Don't blame the educational system. If a boy can commit suicide out of fear of parental scolding, its only a matter of time. Exam results are just a convenient trigger.
That "stupid reason" originated from:The PAP and Old Fart - For some stupid reason, they decided that when they took over, it was all going to be a paper chase or nothing. there are no alternatives. Anything using your hand and not in an aircon office was considered an inferior career and one to be avoided.
That's because Singapore was still not a "first world" country back then; so a much greater proportion of Sinkies still had the "农工商" mentality, as I mentioned in my post just above yours.being dumb and stupid was the accepted norm,parents didnt give a shit,all my parents and relatives bragged about getting 17 or 20s in the o levels or being dropouts.no one gave a shit and life went on peacefully.
That's because Singapore was, at that time, still not a "first world" country; so a much greater proportion of Sinkies still had the "农工商" mentality, as I mentioned in my post just above yours.
But after most of the old farmland had been developed into modern residential/commercial/industrial real estate, most of Singapore's food supply and low-skilled manual labourers became imports rather than home-grown products and labourers.
As I've mentioned before in:somehow in the 90s singapore went into this frenzied mode of paper chasing and materialism and the movies like money not enough and im not stupid start popping up.
Did you mean "de-stress"?An example of how different races/group distress themselves.
Yes, my mother was one such parent. :(But the reality is that these parents are the ones loading their kids with tuition all week, make them rote learn
I hope I'm one of the tiny minority of Sinkies who have correctly rebelled (i.e. rebelled in the correct way) against our parents, in order to prevent ourselves from becoming the "product of the shitty decisions" our parents made. :oMost of you turds are the product of the shitty decisions your parents made.
Did you mean "de-stress"?
collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/distress
means "to cause mental pain to; upset badly".
Yeah it was a typo. I was busy trying to avoid using the words advise/advice and I forgot to check the rest of the words. Thanks, buddy.
I hope I'm one of the tiny minority of Sinkies who have correctly rebelled (i.e. rebelled in the correct way) against our parents, in order to prevent ourselves from becoming the "product of the shitty decisions" our parents made. :o
Hug your kids a little tighter. Tell them you love them more and that they mean everything to you.
More than all the exam marks in the world.
Physical punishment for poor grades?
Sadists!
I am broken hearted over this. There is no reason that an 11 year old primary 5 child should want to kill himself. He was failed on so many levels by everyone. No child should be subjected to this type of pressure, every child's life is precious. Another death and yet another lesson not learned by all concerned.
Hug your kids a little tighter. Tell them you love them more and that they mean everything to you.
More than all the exam marks in the world.
If someone from overseas ask me as to where they can get a snapshot of the real Singaporeans, I lead them to SBF. Most of you turds are the product of the shitty decisions your parents made.
An example of how different races/group distress themselves.
1. Mats: Go one corner, play guitar or play football under the void deck. Those most stressed out, will finger their minah gf under the staircase. According to the Chinks, the Ahnehs and Gragoks also do the same. The only difference is that the Gragoks like to borrow money but never return it back.
2. Chinks: Go into lift and try to molest underaged girls or walking around in hdb units in the wee hours to steal panties and bra. Those most stressed out (no age restriction), jump from their windows.
3. SBF forummers: Log into the forum, rub their testicles and blame everyone else (especially PAP, migrants) for their miserable and non existent life. Those most stressed out, will attempt to rape/abuse their maids. If the maid has a different owner, they will attempt to lure her with cheap $30 phone cards and hotel stay (1hr). Of course if you are an inbred taxi driver (hint: Jah..), you will attempt to blame all the shit skin for all the misery singaporeans have created for themselves.
If Singaporeans seriously want to look into the root cause of the problem, let me lead you in the right path. It all stems from the kiasu, kiasi mentality of the Chinese Singaporeans. Yeah I said it. These selfish and self centred mob, equate 10As in exams to perpetual success in life. They don’t see education as a lifelong process. Everything is equated to success, status and more money. And when someone else reaches that success status, they get jealous and take it out on others (e.g. migrants).
Blame the PAP for all its worth for the stressed out education system. But the reality is that these parents are the ones loading their kids with tuition all week, make them rote learn and overdose on brands essence of chicken.
If someone from overseas ask me as to where they can get a snapshot of the real Singaporeans, I lead them to SBF. Most of you turds are the product of the shitty decisions your parents made.
An example of how different races/group distress themselves.
1. Mats: Go one corner, play guitar or play football under the void deck. Those most stressed out, will finger their minah gf under the staircase. According to the Chinks, the Ahnehs and Gragoks also do the same. The only difference is that the Gragoks like to borrow money but never return it back.
2. Chinks: Go into lift and try to molest underaged girls or walking around in hdb units in the wee hours to steal panties and bra. Those most stressed out (no age restriction), jump from their windows.
3. SBF forummers: Log into the forum, rub their testicles and blame everyone else (especially PAP, migrants) for their miserable and non existent life. Those most stressed out, will attempt to rape/abuse their maids. If the maid has a different owner, they will attempt to lure her with cheap $30 phone cards and hotel stay (1hr). Of course if you are an inbred taxi driver (hint: Jah..), you will attempt to blame all the shit skin for all the misery singaporeans have created for themselves.
If Singaporeans seriously want to look into the root cause of the problem, let me lead you in the right path. It all stems from the kiasu, kiasi mentality of the Chinese Singaporeans. Yeah I said it. These selfish and self centred mob, equate 10As in exams to perpetual success in life. They don’t see education as a lifelong process. Everything is equated to success, status and more money. And when someone else reaches that success status, they get jealous and take it out on others (e.g. migrants).
Blame the PAP for all its worth for the stressed out education system. But the reality is that these parents are the ones loading their kids with tuition all week, make them rote learn and overdose on brands essence of chicken.