• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Oxymorons

True Lies; starring Arnold Swarzenegger & Jamie Lee Curtis.:D

How abt this... which I think may answer all your doubts in local politics::rolleyes:

老爸 一定疼 儿子

eh... mee siam mai hum ?
Hahaha ash bro,

Mee siam mai hum is not an oxymoron, because you can indeed have mee siam with hum.
But most people in their right minds won't have it, that's all. :)

Political goodwill

Military intelligence [all SAF trained will know the truth]

Smart bomb [US ones still killed civilians and friendly troops during the last war]

Tax credits

And my personal favourite ........... Integrated resort!
ah guan

Hahaha military intelligence (saf). The girls won't get it. :)
I like your political goodwill.
Would have to disagree with tax credits though. "Tax credit" is simply the opposite of "tax", and the word "tax" is there simply to describe what type of credit it is.

Why no one mentioned "Honest Mistake"? Another honest mistake?

Have you ever made a dishonest mistake before? If I did, I would be calling it a fraud, not a mistake.
I hate the term, because it reeks of people in power trying to absolve responsibility and accountability.
But I'm afraid it's not an oxymoron. There can be deliberate (dishonest) mistakes and mistakes which are not deliberate ("honest"). A deliberate mistake need not be fraud.

True Lies; starring Arnold Swarzenegger & Jamie Lee Curtis.:D
That's quite a good one actually.
This is getting rather disappointing, oxymorons are supposed to be made up of 2 words and to be witty...................

y no 1 post tis? ... :confused:

4eign talent ...

:p

aiyoh ... pai seh ... :p

sumhow missed it ...

Hahaha ash bro,

Mee siam mai hum is not an oxymoron, because you can indeed have mee siam with hum.
But most people in their right minds won't have it, that's all. :)

ahahah no worries, I was thinking more of the "moron" that said it. ;)

Would have to disagree with tax credits though. "Tax credit" is simply the opposite of "tax", and the word "tax" is there simply to describe what type of credit it is.

Have to break it up into accounting terms lah. Tax is an expense. And 'credit" is a saving. Putting 2 together is actually contradictory. Actually the term "tax credit" was cooked up by right wing politicians in UK and US to suck more revenue out of citizens but still disguise it as a "credit". PAP is learning very well from them. When I heard "job credit" I shuddered.

But my favourite is still their "integrated resorts". Strictly speaking, a "resort" is a remote destination ... think of the term "the last resort" for a better idea. But the money-loving PAP is just plain sly to suggest it is an innocent and fun getaway destination when it is integrated with vice.

Some of the more common ones are:

black snow
white coal
dry water
clever fool
delicious shit

I have thought of a few interesting ones:

moral crime
sane lunatic
calm disaster

Anymore to add?

Honest mistake?

I hate the term, because it reeks of people in power trying to absolve responsibility and accountability.
But I'm afraid it's not an oxymoron. There can be deliberate (dishonest) mistakes and mistakes which are not deliberate ("honest"). A deliberate mistake need not be fraud.

The term "honest mistake" means an error committed in good faith generally. But that doesn't mean it makes sense. If you made an error intentionally, is that still considered an error when you knew it was an error beforehand? Most people would understand that as cheating or lying. Just like people who use sentences with the word honestly (do they mean to say they have been speaking dishonestly before that?).

I believe the "honest mistake" term was conjured up by the law fraternity. For me, it is an example of a useless and misleading term to appear blameless and hide deficiencies.

Have to break it up into accounting terms lah. Tax is an expense. And 'credit" is a saving. Putting 2 together is actually contradictory. Actually the term "tax credit" was cooked up by right wing politicians in UK and US to suck more revenue out of citizens but still disguise it as a "credit". PAP is learning very well from them. When I heard "job credit" I shuddered.

But my favourite is still their "integrated resorts". Strictly speaking, a "resort" is a remote destination ... think of the term "the last resort" for a better idea. But the money-loving PAP is just plain sly to suggest it is an innocent and fun getaway destination when it is integrated with vice.
The term "the last resort" was first coined by yours truly in this forum.
You are too late bro.
Just joking. :)