• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP to spend $63 million on S'pore nuclear capabilities. What retards.

Want to spend $63 million to train nuclear scientists and researchers. For fuck? Why don't you hire them? Cheaper right? The PAP will need a small breeder reactor to train them properly, so sinkies better get ready to glow in the dark. You know in singapore, everything can cock up from floodings to MRT breakdowns, etc. When reactor meltsdown, its sayonara. The PAP also say this programme is to keep abreast of nuclear developments in the region. Why? The CEO of this little exercise in the waste taxpayers money, Low Teck Seng, says that "we must be aware of" nuclear energy and technology. I guess this asshole has never heard of the internet. He can google it and know everything there is to know. If not happy, can go to uni in the States and get a degree in Nuclear Physics. Why spend $63 million on a programme that we neither have decided to pursue nor have any interest in? Are we setting up nuclear power plants? Where? In the front lawn of the IStana? On Oxley Rise? Truly, the PAP are real retards. There is nothing in nuclear engineering or technology that we cannot learn by sendingby sending scholars overseas to learn at established schools with background in the nuclear studies. They want to spend this $63 million to train 100 nuclear scientists and engineers, for those that can't count, that is $630,000 per trainee!! Wow, I am sure a full degree course at UC Berkeley in nuclear engineering can't be more costly than $150,000. Everything the PAP spends on seems to be marked up by a few hundred percent. Assholes.

Singapore is beefing up its nuclear technology expertise with a newly-announced programme. The 10-year Nuclear Safety Research and Education Programme was announced on Wednesday by the National Research Foundation (NRF).

SINGAPORE: Singapore is beefing up its nuclear technology expertise with a newly-announced programme.

The 10-year Nuclear Safety Research and Education Programme was announced on Wednesday by the National Research Foundation (NRF).

For a start, S$63 million of funding will be set aside for the programme for the first five years.

There are now only a handful of nuclear experts in Singapore, as such the NRF hopes to train some 100 scientists and engineers in this area, in the next decade.

By about 2024, it is hoped that these scientists and engineers will be experts in three areas -- radiochemistry, radiobiology, and risk assessment.

Radiochemistry is the study of radiation in the environment -- such as in the air, water, and soil. Uses include detecting the presence of radiation in imported goods, such as seafood.

In radiobiology, scientists study the impact of low-level doses of radiation on humans; while those in risk assessment will study the activities of a nuclear reactor, and what to do if things go wrong.

The NRF said that the programme is part of plans for Singapore to keep abreast of nuclear technology developments in the region.

Professor Low Teck Seng, CEO of the NRF, said: "This is important because as a nation, we need to build up capabilities in nuclear technology for many reasons. One, nuclear technology is now pervasively used in many different industries. Two, nuclear technology, nuclear energy is something that we need to be aware of.

"Many of our neighbours are also looking at nuclear technology, and it is important as the Prime Minister says, for us to be aware, to be knowledgeable, and as such, be able to assess the technology and its impact on Singapore -- be it in terms of potential that it has for us, in terms of the risk that we face, as well as the ability to harness its potential in every aspect."

The programme is made up of two components -- the Singapore Nuclear Research and Safety Initiative (SNRSI) and the Nuclear Education and Training Fund (NETF).

The SNRSI will focus on research and developing capabilities in nuclear safety, while the NETF will support education and training in those areas.

For a start, the National University of Singapore will offer Engineering and Physics students a minor in Medical Physics, which is set to give students with an interest in nuclear technology a foundation in the subject.

With this minor, Physics and Engineering students can opt for nuclear physics subjects that can be applied in medicine -- such as imaging techniques like Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) or CT scans.

All these advanced techniques are usually not accessible to the general public, in terms of how they work, how it is being operated -- so when students come in next year, they will learn all the basics and the foundations on how such technology is being applied and how it is being used.

There will also be post-graduate scholarships for students to pursue nuclear technology studies overseas.

The NRF is also looking into public education -- to strengthen awareness of the benefits and safety aspects of nuclear technology.

sochi2014

why do we wanna nuke Indonesia? After nuking them they still have 100 millions people available.

And we are completely destroyed...

The NRF is also looking into public education -- to strengthen awareness of the benefits and safety aspects of nuclear technology.

This is the strongest indicator that Singapore is considering building a nuclear power plant.

The greed of these assholes knows no bounds. They don't care if another Fukushima happens.

This is the strongest indicator that Singapore is considering building a nuclear power plant.

The greed of these assholes knows no bounds. They don't care if another Fukushima happens.

but PAP sold all our power plants to foreign companies liao leh...................they not scared these foreigners tulan meh ?

Ash007

building a nuclear power plant us good. I hope they use a thorium reactor instead of the fukushima 1.

Tuayapeh

Yeah.....fucking gong cheebyes in the gabrament.....cant even run a fucking smrt without breaking down and wanna p,ay the fool with a nuclear plant???

One fucking mistake and everything from here to KL is fucking fried.....

Fuck you idiots....you are NOT that good or clever la ccb!!!!

fuck_you.jpg

palden

Radiochemistry is the study of radiation in the environment -- such as in the air, water, and soil. Uses include detecting the presence of radiation in imported goods, such as seafood.

We can't even settle haze.

