• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious PAP Dr Tan Wu Meng Retires From Politics! Returning To His First Love Of Personally Looking After Sick Sinkies! Thank You Dr Tan For Your Service!

nayr69sg

Staff member
All this fancy titles like "senior" are rubbish when he was a mere GP
He is an oncologist. Medical cancer specialist (not surgeon). Not a GP.

In fact he is one of those A star PhD guys too.

I interviewed 2 of such specialist when I was researching for a book I wrote that was never published. One was an ENT surgeon who was not happy with the program. Another was an SGH general surgery guy who was supposed to be a success story for the PhD program. But the SGH guy was even more disillusioned than the ENT guy! Last I checked this SGH surgeon migrated to USA. He did his surgery residency in USA 2012 to 2015. Dr P. K.

Anyway the gist of the problem is that Singapore has no research culture. No real cohort to speak of. The heads of departments are not interested in actual research talk. They just want to publish for the sake of it. When these really bright guys asked actual research type questions no one knew how to respond so they were told to keep quiet in future meetings.

Let me ask you what research has come our of these PhD medical drs? Nothing.

And the PhD doesnt help any of them make more money either. It is just impressive CV.

Anyway I wish Dr Tan all the best. It would have been a while since he did clinical work. So he will need to get up to speed. Hopefully with connections he can get back a consultant role in NCC for a while before he moves into private practice.

He is an oncologist. Medical cancer specialist (not surgeon). Not a GP.

In fact he is one of those A star PhD guys too.

I interviewed 2 of such specialist when I was researching for a book I wrote that was never published. One was an ENT surgeon who was not happy with the program. Another was an SGH general surgery guy who was supposed to be a success story for the PhD program. But the SGH guy was even more disillusioned than the ENT guy! Last I checked this SGH surgeon migrated to USA. He did his surgery residency in USA 2012 to 2015. Dr P. K.

Anyway the gist of the problem is that Singapore has no research culture. No real cohort to speak of. The heads of departments are not interested in actual research talk. They just want to publish for the sake of it. When these really bright guys asked actual research type questions no one knew how to respond so they were told to keep quiet in future meetings.

Let me ask you what research has come our of these PhD medical drs? Nothing.

And the PhD doesnt help any of them make more money either. It is just impressive CV.

Anyway I wish Dr Tan all the best. It would have been a while since he did clinical work. So he will need to get up to speed. Hopefully with connections he can get back a consultant role in NCC for a while before he moves into private practice.

He enjoys being a doctor and looking after people but why don't you feel the same way? Don't you care about your fellow human beings?

congo9

I think this fucktard just too disappointed he wasn't appointed at least a Minister of State after all the barking he did before the GE towards Pritam for supporting Alfian Saat. Poor dog deep down inside obviously feeling butt hurt his efforts not appreciated by his Master.
Bark a few times want to promote to Minister of State.Ridiculous

nayr69sg

Staff member
He enjoys being a doctor and looking after people but why don't you feel the same way? Don't you care about your fellow human beings?

Easy to talk. You dont know what his true feelings are.

I dont feel the same way. I guess it is my personality. I find it very tiresome having to talk to so many patients and listen to their problems every single day. A lot of it sounds the same but you have to respect and validate their concerns. I probably wont mind really caring for maybe 10 patients a day spending the time to talk to them etc. But who can make a living seeing 10 patients a day? Maybe surgeons.

There is also the matter that patients have changed over the years. These days patients all know what they want and believe in certain things they read on the internet. And if you dont agree with them then you are a stupid doctor.

I have said several times that patients have no idea what a good doctor is. To them it is someone they like. So of course if your doctor agrees with you follows your wishes does what you want you will like him and he is a good doctor.

Guess what. Such doctors are the ones who truly do not care about patients. Those who really care will tell you when you are wrong and tell you to do the correct thing and the best for you but many patients hate such doctors.

So in the end truly caring results in you being told you are a lousy doctor, angry patients, complaints, and poor business.

So who the fuck would want to be a truly caring doctor?

congo9

Easy to talk. You dont know what his true feelings are.

I dont feel the same way. I guess it is my personality. I find it very tiresome having to talk to so many patients and listen to their problems every single day. A lot of it sounds the same but you have to respect and validate their concerns. I probably wont mind really caring for maybe 10 patients a day spending the time to talk to them etc. But who can make a living seeing 10 patients a day? Maybe surgeons.

There is also the matter that patients have changed over the years. These days patients all know what they want and believe in certain things they read on the internet. And if you dont agree with them then you are a stupid doctor.

I have said several times that patients have no idea what a good doctor is. To them it is someone they like. So of course if your doctor agrees with you follows your wishes does what you want you will like him and he is a good doctor.

Guess what. Such doctors are the ones who truly do not care about patients. Those who really care will tell you when you are wrong and tell you to do the correct thing and the best for you but many patients hate such doctors.

So in the end truly caring results in you being told you are a lousy doctor, angry patients, complaints, and poor business.

So who the fuck would want to be a truly caring doctor?
Good doctor are the ones who cure me.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Good doctor are the ones who cure me.
Many medical conditions got no cure.

Can only control. Eg hypertension. Diabetes. You want to eat medicine all your life?

Many want cure. They read about soursop. They read about CBD oil. All kinds of cures.

