• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP's Cheque Bounced for YOG

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I am going to write about this later in my blog.

According to news report in April this year, the Sportshub will not be ready by 2010's Youth Olympic.

As we recall, the SportsHUB plan is the major attraction that PAP government presented to the world in bidding for hosting the Youth Olympic 2010. But now, Vivian Balakrishnan has claimed that we do not need the new stadium for hosting the Youth Olympics! This is a lousy excuse for failing in building the SportsHUB in time to host it!

Doesn't PAP government has any pride to start with? We will become a laughing stock of the world! For a self-proclaimed first world government with TOP paid ministers, we couldn't even fulfill our promise to the world in building such basic infrastructure to host the Youth Olympics?

No gold medals for winners in Youth Olympics is already bad enough but going back on its promise of building the necessary infrastructure to host the game will be a major blow to Singapore's international standing!

What PAP is losing is not its pride (if it ever has any) but our National Pride. It is bringing shame to Singapore! Hosting the Youth Olympics is supposedly to bring pride to us but now it seems that due to mismanagement of PAP over paid ministers, we will end up with great shame as a Nation!

Goh Meng Seng

It's really an embarrassment that's waiting to happen. In the AYG, Asian Youth Games earlier this year, there's already been complaints about lack of facilities and attendances from participating countries on the part of the role of the hosting country, i.e. Singapore. The YOG is certainly going to be bigger than the AYG, and any further embarrassments would be proportionately magnified.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
It's really an embarrassment that's waiting to happen. In the AYG, Asian Youth Games earlier this year, there's already been complaints about lack of facilities and attendances from participating countries on the part of the role of the hosting country, i.e. Singapore. The YOG is certainly going to be bigger than the AYG, and any further embarrassments would be proportionately magnified.

It is alright if we set our standard lower, not going to make comparison to China's Olympics 2008 but recently, Taiwan has successfully organized two international sports events which brought much pride to Taiwanese. I really hope that we don't fare poorly in comparison with Taiwan.

While Taiwan received praises from organizing these games, it seems that nothing positive has been heard from Singapore's AYG. Something wrong with our world class paid minister here?

Well, as usual, there aren't any system of accountability to speak of.

Goh Meng Seng

National Stadium will be the host lah, repaint a bit, cut grass a bit, change bulbs a few, can use liao, save some money in the pocket mah, LOL :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

One of the reasons that Govt and cities bid for such games is that it drives the building of a new infrastructure and in many cases are necessary. Without such games, no one will do anything because the cost/benefit is pretty much horrendous.

When such facilities are built, citizens (also other residents ahmm. ) can start developing the soft assets of out country which softens the daily grind of living in a rat race.

Viv is fast becoming a flop. He honestly thinks that saying "no" to everything is high point of leadership. He should be like GY, who forced the cabinet to build the "Durian". The first non commercial development since the ZOO.

No gold medals for winners in Youth Olympics is already bad enough but going back on its promise of building the necessary infrastructure to host the game will be a major blow to Singapore's international standing!

Goh Meng Seng

Viv is fast becoming a flop. He honestly thinks that saying "no" to everything is high point of leadership. He should be like GY, who forced the cabinet to build the "Durian". The first non commercial development since the ZOO.

That's the worst failure that ever succeeded. Why spend so much on monumental arts infrastructure under a censorship regime where commonsense tells anyone above idiot IQ that liberal arts can't flourish.

Thats what they said about Sydney Opera House. Ngiam Tong Dow felt the same like you. He also said the same about the Night Safari before it became a success.

That's the worst failure that ever succeeded. Why spend so much on monumental arts infrastructure under a censorship regime where commonsense tells anyone above idiot IQ that liberal arts can't flourish.

commoner

for the singapore politicians have developed what politicians in overseas will never do: a very thick skin that shot gun also cannot penetrate,,,,, shameless,,,,

YOG fail fail lor,,,,, poor attendance? singaporeans fault... poor infrastructure, USA Lehmans fault,,,,,,, No sports Hub, no company sponsor,,,,, no whatever,,, temasek fault, probably chip goodyear fault even he is there for few months, his fault anyway,,,,

anymore? ok,, lets move on

Thats what they said about Sydney Opera House. Ngiam Tong Dow felt the same like you. He also said the same about the Night Safari before it became a success.

