• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Polytechnic starting pay

MarrickG

My friend who starts off with a diploma start working with a starting pay of $1300 in early 1990s. He later obtains a general degree and now earns about $5000 in the same company.

$3700 difference after 19 years? That is less than $200 increase yearly. Is this good or bad?

they are saying the truth. i am talking about sci graduate from poly. those with zero working experience starting pay if they work in a hospital lab is about 1400. those who manage to find a job as a lab tech etc might be in the range of 1600 to 1800. boys that finished NS if they are lucky maybe 2k.

saf_ranger

they are saying the truth. i am talking about sci graduate from poly. those with zero working experience starting pay if they work in a hospital lab is about 1400. those who manage to find a job as a lab tech etc might be in the range of 1600 to 1800. boys that finished NS if they are lucky maybe 2k.

these are excluding shift allowance or OT pay.

it might be even lower for biz and arts graduates, which mostof the time employed to do clerical work. i had heard of arts grad from nus starting pay for a 1st class honour is only 1700, to few years back a biz grad from ntu accepting 1500 job. of course don't compare those top 5 percent who managed to enter banking and fin. sectors, its better to compare with the majority to see a bigger picture.

funny i got only "O" level but my pay is 4960 sing dollar....and i work oversea ..thks to FT for taking my job..

saf_ranger

these are excluding shift allowance or OT pay.

it might be even lower for biz and arts graduates, which mostof the time employed to do clerical work. i had heard of arts grad from nus starting pay for a 1st class honour is only 1700, to few years back a biz grad from ntu accepting 1500 job. of course don't compare those top 5 percent who managed to enter banking and fin. sectors, its better to compare with the majority to see a bigger picture.

funny i got only "O" level but my pay is 4960 sing dollar....thks to FT .

Equalisation

funny i got only "O" level but my pay is 4960 sing dollar....and i work oversea ..thks to FT for taking my job..

I also got O level but half past six type.

My pay 20 years ago $800. Now my pay also $800 but work two jobs ..... sigghhhh ... really ""gau um dim'' already.:( Some more HDB not building any half-room flat type ....:(

aangsc

I guess poly grad are neither here nor there, so cannot fit into the higher pay bracket and over-qualify for lower level job. Only one word to say "SAD".:mad:
I wonder how long you need to save to buy your 3 rms HDB ?

Equalisation

I guess poly grad are neither here nor there, so cannot fit into the higher pay bracket and over-qualify for lower level job. Only one word to say "SAD".:mad:
I wonder how long you need to save to buy your 3 rms HDB ?

"SAD"should be :( and not :mad:

saf_ranger

ok we get the idea your pay is 4960 thanks to FT (hipee horray). no need say 2 times ok. :biggrin:

sorri i press 2 time,thks to FT for taking away my job.. working out of singapore is much better then here...pay well and well taken care ... now i dont want to return back to this FUCK up country...

Andox

When i graduate in the mid 90s from poly, starting pay was around 1.4K-1.8K , business students. Totally unbelievable that the pay had not went up!!! Seriously wtf progress the stupid govt is talking abt???? Houses price shot up, inflation, ERP etc..pay remain the same, and now have all these wonderful FT to come in......

Use our votes wisely folks come next election!

Equalisation

When i graduate in the mid 90s from poly, starting pay was around 1.4K-1.8K , business students. Totally unbelievable that the pay had not went up!!! Seriously wtf progress the stupid govt is talking abt???? Houses price shot up, inflation, ERP etc..pay remain the same, and now have all these wonderful FT to come in......

Use our votes wisely folks come next election!

I got O level but half past six type.

My pay 20 years ago $800. Now my pay also $800 but work two jobs ..... sigghhhh ... really ""gau um dim'' already......:(

garlic

wow lan ooi..

when i graduated in the early 1990s, my starting pay is 1.6k.

now 20+ years later it is still the same:eek: wtf is the 'progress' MIW is talking about. :oIo::oIo:

There were progress..they were referring to their MIW pay... Not the layman, not the peasants, not SINGAPOREANS!

The sad truth...

tua lam pah

This is good example of how the PAP has made Singaporeans worse off in their own country. I can assure you that the NYP graduate is more qualified than the PRC. I used to have an MNC client with a PRC manager. This manager cannot even write a decent email without horrendous English mistakes. He is also does not know his work at all. The company pays for his condo in downtown area. I am certain his salary is at least $7K.

When FTs are allowed in without first ensuring that a Singaporean is not available for the job then such things happen. Other first world countries have policies that ensure that their citizens get first bite at the apple. In Singapore, with the PAP as the government, we have such gross injustices against the people.

I thought employment agency gets their remuneration from the hiring company? Why is the girl paying the agency?

pap motherfuckers, if you are reading this thread
fuck you to the 18 levels of hell,

for taking our sons and daughters for a ride...
study so many years and serve NS get this type of pay! knnccb makes my blood boil!!!!

vamjok

$1.4K is very good oredi. There is one NYP graduate attaching to my team this month. She got this contract job through employment agency and has to giving part of her salary to the agency and so her take home is only $900. Some more got no cpf or any allowances except free meal on duty.

The PRC mei mei servers in our department are having take home pay of $1.8K. :mad:

can tell me what company you are working at?

i think your company is doing something that is against the law by not giving her any cpf

annexa

You know this for real or just say say only. Any examples? No need to say names

I give you a few I know ok. Check those with "Management Trainee" titles. If you don't hit sales target for 1st month, you lim kopi, 2 weeks later you still don't hit, company tell you to fuck off. SMU quite a few right?

Then big accounts firms. They will hire you, but then make sure you stay there at your high starting pay if you can only talk cock not do work. Then if you seriously cause problem, get bitched, good luck to you.

ah_phah

if your salary is 1.4k then u go to canteen to eat.
u order mee-poh-tah mai fishball & ask for discount, maybe u save 50cts.
u order mee-siam mai hum & ask for a discount, the hawker tell u #@$!%#! :oIo:

boring

fuck the pap! really sick for tis shit place, the peasants get shit pay and living standard and those asses get rockethigh paycheque!:oIo::oIo::oIo:

twinseeker

poly grad starting pay $1.4k-1.8k?
ITE grad starting pay $1.1k-1.3k?
uni grad starting pay $2.1k-2.5k?

prostitute starting pay $4k-6k?
escort starting pay $6k-8k?
I wonder it they teach pole dancing & strip dancing as part of the CCA these days? Clearly, the adult entertainment industry is becoming more lucrative & sustainable.