In fact almost all medical treatment is not a cure except for antibiotics and chemotherapy and surgery.

Cure is fantasy for most branches of medicine.

Dont believe you name me conditions that can be cured by western medicine

So many patients angry. Fuck you lah doctor. My high blood pressure you tell me eat medicine forever? Fuck lah. My friend say take this and thay herb cure! Diabetes take medicine for life? Fuck lah where got cure. Make me addicted to diabetes medicine.

My eczema tell me put cream everyday. Take medicine every few months. No cure. Fuck lah.

My arthritis tell me must operate put metal? Fuck lah. I take curry powder cure.

My thyroid weak tell me I have to take thryoxine for life? Fuck lah

Fractured bone? Ok can cure you. I operate put plate and acrew. Bone heal. Later take screws and plate out. But fuck lah have to operate? Knncb.

I got multiple sclerosis got cure? No.

Asthma got cure? No have to take inhaler everyday fuck lah kill my lungs.

I got crohn's disease got cure? No. Fuck lah got to take medicine to control also. Ccb.

Ans the list goes on lah.

When I was family physician I often get patient coming with problem and saying they dowan take medicine.

Then go see dr for what right? Oh they looking for cure not take medicine for life.

Mismatch of expectations and reality.

That's why I decided to practice branch of medicine which is opposite paradigm.

People come for this one treatment they think cures everything and they want it. This one they want to take. If they dowan to take they wont come to see me.

KNN want to leeturn to medical service also need lhl approval ? KNN only ss got such practice KNN if ah gong leefuse he will be silenced KNN
Not sure whether he is still paid MP salary being a shadow now. His heart is now serving as full time of his own profession, not to serve the people who voted him. He betrayed the voters.

Being an MP is not a job and traditionally MPs were therefore not paid salaries they are paid an allowance and are given admin and logistical support so they can perform the role of representing their constituents.

I cannot understand why so many have this expectation that being a backbencher is a full time job not just in Singapore but in many other Westminster systems.

In fact backbenchers are supposed to have jobs in the real world in order to better understand the realities of earning a living. MPs who don't have jobs outside of parliament are the ones that end up living in their own closeted existence without having a clue how policies affect the electorate.

Being an MP is not a job and traditionally MPs were therefore not paid salaries they are paid an allowance and are given admin and logistical support so they can perform the role of representing their constituents.

I cannot understand why so many have this expectation that being a backbencher is a full time job not just in Singapore but in many other Westminster systems.

In fact backbenchers are supposed to have jobs in the real world in order to better understand the realities of earning a living. MPs who don't have jobs outside of parliament are the ones that end up living in their own closeted existence without having a clue how policies affect the electorate.
Because they need to live up to their obscene salary which is higher than many CEO salary in Singapore. That's why only uniquely in Singapore. Now that chap resigned, and should not be paid salary, unless it insulted the meaning of "Resignation".

That applies to ministerial positions. I'm referring to BACKBENCHERS you twit.

https://blog.seedly.sg/member-of-parliament-how-much-paid

Elected Members of Parliament (MPs)

Elected MPs, as its name suggests, are elected during GE.

They have a dual role:

1. A legislative role – being able to influence decisions in Parliament, or enact or amend legislation.
  2. A community role – looking after the needs of their constituents, and also raising any concerns to the Parliament
Allowance of MPs

MPs are currently paid an allowance in a part-time manner, rather than a full-time role.

With the MPs’ role including political aspects, they should technically be pegged to the salary of political appointment holders, such as Ministers.

However, they do not have an executive role.

As such, they are given a monthly allowance, 13th-month bonus, and an Annual Variable Component (AVC).

The allowance of an MP is therefore $192,500 annually.

This amount is pegged to 15% of the salary of the MR4 (Ministerial) benchmark.

This amount is based on the assumption of 1 month of AVC, with the annual MR4 benchmark salary to be $1.1 million.

As compared to 2010, there is a drop in allowance of $6,700 (or 3%), due to the removal of GDP Bonus.

That applies to ministerial positions. I'm referring to BACKBENCHERS you twit.
Backbenchers are MP and their salaries are higher than CEO too. Otherwise, why so many moron and twit wanted to join PAP? For the money. Teo Ser Fuck is millionaires now. - for doing nothing.

Tell me which CEO will work for an annual salary of only $192,000 ie $16,000 a month????

S192,000 is just an allowance, you did not mention the actual salary.

MPs DON'T GET a salary. The allowance is all they get. This is because being a backbencher is a PART TIME job.

Why is it so difficult for you to understand this?

MPs get a salary only if they are employed in frontbench positions.

MPs DON'T GET a salary. The allowance is all they get. This is because being a backbencher is a PART TIME job.

Why is it so difficult for you to understand this?

MPs get a salary only if they are employed in frontbench positions.
You think MP is clean? I believe LHL will give them "something sweet" and other incentives, bonuses, other than allowance.

If you're implying that there is corruption going on that is a different issue altogether. The fact remains that being an MP is not a full time job and backbenchers therefore need to have real jobs in order to earn a living.

nayr69sg

Staff member
@Leongsam Just imagine you are the doctor to many of the SBF forum members. And you are asked to care deeply about each and every one of them.

Will you vomit blood?