• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

OuR ChiLdReN WilL NEVER KnoW tHe LinK BeTwEeN tHe TwO .

Anyone remember the hawker centre beneathe the Expressway along Thomson Road? It was very popular and I remember the Big Prawn Mee stall was really good. Used to stop by there after a hot session with GF at MacRitchie Reservoir.

Did you buy your condoms from the mamak stall at the bus stop opposite Mt Alvernia Hospital?? there were a lot of Monkeys in MacRitchie & 'MONKEYS' at the car parks & around. My favourite jogging ground, used to see hot couples inside at early as 6.30pm when I have my late jog, hot rubba, rubba, nearly ran into a tree!:biggrin: not forgetting the primates up the trees that one have to keep a look out for.

It was quite an unhealthy environment as there were dust and smoke and the flyover was above the stalls.

The food was great, who cares!. We grew up with hawker stalls next huge monsoon drains, & ate there, in fact, we are healthier than the current generation whose parents clean the spoon, the fork, the plate, the hands the wahtever before their children eat & look, H1N1 or whatever comes along, they drop like flies!!

groober2011

Did you buy your condoms from the mamak stall at the bus stop opposite Mt Alvernia Hospital?? there were a lot of Monkeys in MacRitchie & 'MONKEYS' at the car parks & around. My favourite jogging ground, used to see hot couples inside at early as 6.30pm when I have my late jog, hot rubba, rubba, nearly ran into a tree!:biggrin: not forgetting the primates up the trees that one have to keep a look out for.

Haha. I cannot recall but at Arab Street has a Mamak stall selling those with goat hairs. Thanks for the upz bro.

groober2011

The food was great, who cares!. We grew up with hawker stalls next huge monsoon drains, & ate there, in fact, we are healthier than the current generation whose parents clean the spoon, the fork, the plate, the hands the wahtever before their children eat & look, H1N1 or whatever comes along, they drop like flies!!

Those days where we worry about germs and smoking and eating rubbish? Still we live long and less health problems. In fact, today's young are easily sick because they have less resistance to diseases.

groober2011

I missed those firecrackers especially those I blew up the fire ants' nest. Also those rockets to frighten the girls at public parks. CNY was a great time for us in the old days. Nowadays it is better to take a holiday tour than to spend CNY in Singapore.

Now Sungei Rd also no more..:( I remembered goin there with my school mates after school to buy Porn video tapes from this Uncle known as Ah Seng.. But CB Ah Seng would one day played me out.. He sold me this blue tape.. Claimed that it's the latest.. I brought back to my friend's home to view the tape but KNN it was actually a Chinese Vampire movie starring Ricky Hui..:mad: :o :mad:

groober2011

I recall those days of kite-fighting and hunting for fighting spiders. The hawker assistants with bamboo sticks taking orders from residences and making tiktok sounds with their bamboos. Also early mornings when the Malay boys carrying a large straw bag underarmed shouting "Na......si Lemak, na...si le..mak!" We do not need to go anywhere to buy food as they come to your door. That was when there were no HDB flats at all.

If u look at the spoilt brats around these days, they don't give a damn about the past.
Only interested in the latest gadgets and getting what they want.
The sad part is that even the poor kids these days are spoilt brats.

I recall those days of kite-fighting and hunting for fighting spiders. The hawker assistants with bamboo sticks taking orders from residences and making tiktok sounds with their bamboos. Also early mornings when the Malay boys carrying a large straw bag underarmed shouting "Na......si Lemak, na...si le..mak!" We do not need to go anywhere to buy food as they come to your door. That was when there were no HDB flats at all.

OMG is that ancient history?

Nasi lemak, Curry pok, otah, even sng pau (frozen packet juice).......within the neighbourhood someone will be selling.....

another guy that come along is the swill collector.....and every new year will get free eggs from his farm........back then already recycling liao

groober2011

OMG is that ancient history?

Yes, grandfather days, when buying brooms and pails comes from a bullock cart vendor. Tay Koh Yat and Green Bus Companies were in existence and we sang God Save The Queen and not Majullah Singapore. Gardeners comes once a month to cut your grass with a sickle and the cowherder will bring his cows to eat free grass and drop their dung for our fertiliser. We will take the dung and mixed with the sand from our rubbish pit (we burnt our rubbish) to use as plant fertilisers.

Fook Seng

groober2011 said:
Yes, grandfather days, when buying brooms and pails comes from a bullock cart vendor. Tay Koh Yat and Green Bus Companies were in existence and we sang God Save The Queen and not Majullah Singapore. Gardeners comes once a month to cut your grass with a sickle and the cowherder will bring his cows to eat free grass and drop their dung for our fertiliser. We will take the dung and mixed with the sand from our rubbish pit (we burnt our rubbish) to use as plant fertilisers.

Remember singing God Save the King in school before changing to God Save the Queen and for no reason it was changed again to Negara Ku. Also remember Scissors Curry Rice pushing car on the streets.

1. bro, yes i miss the raya sayang days.
2. the good old days of the 80s.
3. where alan tam and leslie cheung ruled!

I miss Leslie Cheung. :(
Was just listening to some of his songs recently.
His voice was not great, his mandarin diction is poor, he doesn't compose many songs, yet he has that certain singing style which i miss greatly. Possibly the greatest cantonese singer ever. Or perhaps his songs were good. :o

Fook Seng

Fook Seng said:
Remember singing God Save the King in school before changing to God Save the Queen and for no reason it was changed again to Negara Ku. Also remember Scissors Curry Rice pushing car on the streets.

pushing cart not pushing car...

groober2011

If u look at the spoilt brats around these days, they don't give a damn about the past.
Only interested in the latest gadgets and getting what they want.
The sad part is that even the poor kids these days are spoilt brats.

I think it is sad that kids' happiness nowadays is being measured by possessions rather than during my days. There was so much to do outside home and we are normally either at school or out of the house only to return home for dinner, do some homework and then bedtime. There was no tv just redifusion or radio and books. The rest is using our imagination to make up games. One that I played with my siblings was taking a long word and we challenge each other to make up words with 3 letters or more with meanings. That in a way was improving our command of the English Language.

Doubblur

You as old as me. 3 national anthems generation.