Want to spend $63 million to train nuclear scientists and researchers. For fuck? Why don't you hire them? Cheaper right? The PAP will need a small breeder reactor to train them properly, so sinkies better get ready to glow in the dark. You know in singapore, everything can cock up from floodings to MRT breakdowns, etc. When reactor meltsdown, its sayonara. The PAP also say this programme is to keep abreast of nuclear developments in the region. Why? The CEO of this little exercise in the waste taxpayers money, Low Teck Seng, says that "we must be aware of" nuclear energy and technology. I guess this asshole has never heard of the internet. He can google it and know everything there is to know. If not happy, can go to uni in the States and get a degree in Nuclear Physics. Why spend $63 million on a programme that we neither have decided to pursue nor have any interest in? Are we setting up nuclear power plants? Where? In the front lawn of the IStana? On Oxley Rise? Truly, the PAP are real retards. There is nothing in nuclear engineering or technology that we cannot learn by sendingby sending scholars overseas to learn at established schools with background in the nuclear studies. They want to spend this $63 million to train 100 nuclear scientists and engineers, for those that can't count, that is $630,000 per trainee!! Wow, I am sure a full degree course at UC Berkeley in nuclear engineering can't be more costly than $150,000. Everything the PAP spends on seems to be marked up by a few hundred percent. Assholes.

Singapore is beefing up its nuclear technology expertise with a newly-announced programme. The 10-year Nuclear Safety Research and Education Programme was announced on Wednesday by the National Research Foundation (NRF).

SINGAPORE: Singapore is beefing up its nuclear technology expertise with a newly-announced programme.

The 10-year Nuclear Safety Research and Education Programme was announced on Wednesday by the National Research Foundation (NRF).

For a start, S$63 million of funding will be set aside for the programme for the first five years.

There are now only a handful of nuclear experts in Singapore, as such the NRF hopes to train some 100 scientists and engineers in this area, in the next decade.

By about 2024, it is hoped that these scientists and engineers will be experts in three areas -- radiochemistry, radiobiology, and risk assessment.

In radiobiology, scientists study the impact of low-level doses of radiation on humans; while those in risk assessment will study the activities of a nuclear reactor, and what to do if things go wrong.

The NRF said that the programme is part of plans for Singapore to keep abreast of nuclear technology developments in the region.

Professor Low Teck Seng, CEO of the NRF, said: "This is important because as a nation, we need to build up capabilities in nuclear technology for many reasons. One, nuclear technology is now pervasively used in many different industries. Two, nuclear technology, nuclear energy is something that we need to be aware of.

"Many of our neighbours are also looking at nuclear technology, and it is important as the Prime Minister says, for us to be aware, to be knowledgeable, and as such, be able to assess the technology and its impact on Singapore -- be it in terms of potential that it has for us, in terms of the risk that we face, as well as the ability to harness its potential in every aspect."

The programme is made up of two components -- the Singapore Nuclear Research and Safety Initiative (SNRSI) and the Nuclear Education and Training Fund (NETF).

The SNRSI will focus on research and developing capabilities in nuclear safety, while the NETF will support education and training in those areas.

For a start, the National University of Singapore will offer Engineering and Physics students a minor in Medical Physics, which is set to give students with an interest in nuclear technology a foundation in the subject.

With this minor, Physics and Engineering students can opt for nuclear physics subjects that can be applied in medicine -- such as imaging techniques like Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) or CT scans.

All these advanced techniques are usually not accessible to the general public, in terms of how they work, how it is being operated -- so when students come in next year, they will learn all the basics and the foundations on how such technology is being applied and how it is being used.

There will also be post-graduate scholarships for students to pursue nuclear technology studies overseas.

at iskandar. the plan is finally going ahead afterall. you can see the links... a cable tunnel going that direction, mrt going that direction.

it is a joke consider how tiny singapore is.

Yup, there is no room for mistakes. Nuclear power plants and reactors are usually located in remote areas in other countries. I have no idea where in singapore there is remote space enough for a nuclear plant. Any fuck up and we will all be glowing in the dark.

I'm exciting about nuclear capability but not anything this stupid country does cause nothing Singapore do is for the name of science only profits.it will just be another excuse to suck our money and socialize any costs.or we will spend billions just to prove a stupid point like that redundant frivolous highway.

yellowarse

How fucking moronic can the Pappies get?

After Chernobyl and Fukushima, countries far bigger and more advanced in nuclear technology are already moving away from nuclear power plants because it's becoming clear that the risks far outweigh the benefits. Since Fukushima, nine major reactors have been closed in the US, with another 38 in 23 states facing early closures. The US NRC recently ruled that a plan to build two new reactors in Texas was illegal. By Sep 2013, Japan had turned off all nuclear reactors in the nation.

Nuclear may be 'clean' in terms of carbon emissions, but disposal of nuclear wastes remains a perennial problem, and meltdowns present a clear and present danger in ageing reactors. Experts can't agree to what extent that nuclear wastes have already contaminated our water, soil and air, but they all agree it's huge. And even a kindergarten kid can tell you what a meltdown will do to 5.5 million people packed like sardines on an 710 sq km outcrop.

And these fuckin' fools wanna rush in where angels fear to tread!

tridome

Fucking dot on the world map and they want to invest in nuclear.... One mishap the entire country will become a wasteland.