm on August 3.
"I parked my car in front of this terrace house as I went to collect my food from one restaurant that I had made a phone order from.
"As it was a busy Saturday, my food took longer then usual.
"About 15 minutes later, I walked back to my car and I noticed it had been wheel-clamped.
"When I tried to find out who wheel-clamped it, one old man came out and demanded $500. I was dumbfounded.
"Then he pointed to a signboard stating, 'Private property. Wheel clamp removal fee $500.'
"Then I told him I came here to collect my food and I didn't know it's a private road as it did have normal road markings (double-yellow lines).
"He still demanded I pay him $500.
"I called the police in, and I was shocked when the police also told me that they had indeed bought that portion of the road last year.
"I was not the only car that had been wheel-clamped before. "Apparently, about 20 cars before me have been wheel-clamped and the police are unable to assist.
"I demanded a receipt, but i was instead given this pathetic letter.
"So dear STOMPers, beware where you park."
something fishy about it. sounds more like extortion. if it is private, why have double yellow lines? LTA does not paint yellow lines on private properties. either the house owners are bullsh!tting or they must have paint it themselves which then is against the law as you cannot piant double yellow lines on private road. Only the LTA and garmen can as it is covers by legislation.. hence either way they the owners are breaking the law. hope somebody bring this up to LTA

You can paint rainbows and unicorns on your private property if you want to BUT, letting the public use it makes it a different story.

either the house owners are bullsh!tting or they must have paint it themselves which then is against the law as you cannot piant double yellow lines on private road. Only the LTA and garmen can as it is covers by legislation..

Please, show me the article of law that says that private road owners may not paint double yellow lines on their private road. You won't be able to find it because obviously you made it up.

The double yellow lines were probably just left there after the residents bought over the road.

Re: Your grandfather's road meh ???

Vigilante justice is not in permitted in the law books in SG. You may as well say, I fine you $50,000 plus one night with your wife. What goes around will come around.
Wonder what the residents will do if a sinkhole appears on their door step? Seek re-compense amongst themselves?

The house owner should build a ERP gate too ...

do your research before you talk cock like some stupid fool. here is the fact. eat your heart out.
it is the law for public road. so if they say it is private then why are they allowed to use public laws??? It is akin to putting a police stop sign or traffic lights outside your house when you are not the garmen.
I know because I used to work in AG chambers.

http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/aol/sear...c15c78" Status:inforce Depth:0;rec=0#pr22-he-.

see point 22
No person shall park a vehicle —
(a)
on any road between the edge of a roadway and any portion of an unbroken white line or unbroken double white lines laid down on such road;
(b)
on any road where unbroken double yellow lines are laid down, from the point where such lines commence to the point they en

Why the fuck would any group of residents want to buy a road?
And be forced to deal with maintenance and other issues
When the road could have remained public and all were happy
If only the damned fucking useless Sinkie police would do their job
Catching and punishing inconsiderate Sinkies who park in front
Of other people’s houses and to hell with inconvenience for others
The source of the problem is crystal clear to those who aren’t blind
And it is Sinkie police’s incompetence and fuck care attitude

改朝换代告别腐败!

Please, show me the article of law that says that private road owners may not paint double yellow lines on their private road. You won't be able to find it because obviously you made it up.

The double yellow lines were probably just left there after the residents bought over the road.
do your research before you talk cock like some stupid fool. here is the fact. eat your heart out.
it is the law for public road. so if they say it is private then why are they allowed to use public laws??? It is akin to putting a stop sign, zig zag lines or traffic lights outside your house when you are not the garmen. better still built your own ERP and extort from every one using garmen law.
there are roads gazetted by garmen as no parking hence double yellow lines. Garmen does not bother with private roads. hence the double yellow lines are like "scare crows" if it is private road since LTA or TP cannot fine you and is an abuse of official Road Traffic Act (see below).
I know because I used to work in AG chambers dealing with simpletons like you. enjoyed making such arrogant people eat thier words. once you show them in black and white and fine them , they start apologising and plead ignorance or stupidity!!!!! sure makes my day
http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/aol/sear...c15c78" Status:inforce Depth:0;rec=0#pr22-he-.

see point 22
(a)
on any road between the edge of a roadway and any portion of an unbroken white line or unbroken double white lines laid down on such road;
(b)
on any road where unbroken double yellow lines are laid down, from the point where such lines commence to the point they end

double yellow line is a government gazzetted legislation. Not any Tom dick or harry can simple paint double yellow line or bend traffic legislations to suit their needs.

Simply from this post one can see HOW daft and ignorant the common Sinkie are.

This is NOT the only PRIVATE ROAD that looked like some road maintained by the Pappy.

Over at the posh area off Mountbatten there is also such a road that looked like what you ppl think is your "GRAND FATHER'S ROAD' but there is also a sign that warn or indicated, depending on how a daft Sinkie want to take it as, a private road. There are also some roads that looked like any other road but for these owners they had gated that road so to prevent access.

Some Sinkie would say, Hey I did not know that this road was a PRIVATE ROAD!

Sure, for daft Sinkie you can jolly try the road at Oxley and see what will happen to you! LOL

Re: Your grandfather's road meh ???

instead of kpkb on the house owner, reflect how would you feel when strangers keep chaining their bike on front of your door, blocking your way 24/7. i personally think it within the landowners' rights to clamp any tresspaser vehicles.

but i would prefer to spend a bit of money, call a tow truck, pay the tow truck to tow the offending vehicle to tuas roadside URA parking lot. let it acummulate parking tickets while the owner search for his/her vehicle.

As I said you cannot take the law into your own hands*no matter how justified you feel. Who set the wheel clamping rule and penalty of $500? Why not make it $5000 to ensure deterrence?

As jw5 said your family and residence is known. If you meet a guy who is in a desperate mood or somehow feels severely wronged, that guy knows how to get u. What goes around comes around

it is the law for public road. so if they say it is private then why are they allowed to use public laws??? It is akin to putting a stop sign, zig zag lines or traffic lights outside your house when you are not the garmen. better still built your own ERP and extort from every one using garmen law.
there are roads gazetted by garmen as no parking hence double yellow lines. Garmen does not bother with private roads. hence the double yellow lines are like "scare crows" if it is private road since LTA or TP cannot fine you and is an abuse of official Road Traffic Act (see below).
I know because I used to work in AG chambers dealing with simpletons like you. enjoyed making such arrogant people eat thier words. once you show them in black and white and fine them , they start apologising and plead ignorance or stupidity!!!!! sure makes my day

see point 22
(a)
(b)
on any road where unbroken double yellow lines are laid down, from the point where such lines commence to the point they end

double yellow line is a government gazzetted legislation. Not any Tom dick or harry can simple paint double yellow line or bend traffic legislations to suit their needs.

The fellow claims the SPF told him they bought part of the road, maybe they bought a small strip to paint the double yellow lines? So if car is parked on the line, parking attendant can summon, the rest of the car can get the wheel clamp. Huat ah!

But seriously, what would you do if you face a similar situation?
1) Beat the owner up? Go jail for a couple weeks
2) Get a tow truck?
3) Send a lawyer letter?
4) Call reporters go interview?

KNN the SPF is so useless, refuse to interfere.