• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Private property owner wheel-clamps car and demands $500 from driver

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...-wheel-clamps-car-and-demands-500-from-driver

Is it possible to actually purchase a portion of a road.

STOMPer K found his car wheel-clamped by a private property owner who demanded $500 as the removal fee.
The STOMPer had parked for 15 minutes at a double-yellow line in front of a terrace house at Jalan Mas Puteh while he collected food from a nearby restaurant.
Wrote STOMPer K:
"This happened at Jalan Mas Puteh at about 7.45pm on August 3.
"I parked my car in front of this terrace house as I went to collect my food from one restaurant that I had made a phone order from.
"As it was a busy Saturday, my food took longer then usual.
"About 15 minutes later, I walked back to my car and I noticed it had been wheel-clamped.
"When I tried to find out who wheel-clamped it, one old man came out and demanded $500. I was dumbfounded.
"Then he pointed to a signboard stating, 'Private property. Wheel clamp removal fee $500.'
"Then I told him I came here to collect my food and I didn't know it's a private road as it did have normal road markings (double-yellow lines).
"He still demanded I pay him $500.
"I called the police in, and I was shocked when the police also told me that they had indeed bought that portion of the road last year.
"I was not the only car that had been wheel-clamped before. "Apparently, about 20 cars before me have been wheel-clamped and the police are unable to assist.
"I demanded a receipt, but i was instead given this pathetic letter.
"So dear STOMPers, beware where you park."

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...-wheel-clamps-car-and-demands-500-from-driver

Is it possible to actually purchase a portion of a road.

STOMPer K found his car wheel-clamped by a private property owner who demanded $500 as the removal fee.
The STOMPer had parked for 15 minutes at a double-yellow line in front of a terrace house at Jalan Mas Puteh while he collected food from a nearby restaurant.
Wrote STOMPer K:
"This happened at Jalan Mas Puteh at about 7.45pm on August 3.
"I parked my car in front of this terrace house as I went to collect my food from one restaurant that I had made a phone order from.
"As it was a busy Saturday, my food took longer then usual.
"About 15 minutes later, I walked back to my car and I noticed it had been wheel-clamped.
"When I tried to find out who wheel-clamped it, one old man came out and demanded $500. I was dumbfounded.
"Then he pointed to a signboard stating, 'Private property. Wheel clamp removal fee $500.'
"Then I told him I came here to collect my food and I didn't know it's a private road as it did have normal road markings (double-yellow lines).
"He still demanded I pay him $500.
"I called the police in, and I was shocked when the police also told me that they had indeed bought that portion of the road last year.
"I was not the only car that had been wheel-clamped before. "Apparently, about 20 cars before me have been wheel-clamped and the police are unable to assist.
"I demanded a receipt, but i was instead given this pathetic letter.
"So dear STOMPers, beware where you park."
Not bad, can make money!! Wonder how much he bought the road for??

Serves him fucking well right!

Make money? He jolly well has to pay for maintaining the road.

Arrogant and inconsiderate Sinkie drivers forced the hands of the residents. Imagine having to pay for land space which you cannot build anything on. When the outsiders parked their cars to patronise the food stall, residents were unable to move their cars in or out of their houses. And the signs are clearly displayed about the use of wheel clamps.

this kwailan lau bastard is damn lucky he didnt get beat up, if he meet a hot tempered aggressive person he might end up lying in a pool of blood or dragged under a car for 1 km

Road can be owned?:D

The old saying "is this your grandfather's road" does hold water after all :D. This has got to be the best investment ever. Imagine just $500 per day works out to be $15k per month. huat ar.
I better check if I can buy the road in front of my house hehe

The old saying "is this your grandfather's road" does hold water after all :D. This has got to be the best investment ever. Imagine just $500 per day works out to be $15k per month. huat ar.
I better check if I can buy the road in front of my house hehe

You will be liable for all road resurfacing and remarking costs, good to own if you are old, may die before said works.

His ta bao food was expensive lunch wonder still got mood to eat?:D

Your grandfather's road meh ???

Owners of eight terraced houses along Jalan Mas Puteh in Clementi put up with illegal parking on their property for years before deciding that they had had enough.

Last November, they put up signs warning trespassers off the property and began clamping the wheels of illegally parked vehicles.

The situation came to a head on Sunday, when an irate motorist posted on citizen journalism portal Stomp that he had been forced to pay $500 to have the clamp on his vehicle removed.

However, the home owners claim that they are well within their rights because the road that runs in front of all eight units is private property.

ST_20130806_LIPUTEH06_3779427e.jpg

Mr Lim, a Jalan Mas Puteh resident, pointing to a sign put up to prevent illegal parking there. -- PHOTO: LIANHE WANBAO

Re: Your grandfather's road meh ???

do they have the right to clamp cars? is it within their jurisdiction?

the road infront of these landed properties also belong to them ??? i really doubt so.....any enlightened lawyer here?

do they have the right to clamp cars? is it within their jurisdiction?

the road infront of these landed properties also belong to them ??? i really doubt so.....any enlightened lawyer here?

Am no lawyer but quite sure road infront of their properties belong to ah kong. But they have the right to tow away your vehicle if you block their entrance. Not sure if they have the right to clamp your car and insist on payment even if you motor vehicle blocks their entrance, especially the payment part.

i think the car owners who parked there were not blocking the entrance. but parking in their "vicinity" irritated them and they often called the police to settle the issue. i know of some private estates which have lines drawn in front of these rich peoples' houses and the traffic police can come and summon illegal parking.

i think for those residents to clamp and to impose a fine - that is a bit too much. this type of policing should be the work of the law enforcers not ferocious residents.

Owners of eight terraced houses along Jalan Mas Puteh in Clementi put up with illegal parking on their property for years before deciding that they had had enough.

Last November, they put up signs warning trespassers off the property and began clamping the wheels of illegally parked vehicles.

The situation came to a head on Sunday, when an irate motorist posted on citizen journalism portal Stomp that he had been forced to pay $500 to have the clamp on his vehicle removed.

However, the home owners claim that they are well within their rights because the road that runs in front of all eight units is private property.

ST_20130806_LIPUTEH06_3779427e.jpg

They should Know better. Land is ah gong one, make police report can claim extortion. i gota relative who own a plot of land many years ago. he built an apartment building + a row of terraces on it, so he have to build a small road in between to allow the terrace access. twenty-thirty years later, a new development build bhind his plot of land and want access. relative say no, road is built on his land thus his private property, ah gong say no, so many years le have this road, road is now ah gongs one. so relative LL have to allow access.

It's a private road, paid for and owned privately by private owners, they were within their rights.

#5..you are right in your case...ah kong's road. private property..

but those residents in jalan mas puteh do not own the road in front of their house. of course the land where their houses stand is theirs lah....

the same thing always happens in upper thomson road areas around thomson plaza....those ngeow residents even come out and stare at you if you park along the road in front of the road....some even have banners to warn motorists that they will summon the police....there are so many makan places there, and no car park!

live and let live lah!!! why so ngeow!!! clamp and fine some more!!! what the fish man!!!

The private property owner who did the wheel clamping obviously doesn't understand about mentality and circumstances.

He may have some justification for doing so, but the people whose wheels are being clamped:
1. know where he and his family live.
2. may not have the mentality and circumstances to simply accept his wheel clamping action and enforced penalties.
For example, he may one day clamp the wheel of someone who is about to be made bankrupt and has just been told he has an incurable illness. Oh, and he has no dependents.

Good luck private property owner, you'll need it. ;)