• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Overpriced Peesai's Casino Doomed to FAIL!

Expect the likes of AntiUSee to buy up the unsold tickets using its members' subscription fees. If it's still insufficient, up prices at its supermarket to make Sporns pay for their kuai lan!

takcheksian

Ei, keah lang sia...

If we support, they will claim they 'subsidized' us and gave us the equivalent of $43 per Sinkie visitor.

So 2 million sinkie visits, PAP will say it cost them $86m.

If we dun support the PAPpies' pet project, they will lose money. And then they will take it out of our ERP or MRT or GST or find some excuse to raise property taxes.

So either way, as long as PAP is in power we die.

They did give subsidy. Orlando's fee is $109, Singapore's is $66. Therefore there is a subsidy of $43 (following establised definition of 'subsidy' by MIW), ie. almost 40% subsidy :eek:. That is substantial !!

Wow such great corporate citizen, chiong ha, before they declare a lose of $43 for each shitizen entering the theme park !!! ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzz.

hairylee

Typical misinformation of the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan. Which part of

"The weekday pricing makes tickets to the theme park cheaper than that of Universal's other attractions at Orlando in the United States and Osaka in Japan, which go for US$79 (S$109) and 5,800 yen (S$90) respectively. "

You must compare an apple for an apple.
What is the size of Universal theme parks in US and Japan, and how many rides they have in those parks as compare to the ones in Sentosa.

hairylee

They did give subsidy. Orlando's fee is $109, Singapore's is $66. Therefore there is a subsidy of $43 (following establised definition of 'subsidy' by MIW), ie. almost 40% subsidy :eek:. That is substantial !!

Wow such great corporate citizen, chiong ha, before they declare a lose of $43 for each shitizen entering the theme park !!! ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzz.

This is not Keling accounting but Mah Boh Tan accounting principle.

dysentry

Should last a little longer than Fantasy Island...

After all this place is indeed boring, spice things up with a little roller coaster...

My concern is that they are opening into the double dip recession... a family trip costing 300 quid will look like extravagance...

Kid278

Ramseth,

The initial debate about whether to have casino or not is based on the idea of cross-subsidy that the revenue from casino to finance the various museums, playgrounds whatever within the resorts. It was said that without the revenue from the casino, it is not possible to have the various fun things embedded in the resort.

If not, why not just have the universal fun park without the casino? Just like HK, having the Disneyland without the casino? Now, we end up with the charges of the Universal park being similar to Disneyland! Then why the need to have the casino?

Goh Meng Seng

I believe their vision is that the casino is sure going to generate revenue. When the theme park resort fails, subsidy will come from the casino to keep it going. What they choose not to see is the casino failing that spells doom for both. Believe it or not, this whole idea of casino cum theme park resort are doom to fail when the projected visitors are not coming and realized.

cass888

Twit!!! Cheapest compared with whom? Japan ah? Spore got bullet train anot?
Free? no way. maybe 25% discount for Sporeans. Even Msians charge locals cheaper for their local attractions. Example if you climb Mount KK, locals get cheaper rates for licence & accomodation by about 10% as compared to foreigners. So why cant Spore do that?

This is one case where you must compare apples with apples or Universal Studios with Universal Studios. On that basis, Singapore seems to be the cheapest.

Ash007

How about you compare median pay with ticket price? Singapore still come on top ?

This is one case where you must compare apples with apples or Universal Studios with Universal Studios. On that basis, Singapore seems to be the cheapest.

Char_Azn

I think the pricing is pretty average. HK Disneyland also around that price. Warner Bros at the Gold Coast IIRC cost about AUD$50 for a day. I'm pretty sure like all other theme parks, they have something for family packages and tour packages. It doesn't make sense to have 1 family to pay $400 over bucks just to get in

oli9

What basis of comparison are we talking about? Are we in any order have more theme rides, food galore & redemption points compared to Universal Studio Japan or orlando resort? Are we getting any major roller coaster rides? It'll be great if we can have The Hollywood Dream ride.

Frankiestine

Actually, Singaporeans have shown them the proverbial middle finger by actually just doing nothing or going elsewhere. Refusing to go Sentosa after the prices gone up until they run out of ideas and decide to build IRs. Now they want to charge Singaporeans to enter IRs. Let's see. I'm not forecasting anything. Let's see.

Oh for the first few months they will scream success cos Singaporeans have this herd mentality of wanting to be the first to be seen there.....but the real problem will arise probably a couple of years down the road when the issue of sustainability comes up...

Frankiestine

who will pay so much to go in, definitely not me. :rolleyes:

$66 bucks to queue hours under the sun and get sun burned...as I had said before if it is not hot like hell here in Singapore it is raining...and time and again it has been proven outdoor theme parks don't work here...regardless of the quality of rides...think back to theme parks such as Great World, Gay World and others...they operate only at nights...why? Becos during the day time it is simply too fucking hot....

Debonerman

Prostitutes do only one thing, they open their mouths and legs in exchange for easy gain and PAP dogs fit the category to a T or a V for that matter! An unfortunate result is that their orifices are bigger in diameter to a loudhailer like what Dr Chee Soon Juan uses to reach out to the masses during his public political speeches. On top of that, the mothers of prostitutes tend to had been or still is in the same profession:oIo:

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/YyhHcJbZmyY&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/YyhHcJbZmyY&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

fuji-Q highland amusement park ..the world fasters and highest roller coaster on top of mountain ....

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/-EAYLnu5V2Y&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/-EAYLnu5V2Y&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

when it comes to have fun ...nothing beat the japanese ...fuji-Q highland amusement park ...

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/jr8z6KiQOAw&hl=en_US&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/jr8z6KiQOAw&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>