No comment about Sydney Opera House. I don't know much about opera or Australia, neither do I care. Australians can burn their dollars or build whatever they want as far as I'm concerned (or rather unconcerned).

The Zoo and the Night Safari keep animals in captivity and subjected to regimental training for the visual pleasure of visitors. Artists are not animals. They're not captured and trained according syllabus. Human arts is about liberation of imagination and expression thereof.

We needed an iconic symbol for our city. Bugis street gone, Satay Corner gone and I am not sure if Geylang is acceptable. Ngiam also could not understand the soft aspect of quality of life. He got the his DS to calculate and show cabinet that it won't make money. Cabinet and GY agreed and still went ahead.

No comment about Sydney Opera House. I don't know much about opera or Australia, neither do I care. Australians can burn their dollars or build whatever they want as far as I'm concerned (or rather unconcerned).

The Zoo and the Night Safari keep animals in captivity and subjected to regimental training for the visual pleasure of visitors. Artists are not animals. They're not captured and trained according syllabus. Human arts is about liberation of imagination and expression thereof.

We needed an iconic symbol for our city. Bugis street gone, Satay Corner gone and I am not sure if Geylang is acceptable. Ngiam also could not understand the soft aspect of quality of life. He got the his DS to calculate and show cabinet that it won't make money. Cabinet and GY agreed and still went ahead.

It's okay not to make money. Indeed, it's okay to lose money sponsoring the arts in order to promote and develop arts. It's quite a well accepted principle. However, in the case of Singapore, it's spending money and still refusing to liberalise the arts and continuing to stifle it.

longbow

Think it is silly to blow $1B just for an iconic symbol where there is no substance behind it. Our local art scene is not at that level. And the Durian is actually stifling local arts by sucking up money to fund its operations (be it donations, sponsors or grants). The billion dollars and $100M a year (needed to sustain Esplanade) could be better spent funding school arts, drama, music and dance classes.

This would actually create a generation that can appreciate the very programs currently being offered at the Esplanade.

The visitor from overseas would be wowed by the Esplanade, thinking that we have a vibrant arts scene befitting the Esplanade. Little do they know that it is more like a potemkin village.

Now building the sports hub makes sense because many locals can go there to compete, soccer is a local favorite, others can take lessons for tennis etc etc. It is a place that locals can use.

There are definately more soccer fans than opera fans in Singapore.

Night Safari is more of a concept with small capital outlay. If it fails we lose a few million in building the sets and that is it. But Esplanade is a $1B white elephant. Read that just cleaning and maintaining those louvres cost a bomb.

swampthing

Youth Olympics is going to be utter failure anyway. Friend at one of the int'l sport networks was approached and said they had no interest in carrying. You speak to anyone outside Singapore who knows the event even exists? Just a big show of Singaporeans throwing their citizen's money on shit.

As a born and raised Singaporean, I too was brought in a culture of cost / benefit in the classic PAP mould. Everything has to be paid for.

There were 5 things in this country that never passed the cost/benefit test and they are
1) Jurong Birdpark (Goh Keng Swee)
2) Zoo (Goh Keng Swee)
3) Singapore Symphony Orchestra (Goh Keng Swee)
4) Night Safari (Bernard Harrison)
5) Durian (George Yeo)

All 5 were done while under Ngiam Tong Dow watch. He did not object to the first 3 because he considered Goh a God. Old man and the cabinet agreed as Goh had delivered on other fronts. Night Safari was allowed after much mollycoddling of Ngiam on the part of Pamelia Lee of STPB (the only good thing she did ). In fact no zoo in the world had a night safari as everyone thought all animals slept at night. Ngiam objected vehemently to Durian and was upset enough to write a story about it.

In life one must take risk for the softer side of society. Singapore Zoo is considered world class. There are regular photographic trips arranged by tour operators from New York and nothing do with Singapore authorities.

If we considered cost - none of the 5 would have seen daylight.

There were many others that passed the cost/benefit tests and failed miserably thereafter - Sentosa ( still in the nth reincarnation), Tang Village, Haw Par Theme park (reverted to original setting) etc.

Just go to the vicinity of the Durian - foreigners are always taking photos. This was what happened to Sydney Opera House -Tourist put it on the map and not the locals.

Do agree on the maintenance cost though. Might see a different facsde in years to come. Do agree on the sports hub, we certainly need that.

Think it is silly to blow $1B just for an iconic symbol where there is no substance behind it. Our local art scene is not at that level. And the Durian is actually stifling local arts by sucking up money to fund its operations (be it donations, sponsors or grants). The billion dollars and $100M a year (needed to sustain Esplanade) could be better spent funding school arts, drama, music and dance classes.

longbow

Well at least for me $1B for a photo op and $100M yearly upkeep seems a bit much.

One could build a 300 meter statue of Raffles standing astride Singapore River and foreigners will snapping away too.

Great insight into the approval process for some of these project.

vincenttan

Let us take a look at the toilet bowl stadium and hope it is not another money down the drain project.

toiletbowlstadium.jpg

I know its hard for any singaporean or ex-singaporean to come out of the cost trap. It has hobbled our creativity for decades. Interestingly it took 2 great minds with economics and engineering disciplines (both focused on cost as basis of their craft) to put up these things, It did not come from anyone in the arts arena.

Unfortunately these were rare moments. The velodrome despite 30 years of talk never materialised, sports as part of a nation psyche never ever crossed the cost barrier etc.

One other factor that crossed the cost barrier was greening of singapore and that was because old man started it. Old man also started the clearing of Kallang River and Singapore again overcoming the cost trap.

Its also helps the lack of safety net for the elderly and the disabled as that too will never cross the cost trap.

Well at least for me $1B for a photo op and $100M yearly upkeep seems a bit much.

One could build a 300 meter statue of Raffles standing astride Singapore River and foreigners will snapping away too.

Great insight into the approval process for some of these project.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Dear Scroobal,

Sometimes we just need the leap of faith to jump across the cost trap. :wink:

Impermanence is the nature of this world. What could be "calculated" in tangible terms may become invalid in the near future.

Just like the Casino Resorts. When we go into the calculation process based on a stagnant set of parameters, all seem well. But it only takes a change of a small policy on China's part to tilt the balance so great that even the Les Vegas of Asia could just fall into doldrums immediately and LV Sands saddled with huge lemon liabilities overnight. What we are witnessing in Macau will be what we will be getting for our Casino resorts.

I would rather spend according to our priorities, like taking care of our own people first, especially the old who have contributed to our Nation building, before taking that plunge into a $100m maintenance cost white elephant. With that $100m a year budget, you could do wonders to provide the necessary basic social safety net for our old and aged.

In terms of culture, I would like to see more street performance much closer to the people. I have mentioned this more than 10 years ago that Town Hall performance should be encouraged to revitalize the cultural scenes here. I do see some improvement over the years but somehow, some independent play groups just could not get enough funding to continue their course.

It seems that we are good at engineering and managing animals and birds but what we lack is the necessary soft power skills in managing teams of artists or sportsman. This is the key problem of Singapore, apart from the cost trap. Look at how they mismanage the S League and Table Tennis team, you will figure out what I mean.

When the management of sports teams are opened for "milking of political capital", it will inevitably be mismanaged by unprofessional people. We have to build up our software first before we go into grandiosity in terms of costly infrastructure constructions.

Goh Meng Seng

I know its hard for any singaporean or ex-singaporean to come out of the cost trap. It has hobbled our creativity for decades. Interestingly it took 2 great minds with economics and engineering disciplines (both focused on cost as basis of their craft) to put up these things, It did not come from anyone in the arts arena.

Unfortunately these were rare moments. The velodrome despite 30 years of talk never materialised, sports as part of a nation psyche never ever crossed the cost barrier etc.

One other factor that crossed the cost barrier was greening of singapore and that was because old man started it. Old man also started the clearing of Kallang River and Singapore again overcoming the cost trap.

Its also helps the lack of safety net for the elderly and the disabled as that too will never cross the cost trap.